For the Campfire... Dan Murphy Cellars - unbelievable wine value

Submitted: Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 21:26
ThreadID: 36702 Views:5085 Replies:20 FollowUps:53
I was just down at Dan Murphy Cellars (for those of you who have this store in their state). I just wandered down the aisles and picked a case each of a 2006 Cabernet Merlot and 2006 Chardonnay (skins obviously) as a test of the type of wine that's being dumped due to the glut.

Well.. I just made it home and cracked a bottle of the CabMerl and...... very drinkable indeed. I mean even good. Certainly a reasonable quaff. Smooth - and probably as good as some $15-$20 wines I've had as of late.

The price?

$1.99 a bottle.

$23.80 a case.

Unbelievable. I'm going to get another 20 cases (10 for us, 10 for the folks) this week.

Reply By: Steve - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 22:31

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 22:31
WANKER
AnswerID: 188608

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 22:52

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 22:52
So what's your little problem? I report a good find for those of us who like a bit of red around a campfre and you insult me?

GROW UP LITTLE BOY
FollowupID: 445866

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 22:59

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 22:59
Can't afford a bottle Steve? Let me know your address and I'll send you one - on me.
FollowupID: 445869

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:00

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:00
lol...I think he's already polished off a case tonight Chris.
FollowupID: 445871

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:01

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:01
Beat me to it Ray ;)
FollowupID: 445872

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 08:08

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 08:08
Now, now Chris/Ray. I think you should read his whole reply before being judgmental LOLOL
FollowupID: 445900

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 08:11

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 08:11
LOL! He seems to have a "firm grip" on the situation Gramps ;)
FollowupID: 445901

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 08:17

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 08:17
He's a lucky man to have two. Can't be that silly playing with one :)))))))
FollowupID: 445902

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 11:17

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 11:17
whats his problem?
angry little prick....le
FollowupID: 445923

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 11:35

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 11:35
who knows Nudie, the pressure on people these days manifests itself in all ways, just laugh and have some understanding that people aren't angels....well apart from your wife...well you wish she was an angel...um....think I'll just shutup
FollowupID: 445926

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 17:48

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 17:48
dont you have to be dead to be angel?......

wonder if she'd want to be one...
FollowupID: 445967

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 22:38

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 22:38
Chris ,

As good as that wine your saving for me ?

I have got onto a few good clean skins and a few not so good tooo - but nothing for $1.99 a bottle . We have one in the next suburb so I will wonder down tomorrow . Trouble is there is no parking around it and their new car park is too low to admit 4WDs with roof racks . Typical .

Cheers ,

Willie .
AnswerID: 188610

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 19:15

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 19:15
LOL!! Sorry I missed this before Willie!

NOTHING is ever as good as your own home-made wine ;) .... even if it isn't the best on earth. We are having problems with temperature maintenance this winter, so our own production is down to almost zero. No matter - we have some ready to go soon... but it will be a red "chiller", which is what plum varietals usually turn out to be for us.
FollowupID: 445971

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 22:40

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 22:40
Chris ,
I think Steve might be more into a beer . Any specials for him .
Willie .
AnswerID: 188611

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 22:56

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 22:56
Didn't look at the beer aisle Willie. Wasn't interested because I brew out own. Our little Stevie can wander down and check it out for himself if he's old enough to drive.
FollowupID: 445868

Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 22:43

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 22:43
Enjoy Cocko, a little less details next time. ! LOL
AnswerID: 188613

Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:02

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:02
Thanks for that, think I'll pick up a case or two tomorrow.
AnswerID: 188618

Reply By: Trevor M (SA) - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:21

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:21
Not sure how this will go with the moderators but "what the..."

I have a range of varietal cleanskins available from most of the major wine regions at about $6.50 per bottle (Coonawarra Cab, Barossa Shiraz, Clare Riesling, Margaret River Cab Merlot, Adel Hills Sauvignon Blanc, Yarra Valley Cabernet etc etc)

I can also do short run labels with your own design.For example...."06 Crossing.."

If interested, casnat@internode.on.net
AnswerID: 188619

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:40

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:40
Trev, you left out the most important region in Australia. "The Riverland" Scoff you might but if you see the constant stream of bulk tankers from around here delivering daily to the Barossa, Clare Valley, Southern Vales and the Coonawarra and being sold off at inflated prices because of the label then everyone may want to reconsider their choices. MOST of all the wine crushed here is then blended with the toffy nosed wines. We are the largest production area in the country.
We are getting some bargains here too so everyone can help the wine glut out and become a glutton of a wine drinker. LOL
Just stepping off my podium now.
FollowupID: 445881

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 07:32

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 07:32
Them same tankers with Victorian number plates are just passing through - coming from the Yarra Valley with wine from the best quality wine district in our solar system. Growing grapes in our run off .... can't be as good as ours as we are using the extra virgin water and you are getting the run off in that big brown salty river...
FollowupID: 445897

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 11:19

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 11:19
any bargains at 2 bucks a bottle Des
FollowupID: 445924

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 17:25

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 17:25
Fishin' fishin' fishin' wait for Mr Lexic to take the bait....or any crow eater would have done.... but not even a nibble....

