toilet on the run

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 23:52
ThreadID: 36490 Views:4766 Replies:12 FollowUps:27
before all the comedians start, its a simple question , just had my sister -in- law & brother over from east in their brand new rodeo & jayco set up & she asked , 'when were in the bush or in a caravan park' she is sick & tired of getting up in the middle of the night & go outside for a pee, so what would be a good design i.e. bottle, that is indistinguishable (what does that mean?) the next morning, when you take it to the toilet block with your shower gear , so that noone knows youve got a crook bladder or whatever? now i know theres going to be a lot of funny answers here but really what would you use if you were in this situation ?nah bugger it just give me the funny answers.

Reply By: Muzzgit (WA) - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 00:16

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 00:16
Freinds of ours who have a jayco camper keep a small blue bucket for such things. If there are taps nearby you don't need to walk all the way to the toilet block, you just wash it out over the fence or on a tree in the morning.

It is only for number 1's and only for the wife.
AnswerID: 187369

Follow Up By: oldmagpie2 - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 00:48

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 00:48
g'day muzzgit, thats what i mean about being indistiguishable , if i saw a small blue bucket in the morning being emptied over the fence id be suspicious, its all about being unseen & looking normal . cheers
FollowupID: 444648

Follow Up By: RosscoH - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 07:31

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 07:31
WHAT;;;;; Normal people don't pee?
FollowupID: 444653

Follow Up By: JJ - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 08:27

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 08:27
Hey, what's abnormal about having a widdle in the middle of the night? When nature calls use a bucket (she) or a bottle (he) or whatever you're comfortable with. You won't the first or last to do it.
So what if someone see's you disposing of it (in the proper manner) in the morning! If others snigger, they are weird and have little to do with their time.
To chuck it over the fence would be unhygenic!
But Oldmagpie, what's there to be suspicious of over a 'blue' bucket? Are you 'suspicious' when seeing someone MT their portapotti? or head to the toilet in general?
"it's all about being unseen & looking normal."? Huh?!
When ya gotta go.
FollowupID: 444656

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 09:44

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 09:44
==To chuck it over the fence would be unhygenic!==

Why? Is this no different to just going outside and peeing in the same area? Urine is pretty sterile as far as i understand....

FollowupID: 444672

Reply By: Member - BBB - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 07:43

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 07:43
Porta Loo, go to my rig and profile Photos and see the external shower/Toilet you bring the Porta Loo inside at night and take it out in the morning when convenient.

My wife gets me to do it so see is never embarrassed.

By the way it might also pay to tell her that see is not the only one that does number 1s at night and no one else will care what see has in her bucket we are all equal in the camping world.

Happy Peeing, Hope This Helps

BBB
AnswerID: 187380

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 09:55

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 09:55
Agree the Porta Dunny is excellent. A lot of Van Parks have a designated "dump" area for emptying them. No embarassment, lots of people line up to use it.
FollowupID: 444674

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 21:41

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 21:41
Yep im with BBB and Jimbo on this one, Porta loo is the way to go, why would some of you stuff around with a bucket at the risk of knocking it over, a porta loo with nice smelling chemicals is by far the best, and the secret for the boys is to always sit down, much easier than trying to hit a miss at 3 am.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 444788

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 17:12

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 17:12
So the rumour is true Pesty, you do sit down to piddle LOL.
FollowupID: 444948

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 19:27

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 19:27
OK Jimbo who told you? and is the rumour just between you and me?
Hahahahahahaha
FollowupID: 444967

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 21:15

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 21:15
I wouldn't tell a soul Pesty.

Well, not until the next gathering you are at LOL
FollowupID: 445002

Reply By: Member - Chris R (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 09:47

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 09:47
Being a woman I understand her problem. It's alright for you blokes to joke! We have a 4X4 and camp and I always have to go at night. So after many hit and misses (literally) I now use a small, plastic, white painters bucket with a sucure lid, bought at any hardware store. It is very easy to use being strong, airtight, with a handle and not smelly. Yes, it has to be emptied in the morning but I have never had a problem with that. In the bush is easy but even in a camp ground I have found taking it to the toilet to empty or washing it down at a tap does not draw any attention. Having a secure lid means that you can take it later when the early morning toilet throngs have gone. You can also buy a rather obvious looking contraption for males which also has a woman's special attatchment which can be bought at some camping shops. I was given one for Chrismas (as a joke) but I think the bucket would be better. Happy going, Dianne
AnswerID: 187393

Follow Up By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 17:01

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 17:01
I agree - we have a small lidded bucket - we both use it in the camper - and you will see lots of people taking their bucket to the loos in the morning - nothing to be ashamed of - its only natural after all.
Though I did knock it over once - luckily we have marine carpet on the floor of the camper so I just washed it with some disinfectant and let it dry in the sun - no problem.
jules
FollowupID: 444738

Reply By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 13:05

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 13:05
Not a solution to your dilema but the dragon sometimes uses these things when camping.......

