Fuel economy

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 15:07
ThreadID: 38351 Views:2864 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
Just got back from nearly 2 weeks away with new camper, towed great although I think I see a turbo being fitted to the old girl as is the cheapest option with out buying and setting up another 4B. Sat on 100kph on the flats till it even saw a hill then died off really quickly, but did average 12L per 100 klms for the whole trip so was happy with that. Usually get 9/10 per 100 but with towing expected to use more as would be the case. The trailer weighed all up approx 850kg fully loaded, I think some electric brakes might be another option before we go again and reducing some weight considering the hilux going by the books says 600kg with out brakes and 1500 with brakes mind you I dont think I would like to be towing 1500kg behind a 2.8D hilux. Pedal was virtually flat to the boards the hole time and turned the air off on a few of the steep hills. Regards Steve M

Reply By: Upstart - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 17:19

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 17:19
I'm getting about 15L/100km in my 3.3L petrol Pathfinder towing a camper trailer. I estimate the weight to be about 600kg.
AnswerID: 198298

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 18:21

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 18:21
Thats pretty good, do you get the same without trailer or bout the same.My wife and I actually looked at a pathfinder just before going away was in our local rag, 1999 model V6 one owner auto ST but spoke to a few people and reckon they are only getting 18L per 100klms so I thought geez I can get roughly the same from an 80 series cruiser petrol around town, maybe a bit more like 18/20 per 100. Still tossing up what to do, was looking at a patrol one of the blokes on here was selling but had to pull out as we had other comittments so we didnt get to get that one, think of turboing the old girl but a few people on here have said they had issues with overheating and were still not really happy with the performace so will look at other options which will obviously be another vehicle hopefully one that has alredy had a few xtras added to it to save me some costs.But have high country in december so wont be doing any thing before then as I wont have time to set it up and I like to have a vehicle for a few months so that you get to know it and any faults etc.Am also looking at 2.8 turbo patrol seem to be a bit cheaper than the 4.2 and from what people have said on here not that badder vehicle just not as strong gearbox wise but not like I'm going to be towing 1.5/2 tonne or any thing like that. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 456936

Follow Up By: Upstart - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 13:32

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 13:32
Without the camper trailer I get about 13L per 100km. I also have a 5.3m 'glass half cabin boat which has a lot of wind resistance and towing that I get about 20L per 100km. I regularly tow the boat on a 300km round trip and I tow that with the overdrive turned off. With the camnper it tows in top gear but i kick it down to 3rd for the hills.
FollowupID: 457059

Reply By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 20:06

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 20:06
I know what you mean about the good old 2.8 towing.We've got a Tambo that weighs in at around 750kg and it was just to much for the 4 Runner 2.8.I went the way your thinking, put a DTS turbo on and while making a great differance with no trailer on, foot was still flat to the floor looking at hills with trailer on.Wished I had have saved money spent on turbo and put it towards our new vehicle.
AnswerID: 198315

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 20:25

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 20:25
Hi there Nick, yes thats my thoughts as well, looking at another vehicle, I have also been looking at the later model hilux with the 1KZ motor ( factory turbo) but alot more then I really want to spend but I'm also limited to parking area at home where the hilux fits nicely, either that or Im looking at possibly a 80 series petrol or patrol 2.8 turbo diesel but will have to shuffle cars around every night so I can get myn in the garage dont like to leave my vehicles put at night where the low life like to help them selves, just the fuel is a scary thought with the 80 series but you have to expect that when your pushing around over 2t. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 456958

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 21:29

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 21:29
Stephen You did well !

My economy averaged 6.5 km per Lt diesel ,, used 1000 lts,, 6500 kms
Thats a full blown outback trip, and just got back 8th Sep

Navara twin cab Ute 3.0TD + Trak Shak Camper and a heap of stuff
But then again we were 1200kg's loaded up in the trailer,, and another 400 kg's in the Navara.