Might have to get fishing lessons from folks in Peterborough ... where is he?

FollowupID: 446061

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 18:52

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 18:52
Sorry folks, been away for the weekend helping to get rid of the wine glut.
Now Andrew, The only thing that you can make drinkable in your neck of the woods is Tequilla. We don't put water in our wines, we just squash grapes and bottle it after that. I just thought of an unique business opportunity, You could plant anything in the Yarra River and it would grow Hydroponically. Soil is already mixed with the water.

Nudie, Not aware of any $2.00 cleanskins but I'll check it out for you and let you know.
FollowupID: 446078

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 13:25

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 13:25
Got to say that at $1.99 per bottle retail I was a tad dubious as to the "drinkability" , imho it beats anything available in chateau de cardboard , our local Dan Murphy outlet has put a limit of 4 cases per day per person .
AnswerID: 188665

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 15:00

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 15:00
You tried it? Pretty darn good for what they ask, no?

4 cases per person per day at your local. Are you in Sydney? Ours has no limit - apart from the fact that they only have 25 cases left and that's it. You can buy whatever you can carry though.
FollowupID: 445941

Reply By: Member - Lindsay S (Int) - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 14:58

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 14:58
Makes me feel a bit crook, paying 70 bucks a cask for Stanley here in Singapore at the moment. Still, if you drink enough red in Aus at those prices you may be able to offset the fuel price. Silver lining?
AnswerID: 188672

Reply By: Rod E B - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 15:27

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 15:27
thanks for the heads up

I got a bottle of each

the red is not bad , better than cask

the white much the same

thanks
AnswerID: 188675

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 16:09

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 16:09
No worries Rod - glad to help.

I just made it back with another 10 cases - which is now the daily limit at our store. I just hope that there will be some more left tomorrow........ it's a hell of a cheap investment for people who drink a bottle every night over dinner :)
FollowupID: 445950

Reply By: Steve - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 17:26

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 17:26
I wish David and Michelle wouldn't allow people to double up on existing names of posters on here. This fella's been on before with similar contributions.
AnswerID: 188682

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 17:38

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 17:38
The only answer to that is compulsory membership...or at least registration Steve.
FollowupID: 445966

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 11:40

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 11:40
Not possible to have duplicate names, that was stopped long ago, unless something has gone haywire.
FollowupID: 446022

Follow Up By: Steve - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 18:11

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 18:11
well, something went wrong, matey, 'cos that certainly was not my post.

FollowupID: 446067

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:37

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:37
maybe David can back you up Steve...he can figure it out ...
FollowupID: 446305

Follow Up By: Steve - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 21:59

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 21:59
Maybe just change my username - I said that last time this idiot came on but never got around to it.
FollowupID: 446340

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 07:50

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 07:50
join up and become member no2
buy a first aid kit or book/s nd get membership for zilch
FollowupID: 446388

Follow Up By: Steve - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 08:45

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 08:45
eh? or "please explain" to quote the good lady ;)
FollowupID: 446400

Reply By: Member No 1- Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 17:53

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 17:53
on the way to club this morn i went past dans On Your Say So and got 10 dozen....gee I thought ..have i wasted my money

nope says everyone that didnt have to shoot today...4 gave it the thumbs up...was a cheap shout tho...4 bucks to keep the old fellas quiet was worth it....tasted some after my comp and yep it gets the thumds up from me also

back toomorrow to get some more ......
AnswerID: 188684

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 17:57

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 17:57
On ya Nudie :)

What store did you manage to get those quantities from? (Maybe tell us after you've secured your next 10 dozen)..... ;)
FollowupID: 445968

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 09:22

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 09:22
Portrush rd adelaide
down to stepney today...do they open sundays?...i'll go find out...cant believe you mongrels...you'll say they dont...allowing you to strip it clean
FollowupID: 446017

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 11:53

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 11:53
bugga, just got back from the local store...sold out, gotta go back next week.
FollowupID: 446023

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 12:30

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 12:30
i have some you can have for $4/bottle
FollowupID: 446025

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 12:44

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 12:44
lol...send a dozen over for tasting, I suspect the SA shipment to be of lower quality.
FollowupID: 446027

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 12:47

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 12:47
Crikey - by the time we're finished we'll have 30 dozen. It's time to start a shop......
FollowupID: 446028

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 13:32

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 13:32
you wont like it Ray..its really crap......too sweet, no fruits...and tastes down right awful......

dont waste ya money

FollowupID: 446033

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:39

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:39
shees a reeely rubbbbbish drinkkks ray baby...hic!!
FollowupID: 446307

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:45

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:45
Hey, you on it again Richard, way to go.
FollowupID: 446311

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:46

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:46
hoooowdy ray.....me drinkey...nah...

