We are home and finally online :)

Submitted: Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 17:43
ThreadID: 37204 Views:6627 Replies:14 FollowUps:19
it's a bit long, but here's my trip report

Our trip started somewhat dramatically, firstly Callum got croup while we were in Pt Augusta and after a late night call to the Hospital for some reassurance and quite a bit of steam he was fine in the morning and we set off for Coober Pedy. Then, about 70kms out of Pt Augusta the driver’s side wheel came off the camper trailer. Luckily we were in a clear part of the Stuart Hwy, after not long passing a truck. We were travelling at about 105kph and felt a jerk and a lurch and Al exclaimed “something serious just happened to the camper trailer” and the wheel passed us at speed, much to the excitement of Callum who spotted the wheel first as it flew past us.

After a repair at the side of the road, [luckily the camper came with a spare stub axel], we were able to continue on to Coober Pedy albeit slowly and had the original hub repaired, the nuts had sheared off and we decided not to put it back on the trailer, but rather keep the spare on.

We spent 2nights in Coober Pedy, staying in the Underground Motel, which was a real treat, and a great place to stay. It is located out of town a bit, up high with a great view of the Breakaways, and it was great to sit out the front enjoying a beer watching the sunset. While in Coober Pedy we checked out the opal shops [doesn’t everybody] with Callum exclaiming that he was sick of Opals after the third shop, we didn’t purchase any, as I have to admit I’m not a fan of Opals, but it was nice to gaze at the really expensive ones. We had organised a tour of the town with a bloke called Merv who runs Arid Zone Tours, and he was certainly an interesting character. He has been a permanent resident of Coober Pedy for 11 years but has been an off again on again resident for the past 25 years, and tried his hand at opal mining as well, doing reasonably well in 2 years earning about 80K. Merv took us around Coober Pedy, including the underground Serbian Church – well worth a visit, the suburbs of Coober Pedy, explaining to us how dugouts are constructed. Dugouts are an interesting thing to look at as you just see the front door, but I took Merv’s word for it when he said one of the houses we passed had 15 bedrooms and another had an indoor pool. He took us to the cemetery, and a drive around the golf course – the golf course being all dirt and sand, during summer they play at night with fluorescent colour balls, and it has a mobile bar which is the back of a ute – sounds OK to me, he then took us into a dug out home [his own] and it was great experience checking out one from the inside. All in all it was a great 2 hours spent.

After Coober we headed towards Oodnadatta visiting the Breakaways, and via the Moon plain to the Painted Desert and then on to the Alagebuckina rail bridge for the night, the waterhole there was dry. We met a couple there from Eltham travelling in a standard BA Ute with no coms and they had just blown one of their standard low profile tyres and felt they’d be up for big bucks to get it repaired - I’m sure they weren’t wrong! In the morning the Tour de Kangaroo arrived – a car rally for vehicles over 30 years old and who were raising money for the North Melbourne football club, they explained that they’d be there for a couple of hours, and would be tearing past our camp, but we had decided to head down the road to William Creek, we passed many vehicles on our way to William Creek and were tuned to the same channel as them, and had a few laughs with some of the comments. We dined that night at the William Creek Hotel, which has recently been taken over by a family from the Adelaide Hills who sounded like they were going to spend some money on the place. Our next stop was Coward Springs, but not before we drove out to Haligan Bay on Lake Eyre north to check it out, walk around on the salt and the kids and Al playing a game of chasey. We headed to Coward Springs where we had to deliver the mail and spent an enjoyable night there – apart from the Mozzies in the toilet who attacked me. We met some wags from Pt Adelaide – Baz, Bill, John and Al [foul] to his friends who were on their way to cross the Simpson. We had a couple of drinks with them, they were a lot of fun. While chatting to them, we were approached by a young couple who had pulled into the springs for a spa, and had found that their car wouldn’t start and were after help, this was about 4pm and they were hoping to reach Marree by night. We convinced them to stay the night and we’d get them going in the morning, and after a great night sleep – apart from the scratching [re mozzie bites] we push started them and they set off towards Pt Augusta, we told them that we would be behind them as far as Farina so if they had any trouble we could help them, but as we didn’t pass them I guess they were ok.

