Opinion on Mitsubishi Pajero

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 00:14
ThreadID: 36922 Views:7648 Replies:10 FollowUps:24
Hye mates and Pajero's owners. Any opinion on buying this car of truck either diesel and petrol? Any particular attention and models suggested? '93-94 on

Reply By: marcus - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 08:25

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 08:25
G'day Sonnymac,
The Pajero is a good honest and reliable vehicle which will be more than capable of going where you want to take it.It will be more comfortable to drive than Hilux with more car like qualities.
A friend just bought a '95 model from a pommy couple who were heading back to England.It has many extra's including cruise control,auto transmission and was also a 7 seater till he removed the two back seats.It was the 3.5 litre petrol v6.190,000 klms and he paid 10 grand for it.The v6 auto is smooth but round town gets a bit thirsty.There are many around either as lpg/petrol or diesel.
Cheers Mark
AnswerID: 189851

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:17

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:17
Yep, LPG/Petrol would be a good solution.
FollowupID: 447421

Follow Up By: marcus - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:35

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:35
Just did a big look on carpoint (www.carpoint.com.au) for you and most of those for sale are petrol v6.Not many dual fuel but some and the diesels were also rare. They are out there just a bit of homework to track them down.
Some people are a bit apprehensive of buying a 4x4 from Queensland as beach driving up there is common which means more salt,sand and rust.Melbourne has a good second hand market with some good deals around ,possibly Sydney too due to much competition.It is a buyers market so do what Italians do best and bargain the price down.If you find the right car you can fly Gold coast to Melbourne for around $120 one way and enjoy driving the car back up (2 day drive).
Sounds like you still have time to do your homework.
Cheers Mark
FollowupID: 447429

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:50

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:50
Beware with pertol/LPG in some early models as it was advised against this. 97 on, I think Mitsubishi were saying was OK ??? Worth checking exactly. I had 96 and was advised against it for sure.

Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 447434

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:11

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:11
Hey Marcus your suggestion was brilliant, I'll give a chance to that solution. I'll arrive there by the beginning of january.How many day do u need to buy a car and cary it away with you in Oz?
FollowupID: 447499

Follow Up By: marcus - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 19:16

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 19:16
Can be done in a matter of hours really and quicker if buying through a dealer.
FollowupID: 447739

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 19:25

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 19:25
ThanX again mate for your clues.
FollowupID: 447743

Reply By: Mickpaj - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 08:50

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 08:50
g day mate i own a 97 gls pajero have had it for 4 years 3.5 dohc great truck. you can pick them up fairly cheap now. little bit thirsty about 7k to the litre but hay its a 4 wheel drive. common problems are valve seals harmonic balencers falling off mine did it 3 times fixed now. you can lift 1.5 inches with a new set of springs and wind the front up $300.00. i put a diff lock in the front (great limited slip in the back dont need to touch it) now it will walk up walls. and a good set of wheels (bf all tarains) just got to keep the wife out now.
AnswerID: 189854

Follow Up By: DP - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:26

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:26
Mick - I'm intersted to hear about your harmonic balencer problem. I have a 99 Challenger with similar woes. Would like to hear your cause / fix / costs etc away from this forum if possible. djcpain@bigpond.net.au

cheers Dan
FollowupID: 447511

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 09:38

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 09:38
Sonnyman
I have been driving Pajero's now for over 16 years-had 4 in that time and I think they are great. I have had both petrol and diesel. After driving the diesel, I would never go back to petrol. This year I led a group of friend on a very remote Simpson Desert Trip with over 500kms of no tracks at all, so do not let anyone tell you that they are not a capable off roader, they are.

You will be happy with your purchase.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 189856

Reply By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 12:18

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 12:18
Hi Sonnymac
I service many pajeros and find them quite good.
They only seem to have niggly little things which most can live with.
Examples are, the 4wd/2wd dash lights go regularly, oil leaks on the v6 front the rear cam caps cheap to fix but a pain, the 100 000 km service is quite expensive as it is the timing belt and usually you find the water pump leaking at the first change.
The 2.8 diesel has oil pressure sender unit troubles. Most begin to ignore them after they fail for the 3rd time.
They have 2 manual gearbox's. An alloy housing and a cast iron housing is the easy way to tell the difference. The alloy housing is cheap for rebuilds but not as strong as the cast iron housing one which is strong but very expensive on rebuilds.
I did have some dramas on the early diesels tearing out the centre of the clutch plates but not so much of late. They are an absolute pain to get the gearbox's out of but generally only once in an owners life time so you can probably live with it.
The 2000 models on are very economical in the diesel version if you can get over the looks (my opinion only).
They are cheap on tyres as they only run 15's, have a strong lsd rear end and have a high seating position. The 3.5 DOHC is the most power ful of all but is the most expensive on repairs and maintenance as opposed to the 2.5 SOHC engine. Much better on the pocket.
Oh one more thing on mainly all Mitsubishi V^ engines is the ISC motor (Idle Speed Control) or stepper motor. I am always replacing them to rectify stalling. You can check them when you are looking by having it idle as operating temp and then switch the A/C on and then drop it into drive if auto. Observe the tacho, if it continues to drop with the load on the engine there is a good chance the stepper motor requires replacing but if the idle speed appears to stay level or self adjust it is ok. I think from Mitsubishi the stepper motor is around $360.00 but from after market people such as AFI in Sydney it is about $165.00 exchange.
120scruiser
AnswerID: 189871

