dirty lazy 4WDers

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 11:20
ThreadID: 37476 Views:3413 Replies:19 FollowUps:26
how it pains me to have to write this - is there any way those operating 4wd vehicles in the remote (and not so remote) areas of this country can stop leaving used tolet paper flying around the bush. there is no excuse - not one - for this dirty lazy effort..............what is so hard about disposing of the used paper properly - it does burn and it does fit into rubbish bags for later disposal. but now for the best of the lot - dirty lazy filthy girlies - is there a reason you cannot properly dispose of the used pads and tampons - must they also be left lying around the bush?? they also will burn and can be disposed of at a later date. to think we get all high and mighty when areas get restricted and/or closed off - if i was a station owner/lessee and this was going on it wouldn't take too long to introduce a gate or fences - and there is no-one else to blame but us. rgds
Slow down and relax......

Reply By: chump_boy - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 11:27

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 11:27
Speak for yourself.....
AnswerID: 193115

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 11:32

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 11:32
I feel the same way! I agree with you Maverick but it is just not right to paint us all with the same brush. I know that this won't change the land owner position any but I think it unfair to blame and punish the other 90% that are doing the right thing.

FollowupID: 450932

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 11:51

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 11:51
actually I have to agree with the OP ..
there are more than 10% NOT doing the right thing in my opinion
gmd
FollowupID: 450935

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 11:59

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 11:59
I agree - quite apart from my initial comment, I would bet half the people out camping leave crap behind. Pads and toilet paper would probably be 10-20%, and general rubbish would be closer to 50%.......

I know we always have an emu parade after packing up and moving the cars - not even a cigarette butt gets left behind...

Noones going to come on here and say "hell yeah. I always leave my crap behind", are they? So I always take what annonamous people write on forums like this with a grain of salt....

Chump
FollowupID: 450939

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 12:04

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 12:04
Not disagreeing only pointing out that a lot of people do the right thing and that a unilateral withdrawal of access seems harsh. A bit like saying no one is allowed to drive because people get killed on roads. Maybe another approach could be considered? It seems the issue of littering seems to crop up periodically and the only solution offered is a total ban, makes me think that the total ban is the first thought and the littering a reason to make that happen.

FollowupID: 450941

Follow Up By: Hairy - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 12:48

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 12:48
Not Guilty!
FollowupID: 450957

Follow Up By: Hairy - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 12:50

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 12:50
Besides, the dingos would clean it up anyway, they love a good feed of crap
FollowupID: 450958

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 15:40

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 15:40
Maverick - your title "dirty lazy 4WDers" made it very clear whose behaviour you were concerned about.

I can't understand why people took offence at your comments - unless they included themselves in that category.
FollowupID: 450978

Reply By: slave - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 11:53

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 11:53
The worst areas we have found are very easily accessed by 2wd, so it is not always 4wd to blame. We always burn and bury.

Mrs S
AnswerID: 193120

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 09:49

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 09:49
Sorry Slave but you've just touched one of my pet hates.

Burn bash and bury was a system of rubbish disposal espoused 40 years ago and it no longer holds up as far as I am concerned.

If you can carry a full pack in you can carry a full pack out. I don't care what was in the pack in the first place it can still be carried out. If I can do it when I m on foot you can do it when you have a car with you.

A camp fire is for cooking on and to provide warmth and atmosphere when out in the bush it is not a waste disposal system. A camp fire is rarely hot enough to completely dispose of the rubbish anyway.

FollowupID: 451137

Follow Up By: slave - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 10:41

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 10:41
I replied to the original post that was refering to toilet rubbish, which we burn and bury, especially after seeing the toilet paper that had been blowing around the Simpson last year.

The rest if we cart it in we cart it out plus any extra if we have the room to carry it which is not always the case with 4 in the car and no campervan.

MRS S
FollowupID: 451144

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 11:56

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 11:56
It does need repeating. Good on you.

