Long Tan Remembered

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 12:53
ThreadID: 36926 Views:2440 Replies:12 FollowUps:8
I was a tunnel rat & not at Long Tan. Went to the commemorative service in Canberra on Friday & met Morrie Stanley, the Kiwi who called the artillery in with pin point precision. Strewth it puts a lump in your throat meeting a genuine hero like him...Actually a very good do, I was impressed with the fact that the Pollies present didn't try & turn it into a "Vote for me" rally. I'm not sure if his apology will be unanimously accepted, I think there is far to much intrigue remaining in the truth about our whole involvement in Vietnam to allow that to happen...

Reply By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 12:58

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 12:58
>I was a tunnel rat & not at Long Tan.

You had one hell of a rotten job - thank you for doing it.

AnswerID: 189874

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 07:44

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 07:44
Hey, my excuse is that I was young & stupid then....At the time I thought it was fun, better than being a lead scout.....
FollowupID: 447583

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 13:33

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 13:33
Mr F, I watched the service this morning with considerable regret and hearing the names and ages of those lost, one at 19, one at 22 and the rest just 20 and 21. I consider I was extremely fortunate not to have been called up.

My thoughs were certainly with those there at the service and of course those who were present in Vietnam. I am sure there is that intrigue and I am not sure I understand why either, even when it is explained. I am pleased that so many of those who were there, have been able to go back and reach out.
AnswerID: 189876

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 13:52

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 13:52
Good on ya Mr. F. My elder went there, I joined at 17, was then from the bush, to go my self put it finished before I turned 19, what a lucky boy I was. But I grew up with a lot of fine men who went there. I ended up spending 9 years in the Army and that did not hurt me one little bit.
Cheers Bruce.
AnswerID: 189877

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 13:52

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 13:52
Mr Fawlty ,

I watched the service too . It was a very sad occasion , especially knowing the sort of trauma the returning soldiers have gone through .

I also thank you and all those who fought with you , and I am really glad that you fellas are finally getting the thanks you deserve .

Willie .
AnswerID: 189878

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:08

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:08
" I think there is far to much intrigue remaining in the truth about our whole involvement in Vietnam to allow that to happen... "...so true. Most of us would be horrified to find out exactly how we managed to get involved.

And we were involved in more ways than one. A lot more ways.

I was at the demo where LBJ rolled into town and a certain pollie said "run the b's over. I have rarely been so angry with the whole shebang, the
pollies and the behaviour of the crowd.

Later I was to get a wee bit closer to the war, but nobody shot at me or tried to blow me up. I was one of the lucky ones...but that's another story.

However I still get p*ssed off when watching those films made by our govt at the time. I get up and walk in disgust.

So, despite where you stood at the time, and perhaps stand now, these three words say so much.

"Lest We Forget."
AnswerID: 189890

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:30

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:30
That was our crooked Premier Askin who wanted to run them over . Such a caring sharing scumbag .
Willie
FollowupID: 447368

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:36

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:36
Yes, I wasn't going to mention his name as I am sure to get a barrage, no matter what I say :))
FollowupID: 447371

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 16:55

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 16:55
If we have ever had a more corrupt slimebag than Askin in Politics I'd be surprised. The man who sold knighthoods for cash.

Oops, forgot about Bjelke Peterson, but that'sgetting off track.
FollowupID: 447391

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 07:42

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 07:42
I remember that sleeze standing up being interviewed re the illegal gambling clubs, from memory the Forbes Club,the journo had a picture taken of Askin playing roulette and he denied it was him, just someone who looked like him...Naaaaaaaaaaaaa they are all without any doubt in my mind only in it for the selfengrandisment (big word for Monday) & the perks.
FollowupID: 447581

Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:17

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:17
I am also one of the lucky to have been exempted from the forces to Vietnam.,also with all that is said above in the other posts.
"LEST WE FORGET"
AnswerID: 189892

Follow Up By: Robin - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 18:23

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 18:23
I find different experiences interesting , I tried to volunteer ,as I thought it was worth doing, still is, and we owe a serious debt there. Everything for me was going well until it was found that I had once had some asthma , and there were to many others willing so that fact that I had grown out of it didn't even get a hearing and put at bottom of list (1966).