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:34

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:34
In New Zealand the original imports have factory standard rear diff lock. Recent second hand ex Japan do not have the diff lock as standard.

I don't think there is a rear diff lock available for the auto transmission models but it has a really great limited slip rear diff.

I reckon they are a good tough waggon.
AnswerID: 189893

Reply By: Scubaroo - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 18:44

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 18:44
Dunno what your budget is like, but the price of 2000+ models has crashed (along with every other second hand 4WD). You might find you can get something newer for less than you think.

Certainly capable vehicles - ours had a workout in Wombat and Lerderderg today, lots of low range stuff.
AnswerID: 189913

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:12

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:12
My budget is maximun 15.000, What model can I get with it?
FollowupID: 447418

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:28

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:28
2000 NM Exceeds are now down to around $22k, so you could look at the entry level models like the GLX for that money, or look at a 99 NL (previous shape). Having a browse in the Trading Post.
FollowupID: 447459

Reply By: Member - Rod S (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:25

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:25
Sonnymac
Have had a 2000 td 2.8 for a while found it excelent. The standard rubber and ride height were a problem on Fraser Island (trouble following cruisers in deep sand) Had ARB torsion bars and TJm rear springs put in along with a front air locker and long ranger tank and bigger tyre size, the vehicle will now not be left behind by even well tricked up cruisers. Only triuble was a rear main oil seal at 120,000klm and a tired spigot beating (too much water) Had the clutch replaces when the rear main was done. The old one would have done a bit yet but seing I intended to tow a van went with the solid replacement (no cushion springs), so far no more probs at 142,000. Fuel use at 11.5 to 100 loaded, 14.5 to 100 towing 1.5 tonne.
No regrets (from an old shorty cruiser fan)
AnswerID: 189945

Reply By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 22:43

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 22:43
You could easily pick yourself up something good from about the minimum $9000 mark from what I have seen being sold private and car yards (mainly car yards seem to be around the $12000.00 but definately go private. Am talking here say NH, NJ, (or 93-96 odd) models.
Our Paj will go anywhere we take here and would go even further I am sure, She keeps up with the best of them, comfortable, dream to drive and we get around 10.2Lt per 100kms. have no regrets at all in betting a Pajero.

Jo
AnswerID: 189973

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 23:07

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 23:07
Very nice truck, I saw your pics in Bribie island. well around 10-12 would a fair price so I'll have some money to make some works as needed.
FollowupID: 447550

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 23:11

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 23:11
She's come along way from when we bought her stock standard, but of course still need to get lockers, dual bat, this, that ,the other.... once you start!!! spent around 5 grand in the last month on her... worth every penny though!!!!!!!

Jo
FollowupID: 447552

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 23:13

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 23:13
She's like a nice woman woth every penny you spend for! :-)
FollowupID: 447553

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 23:17

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 23:17
Well I can't say I ever recall the last time I got 5 grand spent on me in one month!!!!!!! but it all adds on to the value of the car!
FollowupID: 447555

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 23:22

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 23:22
I'll stay in Southport (Griffith Uni), I see you probably live in Brisbane area, Would u suggest to buy a car from a private or going to used car dealers, I'm sure as previously said in this forum I'll have my candidate target checked by RACQ test. How has it to be plan?
FollowupID: 447557

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 23:23

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 23:23
I'll stay in Southport (Griffith Uni), I see you probably live in Brisbane area, Would u suggest to buy a car from a private or going to used car dealers, I'm sure as previously said in this forum I'll have my candidate target checked by RACQ test. How has it to be planned?
FollowupID: 447559

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 23:34

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 23:34
Definately get an RACQ check (I think you just ring them and say this is the go and organise a time with them for them to inpsect the car) or if you have a mate who is a mechanic then it will only cost ya a 6 pack! heck of a lot cheaper!!! We live about 30 minutes north of Southport. I have seen alot of great looking and sounding vehicles through private ads. Will admit that we bought from a car yard, and got lucky with getting a great vehicle that had every single receipt in the glove box from the 2 previous owners, but from buying through the car yard we paid an extra 3 odd grand more than what you would pay buying private, and buying private the car may well have some added extras that you won't need to consider adding on.