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
FollowupID: 446312

Reply By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 18:03

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 18:03
Just found this little review done last week:

Site Link
AnswerID: 188685

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 20:15

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 20:15
I was a bit disappointed with the test, or the outcome I should say. I was expecting the big 'the $2 wine tasted better than the $15 one" but it was not to be!

Anyone tasted the S/E Australia Shiraz Cabernet 2006 label JH02? Not a bad drop either for $4 a bottle per dozen again from DMs

Only problem I find with taking bottles bush is they tend to be at risk of breaking unless you wrap each one individually, that and fitting in 2 cases on a 4 week trip can be a bit of a squeeze!
FollowupID: 446090

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 07:58

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 07:58
sounds like i make sure i store them in much safer spots than you D Jack
FollowupID: 446390

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 19:02

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 19:02
Just been down and purchased 2 doz of each. Not bad at all!

Thanks for the tip!

Muddy
AnswerID: 188690

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 19:20

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 19:20
Pleasure Muddy :)

Dang! I just had a phone call from Jenny, my wife. She's just at our local store now and has spoken with the store manager. She's reserved another 20 cases for us for next week when the next shipment comes in. Sheesh!@ Now the count is 10 cases for her folks.... 20 for us. Yay!
FollowupID: 445972

Reply By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 20:22

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 20:22
Just tried a nice cold bottle of the Chardonnay.... it's pretty darn drinkable as well :)
AnswerID: 188711

Reply By: Emo - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 20:52

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 20:52
Thanks for the tip Chris. I've seen them advertised and I've been meaning to get down and buy some. Now that I've read your thoughts on them, I'll be off tomorrow.

Waldo says Hello to Chops.
AnswerID: 188714

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 21:21

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 21:21
John....long time, no type! How are you? How's Waldo?

Chops is growing up. She's an absolute delight. Looks like we'll be getting another Pug to keep her, uhmm.. company, and he'll be called either "Bongo" or "Buzz". Can't imaging any other breed now. These guys are just incredible - so funny and totally entertaining 27/7.

Try some of this stuff. It's very good value.

I have your address, so I'll still be sending some of our own to both you and Willie as soon as it's bottled.

FollowupID: 445986

Follow Up By: Emo - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 21:44

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 21:44
Waldo is good. Curled up next to me on the couch, snoring like a chainsaw. I'm pretty good as well. Things have been busy. I was working in PNG last week and off to NZ the week after next for a week. I killed the motor in the Landcruiser and I'm in the process of running in a new one. A second Pug? You're a sucker for punishment Chris. I'll be heading off for a case or two tomorrow morning when I head out to get the Sunday papers.
FollowupID: 445989

Reply By: Member No 1- Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 09:24

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 09:24
your'e all a bunch of drunks...:))))
AnswerID: 188737

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 10:28

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 10:28
I resemble that remark!!

Geoff.

FollowupID: 446019

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 13:26

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 13:26
psss...so does my swmbo
FollowupID: 446032

Reply By: Member No 1- Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 13:33

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 13:33
pssst ...if Mad Dog thinks it crap..it leaves all the more for us eh?
AnswerID: 188769

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 21:56

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 21:56
Nudie, #1, you know i love you don't you.
I have just learnt from another thread that your name is Richard, IT'S AMAZING all this love between us and I didn't know your name, never thought of it really

Do people call you DICK ?

lurv ya long time Richard

and don't worry, I managed to get my filthy fingers on some...hahahah

FollowupID: 446115

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 17:13

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 17:13
brisvegas is sold out..untill further notice ,,
AnswerID: 188792

Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 21:58

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 21:58
645 views about some steekin wine.....you people are sick
AnswerID: 188838

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 22:01

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 22:01
Sorry guys, I gotta stop drinkin' this cheap plonk on Sunday nights
FollowupID: 446117

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 22:02

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 22:02
Good stuff eh??????????

This post is going to get boned for sure!!!
FollowupID: 446118

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 22:03

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 22:03
um, does anyone know anything about 4 wheel drives on this site ?
FollowupID: 446119

Follow Up By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 22:09

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 22:09
Hi Mad Dog

Yes Ray, you're getting a bit too amorous with Richard there.......LOL!!!

Cya
FollowupID: 446121

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 22:17

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 22:17
lol...he's a good bloke
FollowupID: 446123

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 07:48

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 07:48
oops...went to click back to index...and clicked alert moderator...
sorry folks
FollowupID: 446144

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 08:27

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 08:27
lol, take two asprin and go to bed for a week....good luck
FollowupID: 446149

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 08:53

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 08:53
think i need something a bit stronger

that cheap wine went down well yetserday
FollowupID: 446152

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 08:59

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 08:59
went down well alright but I feel very perky this morning, off for my morning exercise now.
FollowupID: 446153

Reply By: G.T. - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 12:27

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 12:27
Omaroo :- pardon my ignorance, what is a clean skin wine? Also I presume that this type of wine is a `drink now ` wine and will not improve with age. There is a Dan Murphy on the Gold Coast , I will check them out and see what they have to offer.Thank`s for your reply in advance. Regards G.T.
AnswerID: 189113