city link

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 10:14
ThreadID: 36139 Views:4675 Replies:17 FollowUps:27
have just finished a 6 mth trip around tassy and victoria. after coming into melbourne we came to a toll road unbeknown to us its a electroic toll system no toll booth. after getting home we had 2 sets of toll infrngements totalling $200 wrote to city link and explained our situation, reply was infringement was done pay up or else, no provision for interstate travellors who will gladly pay if booth was on highway. very sad state of afffairs for victoria if this is how they treat tourists. col

Reply By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 10:18

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 10:18
Could not agree more. Whilst electronic tags have advantages for those of us who live here the whole process is a disaster for tourists and should be sorted out.

AnswerID: 185187

Reply By: Hayjude - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 10:36

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 10:36
Had the same problem when we went to brother-in-law's wedding in April. Had to go to Melbourne airport to pick up daughter and same thing happened. Didn't know what to do. Arrived back at i-laws and was advised to phone and pay by credit card. No worries, did that but when I received my bank statement they had charged me twice. On the phone again gave them all relevant reciept numbers. What did they say - they said that I could have a free pass next time I was in Melbourne. NO I won't be in Melbourne for the next 10 years or so. Reluctantly refunded money back into my account. To the unaware tourist it is an absolute shambles.
AnswerID: 185191

Reply By: donks1 - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 10:46

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 10:46
as most states now have e tolls, if you own a tag, it will work australia wide. for tourists with out a tag, daily or weekly passes are available.. as for the $200.00 dollar fine.. try living here when it costs you $100.00 a week in tolls just to get to work. can't wait to get the hell out of sydney again
AnswerID: 185195

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:10

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:10
No good about the fines, but all the Toll roads in Vic are well signposted for many km's before you enter the actual tollway advising you of day passes with phone No's etc.
You had the option to turn off before the tollway starts if you did not want to pay the fee.

AnswerID: 185201

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:58

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:58
yes they are well sign posted, but here in QLD we have toll booths for those without tags,and as for turning off im from a small town with no traffic lights so driving through the burbs is not really a good option. all that is needed is one toll booth on the side of the freeway and all the problems would be solved, common sense prevails. Col
FollowupID: 441953

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 12:37

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 12:37
Col

Get ready for the booths to disappear – we used to be the same in Sydney. Sydney roads are now appearing without booths so I reckon the next step will be to remove the booths as tag use become more wide spread .

FollowupID: 441959

Follow Up By: cipher - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 17:30

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 17:30
The fines are no good mate, i live in melbourne and i myself have been stung several times, you use it and then forget to pay for a day pass since you can get it after you travel...

There are signs however saying "No tolls booths, purchase daypass" but yeah i will admit that that particular sign is only signed once that i know of before entering the toll way..

The toll roads in melbourne (city link) were actually suppose to be made free 2 years ago..

The company that suggested the idea to the government borrowed the money off the government to create city link and agreed that they would stop the tolls after the bill was paid off, was suppose to take 7 years, they made there quota up in 2 years.. And are still charging us all for it..!!!!

Justin
FollowupID: 442034

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 17:51

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 17:51
cipher I think your a little off the ball game.

City Link was funded by private enterprise and is now a publicly listed company.
The toll way will revert to State Government ownership in about 30 odd years time.

Maybe do a Google on Transurban / City Link and have a read of the facts.

Oh and by the way all the fines are issued by the Victorian State Government (Police) and are not contributed to Transurban.
Transurban do have a veto procedure agreement in place with the State Government that gives them the right to request the fine issue by the Police is withdrawn in instances such as overdrawing your E-Tag account etc and you contacting them promptly to sort the matter out.
Like any organisation ignore the matter and it won't go away, it will only get worse.

FollowupID: 442043

Follow Up By: cipher - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 22:29

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 22:29
Are you sure about that John?

Because about 5 years ago when we were running fibre to some cams we were told hand over was 7 years after completion..
FollowupID: 442099

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 11:27

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 11:27
When the gateway bridge opened here in brisneyland in 1986, the toll was to be applied for 25 years, by the private company. By 2011 there are plans to duplicate the bridge and a new contract will be drawn up for tolls on BOTH bridges.

So don't keep your hopes up that any toll will be removed at ANY time in the future.

R.
FollowupID: 442172

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:34

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:34
I hate money grabbing scum governments... thats all of them.

but there are many signs warning you its coming up, with 13 phone #'s that you could call to pay while travelling.

you can also buy passes at any servo, or newsagent I think it is, and also pay online upto 24 hours later.

$200 is a bit rich though, how does that work, I got one in the mail the other day, instead of $10, it was $12.00 (or $11.something)...

