What places have you taken your Kluger to?
Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 14:58
Kluger
Hello Softroader Community,
I have recently bought a Toyota Kluger (knowing that it is not a true 4WD - that should keep the hard core 4WD drivers happy....)
I would like to know from other Kluger owners and club members where have they taken thier Kluger and if at all there were any problems.
I would to start off exploring
places near to
Sydney first.
I would also like to know of any clubs who are softroader friendly and who organise softroader accessible trips.
Reply By: WheelTravel - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 15:27
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 15:27
I looked at this post and saw
Replies:None
Or was the reply to the question.... None
Just kiddin mate, near to
sydney there is not much around. Get "4wd treks close to Sydney" for a great start, they have lots of pretty easy treks in there.
Ciao!
Reply By: 3.0turbob - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 15:40
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 15:40
A gut at work (
Sydney) recently took his Kluger to
Moreton Island (QLd) and said it was fantastic. Just lowered the tyre pressures and had no problems. As for around
Sydney, the book as above, or you might try the Subaru 4WD club, (don't know their number).
Reply By: Member - Heidi L (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:37
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:37
We have a kluger and are pretty happy (amazed) with where it gets us off road.
As suggested already check out the Subaru Club
http://www.subaruclub.com.au they have a meeting this Friday night.
and the 4wd trips around
sydney is a good place to start as
well, we are working our way through those treks
Reply By: Member - Paul L (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:48
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:48
I have a AWD Territory - same same like Kluger and I have just come back from
Arkaroola in the
Gammon Ranges (Nth
Flinders Ranges) towing a
Dingo campertrailer. the only problem in 95% of the time was ground clearance which I suspect you will find. The awd went thru flooded & washed out creeks - gently mind you and crossed 20 & 30 metres of silt without a problem. All you need is a bit of common sense and a gently gently attitude. I do admit I couldnt go up and down 40 deg inclines but we went 90% of the
places in the Flinders and camped in some magnificent lonely
places.
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:51
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:51
As the Irishman said as he was asked directions, "if I was going to there, I wouldn't be starting from here......"
Reply By: Powertolose - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:42
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:42
the dump? :)
Reply By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 20:22
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 20:22
G'day Kluger,
There will be those here who say you can't take it anywhere, then others that know you can take most vehicles almost anywhere as long as you drive to conditions, tyre pressures, etc and respect the limitations of your vehicle.
I don't own a Kluger but a guy I know has one and he's really keen on his touring and has done the
Gibb River Rd, Kalumbaru, etc (and this with std bleep ty HT tyres). I thought he was pretty brave but he just said that he took it easy. Showed me his photos and looked like he had a great trip.
Just get out there and explore. You'll soon discover the vehicle's limitations, likely less your own (
well that's what I found when starting out in this scene). Concept of joining a club is a great idea, particularly if you can get in with like minded folk.
Hugh
Reply By: Diamond (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 21:40
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 21:40
I dont own a freddy kruger but have seen plenty in some unusuall
places.
(1)schools
(2)kindergarten
(3)kangaroo flat shopping centre
(4)plenty and i mean plenty at toyota showrooms
(5)ive seen one off road
well on a tilt tray
(6)market car parks
(7)out side a hairdresser
(8)parked on some dirt at the cricket oval
but im sure theres more.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 21:57
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 21:57
ok I'll ask
If they are the unusuall
places where are the usual
places
Reply By: Rob DG - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 00:44
Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 00:44
I've got a Kluger and its a good compromise. I've had it on
the beach at
Jurien Bay WA,
Preston Beach, and bogged to gunnels in the sand hills at
Horrocks beach when I didn't let the tyres down needless to say "lesson learned" once I got out of the hole and let the tyres down it wnet like a dream. Only problem I found on
the beach was that those big heavy 4WDs (I wast following a GQ) leave bloody great ruts and the bottom tended to scrape but otherwise went
well. Clearance and wheel travel will always be limited but I had a Patrol before and I can't think of many
places I took that that I wouldn't take a Kluger driven with a bit of respect. There a few place I take the Kluger that the Patrol couldn't go underground car parks is one.
Rob
Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 12:32
Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 12:32
you could'nt of tried to hard in your patrol !!
Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 10:18
Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 10:18
What
places have you taken your Kluger to????
What
places has your Kluger returned from? and who towed it???
I still reckon a 1980's vintage Subaru in stock form would eat any of todays' "softroaders" for lunch, and still be back for seconds.........
Reply By: ImEasy - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 11:38
Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 11:38
bleep ground clearance, I was at Stokton once, and saw a Kluger being snatched by a Skateboard.
Skateboards have better ground clearance!
Otherwise I really think the
Grey ones are good.
Reply By: flappa - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 12:37
Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 12:37
You should be able to get into and out of Limeburners ,
Dingo Dell , Yerranderie , in a Kluger with no real problems , unless its wet.
Reply By: Kluger - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 12:54
Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 12:54
Thanks guys for some good feedback.
Nevermind the others, who wanted to prove something else
Reply By: Outbacktourer - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 16:53
Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 16:53
Kluger, been away, sorry for late post.
We have a Kluger and a GU Patrol.
Kluger has been to
the beach NSW Nth Coast, no worries, but it was working hard in the soft stuff and I'm not sure the cooling system and tranny would be up to it long term. Not sure if you have the Grande witht he traction control like we have but it was not working overtime as some of the testers suggested. Lesser models with the viscous coupleing and LSD would be a better bet for consistent soft sand use I'd think. Ground clearance is actually pretty good. In this respect it will go further than a lot of the other soft roaders. Tyres are a limitation too but I understand BFG are now making an A/T to fit. How much you can carry and tow is the other limitation vs the Patrol for instance. If you travel light and fit some decent tyres then it will probably go a long way.
As others have said, its amazing where you can go if you are carefull and respect the limitations of the vehicle, just ask anyone where they went in thier Kombi in the 60's and 70's.
Not long before we bought one of the mags hammered an Adventra, Territory and Kluger up the guts, the Kluger was the only one not to break something on test.
Just my 2 bits.