Jeeeeeeezzz it's annoying.

Submitted: Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 08:12
ThreadID: 36434 Views:3376 Replies:10 FollowUps:20
You're driving along, minding your own business and some imbecile comes out of a side street, turns into your lane at 5klm/hrs and then has a good root round his gearbox for second to get up to 20klm/hr after 500 metres.

Meantime you've had to hit the anchors, the bloke behind you has almost run up your clacker, and the one behind, and the one behind. the semi at the back has just taken $200 of his tyres as he's locked everything etc etc.

I used to get upset blow the horn flash the lights, only to get a finger out the window while the prick has a another good root for third gear, to finally get up to a frightening 55klm/hr.

I think you get the general idea.

My problem is that this seems to happening more and more often over the last few years. OK, sometimes people do misjudge the speed and distance of other traffic, believe senior drivers do find an issue with this at times, I'm not moaning about that, nobody is perfect. Live and let live and all that

It's this "couldn't give a sh*t about anybody else, I'll do what I like attitude" that gets to me. Apart from p*ssing people off it's plain dangerous.

To top it all off if you can't slow in time and run up his (or her, mustn't be sexist) ar$e it's your fault.

Does anybody else find this happens to them or are these people just singling me out.

More importantly what do you do about it?

Reply By: Member - John - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 08:20

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 08:20
Accelerate and hit them in the side, then it is there fault.......Only joking of course :-)

AnswerID: 187027

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 08:49

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 08:49
Sounds good to me... I'll add tht one to the book
FollowupID: 444192

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 08:26

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 08:26
Yep the worst thing is when they come out of a side street, dive across into your lane then hit the right hand blinker, last time a bloke did that to me I helped him round and kept going, yeah I know shoot me down aggressive 4wd owner but if these want to play Russian roulette in peak hour traffic with semis up your clacker I ain't endangering myself or chance of riding myself off cause of some other morons way of driving. I'm not saying I'm a great driver but after driving a semi around for years now sitting back in an office I've had 1 accident and 2 speeding fines in 21 years so I would say that's fairly good. And could you imagine it 4wd runs up the arse of car tooooo big to stop in time bull bar crumples rear of car in front, don't worry about the semi that cleaned you up or the 2 cars wedged between. You need eyes in the back of your head, my old man use to say to me drive as if everybody is out to get you will make you more alert.And I think your write people these days don't give a rats ar@e. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 187031

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 11:32

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 11:32
Yep I had a DH do a similar thing just the other day, I was comming up to a set of lights which were green doing 60km/hr in a dual carage way when he pulled right out in front of me (the right lane) and STOPPED with his left blinker on because he wanted to turn left at the lights and there were cars in the left lane! MY GOD. The MTR's made that unique howel as I anchored up, Unfortunatally it was a 60series landcruiser so if I hit him I would have lost, but also it's another DH giving 4wders a bad rap.

I did, however, make full use of my 120psi truck tank and 5 trumpets. Since I've added the latest trumpets and second air horn solinoid it actually makes my kids jump when I beep them from INSIDE the car. :-)

That's my solution now days, if people show me that they don't give a bleep about others, I'll show them what it's like to put poopies in their pants.
FollowupID: 444212

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 19:16

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 19:16
Yea, like that one Jeff. At least you have the satisfaction of assuming they have just pooped their pants. Maybe even had a heart attack.

Gotta get me a set of them Train Air Horns:-)

FollowupID: 444368

Reply By: chump_boy - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 08:50

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 08:50
It seems to be a growing trend.

My one and only on road accident ever happened a couple of months ago, when some idiot in a camry pulled out in front of me. He came straight through a give way sign on James Ruse Drive near Parramatta, and promptly wore a landcruiser.

I was glad I was in the cruiser, as it was his vehicle that ended up on the footpath, while I happily stayed in my lane. Thankfully it was all his fault, and the cops were great (one had just got back from the Simpson a couple of weeks before - what more can I say?)