??
AnswerID: 185207

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:58

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:58
Bruce, you can pay by credit card for 24 hours afterwards too on that 13 oo oo number. Even f you have an E-Tag you have to pay addition for the software to recognise your number plates if your tag isn't in the vehicle or the battery has failed in their tag!
FollowupID: 441954

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 12:02

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 12:02
we were away for 6 mths so did not have a mail service. The first infringement notice is sent and if not paid in a set time a police notice is sent for $100, and to fight this i have to go to court in melbourne i live in far north QLD,so which will be cheaper. Col
FollowupID: 441955

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 13:19

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 13:19
I thought the loot went to a private company not the Gov, anyway it seems like a good scheme to get some extra interstate dollars into the state. This is a ripoff era we're living in so you gotta get smart to survive, bend the corner of your front plate over so the first letter is obscured and paint the rear with mud.
FollowupID: 441965

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 13:35

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 13:35
or just dont run one. Havent run one in 4 yrs...
FollowupID: 441967

Follow Up By: cipher - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 17:33

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 17:33
Maddog,

the money went to the company who built it but only so that they could pay the government back the money that they had lent this certain company, One the company had paid back the government it was agreed that the government would purchase city link off the company as they saw huge profit margins...

It does however cost about 20,000 a day to pay wages for maintenance fees and repair costs for the burnley tunnel... That thing leakes near 700L per day...

SCARY!!!

Justin
FollowupID: 442035

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 17:54

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 17:54
It actually leaks a lot more than 700 litres a day.
Its actually designed to leak, no issue with that.

FollowupID: 442044

Follow Up By: cipher - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 22:28

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 22:28
If it were designed to leak why when we were running in the fibres through pits, where we not allowed to run our cables through the tunnel at the scheduled time?

We were told that the delay was caused by an excess of leaking, that tunnel leaks alot more than it was originally designed too...Not too mention the flooding of the service corridor underneath the road that you travel on as a patron.

The fact is that even the engineers who designed that tunnel said it was a massive screw up...And that it leakes ALOT more than intended to.
FollowupID: 442098

Reply By: Frank_Troopy - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:43

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:43
I did a dumb thing. I rode down to Melbourne from Sydney for a Grand Prix and forgot to remove the etag from inside my fairing. In Victoria motorcycles travel for free on the toll roads...... not me!

Frank.
AnswerID: 185210

Reply By: Member - Dedalus (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 12:31

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 12:31
I had the same problem 2 years ago in Melbourne. Tryed to call the 1300 number but found very difficult to talk with an "automatic" machine .... I'm italian ... it did not like my accent ... it did not recognise the word "payment" ecc.. ecc.. ended (15 mins lather) yelling "help" .. "help" .... but machine say .."I'm sorry, please repeat again" ... I started using bad words and finally a lovey lady answered to the telephone! She explained usually the firs time you enter the toll is free ... they dont send any fine but they will advise you about the toll ....
I still thinking this system is not wery good for tourists ... specially coming from italy!
AnswerID: 185215

Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 12:54

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 12:54
Hey Col - something seems wrong here.

I think the total late payment processing fee is $15 or so plus the actual tolls.

You get this for each day travelled - it has happened to me a few times, but I am now wiser as to how easy it is to use their registration system for occasional users and have it paid automagically - it is then very cheap comparitively, and they still have to mail out a statement to you each month.

You must have ignored the notices sent to you for quite some time Col, to have let the fine build up to $200 - either that, or you spent a lot of time on the toll-way, and you can't really say you didn't realise - there are lots of signs that are very hard to miss.

For all that, I'm with you that the system should have better information and an accessible real money payment option - I have waited 30 minutes in their city "service centre" and still not got to the head of the queue and left in disgust. I have a business to run and noone pays me for red-tape time.

Similarly, I have waited on the phone for hours to make a payment.

Legal robbery in many ways.

Ciao for now
Andrew.
AnswerID: 185218

Reply By: macca172 - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 17:03

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 17:03
Case 1. I know a guy in the UK who was in Melbourne on a two week business trip. Ran around Citylink for the two weeks in a hire car without lodging his credit card details. That was about 6 months ago, till this day he has heard nothing?

Case 2. My son spend time in Melbourne two years ago for a month, same story as above. He got a bill totalling $400. Wrote a letter, pleaded ignorance(as if) and was told pay up or else. He sent the toll factor money only not the other rip off top up fees they wanted and once again, till this day no more heard.

Remember guys, if Macquarie Bank is involved, it will be a rip off!
AnswerID: 185257

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 17:45

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 17:45
Ummm. I don't think this is of the Millionaire Factory's making.

Transurban Holdings own this one - I don't think the money from this is headed Macquarie's way as much as Mac Bank have sold the M2 to Transurban and other sundry transactions that keeps them in bed together.

Nasty bed-fellows all the same, unless you're a shareholder (or your super firm is).

Ciao for now
Andrew.

