Toilets!

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:46
ThreadID: 36185 Views:3862 Replies:18 FollowUps:27

Firstly, thanks to those that recently replied to my previous post about Chambers Pillar.

Sorry to bring up a funny topic...but what do most people use for toilets whilst out in remote areas?

I bought one of those stools with a plastic toilet seat on top, and your business just goes into a hole you have dug under the stool. But what about privacy!? EG in desert areas when your travelling with a group?

Whats the advantage of a porta potty over my basic $20 toilet seat stool?

Any other 'toilet tips' for making life a bit easier whilst in the bush?

Finally, does anyone know if there are long drop toilets at Chambers Pillar?

Thanks again.

Reply By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:58

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:58
A deep hole in the ground and a "folding toilet chair"
www.grangerscampingworld.com.au
Click "furniture"(??? don't ask me! :) and scroll about one third of the way down the page and it's $34.95 reduced to $24.95.

As for privacy...? I never camp near enough to anyone else to consider it.

AnswerID: 185481

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 22:15

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 22:15
got the same one...

privacy - same as with a shower.. if its at camp, put up a tarp, crap behind that. if its only a fly by dump, then beside the car while other cars are on teh other side, you can tell people your having a bog break, they are highly unlikely to come and watch.. plenty of other sights in the desert.
FollowupID: 442314

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 22:34

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 22:34
What about the "spray" on the legs of that thing after a big night?

I don't fancy trying to clean off the hard set, crusted on spray the next day LOL.

And how do you stop the stench coming from the hole beneath?
FollowupID: 442318

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 22:47

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 22:47
Neither have ever been an issue. your not sitting there for 12 hours, well I dont, just back it out, and go...
FollowupID: 442320

Reply By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 22:06

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 22:06
We've had a porta dunny for 20 years. Use the blue chemicals and there is NO smell, easy to empty, simple to rinse out. The blue stuff works out at about 50 cents a tankful.

Ours is a small one witha 10 litre holding tank. If you only use it for dropping solids it will go a few days for two pepole. If you have numerous females using it for every wee, you'll need to empty it daily.

We also have a "spring up" toilet/shower tent. We put one of those square foam mats that has holes in it so that the base doesn't turn into a quagmire after showering.

I wouldn't be without it. Having a civilised bog is something I won't go without. The thought of a big night on the juice, and a big feed around the campfire can produce the need to back one out in the wee (bad pun) hours of the morning. The thought of heading off into the bush with a torch and a shovel at 5am is something I don't even want to consider.
AnswerID: 185482

Reply By: Member - Jezza (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 22:24

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 22:24
Hi James,

We us a "Jimmy's Thunderbox", and its brilliant. It folds up to almost nothing to carry, and is very comfortable to use. We bought it from a local camping store, or you can buy it online direct from the manufacturer.

Jezza
AnswerID: 185484

Follow Up By: Member - jeff M (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 23:07

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 23:07
We also have a Jimmy thunder box.
If set up for a couple of days we use a pop up tent and to keep the flies and smell away we use cold ash's sprinkled over the business.
Happy camping.
FollowupID: 442323

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 23:50

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 23:50
We set up a home-made "Thunderbox" - folding plywood sides with normal toilet seat. Just dig the dunny hole - the box sits over the top - we use 20kg flour bags for a liner, and tape it to the hole in the box. When we pack up, we bury it with a shovel full of coals. Its a very clean setup for a group.

Fold up shower tent for privacy. We occasionally put a flashing LED bike light so it can be found at night.
AnswerID: 185495

Reply By: disco driver - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 00:36

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 00:36
Reminds me of a mate of mine.
Used to drive outback coach tours into the real bush
Toilet stops were off the road, boys on one side of the coach & girls on the other.
One trip wasn't going too well, clients would not talk to each other etc.
One toilet stop he waited till all were preoccupied in doing their own business then drove the coach away.
Best trip he ever had after that little interlude.

Disco

AnswerID: 185504

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 01:53

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 01:53
Tried a few different options over the years, from a "take the shovel for a walk", to a simple folding stool that has a bag suspended underneath, to the porta crappa that I now use when necessary.

I'm with Jimbo, when I need to go, I want comfort and no bloody flies licking my arze while I'm doing it. Also use the simple popup tent which sits just outside the back door of the camper tent. Used as a toilet and shower tent.

***** accommodation in the bush.

AnswerID: 185506

Reply By: mickjp - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 03:09

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 03:09
Yes James there has been a long drop at Chambers Pillar for about 10 years. Personally i just take a shovel n paper and walk in the bush.
AnswerID: 185510

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 10:38

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 10:38
Don't forget the matches to burn the paper.
FollowupID: 442395

Follow Up By: Member - Jezza (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 12:41

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 12:41
Interesting comment about the paper, have seen a bit of debate about this in the past. Here is the Australian Nation Four Wheel Drive Councils take on camping and toilets.