Cheers Jo
FollowupID: 447563

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 00:07

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 00:07
Tell me Mark I have this link to watch for:
www.tradingpost.com.au/default.aspx
www.drive.com.au/Used/
www.carsales.com.au/

Are there any local newspaper to give an eye on?
Thanx for your help and time mate, I found people in this forum very helpful and ready to give advice and share experience with newbies like I am in 4X4 world.
FollowupID: 447568

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 01:26

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 01:26
Hi SonnyMac. This is Jo, Marks wife... very rarely will you ever see Mark post!!!!!!!!!!
Those 3 are definately good and I am sure others may have ones to add on to the list,
I don't know what others opinions might be but mine would say not to really bother with the local papers, because over here when you think about buying something privately you always first think of the trading post, Gotta admit that it isn't quite the same as it use to be years back, car yards will advertise in it now, but there is heaps of private ads also. When will you be coming out here?
Jo
FollowupID: 447572

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 01:41

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 01:41
ThanX Jo, well I expect to arriva by the beginning of january and need to find an flat close to Griffith Uni in Southport. I saw this site for now www.seqrents.com.au/.
Do you know any suitable rent agency or once again gotta go private way.
Here's my blog, catch some italian if u can.
vannitheman.blogspot.com/

Hope we can stay in touch with you and Mark, you could help me to enter Oz new life.
Here's my msn:
sonny_mac_70@hotmail.com. Call me as you want guys (better say mates over there).

By the way, I'll come down under with my sweet heart Dany.

I
FollowupID: 447573

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 01:41

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 01:41
ThanX Jo, well I expect to arrive by the beginning of january and need to find an flat close to Griffith Uni in Southport. I saw this site for now www.seqrents.com.au/.
Do you know any suitable rent agency or once again gotta go private way.
Here's my blog, catch some italian if u can.
vannitheman.blogspot.com/

Hope we can stay in touch with you and Mark, you could help me to enter Oz new life.
Here's my msn:
sonny_mac_70@hotmail.com. Call me as you want guys (better say mates over there).

By the way, I'll come down under with my sweet heart Dany.

I
FollowupID: 447574

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:21

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:21
Gotta dispute the 'Trading post' thing Jo, you ever tried to advertise something there since them rippoff lot 'sensis' have got hold of it ? They want an arm AND a leg ! Lot of people, including me, won't go near them and are going for the saturday courier mail and internet sites, EO trader, e-bay, carpoint, drive.com etc, for that very reason, half ( or less ) the price and allow more photo's.
I won't even bother to shop at the T/P any more, got sick of wading through 20 pages of 'new product bussiness ads' to find the odd 'private ad' thrown in amongst them.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 447606

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:00

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:00
Yeh good point Pezza..... Remember the Trading Post from when we were teenagers... that's the trading post I loved! Do hve to say that the last few times I have bought it I have seen plenty of 'personal' sellers and good prices but there yeh you do have to wade through all the business rubbish in it now.
Saturday Courier Mail.. didn't think of that one cause I never buy the paper on saturday anymore! but that has always been good.

Jo
FollowupID: 447634

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 05:23

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 05:23
You are more than welcome to stay in touch..... Don't mind the ol' bit of Italian for dinner!!!!!!!

You'll most likely find that you will have to get a place through the real estate, they will ask you for 6 weeks rent before you move in (4 weeks is bond, you'll get that back when you move out if you don't trash the joint, and the other 2 weeks is so you stay ahead in rent) The Gold coast isn't a real cheap place to live though, so depending on what your weekly rent budget is, it will definately affect what sort of place you get.

jarsofclay@optusnet.com.au

Jo
FollowupID: 447825

Reply By: allanmac856 - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 22:53

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 22:53
Depend what u want it for. If for mainly off road stuff, cant beat the NlL. Very capable vehicle, & since fitting the front locker, goes anywhere & more than those so called 'only real 4wd's'. If for on road use & not hard 4wding, NM's on are a nice truck, if you like the look of them
AnswerID: 189975

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 23:02

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 23:02
Defenetly not hard 4x4 but just light and a bit of sand (Fraser Island)
FollowupID: 447548

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 08:15

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 08:15
Diesels are harder to find because diesel sales were less than 20% of total sales.
Diesels are also manual only, one reason for the low number of sales.
You can get good economy out of the 3.5l petrol, but you need to be very disciplined and only use a light throttle, drive it on the torque.
AnswerID: 189987