mossie repelants

Submitted: Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 17:41
ThreadID: 28628 Views:4072 Replies:14 FollowUps:11
g'day all
i've been using mossie coils or sticks when camping,seem to work ok,but the boss don't like the smell of em',is there a plug in 12v.some thing available if so are they any good & what amps. do they draw.
cheers toohey

Reply By: Member - toohey - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 17:43

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 17:43
should have mentioned she gets asthma.
cheers toohey.
AnswerID: 142485

Reply By: Member - Marion C (VIC) - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 18:15

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 18:15
Hello I have been using sandelwood sticks for a couple of years and yes they do work, even up in Cape York. You can buy them from safeway in packets. They burn either 6 or 10 hours I think. I have also used sandlewood candle and they also have been succsesful.
Cheers Marion
Talawana
VKS Selcall 2691

AnswerID: 142490

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 18:32

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 18:32
Marion ,
I always thought that sandlewood was really expensive . It has a great smell when it burns , so if that works , it would be a beaut alternative .
FollowupID: 396019

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 22:42

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 22:42
Anyone wants sandlewood it is a dime a dozen in the Goldfields (dead branches only of course!!) we would throw a couple of pieces on when around the fire to keep mozzys away and spice up the night
FollowupID: 396060

Reply By: Roughneck - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 18:30

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 18:30
Hi toohey there was this couple at one of the caravan parks and the had a old hurrican lamp and instead of kero the used citronella oil and they swore buy it hope this helps . Cheers Roughneck
AnswerID: 142495

Reply By: Wombat - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 18:38

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 18:38
Hi Toohey,

We light one sandalwood stick at each end of the camper just on dusk and they seem to work. My little munchkin is alergic to mosquito bites and since switching to the sandalwood she seems to be getting far fewer big red welts.
AnswerID: 142496

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 19:28

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 19:28
Hey Wombat ,
Who is the guy getting his pocket picked in this photo ?
Willie .
FollowupID: 396029

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 23:01

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 23:01
Willie,

As you're from Sydney we will excuse you just this once.

The fellow was Ted Whitten aka Mr Football. The other chap propping him up is his son, Ted Whitten Jnr. This shot was taken of the two sitting in the back of a car doing a lap of honour at the MCG. Ted Snr was close to death and virtually blind at this time. The reception he got that day was something extraordinary.

Ted Snr played 321 games for Footscray (then a league record) and was arguably the greatest footballer ever. Ted Jnr played 144 games for Footscray until a knee injury forced his retirement at just 25.

FollowupID: 396062

Follow Up By: Blackie - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 23:13

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 23:13
Go Doggies!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 396067

Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 13:28

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 13:28
Jimbo and Blackie answered the question for you Willie, except that the "greatest footballer ever" is not even worth debate in my mind and they forgot to add that he was a top bloke who would do anything for you . . . and he had a handshake that was legendary.

Woof! Woof! Woof!
FollowupID: 396139

Reply By: Member - Jack - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 21:41

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 21:41
I will throw my weight behind the Sandalwood sticks as well. Terrific stuff. Had them up on Fraser recently and when everyone else complained about the "bities", our small party had no problems at all.
Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 142524

Reply By: Sarg - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 22:10

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 22:10
Bought one of those things years ago at a truckstop in Brisbane & still got it somewhere. It had these square pink tablets that went into a slot on the top of the unit & worked on a heat element to activate whatever was in the tablet. Drew about 5 amps according to the package. Replacement tablets were available. It kept Brisbane mossies away ,so the damn thing definitly works.
AnswerID: 142530

Follow Up By: Member - Ross H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 10:33

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 10:33
I agree with sarg .
I brough one from servo at ready creek servo on gold coast as all truck drivers at work swear by then. Used it whilst camping at yamba during a mozzie and sand fly plague can leave light s on and windows open even says so on pack and only draws .6amp. If anyone wants to no the name i will dig it out and post the name later
regards ross
FollowupID: 396099

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 13:59

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 13:59
Ross,

I would be interested in the name of that "12v mossie coil" if you could dig it out that would be great.

Thanks Regards Trevor.
FollowupID: 396143

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 01:22

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 01:22
You can also buy "citronella" candles which seem to work quite well.

I don't like the smell of the evil green coils either. clashes with the bouquet of my red wine.

AnswerID: 142550

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 09:27

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 09:27
What about those things that work on batteries that send some high pitch noise that the mozzies hate...I have not tried them, does anyone have any feedback on them?
AnswerID: 142568

Follow Up By: ImEasy - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 09:55

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 09:55
I have not seen any feedback on them, but I presume they work as good as a Hiclone and Fitch.

You ever had a mozzie flying around in your ear? they make a high pitch noise.
FollowupID: 396092

Reply By: Member - Bware - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 11:55

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 11:55
haven't used any plug-in devices but I know citronella does work. Also, get some lavender essential oil and dab some on the bites; stops the itching, especially good for kids.
Cheers Brian
AnswerID: 142594

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 14:21

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 14:21
We use a Robocan and it's worked a treat so far, we've got the indoor type, but I am going to see if I can get an outdoors one to take care of the area outside the camper.....

Lyn
AnswerID: 142615

Reply By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 15:52

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 15:52
G'day Toohey,

Perhaps not related directly to your question but noted the boss is asthmatic.

I was interested to read an article in latest Choice magazine about effectiveness of insect repellents. Anything containing DEET was shown to be more effective by far than any of the natural products, however apparently DEET is a trigger for asthma. I didn't know this and thought I'd pass this on to you.

Hugh
AnswerID: 142632

Follow Up By: Member - toohey - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 16:46

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 16:46
thanks for that info hugh,i'll keep that in mind.
cheers toohey.
FollowupID: 396164

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 23:49

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 23:49
I've heard that taking vitamin B supplements makes you unpalatable/unatractive to the little buggers. Anyone tried it?

Putting yellow cellophane around the Versalite certainly attracts less bugs of all kinds.

AnswerID: 142703

Follow Up By: Member - toohey - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:55

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:55
the mob i work for got these new aeroguard patches in, a few blokes tried em' and got a bad reaction,i won't be using em,just thought i'd let youse' know.
cheers toohey
FollowupID: 396339

Reply By: Barry Crocker - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 16:59

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 16:59
My neighbour has been taking vit b supplements ( B1 i think ) here in brisbane and whilst we are eaten alive some afternoons he is virtually left alone by the mozzies whereas prior to taking them he used to get savaged.

took a couple of weeks of taking them b4 they took effect but he's pretty happy....
picked up mine today.
AnswerID: 143146

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 18:45

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 18:45
Normal 240v plugin available from woolies /coles ect and then thru an inverter perhaps would solve the smell ect ,
AnswerID: 143159