"TOILETS
• Use properly constructed toilets where provided.
• Self made toilets should be not less than 100m distant from campsites and water courses/waterholes. Individual toilet holes should be as deep as practicable to prevent excavation by fauna.
• Do not attempt to burn toilet paper in toilet holes. Bushfires have been started by this practice. Fill in hole with removed soil and compact as much as possible.
• Chemical toilets should be used in those areas where the ground surface prevents digging adequate toilet holes or the soil is of a type that is not suited to such a purpose. They should also be used in those areas which have a sensitive environment and ecology that are easily disrupted. Waste from chemical toilets should be disposed of at authorised sewerage points."

Jezza

FollowupID: 442422

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 19:33

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 19:33
That is interesting Jezza,

I can understand the ANFWDC's take on the bushfire hazard but I think it is so easy to prevent this paper from flying around the place making an unsightly mess that I will continue to burn and just be careful. I am sure it is wild animals digging the hole open to release the paper to the elements but sometimes it is just humans being too lazy to dig a decent hole as well. Either way if there is no paper at all then there is no chance of it making an unsightly mess later on. Just my opinion of course and I respect the ANFWDC's view.

Trevor.
FollowupID: 442550

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 06:31

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 06:31
We are a big fan of the thunderbox too. However due to the addition of the Camper trailer SWMBO requested a Porta Potti so she didn't have to go out into the cold during the night. But there is still a place for the thunderbox.
AnswerID: 185513

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:10

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:10
We have a home made "seat" made from metal that collapses in an easy to carry package. Dig the hole nice and deep - we even take a crowbar for this purpose. The shower tent is migrated to the hole when the showers are done. Pretty simple, oh and the size of the hole is governed by the size of the chair legs. The depth on how many and how long you plan to stay. We had one of those plastic jobs you are referring too and they are way too flimsy with the legs too close to dis a decent hole.

AnswerID: 185519

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 21:28

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 21:28
chuckling at the crow-bar ... was out at Goolaboonie (or something like that) rock hole in Nuytsland and could be damned if we could find a spot to hammer in some tent pegs, let along dig the necessary hole ... eventually found a sandy patch a few hundred yards away ... thankfully the camper trailer's tent survived the night with no peg holds worth their salt ...

If you're wondering, the track from there that heads south back to the Telegraph track hadn't been driven on in the last 5 years it would appear - at least there are a few sets of tyre tracks now.

If you're heading that way, you can thank my kids for breaking off all the easy stuff crowding out the track and my saw for the big stuff ...

Oh, and the shovel on the side of the track is the one that got dragged off my roof rack by a big branch that I didn't see ... pity I didn't notice - was down to one shovel.

And if you know how to get from Twilight Cove (wonderful spot) at the Western end and find the Telegraph track heading West so you don't have to go to Goolaboonie let me know that too ;-)

Ciao for now
Andrew - only in the poo in a small way ;-)
FollowupID: 442585

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 08:37

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 08:37
G'day Andrew,

Well we also learnt the "hard" way on a trip to the Cape one year, there were several places that were just so dry and hard it was near impossible to dig a hole. I can tell you it was an easy decision and the bar sits in a cradle under the bedbase of the camper trailer (on the outside) - so it acts like a handle to lift up or pull down the bed base. The bar has come in handy on a couple of suspension repairs as well - truelly amazing how often it gets used.

Theo
FollowupID: 442663

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 11:33

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 11:33
Suspension problems?

Nothing that an axe and some rubbish off the top can't fix ...

although this guy has more problems than a crowbar could fix:

Ciao for now
Andrew.
FollowupID: 442715

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:31

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:31
Handy looking repair Andrew! It is amazing what solutions are available when things go wrong but I think a lot of people would find it difficult to discover these solutions because they are used to dropping their machine off for some repair.

The upside down sand diver will need a lot more than a crow bar I agree.

Theo
FollowupID: 442769

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:11

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:11
We've got a porta potti too, and use the blue stuff same as Jimbo, we got ours from Big W, works well, great at night, great with the kids too.

Lyn
AnswerID: 185520

Reply By: Bros 1 - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:12

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:12
James B,
The good old homemade crapper is the go. I make one every time i go away for a designated time to a designated place. When finished with it i leave it there for the enjoyment of others. If any women on trip i put a tarp around three sides. Nothing like the feel of flies, mozzies and sandies running around your clacker.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 185521

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:17

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:17
We find the full squat gives the best evacuation of material.
Learnt that travelling in Europe, with their toilets.
And also learnt not to be too embarassed after seeing so many Nordic and German types just stop right on the side of the road in full view.
So out of respect we try to obscure the vital bits, but really it is up to the person watching to be polite and look the other way if they are embarassed.
So our main toilet tool is a small collapisable shovel which stores under the back seat.
A roll of toilet paper fits neatly over the handle for carrying.

