Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 06:39
jnewlife
I'm lucky enough to be emigrating to WA in December and then planning to do a 6 month trip around Oz before going back to work. I will be leaving start Feb 07 and going anticlockwise around Oz - I reckon 80% sealed roads 20% off road (planning to do Tanami rd,
Gibb River rd and CooberPedy-PaintedDesert-
Oodnadatta-Maree-Flinders as
well as some side trips to beaches, lookouts, national parks etc.
I am only a beginner when it come to 4x4 but I need to choose a vehicle, the choice seems to be between 4Runner Deisel, HiLux Surf (3.0 TD) or Landcruiser TD (want to stick with Toyota for relability, parts, etc). Once I get back from trip I will sell it on...
My main critera (in order of importance) are
1. Reliability/Ruggedness
2. Cost
3. Resale value
4. Fuel costs
I won't be towing and only need enough space for myself, spare tires,
camping stuff, food, etc.
Can anyone suggest the best vehicle and what kind of price range to get something reliable (somewhere in the region of $10K-$20K) depending on how much spare cash i end up with after moving.
Many thanks in advace
j.
Reply By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 07:31
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 07:31
I won't offer advice on the vehicle but I will suggest, as strongly as possible, that you get yourself an EPIRB.
Here are a few:
www.ja-gps.com.au/epirb.html
Enjoy Oz, it has it's negatives but it's probably the best country on the planet in which to live - you made a good choice :)
Enjoy your trip too.
Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 07:57
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 07:57
jnewlife
If Toyota is your choice I would go for the Landcruiser TD 80 or 100 series. More space, more reliability and better
suspension than the 4Runner or the Hilux Surf(which is a
Grey Import into Australia).
If buying a 4x4 in
Perth be aware that many very
well used vehicles are ex-mining company vehicles which may be dressed up to look good for resale. When making your purchase pay the RAC a fee to inspect your vehicle before signing on the dotted line. Airconditioning in vehicles is a must for Aussie travel.
If you would be prepared to go to
Melbourne to buy a vehicle I can put you in touch with a 4x4 wholesaler who will get you the best deal
Welcome to Australia, it is a great place.
Reply By: marcus - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 08:25
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 08:25
jnewlife,
For touring you have to take lots with you for six months and perhaps a cheap place to sleep so i would consider Toyota troop carrier for the trip you propose.
Cheers Mark
Reply By: herkman - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 08:26
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 08:26
I live in WA, and I would go east to buy the truck. Firstly they are cheaper there and you do not have to worry as much about what they have been used for.
Enjoy your move.
Col
Reply By: barnster - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 09:37
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 09:37
my advice is get the toyo LC diesel and buy it from either
Melbourne or
Sydney. Ensure you buy good AT tyres, Engel fridge, dual battery, sat phone and recovery gear. And this is the starting list. l wouldnt atempt a six month trip round oz in a vehicle as cheap a AUS10k, but you should be able to pick up a good vechicle from $15 - $25K. Happy Motoring
Barn
Reply By: sdr00y - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 09:56
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 09:56
Hi, As per the previous posts... I agree with your Toyota choice. I have a troop carrier so am bias!!!
Troopies have heaps of space and you can sleep in them too, so you have accommodation where ever you go.
If you get a troopie, get a 4.2L diesel at least. The 4 litre ones are getting a bit dated.
One suggestion I would make, as you say you are a beginner to four wheel driving is do a four wheel driving
driver training course. These are really handy and will teach you the basics about your particular vehicle, how to use it and how to get out of trouble if you get stuck. Really important if you are travelling by yourself.
Hope you enjoy our (and yours soon) country. It really is fabulous and has some fantastic
places to see.
sdr00y
Reply By: mfewster - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 11:24
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 11:24
Having owned a 4runner and lcruiser, I would recommend the cruiser or troopie. The 4runner/surf repeatedly broke in
places after rough trips. The 60 series Lcruiser carries bigger loads and rarely gives problems. We have found it to be considerably cheaper to own overall. The LC is much better made and doesn't use much more fuel.
Reply By: ev700 - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 11:33
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 11:33
Toyota: Landcruiser TD or Troop Carrier (volumes of space).
You can get a Toyota Carrier already set up for
camping.
Why sell it at the end of the trip? What about weekends away and holiday
camping?
Reply By: The Landy - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 11:49
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 11:49
Rather than choice of vehicle at this stage, what you need to think about is what you need in a vehicle, the choice may fall out of that preocess. Plenty of resources on this site will assist, but expect to pay more than you are thinking if you want something reliable.
Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 13:11
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 13:11
G'day J
80 series diesel Cruiser - go for the non turbo. Cheaper. Less to go wrong. Since you're not towing the non turbo should be fine for what you're wanting to do.
You'll love this big country of ours.
Cheers from the Moose
Reply By: disco driver - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 15:32
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 15:32
Hi J
Just a different line of thought.
Have you considered the option of buying in UK and bringing something out with you in a container, along with whatever else you may be bringing (furniture etc).
