Special vehicle, special license ?

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 17:55
ThreadID: 37006 Views:4037 Replies:16 FollowUps:34
Following on from post 36994, are 4wd endorsed licenses practical or desireable ? I'm thinking some basic stuff such as the different handling characteristics etc aimed at newer city 4wders rather than "join a club and attend a recovery day."

I was told that somewhere in the states they put stickers on 4wds which say "drive me like a Ferrari and I fall over". Not sure if it's correct, but it seems like an interesting idea.

Personally I hate the idea of being singled out because I choose to drive a 4wd.
But if it saves one life I wouldn't mind it so much. I'm much more inconvenienced when I come over a hill in the bush to find an accident resulting from a lack of basic knowledge/commonsense.

License endorsement may not give you common sense. But can it give you the basic knowledge necessary to make informed decisions ? (how fast to go under different conditions, tyre pressures etc ).

Or would it just be another exercise in revenue raising ?

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 17:59

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 17:59
It's all crap mate.
You drive any vehicle according to the road rules and the limitations of the vehicle.

Anyone remember the VW beatle that was supposed to roll over all too easily?

AnswerID: 190329

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:02

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:02
Naaah, that was Chargers that could'nt turn corners :))))
FollowupID: 447968

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:02

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:02
Agree, but how is a newbie supposed to know, for example, that sudden changes in direction can cause a rollover? Or that 60lb in a tyre on a dirt road with a roofrack on may not be a great idea ?
FollowupID: 447969

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:44

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:44
I guess the same way a driver learns 180kph is not all that brilliant either.

Advocating a special licence for 4WD's, or VW's, or Chargers, because they have "different" characteristics to what a person may have learnt, gaining their licence in Mum's ford laser automatic, does not make any sense to me.

I didn't "learn" defensive driving from normal driving either. It took time to understand the limitations of the specific vehicle I was driving and that each time I drive a different vehicle, those limitations will change, the same as when your vehicle is driven in different weather, or road, conditions.

It's a no brainer.....

It's got nothing to do with special licences.
It's all to do with experience.

FollowupID: 447975

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:48

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:48
So you are basically saying leave it to the Law of natural Selection ? That if they make a mistake because they don't realize that the handlings different in an emergency, tough luck ?
FollowupID: 447977

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:04

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:04
The handling is not different just in an emergency it's different all the time and one of the basic skill of driving is being able to recognise, and adapt, to changing circumstances eg rain, speed, light, hills etc etc etc.... Different cars have very different handling, braking and steering characteristics. In order to be a safe and capable driver it's essential to be able to accommodate these variations. The basic premise is that a person who passes the car test should be able to cope with the vehicle and circumstance variations within their class of vehicle and that ranges from Starletts to a 4.5t truck. Now if you want to start licence classes (as you seem keen on) then perhaps we'd better consider differentiating between various classes of car 'cause, sure as hell, they vary. How many licence classes do you think we should have?

FollowupID: 447982

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:17

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:17
More like the law of natural attrition Footy. Survival of the fittest.

Otherwise, the lawmakers would have to ban 60% or more of drivers because they are not capable.

Just imagine, how many "commuters", i.e. those people who drive no further than the local school, or shopping centre who suddenly find themselves in a difficult situation. They have never "done" that before and cannot "handle" the vehicle in those strange situations. Put them on the open road, driving at the speed limit, then introduce a "barrier" of some kind. A kangaroo, a box fallen from another vehicle, a tractor coming out of a side road. They slam on the brakes, locking all wheels and being unable to steer because they don't have and Antilock Braking System and end up off the road, in the loose stuff and totally out of control.

Now, a safety driving course would prepare most drivers for exactly that situation, so everybody should have to do such a course as part of qualifying for a drivers licence.......practical?

FollowupID: 447984

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:38

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:38
Mike, "Now if you want to start licence classes (as you seem keen on)"....actually if you read my posts I have ASKED for input to clarify my own personal thoughts.

How many driver courses actually do what you suggest they should ? Mine didn't, neither did any that I am aware of. I'm highly critical of our driver training BTW.

How many license classes do I think we should have ? I actually didn't mention license classes, I did mention endorsements.

In any case it's clear where you stand.
FollowupID: 447988

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:52

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:52
Sandman, good point on safety driving course as long as the needs of all the different kinds of vehicles you can drive under that license are addressed.
So you prefer to train at the pre license stage ?
FollowupID: 447995

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:54

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:54
Best way to improve peoples driving would be to get rid of all the "safety" items in the vehicle and to put an 8" spike sticking out of the steering wheel. At that point people will realise that safety STARTS with THEM.