PS - your mate in the UK will have the hire car company banging his credit card account eventually - the pain will be heard all the way down in MEL ;-)
FollowupID: 442041

Reply By: Member - Peter A (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 17:15

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 17:15
Yes Col, it costs alot for us in Victoria, but a little planning before you left on your trip may have helped you, anyway i hope you had a good trip anyway

Cheers peter.
AnswerID: 185259

Reply By: Fusion - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 17:36

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 17:36
A couple of years ago my wife and I arrived in Melbourne from Sydney late in the evening to catch the ferry to Tassie the next morning. Very early the next morning we were travelling on the tollway trying to find the way to the ferry, not paying much attention to any other signs.

We made the ferry and got over to Tassie, but recalled the toll stuff and that we didn't see any booths. We recalled there was a phone number on some signs but we didn't write it down. So we were stuffed.

Got a bill for about $50 in the mail a month or so later back home in Qld. It was much more expensive 'cause our car is registered in our business name, so that's an automatic invite to be ripped off even further by the government.

A year later we were travelling through so my wife got on the mobile to ring and pay. The process was so tedious it took 5 - 10 mins on the phone, she had to keep repeating the same info to the guy, it was a joke, and she gave him an earful about the stupid system they have. He agreed it was a stupid system to make tourists go through.

Aaron.
AnswerID: 185263

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 18:00

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 18:00
Like every state we want tourists to come to Victoria - they spend money here.

Why not simply allow out of state cars (not trucks) to travel free on Citylink providing they don't perform more than (say) 50 journeys a year?

FollowupID: 442047

Follow Up By: Fusion - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 18:13

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 18:13
I agree with you 100% Mike. I think all states should do this for their toll roads where no booths are available.

The concept of making it so difficult to pay a toll is simply stupid. The fools who think up these systems appear to give no thought whatsoever to tourists. All they can see are the $$$$$$$ ringing up.

Mike for Victorian Premier :)
FollowupID: 442049

Reply By: macca172 - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 19:53

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 19:53
And.........they are planting speed cams on the Hume Highway from south of Kilmore, like they are planting trees! Argh yes "Victoria....great one day, expensive the next"!
AnswerID: 185288

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 23:56

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 23:56
Kiwicol, having read on the forums of similar stories to yours, I was terrified of meeting the toll roads when going to Tassie via Melbourne, and planned to avoid them. Then we had to go the other side of Melbourne and pick up a battery, and the tunnel was the easiest way for us city-terrified bushies in totally unfamiliar territory to get where we needed to go whilst towing a caravan through the most maniacal drivers i have ever seen. We asked people on the forums (who said the phone method was unreliable), and looked up options the Internet. As we were going to Tassie early the next morning, paying the day after at a post office wasn't an option, but paying at a Shell servo the day before was. For me who can't get money out of an ATM, the ticket machine at the servo was daunting, but thanks to the kind customer ahead of me, she pushed the right buttons and we got the ticket.

I do believe that some leeway should be given to tourists when 'offences' such as this do not put anyone's lives at risk. In Devonport we were totally unaware of a parking metre where we had parked (it was the only one in the street, and was different to those in the main streets - we just didn't see it), and we got a warning with a postcard. Similarly years ago motor-vanning around Europe, international tourists were just given a warning card - even it parked right against a no parking sign. Victoria - you're slipping.

AnswerID: 185339

Reply By: Spike me - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 13:36

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 13:36
Do you drive with your eyes closed??????

There are signs about 2kms before the tolls to tell you that you have a choice. Pay with a credit card by calling a number within 24 hrs of travel or pull off at one of the exits. These signs are as big as the Dogs Nuticles. They are reflective blue and are so obvious.

Do you miss stop signs, give way signs and childrens crossings when you drive????????????

I am glad that you are living in another state as I wouldnt want you driving around the streets that my kids live on or my wife drives on.

Just pay the fines and next time OPEN YOUR EYES!!!!!!

AnswerID: 185396

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 10:09

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 10:09
wellk spike u really are a nice bit of gear, with your blind arrogance i take it u are one of the fools who made this toll road system. no i did not miss the signs and i did not see a sign saying no toll booths which in QLD we have on our toll roads,and for ringing up and paying by credit card not everyone has one. all it would take is to put one toll booth on the highway for people for what ever reason cannot pay by e tag,common sense prevails,and im glad i live in QLD as we dont have to put up with arrogant victorians like your self. Col
FollowupID: 443254

Follow Up By: Spike me - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 21:02

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 21:02
Hey bright boy. If you saw the signs then why did you not either 1. Pull Over. or 2. Get one of the passengers (family) to write down the number (or memorise it) as it is only 6 digits long. There was neve an option 3. Pull into a booth and put your money into the machine.

In Victoria we do not have those slowing down points that stop the flow of traffic by getting cars to stop and throw dollar coins into a little plastic bowl. We have modern thinking and technology here.

