Just back from 14 week trip. Short Report.

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:07
ThreadID: 36597 Views:4510 Replies:11 FollowUps:14
Route: From Gold Coast up the coast (that is a story in itself; the planned route was via Cameron's Corner, Innamincka, Birdsville etc, but changed 'as I drove out the gate'. West via Mt Isa and across to Broome via the bitumen. Up to Cape Leveque and Middle Lagoon, then across the GRR, Mitchell Plateau, over to Kakadu, Darwin, Litchfield, across the Western Gulf to Kingfisher and Lawn Hill, then down through Western Qld (Winton, Longreach, Barcaldine, Roma, Toowoomba back to Gold Coast.

Vehicle was '05 Hilux TD dual cab, towing Odyssey ZR CT. Trailer weighed right on 1500KG when fully loaded with water (200 l) and extra fuel (80 l)
Just over 16,000 KM with a bit over 6,000 on the dirt.

Fuel consumption on bitumen was 13.8 l per 100 km and about 14.6 on the dirt.
Tyres were Cooper ST 31/10.5/15s. Number of punctures - nil.

Cheapest fuel on outward leg was $1.31.9 (after 4c discount) at Mt Isa. On return leg $128.9 at Dalby (after 4c discount). Both cheaper than the Gold Coast!!!
Most expensive fuel was $2.05 at Drysdale River.
I carried 200 l in total, so rarely had to pay the ultra high prices.

Mechanical problems:
Top half of UHF antenna flew off on Kalumburu road; a victim of corrugations.

Clamp on CV boot would not stay in place (refitted 4 times). Ended up replacing it with tie wire which held. In Broome, arranged for complete replacement of front drive shaft, CV etc under warranty. As parts had to come from overseas, Toyota agreed to send them to Darwin. I had the work done there on way back. I'd rather not have these problems, but Broome Toyota, Bridge Toyota (Darwin) and Toyota Australia were great. No disruption to trip at all.

Two screws in stove vibrated loose on corrugations.

With just 40 km of dirt to go on the trip (between Lawn Hill and Gregory Downs) a road train threw up a stone and cracked the windscreen. Bugger.

Free camped as much as we could. About half the 95 days of the trip. Mostly terrific sites.

The whole trip was sensational. Didn't want it to end. The camp oven got a real work out with roasts, stews, bread, etc etc. Surprised I didn't pack on a heap of weight. All the walks, wood gathering and cutting etc must have helped.

We were very fortunate to have travelled just after such a great and late wet season. A small number of closed roads and walks, but nothing to really effect the trip. All the gorges, rivers and waterfalls were beautiful.

Didn't have a boat on this trip, but did a bit of fishing. Also carried crab pots (got some great muddies) and opera house pots (a good feed of red claw at Kingfisher Camp).

This is all sensational country. If you haven't been there, do yourself a favour and get there. But not until you have the time to do it properly. We came across people 'doing' the GRR in 4 days. We took 18 days, and could have spent much more.

I said it was a short report, so that will do for now. Happy to provide further info to anyone planning a trip to this area. Kathryn (SWMBO) took about 4,000 pictures. I'll try to work out a way to host and make available some of the best.

Reply By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:15

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:15
Norm C,
Good report bloke and reads like a top time had by all.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 187911

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:32

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:32
Thanks Bros. Your use of he term 'bloke' reminds me of our favourite radio station up that way. 693 AM Waringarri. It is the Aboriginal Radio station in Kununurra, which relays most areas in the Kimberly. We dropped in and had a look around on one of our stop overs in Kununurra. Good people doing a great job.
FollowupID: 445154

Follow Up By: Member - David B (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 20:49

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 20:49
Hi Norm, sounds like a great trip. Can we expect see more pics in your photo gallery.

Dave.
FollowupID: 445184

Follow Up By: Member - jeff M (SA) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 09:22

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 09:22
Sounds like a great trip , we are heading lawn hill,Karumba way soon, can you catch red claw at Lawn Hill . Also is red claw like a yabbie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
After reading your report our trip can't come soon enough.
Cheers Jeff
FollowupID: 446016

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 10:34

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 10:34
I caught Red Claw at Kingfisher Camp (Nicholson River). Yes they are like a Yabbie, but as they get bigger, the claws are quite red (hence the name). Great eating. Use potato for bait. Partly boil it to soften it a bit, but not so much that it falls apart.