Magic Cone

We keep old greeting cards and a roll of sticky tape in the Cruiser to manufacture units in advance for the upcoming trip. 'Rollies' are the way to go.

They are a wonderful invention, not so much for their practicality, but more for the entertainment value. Winning the novice female camper over to Magic Cone technology is a challenge well worth pursuing from my experience.
AnswerID: 187416

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 13:19

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 13:19
Having viewed the demo, I must ask.....Is the "Brazillian" necessary for it to work?
FollowupID: 444705

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 13:43

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 13:43
Filtered through the factory strainer or not, it still works a treat - even for the more Karen Pini'esque or shall we say "mediterrainian" ladies. In fact, a certain degree of hirsuteness can be of some benefit to avoid paper cuts.

A 'Mr T' cut would probably offer a tighter seal for off-road bottle filling applications though whilst on the move.
FollowupID: 444711

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 16:29

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 16:29
Karen Pini, now that is really going back a while.

If my sordid memory serves me correct, she was the first pinup girl in Australian Penthouse or Playboy or some such stick book of the time. I never had the pleasure of seeing that pinup; hirsute was she? I suppose the smooth look wasn't in back then.
FollowupID: 444732

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 17:03

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 17:03
Correct - your undeniably sordid memory serves you well! Australian Playboy it was, and for the record she was also Paul Hogan's sidekick when the delectable Miss Delvene Delaney departed the show (to marry Strop). Hot dang!

Yes Jimbo, in the late 70's 'straight from the showroom floor' and 'as per factory specifications' growlers were all the rage. Remember, this was the era of Sandman's, Monaro's, Winnie Reds and eskies of full strength beer at the cricket.

Now its all plastic surgery, aids, rice racers, 0.05%, PC Nazi's and low fat organic genetically modified carrot sticks. Not my cup of tea.

If it aint broke - don't fix it!!!!
FollowupID: 444740

Follow Up By: Lyds- Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 20:17

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 20:17
hilarious. you could have saved that for a Friday Funny!

and Karen Pini - yes, she really did put Tasmania back on the map.

FollowupID: 444767

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 20:29

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 20:29
ROFLMAO.

Mappa Tassie, I dunno. I prefer the lawn to be mowed, the contours of the yard are more appealing that way.

I've gotta chase up a photo of Karen, I do remember her on the Hogan show, however she was never kind enough to expose the land south of Bass Straight there.

By all reports the waterways would not have been visible, let alone the bald headed man in the canoe paddling along said canals.
FollowupID: 444770

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 20:47

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 20:47
Got the giggles something shocking now!

Keep thinking of 'Apocolypse Now' style upstream navigation. Machete's chopping away, all manner of screeches and shreik sound effects echoing from the 'rainforest thickets', head hunting pygmies with blow darts ready to ambush the unwary traveller etc......

Time for an ExploreOz get together I reckon. Nothing better in the world than a desert, fireside, port fuelled meeting of the 'Mensa Society' as I like to describe my mates.
FollowupID: 444773

Follow Up By: oldmagpie2 - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 08:51

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 08:51
v8, im on the floor dying, thats what i was after ,a sensible approach for the lady campers, my sister in law is going to pee herself , when she sees this one.
FollowupID: 444852

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 09:19

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 09:19
aah that was good guys....

don't forget the bird he had helping him excercise (sit ups), he was lying on a banana lounge while she stood behind (in a red bikini from memory) lifting and lowering the back. "pretty good for the optic nerve too."