Then Again down here in Sth Gippsland,, we get about 7.8 km per lt,,towing and loaded ,, ,, thats because its relatively flat and we are on sealed roads,,

Running about here empty, and not towing, I get 10 km per Lt

I believe I can improve things a little, if I throw good money after bad getting every test known to man on the Navara, but why ?
With that economy , and demand on things I recon I did well too

Cheers Mate

AnswerID: 198334

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 22:43

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 22:43
Hi Stephen,

I put a very empty 16ft Supreme Getaway behind a 2.8 Rocky I had a few years back and was surprised at just what speed it was able to do up the freeway north of Brissy to Nossa, it kept up with a 3 tonne truck I was travelling with. Looked like I had spent all my money on the van and left nothing for the tow vehicle LOL!! The van is 2 tonne in the shade without water in it so the 2.8 was working it's gizzards out and all the soot was literally forced out of the exhaust by the end of the trip so it was running sweet as, after that. I didn't bother with fuel figures for such a short trip.

Cheers, Trevor.
AnswerID: 198349

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 02:54

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 02:54
Hi Stephen,
Don't want to open a can of worms here, but there are issues with putting a turbo an older engines; I'm sure others can elaborate.
In your post you are saying you are happy with fuel consumption but want more power? They are not mutually exclusive, but close to it. You have mentioned the 80 series petrol but not the diesel.
Mine is only a standard diesel but I can tell you that on a recent trip with two adults and two kids and loaded up to the max (it could possibly have weighed more if filled with bags of wet cement) in hilly country it still averaged less than12L/100km. Oh yeah, it slowed down a bit ;-))
What about a turboed 4.2 diesel? (Nissan or Toyo). That will be your best compromise.
AnswerID: 198362

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 13:13

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 13:13
Hi there Bware, I was looking at a 4.2 turbo (factory) 80 series but they are a sh@t load dearer to buy then the petrol, I can get a low klm auto gxl in the vicinity of between 15/18 k petrol where as a turbo diesel is 20k + up to 30k for the twin valve model, have thought about patrols as well but after going through the forums last night on here there seems to be alot of issues in regards to fith gear and also engines climbing in temp but nothing about about cruisers having temp problems, but did read on there about 5th gear been an issue with them as well but I think this is a problem with most manual gear boxs in any brand. Yes I have thought about the issue with adding a turbo on older motors and have also read on here that most people werent that impressed with the bit of extra power when towing and also heating problems and doing the head as well due to the extra load put on the motor so my wife and I have last night decided against that been an option. I was looking at a model same as yours last night on the net and seem to be very good as they still have the solid front end so still give me good off road ability compared to some thing like the later model hilux with torshion front end and also diff problems. I will do some more searching tonight on some thing like yours, Im not after all the electric gizmos elec windows etc as only more to go wrong but some thing more like yours in the basic form then can add any extra comfort features I want later on. How does yours go say on the flats will it keep the 100klm mark no probs with air on and so forth. I was actually pulling up some of the hills on the putty road here in Sydney and was in 2nd gear with air off as she was struggling. I know a 4.2 without turbo isnt going to fly up hills but would like some extra get up and go. We are doing the kimberlys next year and really want some thing now a bit more comfy and some more grunt with out having to really flog the old girl too hard.Was happy with the fuel economy but am not worried if its going to cost me more at the end of the day for some thing with more power and comfort even if it means going to an 80 series petrol. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 457055

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 14:22

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 14:22
No air con, mate. But I was impressed earlier in the year with a full load on the highway 110km speed limit and in 5th being able to pull out from behind cars sitting on 100km and accelerate to 120km to overtake on a gentle uphill section. This is without a trailer, by the way.
FollowupID: 457069

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 15:01

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 15:01
Sounds like enough grunt to me, there's no way I could do that even with trailer not on. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 457072

Reply By: D-Jack - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 21:45

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 21:45
How bout a LPG addition - injects LPG into the combustion chamber, burns nearly all diesel instead of about 80%, add about 1/3 tank extra in LPG and get extended touring range, significant power increase and better enconomy, and costs less to travel the same distance. $2000 govt rebate at the moment brings the cost of conversion to below $2000, much less than the turbo option.

D-Jack

p.s. no affiliation, just thinking of getting it done to the TD Jack.
AnswerID: 198459