FollowupID: 447407

Reply By: Member - Ray ( (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 18:55

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 18:55
Hi people,
Well, I also attended the service for Long Tan ( invited guest).
I served in the RAAF during those times, and work in Intell in RAAF Support Unit.
Had a little to do with 9 Sqn personnel from time to time, and gained a great respect for the helicopter pilots and crew. Although I only visited the place from time to time, those servicemen who served the full term deserve all the respect of thier fellow countrymen. In fact, those diggers who survived Long Tan deserve the Military Medal, as far as I'm concerned. God bless them.
Bronco
AnswerID: 189918

Follow Up By: rossbarb - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:04

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:04
Our son who has just been stationed at Singleton went to the service at Singleton and passed comment on what a good sevice it was and how proud he is to be a member of the army now and how the service men was pleased to see their complete platoon turn out for the service all Australians need to express their respect for the seervicemen who served in Vietnam I just hope we as a nation do not repeat the way we treated our servicemen back then when our soldiers return from their postings now wherever that may be 'Lest We Forget' Barb
FollowupID: 447442

Reply By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:41

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:41
I was in 11plt D Coy 5 RAR who served in Viet-nam in 1966-67.Being the sister Coy. to D Coy 6RAR we went out to the battlefield at daylight on the morning after the Battle of Long-tan to assist in the aftermath of the previous day.I beleive that every man from D Coy.6RAR who took part in that fight deserve every praise and a lot more that has been bestowed upon them.Also if it was not for the supporting fire from our Aust. and N.Z.Artillery Battery's ,the brave men who were flying the Choppers that that resupplied them with ammo and the Turret heads in the APC's with the men of A & B Coy 6 RAR, the outcome next morning would have been a lot worse than that which we had to face on the morning of the 19th Aug 1966. It is very rarely that you will see D Coy 5RAR mentioned in the aftermath of the Battle. It is very frustrating at times when it is mentioned in passing at reunions and fellow Diggers look at you as if you are trying to embelish your own service for self gratifatation. I have just attended the march in Townsville on Frid. 18-8-06 and it was stated in the Townsville paper that 400+ attended. It was a great ceromeny with a fly over of the old faithfuls (2 Caribu's and 2 Hueys) . Just my thoughts,
DUKE

AnswerID: 189952

Reply By: Ole Grizzly - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:06

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:06
Hey Mr Fawlty...how can i contact you. Like to have a 'chin wag' some time..I did the same tasks over there with Sgt Hobbs. Cheers Mate
"up the mighty Red Roosters"

AnswerID: 189961

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 07:37

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 07:37
I was with 1 troop with Bernie Bickle , I'm told he has died since.
email; sydney-riley@hotmail.com
FollowupID: 447579

Reply By: Member - Tony T (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 23:57

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 23:57
Very interesting Long Tan program on ABC Melb. TV this afternoon (20AUG06) in which many of the surviving main players on both sides were interviewed, including the commander of D445. Apparently made a few years ago.
AnswerID: 189980

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:07

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:07
Good on you Mr Fawlty and all those others who have put their lives on the line for their country.

"I was a tunnel rat." That is not a job I could have done, ever.

Pete
AnswerID: 189990

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 17:36

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 17:36
I can relate to those experiences of long ago too.

My "Birthday marble" came up and I duly registered and would have gone without any argument, being young and carefree at the time.

Because I was an apprentice at the time though, I received an Indefinite Deferment.
Still have the document tucked away in my kit somewhere.

I feel both saddened and angry when I heard of the treatment given to our blokes when they returned from the conflict, by ignorant people of "alternative ideals".

AnswerID: 190079