Beacause a few don't do the right thing. And problem is they most probably are on ther fringe of the 4wd faternity.
So I think the rest of us just need a thicker skin and not take it as a personal criticism.
Just hope the message gets to the right (or wrong in this case) people.
AnswerID: 193121

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 12:14

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 12:14
And include all the people not picking up their dog poo on
sports fields ... no excuse to not carry a poo bag ...
we live on a property and you should see the bag of rubbish
we pick every 3 months from people throwing out the window
they would never do that in suburbia .. well some would ..
This is all a pretty hopeless thing ... look how the green looks
after Australia day ?? why do people thinj when they are in a large group
that someone will clean up after them ... but this is not just an
Australian phenomenon ... it usually happens where lowly educated
people gather and thats 90% of a population usually ...not 10%

gmd
FollowupID: 450947

Follow Up By: PK Eildon (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 13:55

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 13:55
I would agree that it is perhaps a minority problem, but greater than some would suspect. I live near the Big River area where a lot of 4bys go and camp. Every spring when the rains come, big river washes a carpet of rubbish out into the lake, and I mean a carpet miles long. It seems many think that burying their rubbish or hiding it means it is not there. Trouble is it resurfaces. How many on here when going to toilet in remote areas, take the shovel and head for the nearest gully or depression and bury the toilet paper. Sorry to say, but much of the time it aint gonna stay there, and also pollutes the waterway. I may be wrong (feel free to correct me), but out in the open, more on a ridge line is the place to go, and don't worry about digging, the sun will break it down faster than wet moist earth. Burn or take the paper. Gives incentive to go more than 10 feet from the campsite for a start.

A lot espousing "I don't rubbish" fail to see the consequences of leaving anything behind, hidden or not. If it is good enough to take it in, it's good enough to take out.

I do not take this discussion as a personal criticism (I ain't no saint), and neither should others on this forum. It is something that should be discussed, not hidden like the rubbish.

I have always liked the saying "Take nothing but photos, leave nothing but footprints". It would be nice if it could be achieved.
FollowupID: 450965

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 16:29

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 16:29
gmd,

You obviously don't frequent university campuses :)))) I don't think it has much to do with education, more likely attitude.
FollowupID: 450997

Follow Up By: Marn - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 17:11

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 17:11
As they all say " I is a uni student"
FollowupID: 451005

Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 12:13

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 12:13
For the majority who are doing the wrong thing it's a matter of education - many just don't realise and when they do they then do the right thing. However there will always be a certain moronic minority who don't see anything wrong with it.
AnswerID: 193132

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 13:33

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 13:33
Just read this if you are unsure, it's a good little article:
http://www.exploroz.com/OntheRoad/Environment/Default.asp#Toilets
AnswerID: 193147

Reply By: Rokkitt - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 13:43

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 13:43
A couple of years ago we were driving up to Uluru when we ran out of daylight and needed to find a camp.....we pulled off the highway and followed a disused track into the bush in search of a spot to kip. We kept on for a k or two when we came across a beatiful little spot to pitch the tent - but first we cleared two garbage bags full of rubbish including tampons, nappies, toilet paper (used), tin cans....the list goes on.

Surely this is all we can do, clean it up as soon as we find it in the hope that no-one has already sited this in a case for track closures. It would have been possible to get a 2wd in there.

Rod
AnswerID: 193149

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 14:10

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 14:10
Just look at the rubbish left at Gunshot ............. its a disgrace to say the least. I would have taken it out but would have been a FULL UTE load + and a day to clean up at least and my ute was full with my own gear as it was. It did not get there over night thats a fact. I guess people see it and figue its the local dump and just keep adding to the pile.

AnswerID: 193153

Reply By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 14:11

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 14:11
'Vampire teabags'.........they're bush tucker mate.
AnswerID: 193154

Reply By: Robin - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 14:36

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 14:36
Interesting Issue with which I do not fully agree.

First we should obviously all do what we can to minimize
rubbish of all sorts.

But burning toilet paper is not always on or always desirable.

Few weeks ago was at an aboriginal community in which burning paper
was banned.

Apart from that its becoming harder to light fires in some places
at some times, and its not always practical to carry rubbish
when your out for more than a week.
Forethought to minimize all rubbish is required.

For when no other solution is available I reccomend people
consider use of bio-degradable toilet paper.

I was writting about this elsewhere recently so happen to
know that product called "Safe" is a rapid breakdown tissue
available at our local Coles supermarket in packs of 8.

AnswerID: 193155

Follow Up By: PK Eildon (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 15:26

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 15:26
"and its not always practical to carry rubbish
when your out for more than a week"

Why Not ????

Begs the question, what do you do with it ????
FollowupID: 450976

Follow Up By: Robin - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 15:52

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 15:52
Hi PK

That line would read better as reffering to "how rubbish builds up after a week or so" if you can't do something with it.