Lawn Hill Gorge is a NP, but you might get them in the Creek outside the park (Adel's Grove for eg), but I did not try.

Have a great trip.
FollowupID: 446020

Follow Up By: Member - jeff M (SA) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 21:42

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 21:42
Hi Norm

Thanks for your reply I have some opera house net's so I'll chuck'em in now, I'll try the potato trick.

Cheers Jeff
FollowupID: 446110

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:24

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:24
Welcome back Norm..... am pleased to see your Rig Pic again!

;-))

Will talk soon.

AnswerID: 187914

Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:33

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:33
Good to see you back Norm,we all celibrated you're b/day seeing you were not here.Good also that you had a great trip.Ahhhhhhhh one day it will be my turn to get out there.
Cheer's Bob.
AnswerID: 187918

Reply By: Member - uncle - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:51

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:51
Welcome back Norm,
good to see you had a great trip and got back in one piece.Keep us all posted about the photo's, one of my fav 's is checking out parts people have been to around the country that we havn't yet seen .
AnswerID: 187928

Reply By: Member - BBB - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 20:27

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 20:27
Norm sounds like a great trip.

We leave Brisbane on the ninth of September for Lawn Hill, Normanton,Cooktown,CapeTribulation, and home can't weight I will contact you later on the message systems
AnswerID: 187940

Reply By: Member - youknowyouwantit (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:08

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:08
I was on the Kalumbaru Rd just a few weeks back and also lost my uhf aerial on the corregations.

I happened to look over at it just at the right time as is sheered off at the base (just above where it screws on)

I had only just just bought it brand new a few days earlier because some other prick stole the other one from our camp site in the Bungles.

Fortunatley that was the only trouble we had on the whole trip.
AnswerID: 187965

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:26

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:26
I was wondering about a warranty claim on the antenna. Probably pushing our luck under the circumstances?
FollowupID: 445217

Follow Up By: Member - youknowyouwantit (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:28

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:28
I will be...always worth a try
FollowupID: 445218

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:08

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:08
Hi Norm,

Sounds like you had a great trip.

Good to hear of a Vehicle Manufacturer and Dealer Network that provided support to you in "remote" areas too.

AnswerID: 188053

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:36

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:36
Yep what everyone has said ......... sounds like a great trip was had, I cannot wait to get out and about myself.

Will be keen to see photos and get some info for our planned trip :)

AnswerID: 188063

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:43

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:43
Have you worked out how much this trip cost you all up? Im looking at the other thread on costs and being voted in as trip leader at the club Im just trying to see what a trip like this is costing currently.
AnswerID: 188069

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:12

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:12
Hi Truckster. I did a detailed budget before we left and it totalled $15,000. We kept records of all our spending for the trip, but I haven't entered the final couple of weeks in the spreadsheet yet.

I'll give you more detail in a while (perhaps later today), but overall we were within budget, including horizontal waterfall flights, etc.
FollowupID: 445300

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:38

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:38
Just updated the expenses. Here is a summary:
Fuel $ 3,333
Food and shopping for basics $2,572
Alchocol $943
Eating Out $751
Scenic Flights $790
Entry Fees and Other tourist stuff $686
Camping Fees $1,330
Washing Machines $ 58
Souvineers, gifts, etc $ 265
Other $ 740
Vehicle service $ 295

Total: $11,763

The budget was $15,000, but that was for 115 days. We came home a bit early as our daughter leaves for a job in Japan in a couple of weeks and we want to spend some time with her before we go. Budget also had a $1,000 'oh sh_t' contingency amount which was not used, but I guess will be eaten into paying for the new windscreen and UHF antenna.

FollowupID: 445331

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 14:24

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 14:24
only $1000 for oh chit? I would have said $3-4k at least...
What about a clutch or similar... Even though its newish rig, they would give you hell under warranty...
those are the things i think of, or is it something not to worry about... maybe I think too much.
FollowupID: 445369

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 14:43

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 14:43
Lets just say I didn't budget for major issues like that. Even with warranty, recovery from (say) Mitchell Falls, would not be cheap. Sure, it might happen, but that is ouside the trip budget. If undertaking this sort of trip, you need to have access to enough reserve funds in case of major problems.