The problem is that these days people believe the cars safety devices will save them from whatever bad/stupid driving attitudes they have.
FollowupID: 448022

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 21:08

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 21:08
Mate,

One day on a safety driving course at the local motor racing circuit will open your eyes, no matter how long you have been driving.

It has been many years since I did one, but I distinctly remember 3 major points.

Tyre pressures should be set to obtain a stable driving environment rather than a "comfortable ride".

Not locking the brakes will maintain steering capability and actually shorten the stopping distance.

A miserable ten kilometre an hour difference in speed, may well be the difference between "can" and "can't" do.

It is a great leveller for those invincible driver's who think they know it all. When a female can outdrive a testosterone laden "jock", the jock soon adjusts his driving style.

I have said it before, spend $150 (or whatever it costs now) and give yourself the best chance of avoiding serious injury to yourself, your loved ones and other road users. You will absolutely love the experience, even in your 4BY.

FollowupID: 448028

Follow Up By: oldmagpie2 - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 21:22

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 21:22
anyone remember the bongo van i had one for three weeks & rolled it , that was after everyone telling me whatever you do dont go around a corner with an opposite camber 10kph over the recommended speed for that corner!totally my fault but geez what a bomb.
FollowupID: 448029

Reply By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:29

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:29
I believe most states are similar in that a car licence permits one to drive a truck up to, at least, 4.5t gross. If the car test is considered adequate for that then I imagine it should also be adequate for a person to drive a 4WD or perhaps a car licence should stop at a Toyota Starlett...?

The fewer regulations and legislation we have the better – the bastards don’t need any encouragement from us to introduce more!

AnswerID: 190334

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:37

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:37
I suspect that most mums don't drive their kids to school in a 4.5 ton truck. But I also suspect that many do drive their kids to school in a vehicle which they consider to be just a big car, but of course it might handle quite differently in an emergency, in the rain or when cornering at speed.
My thoughts are that perhaps they may not be aware of that until its too late.
FollowupID: 447973

Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:28

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:28
I have had my heavy rigid vehicle license for well over ten years now and have not driven a truck since the day I got it.

Now - someone give me a drive of their big TWUCK!!

FollowupID: 447986

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:45

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:45
Equinox, my son just got a license to drive a 6 ton crane...and I hope he never has to :)) They have a habit of falling over around here also :(
FollowupID: 447991

Follow Up By: Exploder - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:25

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:25
Yeah I am heading down that road too Nox, have had my HR for almost 3years haven’t used it in 2 years now. LOL

FollowupID: 448010

Reply By: Exploder - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:35

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:35
Mine has a nice big sticker on the driver’s sun visor and it reads something like

This 4WD Truck or SUV has specially designed features for use off-road and as a result will handle differently to a regular passenger car on streets, High ways and off-Road. Read the owners Manuel and drive with care.
Avoid sharp turns or abrupt steering movement that may result in loss of control or a Roll Over, Blar, blarr, blarr

One would think that is fairly F**king clear about how you should drive it.

I think a extra licence is just a royal PITA, more fees to pay, to hard to police, What if my girlfriend, Brother, friend's, uncle, mum, dad and so on wanted/ needed to drive my 4WD, You can’t expect everybody to go out and get a 4WD license just encase they need to drive one.

It’s not like the thing is a Truck where there are big differences .

I think all that is needed is a bit of common sense, and if you don’t feel combatable driving one then don’t or use your brain and go and do a driver training cause, people need to start taking responsibility for em self.
AnswerID: 190336

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:45

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:45
Hmm...first of all, I've never seen such a sticker...are they on all 4wds ?

I'd argue that my 4wd is in fact a light truck...and behaves like one.

And if anyone wants to drive my truck they had better know what they're doing.
I won't even let my 25yo son drive it. (Well maybe I will now as he used one of the mines ones for a few months...hopefully he now knows that they aren't a Commodore :)
FollowupID: 447976

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:51

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:51
Footloose

I let my kids drive us down the club in my troopy.

They are the designated driver until they get home and raid the grog fridge.

The buggers don't even put a donation on the fridge.

Regards Bob
FollowupID: 447978

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:54

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:54
Boo boo, "a tisket a tasket, a pic i nic BEER ?" :)))
FollowupID: 447996

Follow Up By: Exploder - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:21

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:21
Yeah that’s why I said mine has this sticker, as I don’t remember seeing one in any other 4WD thou.

Probably should of mentioned that LOL.

I still don’t think you need a 4WD license or indorsement to drive one, Just common sense if people don’t relies that different Car’s and 4Wd handle differently and should be driven accordingly then they shouldn’t hold a license.

I believe you learn by doing when you first get into a car or 4WD that is new to you just take it easy and learn and feel how it drives and handles before becoming complacent if you don’t think you are capable of driving a certain car or 4WD or are always nervous then don’t drive it, or go and get training first.