I am surprised that you can even get the internet up there.

BTW are playboys and Penthouses still illegal or have they just covered up the good bits with little black stickers?????

Oh I just read your forum name. I cannot believe that I am dealing with a sheep shagger immigrant. Still no jobs over in NZ so you have to take one of ours.

Whats long and hard and stuffs New Zealanders?????????????????

Primary School.
FollowupID: 443426

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 22:29

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 22:29
Spike me,

Did you get water on the brain with all that cr@p whether that tends to inhabit around that city you call home. Or could it be that you forgot to pay the toll and didn't get your "serve" today and want someone to take it out on.

Some of us like the fact that QLD magazines are scrutinised and censored....it keeps #@##$%^ like you from being tempted to come too far north. I reckon you couldn't keep your hand off it long enough to enjoy the natural beauty of this country so you need to replace it with manufactured beauty on the pages inbetween.

As for your Primary school remarks...if you think primary school is hard and long (obviously you do, in your own words), just wait till you grow up, the real world is longer and harder so you may as well stay in your primary school cocoon down there in the deep south while the rest of us get on with living.

Trevor.
FollowupID: 443458

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 11:32

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 11:32
well spike its obvious u cant read, my last follow up only stated one booth on the side of the highway,which i am sure a lot of locals as well as tourists would use. As for taking down the phone no. what good would that do as previously stated not eveyone has a credit card to wrack up heaps of debt on and if a sign had said no toll booth then i would have taken a different approach. As for your other childish remarks not even worth commenting on. In QLD we have all bases covered E-TAG,PAY BOOTHS,CHEQUE and CREDIT CARD facilities and that my friend is modern tecnology working for all people with different ways of paying their way. Also with this way of thinking the police, courts and company running the highway are not spending money and time getting money from a system that does not work 100% COMMON SENSE PREVAILS. Col
FollowupID: 443530

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 13:00

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 13:00
Hey Trev, I'm surprised you got sucked in by this goon. I suppose we can all have a bad day.

Take no notice of him Col

Kiwi Mad Dog
FollowupID: 443548

Follow Up By: Spike me - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 21:03

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 21:03
The only thing worse than a Queenslander and their pea brains is a Kiwi Queenslander who is not even an Aussie.

Hey Trevor R you are assuming that I am from Melbourne. I am not but I can read and use a telephone. I also owould like people like you and Kiwi Sheep boy to stay out of Victoria. You are obvoiusly too blind to see so you shoulndt be on the road at all.

In Victoria the Playboys and Penthouses come with all of the photos visible. After all thats why we buy them. If we wanted anything less we would read Cosmo and New Idea. Maybe that is what you read hence the girly responses.

Stay up there please. We dont want people like you in our state.
FollowupID: 443649

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 22:39

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 22:39
spike u are the heart of a victorian, trying to belittle someone because u where beaten by the facts. the statistics show that the modern tecknology that u brag about does not work and needs some of the personal touch that we have in the back blocks that all the victorians are moving up to enjoy, Col PS turn the lights out when u leave. xxxx cheers
FollowupID: 443672

Follow Up By: Spike me - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 15:15

Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 15:15
BAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Now you are feeling homesick---Off You Go
FollowupID: 443789

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 18:30

Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 18:30
aaaahhhhhhhhh, cum on spike is that the best u can do when beaten by facts. Col
FollowupID: 443833

Reply By: HJ60-2H - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 21:17

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 21:17
I bet there are more signs on the Melb City Link advising you of the toll than there are in dry Qld towns where you can lose your vehicle for taking alcohol in. HOw much leniency do they apply in Qld for tourists and first time travellers in those dry towns??
AnswerID: 186379

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 21:57

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 21:57
That seems a bit biased, it is not only QLD that has dry towns. All states would (and should) show the same leniancy with reference to this matter.

Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 443453

Reply By: HJ60-2H - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 06:44

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 06:44
Do they show leniency though??
AnswerID: 186423

Reply By: Spike me - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 21:17

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 21:17
Hey Col BTW one of my clients is the Victorian Minister for Transport. If you confirm that this is your email adress I will forward your complaint and see if he can waive the fine that you recieved for the reason of bad eyesight.

kiwicol@austarnet.com.au

Someone else suggested that you were distracted by the semi trailer going past with 500 ewes on the back to market and missed the payment option.
AnswerID: 186600

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 22:50

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 22:50
i will take u up on the offer on the reason that i did not see a no toll booth sign so i could not pay cash for the toll which i am willing to pay but the fines that go with it are not justified. as i was travelling for over six months i did not have a daily mail service i was unable to keep up with the payment time of the first infringement notice even after wrinting to both city link and the police stating my circumstances and stated my willingness to pay first infringement notice then getting told pay up or else seems to me the same sort of reasoning why so many people get shot in victoria. Col
FollowupID: 443676