I'm gunna regret saying this, but I think a lot of the problem drivers seem to be in little cars. They are quick, small, and perceived to be safe, so the drivers appear to be taking more risks, especially infront of "big, slow 4WD's". Trouble is, their driving skills aren't quite up to it most of the time.

Now, onto my pet peeve at the moment - pedestrians.... I live right near UWS at Rydalmere, and recently Victoria Road has been closed twice due to pedestrian fatalities. Where the hell is Harry Screwball and is invisible friends in the Pedestrian Council?

Ok, on with my day!

Chump
AnswerID: 187033

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 09:23

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 09:23
Yeah You never see scooby doo and his bleep vermin when some one gets hit by a car only a 4wd, I still say he's a wanker and always will be. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 444196

Follow Up By: Jugs - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 14:15

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 14:15
Chump_boy

I'm on the same block perhaps we shold look at puting a trip together
flick me an e-mail if your interested
Jugs
FollowupID: 444263

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 14:26

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 14:26
jugs,

email me at 4wd at email dot com
FollowupID: 444265

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 17:52

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 17:52
When is Scooby going to have a go at all of the pedestrians that cross on the DON'T walk sign?
Have almost wiped out a few this year, and they give you a rude stare (if not something else) when you just miss them.
FollowupID: 444335

Follow Up By: Sarg - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 20:04

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 20:04
Camry drivers!!!!!!!!!!!. Must be ALL ex VOLVO drivers. Even worse than D H's on P plates in dunnydoors. Give both a wide berth. Sorry, I'v got no respect for either.
FollowupID: 444377

Reply By: downtools - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 09:19

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 09:19
g'day guys,

I witnessed an accident yesterday arvo and was so annoyed at the way it happened, I took the number plate of the guy who caused and didn't stop.

I was in two lanes of traffic crawling north along Old Northern Rd when this guy forces his way out from a street on my left to make a right hand turn, about 3 cars in front of me.

He was in a nissan skyline, so he had no chance of seeing anything coming from his left but still went ahead with his right turn. Sitting in a Patrol it was easy to see what was going to happen but its over in a few seconds.

The two cars coming from his left ( one in each lane) could'nt see him either till he blocked one of their lanes. One of them swerved to miss him and clipped the other sending him onto the footpath and into a pole.

The guy in the skyline took off. How slack is that??????

I use this road a lot and see lots of prangs, some serious, so it got my goat to see this moron cause one and take off, I called the cops and gave my details and his number.

Takes a lot to wind me up but this did !

See ya
Nifty

AnswerID: 187041

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 09:29

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 09:29
And you know what nothing will be followed up cause the insurance company will say his vehicle didnt touch any of the others (no contact) so they cant charge him, same thing happened to my wife 4 years ago and wanted to charge my wife she told them to get stuffed as she was the one that ended up on the footpath spun around the opposite direction and she'l see them in court as we had witnesses. She refused to pay the fine, still waiting for the court date, that was 4 years ago she has renewed her license, rego etc no problem apparently if it gets to five years thats it so I've been told. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 444199

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 12:34

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 12:34
I'm looking at having a video camera running permanently to get evidence that can be used in court of some of this dangerous behaviour.
FollowupID: 444225

Follow Up By: scoof - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 16:31

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 16:31
Steven M ,
He maybe get in the chit , same type of thing happened to me but the Lady did stop, she pulled out in front of me , I avoided the accident by cleaning up a couple of post's and sump so I didn't Tee bone her.Only minor damage really $2300.00 to my Pajero nothing to her Magna. Her Insurance payed for the lot no question's asked.
Scoof
FollowupID: 444314

Reply By: 3.0turbob - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 09:36

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 09:36
Solution...................................................
Special licences for 4WD Owners!!

