Buying a Terrano II
Submitted: Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 20:51
F4Phantom
Am going to get another car tommorrow. A 1997 Terrano II. 2.7LTD. I have not put much thought into it and dont know a hell of a lot about them, but it has all the funtions I want it too. The model I am talking about is not the pathfinder but the wired musso window line looking thing.
Would like to hear from anyone who knows about them or if anyone owns one, thanks gents.
Reply By: Member - Ben H (NSW) - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 21:32
Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 21:32
Hi f4Phantom,
I think one of the guys on the PoCA
forum has one, might be worth a look there,
www.pcoa.org.au
Thanks, Ben.
Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 21:41
Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 21:41
Thanks mate, will check it out.
Reply By: stevesub - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 22:05
Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 22:05
We have a 1995 model as our NZ vehicle and are please as with it. A bit lower than what we are used to with the Troopy but a good all round vehcile for everyday running with occassional off road use.
Heaps of room inside - it took 4 big adults around NZ last summer with all our gear Plus our
camping gear.
We have done 50,000km since we bought it and the only problems have been a power window stopping (common problem and expensive to fix) and a vibration from under the bonnet which turned out to be a connector vibrating. No other problems at all.
Ours is the auto non-intercooler version and is a bit thirsty on the diesel (around 11 to 12l/100km) and the auto has a rough 1st to 2nd change when cold but OK when hot. All the ones we tried were the same.
We tow a 1 ton boat with no problems and the one/off road perfermance is OK for a diesel with an old technolgy engine. The seats are comfortable with plenty of leg room in the rear.
Would I get another one, yeap, sure would but here in OZ we have the Troopy camper and Rangie so don't need a 3rd vehicle.
These are made in Spain but we have no issues with where it is made.
Stevesub
Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 22:44
Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 22:44
Yeah they are a little thirsty, they say 24MPG combined which is 9.7L. But I suppose they are a 7 seater so would weigh a bit. Plus its pre common rail. I have the old navara/pathy already but the terrano II is a car all on it's own with no model variance.
Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 09:46
Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 09:46
I have exactly the same vehicle as you are looking at getting.
To be quite honest I couldn't be happier, it has done 330,000km, heaps of which has been Victorian High Country & the Outback, including the
Simpson Desert.
We tow a Track Desert Eagle camper trailer almost everywhere & the vehicle's ability has surprised quite a few people.
The only down side is there aren't too many after market accessories available for them, but there is always a way around it. I have bull bar, rear _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx,
snorkel, rock sliders, rear work light etc.
I also had heavy duty
suspension fitted by Ironman.
There are few tricks as to where to fit
UHF radio & brake controller, but I can help you there and also with tyre recommendation.
If you need any info or help email me at patrol6atnetspacedotnetdotau & I will email you my phone number.
Follow Up By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 16:29
Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 16:29
Hi Shaker,
You say you have a
snorkel fitted to your Terrano. Can you tell me where you got your's from or if you made it, because a mate of
mine has a Terrano(Not to sure on the year though) and he is having trouble finding one for it. Any assistance greatly appreciated.
Cheers Greg
Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 21:17
Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 21:17
Greg,
If he's got the terrano 1 (pre 1996) it is the same as for the 2.7L D21 navara. If he's got the post 1996 terrano 1 R50 (very rare) then I think also try the same model navara.
For D21 (2.7L):
Airflow snorkle "S39"
" target="EOF" class="lbg">www.4wdworld.com.au/products/airflow/
safari "SS700HF"
Site Link
R.
Follow Up By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 22:36
Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 22:36
Thanks Robak and Hoyk's,
This will be greatly appreciated,I'll pass the info on.
Cheers Greg
Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 22:57
Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 22:57
Greg, it is a 98 Courier
snorkel, I would be happy to send you or your mate pics of the installation.
Follow Up By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 08:53
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 08:53
G'day Shaker,
If you could send me some pics, that would be tops.
Email Address: grvlsobczak@aapt.net.au
Cheers Greg
Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 09:30
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 09:30
Done!
Reply By: hoyks - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 20:47
Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 20:47
I'm the guy from pcoa.
I have had
mine for 5 years now and find it great. I got a consistent 10L/100km for fuel. It went up slightly to 11L when I fitted my new tyres and bullbar.
They do get warm in hot weather as the radiator lacks excess capacity, but I have only got it into the red once and that was on soft sand and a 36 degree day.
There are a few with snorkels getting around. I think they were 1st done in
Townsville, and I have some pics from one in
Darwin. A
snorkel from a '98 courier will fit with a few mods to the air cleaner can. A bit fiddly to get neat under there though.
