“Caravans are a menace and should be eradicated”

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 09:36
ThreadID: 39355 Views:4893 Replies:29 FollowUps:60
From the South Australian Sunday Mail morning:

“Caravans are a menace and should be eradicated”

“At least slap a road curfew on them” (reporter suggested caravans and campervans should only be allowed on our roads between 11 p.m. and 6 a.m.)

“…..and they have a frightening tendency to travel in convoys”……….. “Presumably they like to travel that way because they can annoy even more drivers than they normally do.”

Yet more ill-informed, irresponsible ‘pearls of wisdom’ from the boring, hollow, do-nothing, know-nothing Cafe set – the mob that consistently knock people who have an interest in this wonderful country of ours, its landscapes and other endless highlights and experiences.

Can you believe it.

JD

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 09:46

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 09:46
Sorry JD but I agree with what a pain in the ass they are lol
AnswerID: 204363

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 11:23

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 11:23
Hmmmm maybe they should ban all Jacked-up Black 4x4's with 315s and Doof Doof sound systems........lol
FollowupID: 464156

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 12:32

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 12:32
hahahaha or multi air bag caddy's ??? lol
FollowupID: 464167

Reply By: Snowbunny - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 09:56

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 09:56
It's not the caravans that are the problem,it's the silly old fart driving the vehicle pulling it! What we have found is if there is a problem with some one holding up the traffic up in front and they are towing a van it's usually old "pa" driving with this attitude of "I'm pulling a 2000kg caravan darl, so I should only travel at 60kph!"
AnswerID: 204364

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 14:17

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 14:17
I guess you are never going to grow up (and get older) so I don't think the likes of you count for much when it comes to respect for the older generation. I hope one day you are categorised like you just categorised many users of this and other forums....

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 464184

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 15:40

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 15:40
It does however suggest an attitude that is not in keeping with the safety of other road users though...

How may times have you crested a hill legally at 100 km/h, only to have to jam on the brakes to add to the 400 metre line of vehicles traveling behind "Pa" at 50-60 km/h................then hope that the semi that was behind you can to do the same?

Regardless of age (as well it should be!) this is showing as much utter disrespect for other road users, as any hooligan attitude driving is.

Drive it, or park it.
FollowupID: 464195

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 15:57

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 15:57
I totally agree with you GIA. It is not that, that I am addressing - it is the way some people talk about us so called oldies.

I also have had the experience talked about (cresting the hill etc) it's just that I don't think that the "name calling type of thing" is the way to go. Have a look at the 11/11/11 posts regarding the vets of past wars. Respect is shown there and some of those are probably some of the van drivers discussed, and yes they are a menace but not "old farts".

As you get older you are more carefull so maybe that is behind them slowing down.

Anyways it matters not what I think - I just hope the road toll reduces and people don't thunder over blind hills at 100k when they have no knowledge what is on the other side like maybe a stray cow or horse. Maybe we should ban them too.

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 464197

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 17:08

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 17:08
A hill is just a vertical bend: you should never drive over (round) it at a speed such that you can not stop in the distance which you can see to be clear - end of story.

FollowupID: 464208

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 17:14

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 17:14
GIO - never, I have far more trouble getting round road trains but I dont call for there banning. Slow caravans are far easier to over take - they are only about 12m long not 30+ metres
FollowupID: 464209

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 17:29

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 17:29
Davoe (Nullagine), imagine then what it takes then to get a semi up to overtaking speed to get around caravan that is doing 60 km/h....................

Note that I have never said that i support banning caravans, I have simply said they should drive with their eyes a little further open, and respect that other people have a right NOT to be slowed down by one solitary person with a van. I respect everyone has the LEGAL right to do 60 in a 100-110 zone (technically in some states they don't though, "obstructing traffic", $165/3 point in Vic), but that really doesn't make it a MORAL right/requirement to do so.
FollowupID: 464214

