know any must see spots in the Pilbarra

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 13:53
ThreadID: 38692 Views:2635 Replies:9 FollowUps:5
We are just starting the preliminaries for a 2008 trip.
I know zip about the pilbarra and did an unsuccessful search on thos forum.
Just wondering if anyone has their favorites spots, that they're willing to share with half of australia and me.
andrea

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 14:10

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 14:10
Andrea, do a search of the archives and you'll find plenty. I travelled through there last year and didn't even start to find a fraction of the special places. Its certainly different to other areas of Oz that I've visited.
AnswerID: 200209

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 14:11

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 14:11
If you dont have it prob the first strp is to grab the western 4wder book trips in the Pilbarra- which should be available from the EO shop and the next step would be to get the CALM book walks in the Pilbarra if that is your thing
AnswerID: 200210

Reply By: Member - Howard P (WA) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 14:57

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 14:57
Andera, we have just completed a trip back down through the Pilbara from the Kimberly. Millstream, Karijini N/ps, Mount Augustus & the Ningaloo coast are well worth a visit. There is plenty to see & do in the Pilbara, just depends on how much time you have to do it all in. Best time to visit would be the cooler months of the year, as temps will regularly go over 40 deg C in the summer months. The HEMA map of the Pilbara & Coral Coast also has some good information in it.
Have a great trip.
AnswerID: 200212

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 15:08

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 15:08
In the summer months?? its already 40 and above most days here and has been all month. Quite humid to with clouds bulding in the arvos with the odd thunderstorm
FollowupID: 459246

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 15:03

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 15:03
Andrea,

The Pilbara is a beautiful part of Australia and you'll find plenty of things to do and see. Just a few: Karijini National Park, Millstream-Chichester National Park, Python Pool, Marble Bar...

If you go to trip planning on the bar at the top of the page you will find a section in Trek Notes on WA for the Pilbara. Also if you go to About Us and into Travel Journals there is a section on the East Pilbara.

Another way is to go to Google and put Pilbara in the search bar and you'll find lots of sites come up where you'll find out even more.

Good luck and happy planning,

Viv
AnswerID: 200214

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 21:47

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 21:47
Hi Vivien

Where is the aftermath report? LOL Hope you had a good ride

FollowupID: 459295

Follow Up By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 09:14

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 09:14
Hello Willem,

Yes, the ride is over and it was tough but enjoyable. We started from Docklands at 5.30 and headed over Westgate Bridge and out to Geelong on the freeway. There were quite a lot of accidents and ambulance/police sirens and the chopper brought in for one poor man who had a heart attack when he came off his bike. I didn't see the accident but got caught up in the traffic jam that followed.

From Geelong we went to Port Arlington/St Leonards and then to Queenscliff. There are some big hills out that way for a Mallee Girl to climb over!! The ferry ride was a welcome rest and then we arrived at Sorrento and luckily found we had a tail wind.

The ride back to Docklands was mostly great fun...dodging cars, traffic lights. The only obstacle was a humungous hill at Mt Martha that was really slow going!! Just as we began the climb the Photographers for the ride had set up their signs...saying "Photographer Ahead....Smile"!! Who were they kidding...grimace in pain was about all I could manage.

Got back to Docklands to a wonderful reception from my partner and my daughter and friends. That made every hard grind worth while.

Actual time taken was 13 and a half hours....riding time 10 and a half hours. Total distance ridden 250kms.

So that was Around the Bay 2006

I'm going to rest on my laurels for a bit now and just do my travelling in the Prado.

Thanks for the interest,

Best wishes and look forward to meeting you at the get together in July 2007

Viv

FollowupID: 459357

Reply By: PaulnLou - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 15:10

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 15:10
G'day there,

www.calm.wa.gov.au/
Site Link

You might like to use this site in conjunction with your paper maps. If you navigate around the National Parks feature / icon thingy there is a massive amount of info available.

" target="EOF" class="lbg">www.westernaustralia.com/en/

Site takes a little more effort buit there's heaps of info in there.

Site Link

This one will help with your fuel planning.

We've not long come back from Karijini, Mt Augustus & Kennedy ranges. Whilst a little south of the true Pilbara, it was magnificent !

Have a ball !

Seeya
AnswerID: 200215

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 22:20

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 22:20
All of those ideas above but be careful where you buy a stubby of beer, just got slugged $7.00 last week at the Iron Clad Hotel , Marble Bar,

AnswerID: 200280

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 00:01

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 00:01
Sounds like an Iron Clad rip off to me....lol

Had a look at that pub from the outside only. Saved me money,eh?........
FollowupID: 459322

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 09:43

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 09:43
$55 a block of VB at the conglomerate
FollowupID: 459361

Reply By: joc45 - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 00:35

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 00:35
As well as the above, if you get time, a trip out to Rudall River NP and Carawine Gorge on the Oakover River is well worth it.
Gerry
AnswerID: 200289

Reply By: CoopersRed - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 02:40

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 02:40
Andrea,

the Pilbara is great. Karijini is a must I would say, take your time and walk into several of the gorges. It's unbelievable, they are all different. Take your wellies for some of them. Dales Gorge is great, but also don't miss Hamersley Gorge.

If you want to visit Millstream (absolutely recommended!) you need a permit from Hamersley Iron to use their private road. The permit is free you get it in the visitors centre in Tom Price, in Karratha and I think even in Pannawonica. You just have to watch a short movie with security advices. The road is shorter (when heading to Tom Price) and usually in better shape, at least so they say. Millstream is quite remote. The birds are unbelievable or can even drive you mad.

Visiting the mine at Tom Price is maybe a good idea.

Ningaloo is unparalleled. When visiting the Cape Range National Park west of Exmouth go to Turquoise Bay. There the current flows parallel to the beach. If you have a wetsuit (they rent them) you can jump in and drift over the corals without having to swim at all. At the upper end jump out and walk back. It's great.

Shopping is expensive, even water. Especially at Coral Bay and Exmouth. But there are big supermarkets with reasonable prices in South Hedland and Tom Price and Carnarvon.

Fuel is expensive too. If you can, fuel up at the big towns if you find any :-) not at the roadhouses in between. (roughly $1,65 for Diesel at Nanutarra last year.)

Save journeys
Wolf
www.bush-sweepers.org
AnswerID: 200293

Reply By: Member - BRIAN G (WA) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 20:31

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 20:31
All of the above advice looks good to me. main points 1. decide how much time you have. (I've been here 22 yrs and haven't seen it all) 2. Travel in spring or autumn (summer too hot - winter too cold to go swimming) ................. drop me a line with your interests (history,wildlife, etc) and how much time you have and i will gladly help with your itinerary.
AnswerID: 200556