Wilcannia to Kakadu - tips and advice please

Submitted: Friday, Jan 31, 2003 at 15:36
ThreadID: 3175 Views:2660 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
We are in the early stages of planning a 2 vehicle (Triton dual cab & Landcruiser) trip from Melbourne to Kakadu in March/April 2003. We will be towing a Jayco Outback Swan & 16' Millard pop-up respectively with 4 adults & 3 littlies (under 5yo). Wilcannia is one important stop as my grandfather came from there. We are total novices and would appreciate any advice or tips on dos, dont's, what to see, where to go, what to take and also communication between the 2 vehicles. Any feedback would be appreciated.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Truckster - Friday, Jan 31, 2003 at 19:48

Friday, Jan 31, 2003 at 19:48
Lots of water!

Well equipt first aid kits, are a must, as well as at least one with first aid cert.. No good having the goods and gear and not knowing how to use it!

Comms: >=->
HF radio or Sat Phone, but look into them NOW...
HF you need license for, but in the middle of nowhere, if your not a good bush mechanic, it would be good to be able to scream for help and have people hear you!

Intercar comms>=->
UHF radio would be the go. 27meg would work, but UHF would be good for listening to others, and contacting Road Trains.

Do you have a complete route in mind yet?
How long you are taking to do all this?

DONT do a Clark Griswald going to Wally World (the National Lampoons Show!).. Give yourself time.. Things happen, theres a photo in one of the latest mags, of a Cruiser crossing a river, the caption reads something like, after crossing the river on returning the river had risen, they were stuck for THREE MONTHS!

What spares are you taking, 2 spare tires are a must, if your not good at changing tires AND/OR installing Tubes, then take complete tires on rims as well as puncture repair kits.