9kg Gas Bottle Gauge
Submitted: Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 16:39
Wonder if anyone knows where I can get a good reliable gauge for my 9kg gas bottle...it has a POL connection..need it so as my gas fridge doesn't die in the middle of nowhere ..!! I'm in
Sydney ..north side !!
Reply By: Mike Harding - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 16:49
Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 16:49
One of the adhesive/magnetic ones you pour hot
water over are very accurate and cheap. $3 or $4 from most
camping shops.
Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 22:46
Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 22:46
I used one of these adhesive strips and they are simple and easy :) ........... not real flash if you into swap and go cylinders however :)
Reply By: Bega Photographer - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 17:21
Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 17:21
Well, g'day Steve.
If your gas bottle is empty, you won't be able to do this, but then you won't need to either because the fridge will be warmed up, and you'll know.
1) Light the gas stove and boil half a litre of
water.
2) Pour it over the side of the bottle.
3) Look at the bottle. It may have condensation up to the level of the gas. If not, you'll be able to feel the difference in temperature with your hand.
Important cautions:
1) Don't pour the hot
water down your boots.
2) Don't burn your hand as you feel for the temperature difference.
Laurie.
Follow Up By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 18:30
Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 18:30
The method with the hot
water poured over the bottle works even if nothing is running. Just work your way down the bottle and when the bottle temp changes that is where the gas is. Have used this method for at least 10 years now works great.
Jenkie
Reply By: Redeye - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 18:14
Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 18:14
Steve,
I have purchased a cheap set of fishing scales. Weigh the cylinder when full and when empty. Wright these figures on the bottle and you should have a fair idea of how much gas is left with a simple test.
Redeye
Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 18:57
Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 18:57
Good one mate - I like that ;-)
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 22:55
Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 22:55
or Digital Bathroom Scales for $29 from Woolies
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 18:46
Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 18:46
Steve,
How old is your bottle?
A practical solution may be to buy a new Gas Bottle with a built-in gauge.
All you see is a small plastic gauge but the bottle includes an internal float mechanism to operate it.
I have these gauges on both the 9kg bottles I use at home and the 4.5kg bottle I take
camping.
If your bottle is still worth the effort, you can have the float/gauge mechanism retro-fitted. You would need to check who is authorised to do this in your State. In SA it's Maxbuilt Trading Co.
I agree, its handy to be able to check at a glance how much gas is left in the bottle.
Reply By: Member - John R (NSW) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 19:40
Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 19:40
Or you could buy yourself a Gasfuse. It has a reasonably accurate gauge combined with an automatic cutoff if your line downstream is breached.
Reply By: Member - Charlie M (SA) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 22:18
Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 22:18
Hot
water works for me takes about 5 seconds when poured onto bottle. Does not need to be boiling, if at home out of the hot tap is good enough
Charlie
Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 22:56
Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 22:56
Shake the bottle - it'll give you a reasonable indication of how full it is.