Follow Up By: Blaze - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:57

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:57
Agree with yah totally GIO, Davoe, if you are passing a road train, you possibly don't need to, as he is usually doing over 100k's anyway. Now your AVERAGE caravaner is only ploding along at 80k's, so by my personal experience, towing my Camper and trying to sit just over 104k's so as to keep out the way of B Doubles etc. I as everyone else travelling around have to find a huge stretch of clear road to pass the caravan owner at 80k's.
I find it amusing that the very same drivers will tow the garden trailer to the tip weighing sometimes over 600k's unbraked (sometimes even heavier) with his dunni-door or falcon at over 80k's an hour, yet then hitches his 1600kg caravan onto his 2.5ton 4by and putts along 80k's because it isn't safe to go faster.
S.A. has a law (I believe) that if you are travelling below the speed limit and have 5 or more vehicles behind you, you must pull off the road till they pass.
FollowupID: 464268

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:48

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:48
Nuh the ore haulge 4 trailor rigs might touch 100k here and there between the site and Kambalda but frequently I would come accross them between 70 and 90kph. There were only 2 spots with enough straight to pass them - if no one was coming the other way. caravans on the other hand were pretty easy as they are no where near as long. Not the huge straight you speak of and thats in a tojo ute. Also the slower theyarre going the better as it takes even less space to overtake
FollowupID: 464292

Follow Up By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:13

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:13
I'm almost a silly old fart with a van . But i know where you're coming from , it bugs me to .
FollowupID: 464305

Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:06

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:06
Davoe, I can't agrue with you about the 4 trailer rigs, the only time I have come across these size rigs, (Macarthur Mine to Bing Bing) these are usually 4 or even some times 5 trailer rigs, and do around the 80k's, but in the 50 k trip from Borroloola to Bing Bong I have only ever come up behind one of these rigs, we stopped for a 10 minute break and a drink and never seen him again until we arrived at the sea. Guess what I'm saying is, I agree with you when it comes to 4 trailer rigs, mind you if they are like the 3 trailer trains give them a call on uhf and they will usually call you by. I do worry though when people say vans are easier to pass because they are doing less speed. Main Highways, such as Stuart up to Darwin, In last 5 trips I have passed only about 8 train rigs, but have had to pass at least 30 to 40 vans each trips. Odds say that if I am going to make a misjudgement passing it will be a van when the odds are over 20 to 1

Also I noticed what Mike posted above after last reply.

"Mike Harding posted this followup
A hill is just a vertical bend: you should never drive over (round) it at a speed such that you can not stop in the distance which you can see to be clear - end of story."

This would mean most trucks would have to crest most hills at about 40 to 50k's, bleep za there would be some traffic hold ups.
FollowupID: 464354

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 06:49

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 06:49
>This would mean most trucks would have to crest most hills
>at about 40 to 50k's, bleep za there would be some traffic hold ups.

Few hills trucks travel on would require them to slow to that speed and if it was that steep many trucks would be down to that speed anyway. But if that is the case then so be it. What is your suggestion? That vehicles drive at such a speed that they _cannot_ stop in the distance the driver can see to be clear? Perhaps that's why, despite a good road system and low traffic density, we have so many vehicle accidents in Oz.

FollowupID: 464375

Follow Up By: Dion - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 08:34

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 08:34
A hill is just a vertical bend: you should never drive over (round) it at a speed such that you can not stop in the distance which you can see to be clear - end of story.

This advice should read;
Travel at such a speed that you can stop in HALF the distance which you can see clear.
ie if both opposing drivers travel at a speed thinking they can stop in the distance thay can see clear, then they will still be travelling at the halfway mark and collide.
Travelling at a speed in which you can stop in half the distance you can see clear you have a much better chance of avoiding a collision.

Dion.
FollowupID: 464387

Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 10:05

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 10:05
Mike,

I am not saying they should drive at any speed other than that allocted for the road they are on. Do you know the stopping distance of a 2.5 ton 4X4 travelling at 110 kph, now double that and have another vehicle coming the oposite direction at the same speed and I will let you work out what speeds we all should be cresting hills at when the crest vis is down to as little as 75mtrs on many normal crests in even the very small by comparison Adelaide Hills, Just doesn't seem feasable to me to slow to these rates, and as even Dion has added this should be half the distance required.

Every time we drive out onto the road we are in a comprimised position, relying on other drivers to be doing the right thing. I have a mate who is a paramedic, he used to also ride bikes to and from work. He was travelling to work (country S.A.) doing a tad over 100k's and crested a hill and straight in front of him was a delivery van on the wrong side of the road (driver asleep), even with his experience and the manoverability of his bike, he still clipped the van. I asked him what speed he would have had to being doing in his 4X4 to avoid this accident. His reply, "at any speed other than being parked on the side of the road at that point in crest, contact would have occured" In a perfect world, with perfect roads, I think we would all agree with the statement of cresting hills and corners at speeds that allow you to break in half the distance required to avoid an incident.