Every body is different some people can jump into 4WD’s and be able to drive them with confidents and know they are different and drive them accordingly, others can’t and you on a individual bases need to know when you should go and get some extra training.

The fist time I drove a 4WD I was on a fishing trip in shark bay I was on my P’s; it was a kitted out 100 Sires. My brother and I and 2 of my cousins took off out of town at night onto a gravel road and then onto a 4WD track for 10 or so k’s then down onto the beach to do a spot of night fishing.

At no time did I feel unconfutable driving it, if I did I wouldn’t of taken it or asked to borrow it, It was my uncles brothers car and all he said was take it for a drive around the block first, if you feel happy driving it no worries, so I did. We told him where we wanted to go, yeah sweet no problems, air compressors in the back and off we went, came back 4Hrs latter had a grate time .

That's my vue anyhow.
FollowupID: 448006

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:28

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:28
Exploder, fair enough. My first "drive" was in a 40 shorty when I was a lad. Work simply said go here and take that. I hadn't been driving for all that long, and had no manual experience whatever (Qld auto license, no such thing in NSW at the time). I can remember that it was sooo high above the ground etc. Ended up getting back to work late as I wasn't game to get out of 2nd gear! Rekkon I could have done with some training :))
FollowupID: 448011

Reply By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:49

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:49
Perhaps our learner drivers should be taught to drive rather than taught how to pass a test...
AnswerID: 190341

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:51

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:51
Oi! You pinched my stock phrase :)
FollowupID: 447979

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:58

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:58
Dave, so would you differentiate between driver training and driver education ?
FollowupID: 447999

Follow Up By: Ray Bates - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:37

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:37
I've never heard a more truthfull statement
FollowupID: 448016

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 07:57

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 07:57
been sayin the same thing for years.. but its too easy
FollowupID: 448089

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:00

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:00
Summer must be on the way as brains are seemingly thawing out and repetitive mumblings along these lines show up again and again and again.

School holidays around Xmas time is worse.

Yawn........................!
AnswerID: 190348

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:03

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:03
Willem, it appears that the possum is stirred but not shaken :)
FollowupID: 448001

Reply By: John R (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:06

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:06
I'm in agreeance with Dave. Every type of vehicle is different. Personally I have learnt more through experience than through a test.

Leave the test to cover the basics . . road rules etc which apply regardless of what type of vehicle you're driving.

If I'm stupid enough to get in a porsche and drive fast because I know it can do that, but I can't handle it and I kill myself, that's my fault. I should be smart enough to drive to my ability in whatever vehicle I'm driving. Common sense says that's not to push it from the start.

The only problem I have with the 'natural selection' concept, is when some twit's incompetence affects innocent people.

AnswerID: 190349

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:43

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:43
"I kill myself, that's my fault". Yep, unfortunately it costs the taxpayer dollars and your friends and relatives a lot of heartache. Not to mention those who have to attend the accident.
FollowupID: 447990

Follow Up By: John R (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 23:44

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 23:44
Yes Footloose, I'm a friend who has suffered heartache, and I'm one of the people who have to attend the accident.
FollowupID: 448069

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 23:49

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 23:49
John, my sympathies. I've seen too much in my time not to be aware of both situations.
FollowupID: 448070

Reply By: Peter - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:19

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:19
If different handling characteristics would be the basis of a different licence, then shouldn't we consider also a different licence for drivers towing trailers full of sand behind their cars, people towing caravans, people towing horse floats, and then we have people who drive people movers which can carry up to 8 people as opposed to smaller vehicles that can only carry 4 persons. Where would it stop? Who would define the requirements? IF you purchase a vehicle then surely the onus is on you to ensure you are capable of handling that vehicle. Would holding a different licence really guarantee that fools won't continue to drive like fools? I hold a certificate in Advanced Driving Technique for 2, 4 and 6 wheel drive vehicles? Does this automatically make me a better driver?
My two bobs worth anyhow.
AnswerID: 190352

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:47

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:47
So we simply put it in the "too hard" basket ?
FollowupID: 447992

Follow Up By: Peter - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:23

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:23
Doesn't have to go in the too hard basket, but who would define the criteria? Would a Suzuki Jimmy require the same endorsement as a Troopy? Would an all-wheel drive vehicle be different from a 2 wheel drive? Would a motorhome be considered differently, and if so shouldn't a caravan also be considered. This is nothing new, Scruby has been trying for years. It could be also considered along with the bullbar debate
FollowupID: 448008