From Coward Springs we headed to Farina Ruins for the night where we met EO member Phil from Adelaide who was heading to the Simpson too. Farina is well worth the stop, even if you just want to check out the ruins there. From Farina we headed to Arkaroola via a stop at Copely for a Quandong pie at the Bush bakery – yummo! Arkaroola was a bit disappointing, I didin’t enjoy the caravan park there, however, the couple of drives we did were quite nice, and the star talk we went on was GREAT – well done Wayne who conducted it. The kids and us loved looking at the stars and especially seeing Jupiter and four of it’s moons, as Callum said to the amusement of the others on the talk “that is awesome”. We did meet EO member Ray who is from Brisbane and his brother inlaw Ron who had been travelling for quite sometime and from the sound of things having a ball. Lovely to meet you fellas!

After Arkaroola we went to the Jewel of the Flinders – Warraweena Conservation Park, if you’ve never been there GO! It is a top spot, and Stoney and Gina Steiner who manage it are fantastic. Warraweena is simply beautiful with fantastic bush camping spots, great public showers if needed, and wonderful drives. We chose to do the Old Coach Road, and checked out the drive through Sliding Rock Historical site they were both great. We have decided to leave the more challenging drives for when we return with friends. Warraweena’s campsites are spread out with at least 1km between them and it is lovely and peaceful, more info can be obtained via their website, www.warraweena.com .

Our next stop was Rawnsley Park, where we spent 4 days. It was a top spot and the kids loved playing with other kids on the play equipment. We spent the days exploring the area. We did a hike into Wilpena Pound to Hills Homestead, this was the shortest and easiest walk and we thought it was probably the best with the kids. They stated out enjoying it, but then getting close to the 5km mark they started to complain, luckily there wasn’t long to go after that. We drove through Bunyroo Valley and Brachina Gorge and I fully understand why Geologists get excited about rocks, absolutely beautiful. We met a bloke up there who was looking for a bunch of kids he’d lost, a school group I think, they sent him off to get some fire wood and took off, I guess he found them, he was looking through a huge set of binoculars. We also visited Sacred Canyon and had a great meal at the Woolshed Restaurant at Rawnsely Park.

From Rawnsley we headed further south to Quorn, stopping off at Kanyaka Ruins which is really interesting and well worth the stop. Quorn is a nice quiet town, and the kids enjoyed seeing the Afghan Express train leave the station on it’s way to Pt Augusta. We then headed to Burra, via a stop at Sevenhill Winery just out of Clare for some fortified Verdelho made by Jesuit monks. Burra is an interesting place to visit with many historical buildings and the old copper mine. We went to the pub that night and bumped into a family from Wallan who were also at Rawnsely Park. Our next stop was Adelaide where we stayed at Semaphore Park while Al attended a couple of business meetings. We caught up with fellow EO members Muddy and Trippin [Steve & Judy] and had a lovely meal at the Palais, it was great to meet you Judy. Al also caught up with one of the guys we met at Coward Springs [Foul] who is in the Engineering business as well.

Mildura was our final stop and on the way there we took a couple of hours out and visited with EO member DesLexic and also met another eo member Glenn who runs a computer store in Berri. It was lovely to catch up Des. We got into Mildura as the weather was on the change and some rain came in, luckily we were in a cabin so we didn’t have to worry about packing up wet canvas. We went out to Woodsies Gem shop and walked about the shopping precinct, deciding to leave a ride on a paddle steamer to another time when the weather was better – the kids did not fancy being out during a thunderstorm.

And so, 4 weeks after we left home we set off again for home, it was a great trip and we all enjoyed it.

I did a quick survey to find out what everyone liked the best and this is the results:

Al – spending time with family
Tegan – seeing Jupiter through the telescope at Arkaroola
Callum – the pub [not sure which one]
Lyn – camping at Warraweena and meeting some lovely folk along the way.

