4wd parking

Submitted: Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:17
ThreadID: 38891 Views:2148 Replies:10 FollowUps:3
Looks like the Pollies here in the West must have been having a quiet day. Now they want to charge 4wd's more for parking because apparently they take up more space than a smaller car.

Site Link

Evan

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:25

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:25
Evan,

I wonder if the Pollies know that a Suzuki Jimny is a 4wd.

Like you say "a quite day"

A northern suburb of Sydney wanted to do the same, but that has not happened.

AnswerID: 201328

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:32

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:32
Hmmm...... I could understand it if you took up more than one 'standard' parking spot ( full size Hummer etc) but I have'nt seen any Cruisers/Patrols taking up more than 1 spot. I 've seen a few HSV/FPV owners park their vehicles across two spots though :))))

p.s. Your link does'nt seem to work ??????
AnswerID: 201331

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:45

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:45
"Apparently? Do you mean they don't actually know?

I think these pollies are full of chit!

Commodore W/Base 2915mm - Landcruiser 100 2850mm - Hummer H3 2842mm
Commodore F/Track 1592mm - Landcruiser 100 1620mm - Hummer H3 1651mm
Commodore R/Track 1608mm - Landcruiser 100 1615mm - Hummer H3 1664mm

So the Commodore has a much longer wheelbase than either the Cruiser or Hummer H3.

The Hummer H3 has a 2 inch wider track at front and 3 inch wider track at rear.
Like WOW.

I did this research in 5 minutes at absolutely no cost to the Australian Taxpayer.

Wonder how much HER inacurate perception cost us?

Fair Dinkum. How do they maintain there votes?

AnswerID: 201339

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:59

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:59
Who ever thought up that one thinks that 4WDs have 4 wheels, so they take up more space than 2WDs that only have 2 wheels.

AnswerID: 201344

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 22:20

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 22:20
Hi Motherhen, that sounds like it could have been Allanah after her evening meal

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 460632

Reply By: Member - Geordie C (WA) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 23:22

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 23:22
So should we also charge moe for politicians that take up more space than they need to. Or is that waste more space than they should?

I parked next to a Mercedes the other day and it hung well over the end of the parking bay that my 4x4 fitted into neatly. So who should pay more?
AnswerID: 201365

Follow Up By: 3.0turbob - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 12:31

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 12:31
Maybe the politicians deserve a rebate for all the empty space in their heads.
FollowupID: 460715

Reply By: disco driver - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 00:54

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 00:54
Hi Evan et al,

It's not Pollies, it's Allannah Mc Stuff-up and as a politician she ain't no more use than tits on a bull even when she is sober.

Perhaps it's a devious scheme to help pay for the railway line Perth to Mandurah.

You know .....Drive to the rail transfer station so you do not clog up the streets, use 100litres of fuel driving round the car park looking for a spot big enough to park your massively oversize Yota San Disco, pay through the nose for the privelege of having your pride and joy either removed or damaged by the local low life then board a train without a ticket coz the bloody ticket machine is out of order. To top it off you then get pinged for not having a valid ticket (no excuses accepted) and your fine goes to help pay for the over run costs on the railway.

Doesn't it sound logical!!

Disco

AnswerID: 201375

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 11:58

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 11:58
Gday All

How they come up with so narrow a view is beyond me - hey, lets park all of the little cars with one person in them close to the facility, while poor mum in her larger car has to deal with the longer walk in the carpark exposing the 3 kids that won't fit in the small car to more danger, not to mention what she will go through with the kids, a pram, and the weeks shopping. This woman is a drongo.

She contradicts by stating she wants to positively reward drivers of smller cars, however there is no mention of reducing parking costs for buzz boxes, but increasing the charge for the larger cars.....reward by default!

I like the way she has been thinking about this for some time, must be pretty sharp if this is the result of 'some time'. How about reducing rego's and stamp duty so it is more viable to have an extra car so you can choose the vehicle to most suit the needs on the day.

The fella from the Road Safety council seems to speak some sense -
“Our main concern isn’t the vehicle, our main concern is who is hanging on to the steering wheel,” he said. “You could drive a tank along a road and you wouldn’t kill anyone if you had the right attitude. It’s not the vehicles, it’s the drivers.”

Thankfully I live in a rural area for now, but I'll have to deal with a city sooner or later....

Cheers Andrew

AnswerID: 201415

Reply By: landseka - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 12:33

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 12:33
Here you go people .. email her and let her know what you think :)

Site Link

AnswerID: 201417

Reply By: PatrolBen - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 19:13

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 19:13
Wonder if Harold Scruby has got something to do with this?
Bring on the H3!
AnswerID: 201465

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 23:50

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 23:50
Copy of email just sent to the right honerable member....

Alannah, please tell me you have thought a little harder about this topic than to just say 4WD's should be charged more for parking.

Are you aware that Toyota Tarago, Chrysler voyager, Honda odyssey and other "people movers" are just as big, if not bigger than a Toyota Landcruiser or Nissan patrol.

Also, after a tragic accident in NSW where a youngster was backed over by a mum driving a 4WD, the NRMA tested many vehicles for rearward view and found ALL PEOPLE MOVERS of ANY MAKE are far worse than Landcruiser or Patrol, and also in the "very poor" category are Commodore wagon, Falcon wagon and many other common vehicles.

Common sense is not at hand here!

Some research into this topic, rather than personal dislike, should be put up for debate.

Sure, you will very easily find people who dislike 4WD's who will agree with you, just like you will find many people who have a dislike for politicians, and people who have a dislike for Lawyers. Personal dislike is no reason to discriminate against myself and others who choose for what ever reason to own a 4WD.

Personally I would like to ask why old cars are not subject to compulsory inspection. I believe this would rid our streets of dangerous un-roadworthy vehicles and would be far more beneficial to the city of Perth than making me pay more for parking.

Murray Dewar
AnswerID: 201513

Follow Up By: Alan H - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 12:36

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 12:36
Well said Muzzgit.
But asking for common sense from our over superannuated pollies won't get anywhere.
It's all about taking heat off another stupid pollie.... lilinna whatever who sleeps with that fat git Rip Off Ripper. The same with the day light saving debate, it's all about distracting the publics attention from the other things which they've stuffed up!
I was most suprised to see sensible remarks, for a change, from Grant Dorrington who is an advocate for bringing back little men with red flags to walk in front of our horseless carriages.
Someone please save us from the useless pronouncements from the enormous amount of useless pollies we have to keep in State and Federal parliaments.
This used to be a free country where we could drive what we liked, where and when we wanted to drive it.
Alan H.
FollowupID: 461172