V8, "never get out of the boat!"

btw, i hear john cornell is selling his big hotel at byron bay due to health issues. it was mentioned that he may have parkinson's.

anyway.......we just use a rectangular (beige) bucket inside a jimmy thunderbox.
FollowupID: 444857

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 10:31

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 10:31
>> Is the "Brazillian" necessary for it to work?
the Brazillian is ALWAYS necessary.. nothing worse than going to the dentist for a haircut.
FollowupID: 444867

Follow Up By: oldmagpie2 - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 11:07

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 11:07
i showed this to my nephew & 'having a cone' just took on a whole new meaning for him. ha
FollowupID: 444879

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 23:05

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 23:05
And packing it is a whole new world of fun compared....
FollowupID: 445028

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 13:05

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 13:05
How's his form eh starting off with "before all the comedians start, "That took all the fun away ....shame on ya oldmagpie2

AnswerID: 187417

Follow Up By: oldmagpie2 - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 08:54

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 08:54
it was bait
FollowupID: 444853

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 13:08

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 13:08
Having to get up in the middle of the night is pretty normal for some women, and also most men after a certain stage. One of the beauties of camping by yourself is only having to open the tent flap when in the bush. But in a camping ground its often a long way to the loo so anything that makes this aspect of camping easier is a great idea .
As for the neighbours, well if they don't have to go to the loo then I wouldn't like to be around when they explode ! :)) Don't feel embarrassed, it's a normal function for all of us.
AnswerID: 187419

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 14:46

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 14:46
Just love the magic cone, though I don't suppose wifey or myself for that matter will give the 'on-board loo' away just yet.
Regards Bob
AnswerID: 187432

Reply By: Cosmic_Travellers - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 15:40

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 15:40
Love the demo - but can't figure why you would use a cone when there's a perfectly good toilet staring at you!
AnswerID: 187442

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 19:08

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 19:08
Not all toilets are ummmmmm.....perfectly good. Sometimes they are left in less than 'serviceable' condition if you catch my drift.
FollowupID: 444748

Follow Up By: Muzzgit (WA) - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 19:50

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 19:50
Yes, I have been to a few bush camps where someone has been kind enough to dig a pit toilet and erect a few bits of tin for privacy, but I must admit to being more comfortable to go for a walk with the spade and toilet roll. Some people deliberately mess on the toilet to annoy the next visitor.
FollowupID: 444758

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 11:03

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 11:03
So true V8, dont throw toothpicks in the dunny crabs can polevault...
FollowupID: 444876

Reply By: Des Lexic - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 09:38

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 09:38
The perfect answer to you question maggie is to use the old fashioned hot water bottle. The funnel shaped mouth is near enough to the shape she needs and she can take it back to bed with her cos it's still warm. Next morning, it looks like your only going to empty a hot water bottle.
Biggest problem is to convince her its a good idea. LOL
AnswerID: 187569

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 10:00

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 10:00
Why are people so sensitive about nature's basic tasks?

What, tell me, is the difference between carrying a bucket somewhere to be emptied, or carrying the porta-dunny to a sullage point. (apart from the frequency)

I agree the Porta_dunny is probably the most practical but not everybody has the room to carry them.

If your sister-in-law is THAT sensitive she could:-
1. Empty the bucket while it is still dark
2. Place the bucket under the hand water pump and give it a couple of pumps and then make out she is emptying the dish washing water.
3. Have a tent/annex with no floor (bare earth)

Take the situation where a camp site has a "modesty tent" nearby, or for that matter a permanent facility. Everybody knowes that your heading for the dunny, but then everybody else needs to perform the same bodily functions at least once a day, so what's the big deal.

That's my view anyway.

AnswerID: 187579

Reply By: Jugs - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 16:14

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 16:14
If you go to a pilots shop you (the Ladies ) can get a thing caled the Lady J it is for having to Pee when flying a light aircraft for the ladies, the blokes just refill the coke bottle. It is plastic of the apropirate shape. cross between the Magic cone and the waterbottle. you need to supply you owne bottle. The other trick is to fill the bottle with fine sand or the like. If you have an acidentla knock over of the bottle you still have time to pick it up with out spillage. Works for the bucket too. also reduces the oder before desposal.

Jugs
AnswerID: 187654

Reply By: Jugs - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 16:17

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 16:17
If you go to a pilots shop you (the Ladies ) can get a thing called the Lady J it is for having to Pee when flying a light aircraft for the ladies, the blokes just refill the coke bottle. It is plastic of the appropriate shape. cross between the Magic cone and the water bottle. you need to supply you own bottle. The other trick is to fill the bottle with fine sand or the like. If you have an accidental knock over of the bottle you still have time to pick it up with out spillage. Works for the bucket too. also reduces the oder before disposal.

Jugs (hit wrong button)
AnswerID: 187655

Follow Up By: oldmagpie2 - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 09:16

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 09:16
first time ive seen a pair of jugs on this forum. ha. cheers
FollowupID: 445062