OT - Syd Barrett dead

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 09:28
ThreadID: 35759 Views:2806 Replies:13 FollowUps:11
there must be a few floyd fans here. a big part of my growing up and they all get frequent rotation in my house still.

Syd has passed at age 60. Tragic loss (40yrs ago) to a brilliant artist. I wish Hendrix had lived that long.

SMH

Reply By: Uppy - Member - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 10:05

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 10:05
Im with you,. pink floyd is still being played in my house by my sons.Timeless music,they are working on a new record,which will be interesting
shine on you craze diamond
regards uppy
AnswerID: 183105

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 11:04

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 11:04
new album? is that right mate? i know there were rumours of a tour but they have categorically denied that anything is planned.
FollowupID: 439639

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 11:29

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 11:29
Yep I heard it on the radio so time ago,still I well beleave it when I hear it
regards uppy
FollowupID: 439651

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 10:07

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 10:07
Wouldnt it be nice if bands had 1/1028309283402984092348023948203948th the talent of bands back then, writing songs that last more than 2 mths in the charts then totally forgotten...
AnswerID: 183106

Reply By: snow - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 10:45

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 10:45
Agree entirel BushFx, I don't come across too many Hendrix fans these days...have spent many a late night laying on the lounge floor with Hendrix through the headphones.
AnswerID: 183112

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 11:03

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 11:03
aaaah luv you, yep, the whole electric ladyland album through the stax electrostatics, in the dark.

i met his father a few times and he even let me play one of jimi's guitars, can't believe i didn't wet my pants.

he is the number one, jeff beck my favourite living guitarist, along with dave gilmour and jimmy page.

FollowupID: 439638

Follow Up By: Joombi - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 20:10

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 20:10
Bushfix, I need something cleared up, how did Hendrix string his strat, was the Low e on top coz I've heard rumours he left it strung RH & just turned the whole thing upside down with little e on top...

just a bit of trivia, Dweezil Zappa (Franks lil' boy) has the Hendrix Strat that he set on fire at Montery. The White Woodstock Strat sold for US$297,000 at a London auction in 93-94.
the man re-invented the guitar & put Fender back in the black
FollowupID: 439739

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 07:36

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 07:36
g'day joombi,

i believe jimi mostly played a right handed guitar, left handed but restrung for a left hander. There were not many left handed guitars around (manufacturing costs prolly but reckon he could have them made for him by the truckload now) but as you prolly know, the angle of the pickups and the whammy bar, combined with jimi's extraordinarily long fingers, allowed him to get those great sounds. he could play an unpside down rh guitar strung for a right hander and also a rh guitar, right handed. the access his fingers gave him across the fretboard was amazing, not to mention the strength bending strings when he played bass.

dweezil actually has the sunburst strat from a miami festival. the mothers of invention were on the bill too and frank got it (minus the neck) from one of jimi's roadies, then eventually rebuilt it. the monterey one was white with hand painted paisley i think. he has tried to sell it many times but is not getting the price he believes it is worth.

kind regards,

jeremy.
FollowupID: 439789

Follow Up By: snow - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 08:55

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 08:55
Mothers of Invention, man I haven't heard them mentioned for many moons...use to have an album dunno what ever became of it like a lot ofothers
FollowupID: 439801

Follow Up By: Joombi - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 09:04

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 09:04
Thanks Jeremy, you hear a lot of rumours about the legends but its nice to get it first hand from someone who has played a Hendrix...
My biggest claim to fame was playing Keith Urbans 40th Ann Tele at the Fender super jam at Tamworth 2001 & Phil Emmanuals busted ar*e Strat same year & venue.
thanks again, Rick
FollowupID: 439803

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 11:00

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 11:00
All this talk about the classic axemen and no mention of Roy Buchanan?
FollowupID: 439822

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 11:27

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 11:27
i've got a bunch of his stuff on vinyl and cassette too. another beautiful player but sadly lost too early.
FollowupID: 439831

Reply By: snow - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 11:14

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 11:14
That is pretty cool BFix nad have to agree with your selection.
AnswerID: 183120

Reply By: RedGibber - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 19:30

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 19:30
Yeah I'm a long time Floyd fan too!! I like your pick of favourite gutarists too, Bushfix!

Floyd, Hendrix, Page and co. still get the occasional "airing" (loudly!!!) in our household and my favourite Beck track is "Beck's Bolero"...trouble is it doesn't go for long enough!!

Speaking of Page, I picked up an album entitled "Coverdale and Page" quite a few years ago now (well it would be, wouldn't it? It's vinyl!!!) and when I'm in the mood for listening to these guys on their once-off ego trip, this album gets flogged as well!!

Red
AnswerID: 183210

Reply By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 19:42

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 19:42
Yep, I'm a big fan of Pink Floyd as well, as are my 2 sons.