.....................................I'm being facecious (Ithink that's how you spell it) of course.
Every time some P plate kid goes lane weaving at a million miles an hour I wonder whether these stupid do-gooders ever get out of their ivory towers
AnswerID: 187044

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 12:35

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 12:35
I think that's spelt "ferocious" :-)
FollowupID: 444226

Reply By: glenno(qld) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 10:03

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 10:03
Had a close call couple of months ago . Was driving from hervey bay to burrum heads on a 100klm/hr straight section just on dusk . There was a 4wd in front . A car suddenly appeared and crossed a stop sign from the left still doing 100klms/hr . They passed right in between the 4wd and myself . I would say that it was about one tenth of a second between living and 2 dead adults and 2 dead children and whoever was in the other car . We were all in shock .
AnswerID: 187050

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 11:08

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 11:08
"Meantime you've had to hit the anchors, the bloke behind you has almost run up your clacker, and the one behind, and the one behind. the semi at the back has just taken $200 of his tyres as he's locked everything etc etc. "

Try being on a Motorbike in that potential vehicle sandwich. Been there a few times and it's all you can do not topunch the lights out of the idiot who pulled out.
AnswerID: 187064

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 11:36

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 11:36
That was how I justified lane splicing and giving the bike sitck off the lights, so that I was infront of the morons not stuck in the middle of them.

I guess there is some truth to it, but really I just liked going fast. :-)

If I buy another bike it'll have to be a cruiser, I just can't go slow on sports bikes.... (ie slow meaning less than 20km over the limit). That's why I sold it in the first place, I used to ride it every day, rain, hail or shine. I knew I was going to end up like a bug on a windshield one day so when I got a company car to drive to work I sold it. I still miss it though...
FollowupID: 444213

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 11:55

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 11:55
Yeah, know what you mean Jeff. I've still got the bike, however I'm not riding much as it needs work and the Troopie is the current project.

I could write a 3 volume book on the number of idiotic things done to me on Sydney roads over 20 years of riding a bike. The example in the OP is just one of hundreds of stupid acts I've been involved in. You learn to be a bit philosophical after a while, however at times it's all you can do not to wilful 'harm' to some of the idiots in cars. Glenno's example above happened to me on the bike when I was doubling my sister. If I'd been 2 seconds earlier, both of us would have splattered for 100 yards down the road. Driver didn't give a toss that they'd almost killed us.
FollowupID: 444215

Follow Up By: Roddesh - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 13:53

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 13:53
For many years I rode a 65K round trip to work year round. I've often thought as a motorcyclist about calling for cars to be banned from the roads. They're bigger than me and I find them intimidating. Their drivers will look at you and then pull straight out in front of you, tailgating and squeezing you in traffic.

Car drivers know that in a collision that they'll be ok and they don't give a bleep . When you get aggro because someone's nearly severely injured you they'll give you the bird or just laugh.

When people have a go at motorcyclists they'll invariably mention that they speed or lane split in their arguments against them. How this affects the car driver I'm not sure.

Spose everything's relative isn't it.

Rod
FollowupID: 444253

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 17:58

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 17:58
Reminds me of riding up Anzac Parade on my brand new one hour old Kawasaki and having some idiot pull out of a side road and stop in front of me. I was doing 80 kmh at the speed limit with nowhere to go.

I made a split second decision to drop the bike and let it hit the side of the car before I did. Just as the foot pegs started to scrape he saw me and opened a 2 foot gap. I just managed to pick it up and slot through. Bounced over the kerb and ended up on someones front lawn. No damage to me and not a scratch on the bike except for the rubbed peg. The DH just drove off. I sat there for about 10 minutes shaking and trying to resist the urge to catch him up and kill him.

The only time I have won on a bike was when I was sideswiped by some young girl driving a Corolla in Brisbane. She shot across two lanes of traffic for a parking spot and SMIDSY (Sorry Mate I Didn't See You). All the dents on her car were on the left hand front fender. I got away with some bruising and no damage to the bike (which was more important back then!) The good bit is that there was a Hells Angel covered in grease and chains about four cars back in the traffic and he stopped to see if I was OK. The girl must have thought she was about to die. I have never seen someone go that white so fast.

