Fuel Pricing

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 11:35
ThreadID: 37226 Views:2376 Replies:8 FollowUps:14
Noticed fuel prices have FALLEN approx 15 cents per gallon in last two weeks in the usa , maybe ours will follow.....lol..

Reply By: ImEasy - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 11:43

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 11:43
Thats good to HEAR.

Tim.....
AnswerID: 191630

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 11:45

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 11:45
Fuel prices have fallen over the last couple of weeks in SA but this is possibly for another reason altogether. The Royal Automobile Association of SA reported the problem of fuel pricing to the ACCC and it would appear this may be forcing the mutinationals to keep their prices "deflated" for a while.

AnswerID: 191631

Reply By: Redback - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 11:47

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 11:47
But thats only 3 cents a litre here, varies more on a daily basis from servo to servo in Sydney, not really a true indicator.

AnswerID: 191632

Follow Up By: ImEasy - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 11:50

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 11:50
I reckon the leaves would be falling in the usa as well!
FollowupID: 449444

Reply By: adamj1300 - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 11:55

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 11:55
Noticed fuel prices have FALLEN approx 15 cents per gallon in last two weeks in the usa

here it takes a good month or so for the prices to back down!
but for some reason as soon as the price pergallon goes up over there, so does ours

talked about rigged
AnswerID: 191636

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 11:56

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 11:56
Someone on the news last night said $1.15 by Christmas.

Makes an absolute joke of the Govt's $2000 rebate on LPG installation - what a rort that is.
AnswerID: 191637

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 12:06

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 12:06
QUOTE: Makes an absolute joke of the Govt's $2000 rebate on LPG installation - what a rort that is.

Why does it?
FollowupID: 449452

Follow Up By: 3.0turbob - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 12:22

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 12:22
Also heard on Sydney radio this morning that one economist predicts fuel to drop to a dolar a litre in the new year!
FollowupID: 449455

Follow Up By: feral - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 13:59

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 13:59
The con/rebate was a give-away that really gave us nothing.

There is plenty of evidence that the price of installations went up by roughly $1000 overnight and the desperation of motorists made the booking in time blow out to April - May 2007.

As a diesel owner..where is my rebate???

As a petrol owner with limited k's for the year...how long do you expect me to wait until I begin to get a return????

As I said...another showbag from the Howard Government.
FollowupID: 449467

Follow Up By: Member - pilbaradisco - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 14:02

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 14:02
In the paper someone said we could be paying $2/l by Xmas.
We normally pay more in summer because the Northern Hemishere use more oil for heating in there winter.

Glen.
FollowupID: 449468

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 14:04

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 14:04
Hi Shaker,
- LPG is a by-product of diesel production
- LPG vehicles are not fuel efficient
- CNG is what we have heaps of in the Cooper basin - and is the "forgotten" fuel that should be encouraged
- Converting a bunch more vehicles to LPG doesn't achieve anything apart from a $2000 windfall to those who were going to do it anyway.
- The LPG fitters will raise their prices, and take a share of that $2000.
- For those who do the diesel/LPG thing, its another $2000 windfall for no good reason
- LPG is 1/2 to 1/3rd the price of petrol - that alone is enough incentive

- And finally I'm annoyed because its my taxes being wasted. And secondly, the only reason they did it was to get votes.

The governments are getting a windfall from the higher fuel prices - they are getting teh extra tax revenue - I'd rather see that go into CNG development.

FollowupID: 449469

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 16:10

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 16:10
as someone above said...
60 mins interviewed some one sunday and the jerk said ..be prepared for it nudging 2bucks by Xmas

is one scaremongering and/or the other is trying to keep us calm?

who cares it aint as dear as that amber fluid ...yet

FollowupID: 449491

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 16:36

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 16:36
You are right Phil G. This $2000 LPG rebate is another expensive scheme to buy votes. Does nothing for the long term. This $80 million would be better spent on public transport infrastructure, CNG or solar. There must be an election soon, hang on....next year!

4 corners the other night showed big business leaders coming together to work out ways to reduce Oz's greenhouse gas emissions. Seems like things may get going now. And what does Johnny say? "I don't think it's a problem, I'm not convinced yet. Why should Australia do anything about CO2 emissions when 1 or 2 other countries around the world aren't either?" (meaning the US said no).

What does it take to convince him on energy matters? Too busy watching his bum for Costello therefore looking backwards.

Off the track but interesting i think. Bush beat Al gore in the 2000 US election. Dodgy behind the scenes rip off. Gore was a campaigner for CO2 reductions, even before he ran for office. How different would the world be if he became President rather than Bush?

Barnesy
FollowupID: 449498

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 17:22

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 17:22
If they spent it on public transport, would you use it?
FollowupID: 449734

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 18:44

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 18:44
If i lived in the suburbs and worked in the CBD i would use it. Couldn't think of anything worse than driving an hour each way in peak hour. I used public transport a lot when i lived in the suburbs and was always lamenting the poor service.

More people are using public transport already due to petrol prices. Even more would do so if services were improved. Is there another way to reduce oil use? I can't use public transport now because there isn't any in my town.
FollowupID: 449763

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 13:02

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 13:02
Wow , just might have some relevance except that our oil price is tied to Singapore , could also be part of G.W.Bushes plan to get his brother Jed as the next President by getting fuel down. lol.
AnswerID: 191642

Reply By: Redeye - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 13:31

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 13:31
Interesting comments on ABC news item.

Site Link

Redeye
AnswerID: 191645

Follow Up By: ev700 - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 14:59

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 14:59
Cannot be right, Mr Howard says the fuel companies are utterly trustworthy and critics are mistaken.
FollowupID: 449480

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 16:14

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 16:14
i'm with you ev700....that dictator wouldnt lie to us
FollowupID: 449492

Follow Up By: bigcol - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 20:11

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 20:11
How ya doing Redeye??
Hope Yourself , Gab and the kids are well.

On another forum i use a couple of the guys said they had heard it would/could get down to around a $1 a litre buy then end of October.

That is until some useless towel head goes and blows himself and a heap of others up again. Or our war monger PM goes and invades Iran with George Dubbya
FollowupID: 449526

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 22:24

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 22:24
Bigcol, Where did they hear it would get down to $1/litre? You would have to question the validity of any prediction where the price drops 25% in 2 months.

I also don't actually think that suicide bombers are the ones infuencing oil prices. It's demand from China. US, Oz and Pommie governments use terrorists as an excuse for high prices to deflect media and confirm the validity of their stupid Iraq war. But I agree Bush is a warmonger and Johnny loves his free trade agreement too much to care.

Barnesy
FollowupID: 449573

Reply By: MAVERICK(WA) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 00:52

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 00:52
just a bit on prices - when i departed home on 12mar it was 119.9cpl - when i arrived home 26aug it was 121.5cpl...............less than 2cents in nearly 6mths..............today it is 120.5cpl.........another manufactured fuel crisis?????? rgds
Slow down and relax......

AnswerID: 191741