If setting up for a night or two in a group, I sometimes put a tarp up one side if a bush or tree doesn't cut the main view. And the jacking plate goes at the front of the hole for better footing. Wouldn't want any one to have that sinking feeling if the edge of the hole starts to collapse.
The shovel, with toilet roll goes otu the front, if in view, you know it is vacant. And every one is expected to put a shovel full in the hole after use for solids.
Spent too many years working in meat works and sewage plants to be put off by the material.
Took the wife (was girl friend at the time) a while to get used to the idea of a big hug on the way home from work, after I had been up to the elbows in sewage, or manure, or blood. Used to wash twice in a bucket of antiseptic, but it is the thought that counts! Of course these days, no one would work under those conditions.
AnswerID: 185525

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 10:45

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 10:45
shocked nobody has mentioned the bumper dumper yet.

www.bumperdumper.com/bumper2.htm

Handy when fishing too...

AnswerID: 185557

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 15:16

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 15:16
Nice 'eighth seat' rig for the whingeing child too.

Certainly puts a new slant on the phrase 'backing one out'.

Now I look closer at it, isn't that type of tow-hitch truckies commonly refer to as a 'ring feeder'?
FollowupID: 442462

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 19:35

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 19:35
Until I stop ROFLMAO, I will be unavailable to respond to any other posts.

FollowupID: 442552

Follow Up By: Rokkitt - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 21:06

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 21:06
Anyone ever driven off while you are busy..?
FollowupID: 442576

Reply By: Hairy - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 13:01

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 13:01
Gadgets I rekon!!1
Whats wrong with a long handled shovel, a roll of crap wrap, packet of matches and a lessurely stroll out in the bush for a dump?
AnswerID: 185588

Reply By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 13:13

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 13:13
A few sheets of newspaper laid out on the drivers seat, cable up, and straight out the window. No need to even stop. Otherwise a plastic Coles bag in the centre console works a treat.
AnswerID: 185596

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 15:49

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 15:49
You gotta be kidding!
FollowupID: 442477

Follow Up By: Rokkitt - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 11:42

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 11:42
My missus will do her nut when I start laying out the paper on the weekend (but just for a laugh).....you ain't for real are ya?
FollowupID: 442716

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 11:57

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 11:57
Say you fancy an icecream and ask her if she wants a 'Mr Whippy' first. Make damn sure it's not a 'soft-serve' before proceeding.

Keep and eye out for that special 'yellow' coca-cola they sell on the Nullabor too. Can't taste too good as most of the bottles littering the road verges are near full.
FollowupID: 442722

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 11:59

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 11:59
A Winnie Red stuck in at an angle and a sprinkling of ash turns it into a makeshift 'Choc 99'
FollowupID: 442723

Reply By: Scrubcat - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:54

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:54
As others, I use the shovel and roll on the handle type and dig a hole 30 > 40 cm deep. One difference no one else has mentioned. I take a 4 or 6 litre bucket (paint tin ) with brickies lime in it, have a small scoop or tin and just sprinkle a thin layer of lime over the doings so all is well covered. No flys - no smell - not dug out by animals - solids break down fast and, depending how deep, the hole lasts a while.
The paper burners may need to check summer fire restriction laws if camping in Vic or NSW ( not sure about SA) it could cost you $10,000 or more just for lighting the paper, MUCH much Much more if you cause a bushfire.

S.Cat
AnswerID: 185699

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:51

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:51
A trowel, a roll of paper and a freezer bag to seal the paper in - to be dumped next rubbish bin. Don't like fire.

AnswerID: 185725

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 23:09

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 23:09
A trowel????

Can't you afford arze paper? LOL
FollowupID: 442612

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 23:36

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 23:36
So what do you "dump next to the rubbish bin" ?
FollowupID: 442620

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 22:23

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 22:23
come on shaker - i might not type too well, but you guys all know it means "[dispose of at the] next rubbish bin" - not next to it!

Jimbo - the paper did get a mention, even if my children reckon i shop at Bunnings (sandpaper) coz i buy that recycled stuff - now don't let that get your imagination going!

Gee - my spell check wants to call Jimbo Jumbo and Bunnings Burnings - how inappropriate when i don't burn the paper.

FollowupID: 442857

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 22:35

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 22:35
M/T,

The trowel.......

A trowel is normally used for spreading and reshaping.

I'm not a bog sculpter, but I can always learn LOL.
FollowupID: 442865

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 22:46

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 22:46
But you are a cheeky devil Jimbo. A trowel is also what i use in the garden (and is similar to the one that goes with us camping - purchased from the gardening section of WA Salvage - one of the Bunnings group of companies) - although it is a different shape to the one used for cementing and brickwork. Oh why did i ever read this thread?

FollowupID: 442869

Reply By: Turist (The Original One) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 17:10

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 17:10
The best thing to keep strangers from camping too close to you.
Put out the fold up plastic toilet seat, shove a bucket under it with a few rocks and a bit of water in it.
Complete the scene by shoving a stick in the ground with a bog roll on it.

See who camps near that!

bob
AnswerID: 185868

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 23:17

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 23:17
Actually that happened to me in Cape York. Some bloke decides to pull up and think about camping so close it wasn't funny. I walked over, told him my dunny was just behind his intended camp and I would not stop using it just cause he was camping there.....took him about 2 mins to realise I wasn't joking and he was looking for another camp.

Welcome to the fold, and nice rig.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 442879