Hence we pay lot of attention to minimizing it.

P.S. Did you know there is a small Alexandra 4wd club.

FollowupID: 450982

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 16:00

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 16:00
Hey Robin,
What's a small alexandra?
FollowupID: 450985

Follow Up By: PK Eildon (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 16:02

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 16:02
Sounds much better. I agree, just needs some forethought.

AND yes. Have met a few of them around the traps, seem like a good little club.
FollowupID: 450986

Follow Up By: Robin - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 16:05

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 16:05
Hi Wayne

Forgot there is an Alex in NSW to.

Small town in NE victoria pop. 2000 , capital of the shire of Murrindindi , home of some of the best muddy tracks around and near to Eildon where I think PK is, and I am member of that small 4wd club.

FollowupID: 450988

Follow Up By: pjd - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 17:01

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 17:01
if you can carry the rubbish in then why cant you carry it out. it should take up less room after you have eaten or drank the goods & squashed the packaging
FollowupID: 451003

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 17:32

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 17:32
On our recent 16 week trip to the North, my wife and I had this conversation many times. We concluded that the main problem is ladies who have a pee in rest areas (and elswhere) then drop the paper. It is easy for us men. If we needed to 'wipe it, rather than shake it' we would be even worse I suspect.

My wife's simple solution is to carry a plastic bag. Put the toilet paper in it and tie it off. She carried little bags for days sometimes. Never caused us a problem for us.
I agree with others though, by far the worst areas where on main roads accessable to 2WD as well as 4WD. So it is a factor of traffic volume, not type of vehicle.

Generally (apart from a couple of isolated disgusting spots), the more remote areas were the cleanest and best looked after.

At most camp spots, we went for a walk and took a plastic bag to pick up rubbish. We tried to leave each area better than we found it. But I drew the line at picking up other people's tiolet paper and tampons (but only saw a couple of those on the trip).

Some people are simply pigs and don't care. Others just don't think. Nothing (legal) will help the first group. The second need reasoned education and communication, not banning.
AnswerID: 193174

Follow Up By: madfisher - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 20:50

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 20:50
We make it a practice to always take all our rubbish out and pick up bottles and cans left by other people. I think the message is slowy sinking in as I dont think the litter problem is as bad as 30 years ago. The answer is in educating the kids
FollowupID: 451052

Reply By: Member - Hughesy (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 18:36

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 18:36
Just got back from a trip accross the simpson. I picked up 3 drink bottles, 2 cans and 4 stubbies that were either lying in the middle of the track or I saw just off the track. What ammazed me was the number of people that must have driven straight over the top of the ones lying in the middle of the track......how many people claiming to be saints have driven past rubbish with the attitude "its not mine"???? If all of us on this site pick up every bit of rubbish that we see floating around the bush then there would be stuff all rubbish lying around and no one could complain about dirty 4wders.

As for the toilet paper issue. Go for a walk 100m of the road on the way into Birdsville (after the bridge) after the races....... the bleep e is everywhere!!! They really need to put portaloos out in the camping areas to try and stop the mess that 8000 "4wders" make in a week!!

Some people never learn or change their habits so there is no use complaining we just have to continue to do the right thing and clean up after the pigs.
AnswerID: 193187

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 20:15

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 20:15
crikeys - dont know where you go but Ive never seen much in the way of mess out bush except for all the oldtimers junk - Never let it be said that things are worse now coz they never used to take a single thing out with them as far as i can see
AnswerID: 193211

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 20:59

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 20:59
unfortunately when i was up the cape a few years ago i never saw the prob either. Nothing worse that walking away from camp to find a sea of T.P.
Also people recently comenting about the amount of rubbish at Gunshot. I saw this up near Vyrilia Pt. there was a tip/dump and I couldn't believe that people didn't take their rubbish out. they left it at this spot. such a remote location. Like what do people think, a truck will come Wed morning and pick it all up?

Leroy
FollowupID: 451053

Reply By: silkwood - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 20:38

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 20:38
I find many of the responses amusing. It's always "the few" or "the 5% of bad apples" or somesuch. I rarely go away without finding a MAJORITY of 4wdrivers ignoring one or another issue which results in damaging or defacing environments in one way or another. Most, however, do it unknowingly- having too many in a group for a given campground, taking firewood in an innapropriate area (particularly deserts! How many groups DON'T have a huge fire every night in areas with the LEAST growth of natural fuel?). I think awareness is a major factor here. I DO believe the majority of 4wdrivers don't intentionally cause damage. I find it hard to condemn those pushing for further closures of National Parks, even if I don't always afree with them.