I carried some spares (3 new tyres on rims, fuel filter, belts, etc, also stuff for emergency repairs (Knead It, tie wire, fencing wire, heaps of cable ties of different sizes, nuts, bolts etc). I used some tie wire and a couple of cable ties on my vehicle and some Knead It on someone elses. That's it.

We also carried $1,000 in 'emergency' cash, which was hidden in a secret place in the vehicle. We didn't touch it (and that remindsme, it is still in the vehicle). I carried it as cash can often speak loudly in remote areas when you need something done.

You will budget differently to me Truckster. You might spend less on grog for starters and food can be done much cheaper. We eat well when on the road; better than at home as preparing the evening meal is part of the camping experience we enjoy.

Consider the possibilities (accident, blown clutch etc), then prepare as best as you can. But don't worry about them. Planning is part of the fun of the trip and worry will spoil the fun.
FollowupID: 445373

Reply By: Bluelux - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 18:45

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 18:45
G'day Norm, Great wrap-up of your trip.I read the article with interest as I have near identical ute.ARB winch bar(no winch),snorkle,canopy,dual/batt system(D.I.Y.),cut down original side steps to give xtra 60mm clearance,fitted OME medium stiffness front coils(kept original struts) to compensate for sag & soft original coils,rear suspension standard,currently running cooper ATR 265/55 on standard rims but wanted to go to 31's next time,happy with current tyres (almost 40,000kms) but looking for xtra lift.I like the Cooper ST (had a set on my last 'lux,91 d/cab 2.8) but probably look at BFG A/T's as they are 'S' speed rated( 1 less legality to worry about!! I know 31's will be slightly over size).Are you happy with this size tyre,any drawbacks? After punting the 'ol 2.8 around on 31's for 12 years I suspect the new T/D will cope!Probably even make my speedo more accurate. Did a trip to Chambers Pillar about a month back,very corrugated,only a week after Finke race,certainly if anything was gunna fall off it would have done it then(.Still had standard coils in front). Did not develop any rattles so seems the build quality is OK.(touch wood).Had such good(287,000km) run outta the "ol girl I had to try another one!!
AnswerID: 188189

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 20:04

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 20:04
The 31s make the speedo just about spot on (checked with GPS).
The tyres have been great and no real downside. Only thing perhaps is that 1st gear is a bit high in this vehicle to start with, so starting off up hill, fully loaded with CT attached is perhaps a bit tougher on the vehicle, but nothing to cause any great worries so far.

I had ATRs on the vehicle initially, but traded them at about 20K for the ATs in prep for this trip. The ATRs are better on the bitumen and certainly quieter, but in the dirt and sharp rocks you get on some of the outback roads, I preferred the ATs.
No sign of the chipping others have reported from time to time.

I suspect tyre pressure and speed are the keys. I came across people on the GRR running 50PSI and insisting they had it right. The two punctures they had were just bad luck!

You must feel like you are in a Porshe, after the 2.8!
FollowupID: 445461

Follow Up By: Bluelux - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 21:44

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 21:44
Yeah thanks Norm for the reply.(I think you mean ST's not AT's).Looks like the 31's are the go. First gear is pretty tall but that reverse sure takes some getting used to!
Very happy with my setup, especially now the front end is sorted.Sits up great and still rides well,got the idea from a bloke I met at Uluru.Went for OME as they claim 40mm lift over standard,King springs cheaper but as I didn't want to touch the rear thought 50mm might make front too high.She came up about 55mm from where the xtras had made it sag.Worked out real good,can still put a bit of gear in the back and sits level.Took the family up to central oz couple of months ago,did all the touristy bits towing Jayco Swan.Covered 7200 kms and averaged 12 L/100k, so was very very happy.Get about 9.6L/100k normally but thats being careful.Used to do bit better before I threw all the extras on it but never got their claimed 8.5L/100k.Not that I'm complaining,cheaper to run than the 2.8 and you can actually accelerate up hills and do more than 90 into a headwind!!Cheers Oz.
FollowupID: 445686

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 08:24

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 08:24
Yep, STs is right.
Sounds like you have a good set up
FollowupID: 445714

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 06:38

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 06:38
Hi Norm,
While you and Kathryn were away, my computer went on the fritz. I am getting email addresses together again, but am missing your email addresses. When you get a chance, could you drop me a line so I get them again please?

AnswerID: 188732