Good luck.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 22:53
Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 22:53
G'day hoyks!
Sorry, but I couldn't find those magazines anywhere to scan for you, I am sure they will turn up eventually.
Next time you need tyres have a good look at Firestone Firehawk RMTs, I have found them to be excellent, but anything would seem good after the Cooper STs, they seem to really suit the vehicle, both on & off road, I have just fitted a second set, & the good news is, I only paid $155.00 each.
Follow Up By: hoyks - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 19:02
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 19:02
Thanks for looking anyway. I probably have them buried in the shed anyway.
I got some BFG AT's and am happy with them. My wife got a job about 100m from my work, so the Terrano spends a lot more time in the shed now and we run the Astra, so it looks like the BFG's will last a long time now ;-).
Reply By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 07:32
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 07:32
We've had our Terrano II for about 4 years - has never let us down - and not thirsty at all - we did 20,000k in a trip last year and towed our fully loaded camper trailer - I believe we used about 9.5 - 10 - which is not too bad when we spoke to others who were using 14 - 15 - 16 - and the only time we have had a problem was on the
hill going up to
Dorrigo - stinking hot day - air con on - suddenly saw opening to caravan
park - tried to turn left and lost all revs - we just stopped turned air con off and started up again no problem - our own stupid fault really.
very easy to drive, plenty of room and will take you anywhere - we have been on all terrain - i.e. Bungle Bungles -
Gibb River Road - Tunnell
Creek etc etc - no worries. Enjoy.
jules
Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 09:34
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 09:34
9.5 - 10 litres per 100km towing a fully loaded camper trailer???????
What do you get unladen with no trailer?
Sorry to sound sceptical, but I have done many, many kms, as you can see by above post, & I have never seen consumption figures like that. Neither have any of the many T2 TDI owners that I have eithermet or spoken with.
Reply By: terrano tripper - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 19:26
Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 19:26
We have a 97 Terrano II. We are very happy wth it and the way it proforms.
We have added a bull bar,
snorkel, rear storage unit, UHF, cargo barrier, dual battery etc.
As stated by Shaker after market accessories are hard to get.
Our biggest issue with the car is its clearance and difficulty to raise it up.
We did a 8 week trip through outback Qld and the NT towing a camper trailer and it did not miss a beat.
I believe they are a very under rated car for touring.
Wendy
Reply By: F4Phantom - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 20:59
Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 20:59
Just to continue the story, I went with a pocket full of cash to buy the car and pay on
the spot. I had a look and it was a petrol 2.4L. So I questioned the guy and asked what was going on (it was a dealer and I called before I made the 1 Hour trip to confirm the vehicle, 2.7TD etc..) and he said he made an error. I was hacked off, I reconsidered the vehicle as a petrol but I want a diesel so left. So I am back in the market for another vehicle!
Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 23:26
Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 23:26
You did yourself a favour!
The 2.4P is way under-powered, whereas the 2.7 TDI goes exceptionally
well.
I had Ironman heavy duty
suspension fitted & generally don't have clearance problems.
Follow Up By: terrano tripper - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 21:09
Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 21:09
How much lift did you get by installing the Ironman heavy duty
suspension?
We were working on slide rails this weekend as we bent the side steps.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 19:39
Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 19:39
About an inch, I have drawings for rock sliders if you would like a copy, also photos of them fitted.
Reply By: Member - Geordie C (WA) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 23:13
Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 23:13
Yes F4 you did the right thing. I have an older Terrano (1992) with the same basic motor as the newer intercooled 2.7 Terrano II I have spent a lot to get my older version to go as
well as the T II including fitting an intercooler. I thought it was a bit guttless until I drove a 2.4 petrol.
There are a lot of the older model Import Terrano I getting around but they are getting long in the tooth and are more likely to have (age related) problems. Engines are basic and strong, however auto gearbox and steering are the most common problems.
Keep looking for a newer version they are quite capable off road and good value because they are not as popular as a Jackaroo, Hilux or Prado.
Reply By: bj033 - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 09:25
Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 09:25
Hi Shaker,
Sorry to upset you but I have to agree with Julie. I've been running consistent 9.5 - 10 lt/100km around
Sydney traffic. Don't know if it's our lower humidity down here. As with Julie, I run fuel additive every fill up, so maybe time to run some injector cleaner or fuel additive through your tanks. Ta Ben
Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 17:35
Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 17:35
I think she mentioned "towing a fully laden camper"