Lyn

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 17:44

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 17:44
Welcome home Buuuuddddyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
AnswerID: 191487

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 17:49

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 17:49
thanks Buddyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
FollowupID: 449278

Follow Up By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 18:43

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 18:43
Welcome back Mr & Mrs Al - hope you care going to the national gathering in July '07 - at your favourite par of the Flinders - check our the gatherings.
jules
FollowupID: 449297

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 19:00

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 19:00
Hi Julie

I did see the gatherings post for next year, we're not sure about then, but we will be back to Warraweena for sure hopefully before then..

Lyn
FollowupID: 449303

Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 18:09

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 18:09
when Callum gets older I reckon he and I could be real drinkin buddies...only one who knows whats good for him..hahaha
AnswerID: 191495

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 18:38

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 18:38
By the time Callum gets to drinking age you are going to be waaaaaaay beyond it...LOL
FollowupID: 449294

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 18:43

Funny thing is, if you put blue sunnies on Callum, he would look just like you Nudie. Maybe you and Lyn have met before somewhere!!!!!
FollowupID: 449298

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 19:01

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 19:01
He would not! lol
FollowupID: 449304

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 20:09

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 20:09
i have never met lyn ....

honest Al

FollowupID: 449315

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 18:43

Hello Mrs Al

Pretty good report that. Looks like you had a heap of fun (apart from the runaway wheel). Next time you come this way I will take you on one of Warraweena's more serious tracks for a look see. :-)

AnswerID: 191501

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 18:44

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 18:44
Crawler
FollowupID: 449299

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 19:02

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 19:02
look forward to it Willie...
FollowupID: 449305

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 19:04

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 19:04
No thanks to you Des Donut!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 449306

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 19:05

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 19:05
Good to see you back in town and in piece.

Would loved to have seen the look on your faces when that wheel passed you and have Al verbalise his thoughts at that exact moment.

I am sure good ole 'uncle Ads' would have been left behind in the decriptive word/phrase stakes.

Other than that, sounds as if you all had a ball.

See you ssoner rather than later.

K & D
AnswerID: 191509

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 19:54

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 19:54
Hi Al and Mrs Al,

Sorry we could not catch up with you but we were too sick :(

Glad you made it home safe and sound.

Reading your report it sounds like callum and stu would get on well but callum is way to young lol.

Catch up soon

Dawn and Stu (brew)
AnswerID: 191521

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 20:06

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 20:06
Hi Lyn and Al,

Nice to see you home safe and well, sorry we couldnt make tea after all, we were looking forward to catching up, things got a little hectic here real quick, with the arrival of baby Brianna, and then all the melb associated rellies LOL.
She is doing great and the visitors are nearly all gone now ahhaah.
She likes being cuddled by me the most, I can tell !!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOL

Catch up soon, Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 191523

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 21:26

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 21:26
Good to see you had a great and safe trip all of you. I hope you don't sack the maintenance engineer there losing a wheel like that though. Great that Callum could see it first in the overtaking lane.

I reckon that Warraweena will be great for next years National event, plenty of space and good tracks for Willie to teach us safe driving.
AnswerID: 191541

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 21:54

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 21:54
anyone got the short version of that?? way too much to read
AnswerID: 191552

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 07:32

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 07:32
. Wheel came off trailer
. had a great time
. Warraweena fantastic
. Met somel lovely people and some wags
FollowupID: 449386

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 10:47

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 10:47
thats all you had to say.

Now ask Al how much for the trim off the big rear door - I need one :'( Dont ask....
FollowupID: 449430

Reply By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 22:01

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 22:01
Welcome back. Great report!

We're about to do part of the trip in reverse - Melbourne to Arkaroola - during the school holidays. Is there an alternative to the Arkaroola caravan park? A couple of people had said that Arkaroola was getting a bit tired.

17 days to go (not that I'm counting [much!])

Adrian
AnswerID: 191553

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 00:36

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 00:36
We stayed at Arkaroola, not fancy, but much cheaper than i expected out there; we usually only stay one night then move on and bush camp, but it was worth staying there as a base for day trips. They have the only fuel in the area too. Otherwise you can stay in the Gammon NP at a few designated camp sites. Worth taking the loop road through the park. Good drives on Arkaroola too - our favourite was the drive out to the hot springs.