AnswerID: 193216

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 22:17

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 22:17
Worst places or rubbish I find are the roadside stops and popular camps accessible by 2wd. Its easy to burn toilet paper - education is the problem.
AnswerID: 193230

Reply By: D-Jack - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 23:16

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 23:16
I must admit, I often leave a burnt match on the ground when I burn my toilet paper. What a criminal!

On the more serious side, what about those perfumed small nappy bags that tie at the top? Keep some inside the toilet paper roll, never without, can even scoop the poop up and take that away too. Sure, creating more plastic waste, but rather have to bury a lot of rubbish in one place than have it scattered all over the ground. Just a thought. They may even make them in a biodegradable material.

D-Jack
AnswerID: 193238

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 23:25

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 23:25
We find getting into the more remote country, people are thoughtful and don't leave rubbish (after all, that's us out there, isn't it?). Regular roads and easily accessible areas are the worst. Speaking to a park volunteer in the Gammon Ranges, he said he liked it out there, because the travellers were thoughtful and didn't leave any mess.

I agree and get angry at seeing rubbish, nappies etc left behind. How often do we come across the ashes of a campfire, filled with cans and other no burning rubbish, even glass. I am of the don't burn - take a plastic bag brigade; how simple - sure doesn't take much room.

AnswerID: 193241

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 01:42

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 01:42
I think Norm (Qld) has it in one.

"Some people are simply pigs and don't care. Others just don't think. Nothing (legal) will help the first group"

How bloody true. Even if this sort of person could be convinced to burn their toilet paper, they would do it in such a way as to cause a major bush fire.

Unfortunately, in some humans, the gene pool is just too diluted.

AnswerID: 193243

Reply By: Member - Patrick (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 03:19

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 03:19
Often the problem with rubbish removal is just where to put it. I bought a canvas bag from the following supplier and its brilliant. Plenty of room, contains the smells and easly transportable.

If your serious about removing rubbish, get one of these!

Site Link

And NO before you ask, I have nothing to do with this company, just a satisfied customer.

AnswerID: 193246

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 07:19

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 07:19
How do you fill it!?

A week in the bush usually sees me bringing back one (not full) Safeway type plastic bag with a few cans in it, I burn everything else.

I gold prospect in some out the way places and it never ceases to amaze me, that after walking for a couple of hours into remote bush, how often I'll come across a beer can or bottle discarded in the middle of nowhere?

FollowupID: 451104

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 10:10

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 10:10
I have seen a similar idea but the bag was designed to hang on the spare wheel. Keeps any possible smell outside.

Personally I don't care how you carry your rubbish out just as long as you do.

FollowupID: 451140

Follow Up By: Member - Patrick (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 18:36

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 18:36
The canvas bag has straps that allow it to be fitted to the spare tyre on the back of my Patrol. It has a zipper on the top for easy access to the full width and depth of the bag for rubbish storage. I use a green plastic bag as a liner to avoid smells and liquid stains.

Duncs, you obviously didn't move down the web page as you would have seen exactly what you described, not the duffle bag.

Bloody good gear, and it works!!
FollowupID: 451217

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 11:09

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 11:09
You picked it Patrick.

This is what happens when my quiet half hour on the computer is interrupted by those pesky kids wanting to do their homework.

I have tried to explain that my time chatting with you guys is far more important than things like the HSC but SWMBO is a teacher. What can I do?? :-)

FollowupID: 451358

Reply By: nissnut - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 09:27

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 09:27
Having worked around WA past 10 yrs I have noticed that the biggest culprits re littering have been indigenous people. As 4wders the eyes of society seem to be on us and ready to pounce at any opportunity, be it littering, hooning, destroying flora and fauna, or just driving in the city. Im sure 99% of us do the right thing. However ther are always the bag eggs in any walk of life.........GO THE DOCKERS. nissnut.
AnswerID: 193264

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 16:08

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 16:08
I think the worst offenders are the supporters of that other team from Perth, the fried dickers. They will need to bury their mess on Footbal park when they s**t themselves.

Barnesy
FollowupID: 451196