I'm not allowed to have a bike anymore, but I'm not sure I would want one seeing the way lots of people drive these days.

Pete
FollowupID: 444338

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 14:47

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 14:47
Followed a bloke today while he turned without giving way, went through a red light on purpose (he was stopped and could see it) and then turned into his driveway without indicating.
Where's a traffic cop when you need one ?
AnswerID: 187108

Follow Up By: Ozesheila - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 18:48

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 18:48
Husband and I travelling home to Brisbane from Hervey Bay about 18 yrs ago, when we got caught in a lo-o-o-ng line of traffic between Maryborough and Gympie. No overtaking lanes, too many curves and hills meant that that line of traffic moved from 60-70kph on the flat & 80kph up the hills.
Finally, on the northern ourskirts of Gympie we got to within 3 cars of the leader when we reached double lanes thru the town. As we pulled out to pass I was gobsmacked when I saw what the problem was. Old EH? (square body) Holden, with venetian blinds almost closed in the back window holding a sign (looked professionally done in the days before computers) up on the right hand side where passing drivers could see it. It read, "I choose my speed, not you."
As we passed where Macca's is now and drove around the bend and over the hill, there was a police car just sitting there for no obvious reason. I ofter wonder if they were sitting there just waiting for this driver.
Doing this trip quite often, I now accept as normal that the farmers north of Gympie township own the roads between their farm and the next one 500 metres down the road. Nearly every time we venture through that area, going south, some old Macdonald pulls out from the left, right in front of you, in tractor or old bomb, travels as far as the next driveway and then turns off to the right without the use of brakelights or indicators.
FollowupID: 444360

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 20:29

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 20:29
Ozesheila, don't give any favouritism to the farmers North of Gympie, I've seen plenty of that 'round Northern NSW too.
FollowupID: 444382

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 00:21

Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 00:21
Was just about to call north NSW.

After being in Europe and could easily do 600 km in 4hr , was brought down to earth with a 12 1/2 hr trip from the Tweed to South of Sydney. Most of the problems were with people doing thier "own " speed . You can see how road tolls are made when you sit in traffic doing 80 in a 100 zone only to have the guy speed up with an overtaking lane then slow back down when its gone, or speed up just as you are overtaking on the other side of the road.

My luckiest day was to have breakfast at Grafton for 15min only to be 15 min after a really bad accident further up the road.

The only thing I have learned is to take an extra day off work and not be in a hurry cause thats a pretty bad strech from the border down .

Glenn
FollowupID: 444423

Reply By: angler - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 22:29

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 22:29
Have you ever noticed most idiots who drive fast and badly drive old bombs? Seems that way up here in the deep north. Any old car that has varying paint colours and is in deep need of the dump address always travels fastest.

Pooley
AnswerID: 187192

Reply By: bigcol - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 10:34

Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 10:34
Thers a fair bit of generalising going on here.
I had a motorbike overtake me while i was doing a right hand turn and side swiped me..

There are idiots in every thing from Mopeds to B Doubles and it doesn't seem to matter that some in the B Doubles call themselves proffesional drivers.

Most people on the road do the right thing. There are those that are just plain ignorant to what is going on around them.

The one that annoy's me the most are the clowns that do 85 to 90 kph and then do 120 kph at an overtaking lane.
Struck one of these deadsh$ts coming back from the Cape in her nice shiny Red Mustang.
Was doing 85 kph on the open road. I'd sit back and wait for an overtaking lane and then floor it , to wind it up.
As soon as she saw the overtaking lane the Foot would go down and you could hear the little 289 V8 swapping cogs through the Auto.
AnswerID: 187244

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 13:32

Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 13:32
Know what you mean about the overtaking lane.
Must be people with really tiny brains that get their rocks off doing that.

Problem is that it's that sort of behaviour that creates road rage as well as people taking risks to get past these turkeys.

As to what the answer is.......Who knows
FollowupID: 444491