FollowupID: 449374

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 07:37

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 07:37
If you don't mind going without power for a couple of days, then the camping area might be an alternative, it is more protected from the winds and the dust, only thing is there are no showers down there, but you can drive up and use the facilities in the caravan park. I think the caravan park was spoilt for us by some inconsiderate campers who were opposite. As motherhen has said it isn't expensive, the drives though can be, esp if you want to do the ridgetop tour as that was going to cost us $290, the star talk is well worth it, and the kids loved it, there are some free drives and they were great, the drive out to the hot springs was a great drive and free.

Lyn
FollowupID: 449387

Follow Up By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 07:58

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 07:58
Thanks Lyn & Motherhen

We don't need power so the campground sounds like a better alternative.

$290 for the Ridgetop tour - that's a bit rich! We can do the 20min scenic flight out of Wilpena for not much more for the 4 of us.

Nights on the plan are Quorn (Pichi Pichi railway), Wilpena, Chambers Gorge, Arkaroola and Warraweena. A few of the 4WD station tracks, mines, ruins etc along the way.

Adrian
FollowupID: 449391

Reply By: Moggs - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 07:42

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 07:42
Hi Lyn, great trip report! Very interesting for Nat and I as we are planning on doing a very similar trip. Would love to have a chat with you at some stage re: your Trakshak - looking at buying one over the camprite now for the added room.

Just what did Callum like at the pub?? Did they make a mean fire-engine LOL!
AnswerID: 191587

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 08:13

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 08:13
Callum is a pub squash man...hahahaha....I think it's the nuggets and chips, and if he gets the chance he tries to sneak into the pokies area if there is one, he also likes the pool tables.

The TrakShak is a great unit, with heaps of room, we found some nights we'd bring our chairs in there and just sit inside and read if it were a bit cold outside esp when we couldn't have a fire.

We shall organise something in the near future to get together

Lyn
FollowupID: 449392

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 07:59

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 07:59
Hi Al & Lyn,

Looks like you had a great trip though "my back yard". Did a similar trip ourselves a couple of months ago, but turned off the Oodnadatta track at Bopeechee to Roxby Downs.

Interesting comment you made about the dry waterhole at Algebuckina. Were you on the Rail Bridge side?

Directly opposite, on the other side of the track is the Algebuckina Waterhole which to my knowledge has permanent water in it. Certainly a fair bit when we were there. This is a better place to camp than the Bridge side which has too many tourists driving through.

Anyway, sounds like you had a great trip. Hope to catch you guys up some time.

Bill & bev.

AnswerID: 191593

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 08:15

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 08:15
yes we were at the Bridge, not sure if there was water on the other side, didn't see much water anywhere...

Lyn
FollowupID: 449393

Follow Up By: Squizzy - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 11:02

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 11:02
Lyn,

The waterhole is through a gate on the eastern side of the road, opposite the bridge. it is a permanent waterhole with good fishing too. large yellow belly.

A good report and all places you visited are within easy reach to our home, and have been frequented many times.

Geoff.

FollowupID: 449433

Reply By: Member - Craig M (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 13:22

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 13:22
Mr. & Mrs. Al, Glad you're back safe n sound. Thanks for the report. I'm jealous. Maybe we should stop telling people about Warraweena! That and Brachina have got to be 2 of my most favourite places in the world.
Got your note and will respond.

Regards, the squire
AnswerID: 191644

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 13:49

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 13:49
cheers Squire,

shall catch up soon,

Lyn
FollowupID: 449466

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 01:35

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 01:35
Geez what a drag LOL, sounds great Lyn, glad to hear it went so well.

Trailer comes with spare axle eh? - almost sounds like they expect the the odd departure at speed LOL ... You could have dropped into the factory in adelaide for a fix em up on the way home ( small detour :-) )

Say gday to Al for me.

Have to drop out there soon, cheers Brad
AnswerID: 191744

Reply By: Ray Shorter - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 20:52

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 20:52
Good to catch up with you in Arkaroola.

Ray
AnswerID: 191890