Reply By: Ray Bates - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:21

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:21
Although I do not agree that special endorsment on licenses for 4WDs I do believe that car licenses should be just for that, cars and in cars I include 4WDs. I don't know if it is legal, I suspect it isn't, but a friend of mine drives a converted Toyota Coaster camper on a car license??????? and there is alot of thes type of vehicles about but what I do disagree with are buses being driven with passengers whether they be fare paying or not by people who do not hold an endorsment to do. You see this practice happening with sporting clubs and charitable organizations. I personally hold what I term as a public service vehicle licence and had to do a special test to hold it. Even taxi drivers have to do a special test
AnswerID: 190354

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:48

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:48
So Ray, you're for no change at all by the looks of it. Fair enough. I asled for views and I got them.
FollowupID: 447993

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:20

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:20
Yeah right , [insert sarcasm here] ,round 30 yrs ago when I had just joined the Army and was sent to my 1st posting to 32sup bn sth kensington ,I was issued an "endorsed" licence , I still carry it in my wallet to this day , Issued by :Capt. F.C.Hodel ,, Testing Officer :WO2 G.E. Johnson ,, Licence Type B2-B15 ,, ,,, B15 was the code for Forklift upto and includuing 40,000 pounds ,, thing is I had never ever driven a forklift before ,,test was ,Q . "do u have a car licence ?" ,, A . "yes " Q: "what state of Issue is your licence from?" ,,A: NSW... Here is your licence ..

now for the last 30 yrs I have been able to drive any and all forklifts in 3 different states, simply produced my old licence and be issued a "ticket " ,,, have never been tested , an "endosement " to drive a 4x4 , your kidding eh ??
AnswerID: 190372

Reply By: Kumunara (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 22:15

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 22:15
We already have too many licence classes.

There is nothing to be achieved by an additional class.

What is needed is that everyone does an advanced driving course before going from "P" to full licence.
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 190418

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 06:54

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 06:54
For some strange reason driving licence rules seem to have an international flavour eg. if we change a requirement then overseas tourists will not be able to rent a vehicle here!! MONEY seems to be part of the equation. A lot of European or Asian people have never driven off a sealed road and seem to think that cars can go around corners (wet or dry) at the same speed on gravel as on hard seal!

Now, this for an idea - (put tongue -in-cheek) get people to have a graduated drivers licence that includes a motor cycle rating before they get a 4wd rating. They will then have an appreciation of being low down and vulnerable before they are let loose on a large vehicle that make them feel bullet proof?
AnswerID: 190451

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 07:57

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 07:57
>>> are 4wd endorsed licenses practical or desireable

No.
AnswerID: 190458

Reply By: chump_boy - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:46

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:46
I think people should have to learn to drive in an old ex-army landrover.

Best thing my parents ever did for me. As soon as I got my P's, I got this beat up old landrover.

It was governed at 80km/h. It had no distracting radio. It's steering was all over the place, so there was no losing concerntration while driving. It was noisy, but also pretty exposed, so you could see and hear the other vehicles around you. It was slow, so you had to think about merges and stuff. It drank petrol like nothing else, so i never drove too far - all my trips were planned and necessary.

But it could go places no 4WD I have ever owned could go.

Seriously, it taught me to be a much better driver, both on and off road I rekon.

AnswerID: 190482

Reply By: robak (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 10:08

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 10:08
Footloose,

Perhaps the answer is that if anyone who holds a licence can drive a 4.5T vehicle then during their learning period they should actually drive a 4.5T vehcile. For a leson or two at least.

R.
AnswerID: 190487

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 10:55

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 10:55
Why don't they just teach people to drive instead of teaching them how to pass a test... And while we're at it, bring in endorsed licenses for towing trailers of all sorts... SERIOUSLY...!!! I you can't back a trailer, you shouldn't be towing it...!!! Oh god, I could go on forever on this one...
AnswerID: 190503

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 11:33

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 11:33
MY God.. LOGIC ..

I demand you leave this forum, and planet now!

come live on my planet, its much nicer...no greens at all...
FollowupID: 448139

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 16:43

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 16:43
I'm going, I'm going...LOL Can I have directions to your planet, please...???
FollowupID: 448201

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 11:26

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 11:26
After a period of absence (over worked) I feel the need to respond on my first day back. Being a somewhat phylisophical point I reckon that as a regular EO reader etc I am well qualified to drive a 4wd. I cannot recall one 4wd experience that hasn't been mentioned here so I say to get the ball rolling any prospective 4wd driver will need to have at least 1 year of serious EO contribution to be properly endorsed.

There are some here that are grand masters and some are grasshoppers, but I'm voting for the EO endorsement approach and avoid the government all together.

AnswerID: 190507

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 18:37

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 18:37
That, is indeed, the funniest reply.

FollowupID: 448224