Gilmour, Page, Hendrix, Clapton ("Eccka"), Beck are all favourites in our house.

They certainly don't make 'em like they used to eh!

Vale - Syd Barrett,

Bilbo
AnswerID: 183212

Reply By: FZJ 80 - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 19:57

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 19:57
Me Too!! About a month ago i bought "The Wall" DVD. Listen to Floyd regularly but had seen only bits of the movie. Was filmed in 82 when i was 10. Always remembered the scene of the faceless children on the conveyer belt falling into the mincer. As a 10yr old it scarred the mind. Now i love watching it cranked up for the story and the music. It really is very clever, particularly the animation concidering it was produced almost 25 yrs ago.

A true classic band and film

AnswerID: 183219

Reply By: Dirty Smitty - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 21:22

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 21:22
Yes poor old Syd "Shine on You Crazy Diamond!" He was a good example for the young kiddies of today. He was the great anti-drug pin up boy by just being himself. The drugs ruined his career, destroyed his relationship, sent him mad and shortened his life. I have read alot about this man, as there are endless amounts of literature on his life on the web and in magazines (especially mojo 2005, great article). He had so much potential as heard on "The Piper at the Gates of Dawn" (1967) and "A Saucer Full of Secrets" (1968) and of course "Ummagumma" (1969). He wrote some of Pink Floyds most creative works. Man what a waist....... :(
Set The Controls For The Heart Of The Sun, man.
AnswerID: 183233

Reply By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 21:23

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 21:23
Pink Floyd through and through here , the worlds best to me , have about 13 of their albums and a few rareities on mp3 , 4 dvd's (don't ask how i got 2 of them) ,, yep , they get regular play time here !!

All the best , Neil ..

AnswerID: 183234

Reply By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 21:57

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 21:57
After "Syd" Barret left Pink Floyd........

Well, they just became another band. They tried, for years (after many line up changes) to replicate the genius that "Syd" injected.

"The Dark Side of the Moon" was to "Piper" as was the HQ Holden to the 246 Dino.

His real name was Roger, and he wouldn't respond to "Syd" after 1970.

An unusual, and extraordinarily creative, individual. He became a recluse, for at least the last 30 years.

Family members talk of a quiet, gentle, man who shunned the public profile.

"I've got a bike, you can ride it you like, it's got a basket, a bell that rings and things to make it look good. I'd give it to you if you like, but I borrowed it."

SHINE ON.
AnswerID: 183240

Reply By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 22:23

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 22:23
"I've got a cloke, It's a bit of a joke, It's got a tear up the front, It's red and black," I've had it for months"

"I've got a mouse and he hasn't got a house, I don't know why I call him Gerald"

"Our Mother, tell me more"

Sheer Mastery.
AnswerID: 183242

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 23:37

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 23:37
bushfix

My handle is Floyd

Why prolong the agony all men must die (roger THE PROS AND CONS
OF HITCHHIKING 1984) love it

sad day but, will live on for ever, no one can write music like the Floyd

this is another thing I could go on for ever an ever BUT I wont.

Pink isn't well he stayed back at the hotel (the Wall)

also a song written for (about SID)

So, so you think you can tell
Heaven from Hell?
Blue skies from pain?
Can you tell a green field From a cold steel rail?
A smile from a veil?
Do you think you can tell?
Did they get you to trade
Your heroes for ghosts?
Hot ashes for trees?
Hot air for a cool breeze?
Cold comfort for change?
And did you exchange
A walk on part in the war
For a lead role in a cage?
How I wish, how I wish you were here
We're just two lost souls
Swimming in a fish bowl
Year after year Running over the same old ground
What have we found?
The same old fears
Wish you were here SID

AnswerID: 183258

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 07:52

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 07:52
thanks for the replies, it is good when people share their feelings for music and artists on this level, and i loved reading the responses.

wrt to the band, physically without syd, the "water-less" floyd took on a different feel too but perhaps that is actually due not only his vocals missing but to the massive void left by specifically, his lyrics.

if you have not already, i encourage you to listen to "amused to death" right through, by waters. the guy is one of, if not the best concept artists around and his ability to reach inside of you with his humanitarian spirit and musical interpretation is stunning. that too, is an album to be listened to in the dark.

i had to chide my brother (in london) severely the other night when he told me he didn't get it together to go and see dave gilmour doing an acoustic show recently. jeff beck and buddy guy were playing in london two nights ago, i hope he did not make the same mistake twice.

kind regards,

Jeremy.

AnswerID: 183276

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 09:28

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 09:28
will check it out and let you know what I think
regards uppy
FollowupID: 439808

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 12:01

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 12:01
a href="http://www.turnoffyourtv.com/reviews/waters.amused.html">read this first uppy

the album is about the effect of television on society, and in particular, the way it dulls our minds to the horrors of war.
FollowupID: 439840