I am sure that there are many suitable vehicles available although they may not necessarily be Toyota. What about good Defender TD or TD5 110's with full metal cab set up for
camping.
It may be worth a look.
For what it's worth IMHO I wouldn't look at the 4Runner or the Surf (which is actually brought into Australia as a second hand import from Japan and not all parts are interchangeable with the Aust vehicles)
Good Luck
Disco
Reply By: Steve63 - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 17:25
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 17:25
Toyota landcruiser or Nissian patrol will definitely do the job. Spares are available widely for both. Deisel is preferable as there are some areas where petrol is difficult to get or not available at all. Whatever you get it MUST be in good condition. People die every year in the deserts and there are plenty of close calls. The auto clubs all have guides to help prepare for remote travel. It is essential that you always have sufficent
water (5l per day per person) and food to survive for a week or so. The
water is a good idea even on the black top. While all of the
places you have listed are
well travelled and it is likely that someone will assist you, be prepared. Be aware that station owners and other travelers are not obliged to provide assistance. So if someone is helping you they are doing so because they feel like it. In some areas it is easy to get lost for a bit hence the food and
water. In many areas if you stray off the main track there are no signs so getting unlost can be difficult sometimes.
Some handy hints. These are suggestions to get you thinking. My wifes rel's from the UK often visit so this is the gist of what I tell them if they are going outback. It is not meant to be insulting so if you have done your research you can stop reading now but people here often forget that common knowledge here is not common in the UK.
1) Your vehicle must be in good order. Carry basic spares ie fan belts hoses etc and know how to fit them.
2) Refuel often. Don't wait till you are running on fumes as it could be 400km to the next town.
3) Carry a decent map of the area you are in and use it.
4) Carry plenty of
water (at least 20l)
5) If a local says a beach or whatever is not passable, believe them. It is amazing how many people ask, don't like the answer, go anyway and complain they are stuck for hours.
6) If at all possible arrange to meet or call people at set times so someone knows you are missing. Oz is a big place. If you are lost or broken down somewhere remote there will probably be no cell phone coverage (except sat phone). If no one knows you are missing they will not even be looking. Even when they do know it can take days to find people.
7) It is recomended that you stay with your vehicle if lost broken down as it is easier to spot from the air.
8) Leave the wildlife alone, most snakes and spiders are venomous. If some place is
sign posted for crocs it is NOT safe to swim at any time even if you can't see one. Crocs are ambush hunters and they are very good at it.
9) Listen to rangers in the National Parks.
Have a good trip. This is not meant to put you off but you should take care. Most problems/dangers can be avoided but you will be in remote arweas and stuff can happen. I can tell you it is a very lonely feeling to be 500km from anywhere and broken down.
Reply By: jnewlife - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 18:18
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 18:18
Wow, thanks guys for all the advice... looks like the general advice is go for a cruiser - should have guessed as the most ex bleep ve :) I have read stories of Brits who have been lost or died because of lack of preparation\getting bogged down\ not staying with car so I'm aware of the dangers (if not the massive size of Oz - you could drive the length of Britain in about 18 hours!).
The max i will have available to spend is $20K, so providing I get it AA\RAC checked before I buy I should be OK with a deisel cruiser? I am going straight to
Perth so don't really have the option to go East. I will keep in mind the ex-
mine tip as
well pesky car dealers.
If I can't afford $20K for cruiser, what other options are there - I guess the obvious one is work for a while in
Perth and save a few more $'s (sounds boring!!)
Thanks again for all the advice
j
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 19:24
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 19:24
If you can't find a Cruiser at that price you will be able to buy a mid 90's Nissan Patrol GQ 4.2lt diesel for between $10 and $15K. It is one of the strongest and most reliable vehicles on the market
Follow Up By: jnewlife - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 20:40
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 20:40
Thanks Willem - it's always tricky trying to guage thinks for sale in a different currency.
J
Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 22:28
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 22:28
JNew,
I'm an ex-Pom myself, but now a fully certified "Orstraliun". Welcome to "Oz". It's a great place - the best. You'll never go back to the UK. I live in
Perth as
well.
If you can't afford the 'Cruiser, then do as Willem says. But 4.2 litre Nissan Patrol. I had one as a gold prospecting vehicle and absolutely hammered hell out of it, but I couldn't break it. Just make sure you get all the oil levels checked before you depart and get the engine oil/filter changed every 5,000 kms. A Nissan 4.2 diesel engine isn't quick, in fact it's a slow truck engine, but it will do about 350,000 kms to 500,00 kms before its starts to show signs of age. They're bulletproof.
Just rip all of the back seats out and you'll have nearly as much room a Toyota Landcruiser Troopy.
Bilbo
Follow Up By: jnewlife - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 22:47
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 22:47
Thanks Bilbo - will have a look on autotrader for Patrols. Not too worried if space is bit smaller than cruiser, it only gonna be me in there (& maybe few bottles of shiraz - Australian of course!)