Guess we will all have to stay in the city limits for the time being then. :-)
FollowupID: 464409

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 10:21

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 10:21
"...relying on other drivers to be doing the right thing..."

I would say "relying on other drivers to be doing the SAME thing", as in similar lines of thinking.

If we all do as we see others doing, then the expectation is there that everyone WILL do the same thing and everyone WILL know what to expect.

The people that cause the problems are the people that do their OWN thing, leaving the rest of the road users to "second guess" their next move (whether it be speeding, dawdling, failing to indicate, and so on...).
FollowupID: 464413

Follow Up By: Flash - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 14:47

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 14:47
Let's hope the author of the news paper article dies before he dares to become an "old fart".
FollowupID: 464790

Reply By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 09:57

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 09:57
Sounds like the same Bull^%$ they write about Motorcyclists. It seems there is a lot of people out there who hate others having a good time. Why don't they move to Afganistan.
Why can any dick voice his crap in public and gets put out in the media?
Maybe we should all sit at home and watch australian idol for the 400s time.....grrrrrrrrr

Reiner
AnswerID: 204365

Reply By: The Explorer - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 10:08

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 10:08
Yes the ravings of a lunatic (not you jdpatrol, the reporter) - it will of course never happen (eradication/curfew) so why even suggest it as a solution. It obviously does gets on some peoples nerves and in some cases causes road rage (and forum rage by the looks). My solution, slow down with them and enjoy the drive - life's too short to get upset about being delayed for 10 or 15 minutes (or whatever). People should plan their trip and anticipate some delays of various types - reduce stress on your self and you will live a longer happier life...and maybe get a caravan and go cruising:)

AnswerID: 204366

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 10:28

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 10:28
hahahaha Greg. You'll get into trouble talking common sense like that.

If the impatient ones amongst us sat down and calculated the extra minutes any of these delays make to their trips they'd wonder what all the fuss was about in the first place.

ps No, I don't tow a caravan or CT. Yes, I do travel at the speed limit or a little above it :)))))))
FollowupID: 464146

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 15:58

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 15:58
60 km/h for 4 hrs, vs 100-110km/h for 2h15- 2h25, cumulative over one day.

Yeah I guess it is only an extra 1 1/2 -1 3/4 hrs....Oh, plus the extra 20 min break for being on the road longer, say roughly 2 hrs a day. Put it another way, Syd - Per one extra day (= one lost day of holidays each way)

Not everyone is on the road to "socialize"..................................

Truckies rely heavily on the "conservation of energy" priciple to keep fuel and maintenance costs down. Once they are up to speed, they like to keep it that way as it take a lot of fuel on a long haul to continually have to speed up again, and a lot of brake wear likewise to slow down. If you see them bearing down on you, keep this in mind and pull over to let them pass, or speed up.

Taking my point at the top of this post, can you see how this would and does adversely affect the transport costs of things you buy? (4 days Syd - Per vs 5 days?)

People need to look at the bigger issue from a far less selfish ("f*** you") attitude.....
FollowupID: 464198

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 16:14

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 16:14
60km/hr for 4 hours a day!! - suppose you can use any numbers you like to paint your own picture. I do not have any proper research data from others that can be substantiated..just my own experience..never had it that bad. Anyway - agree with you - there is a lot of selfish drivers out there ...but not all of them are going slower than the speed limit. A read of some of the replies to this thread illustrates that.

FollowupID: 464200

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 16:29

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 16:29
4hrs at 60 km/h is what can happen to truckies. It's a hell of a lot harder to get a truck (semi) up to overtaking speed than it is for a car/4WD, and you need a decent stretch of straight road that you can see down for a couple of km to even contemplate it. If the truckies get stuck at 60 km/h behind "Pa", then they are STUCK for a looong time!

Cars will sometimes overtake a truck at what could be a "golden moment" for a truckie (straight road, good visibility, etc.), denying the truckie of any chance of overtaking themselves. A bit of courtesy here from car/4WD drivers never goes astray, as does a bit of communication (usually ch 40).

Read the road, read the drivers, and anticipate movements.
FollowupID: 464201

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 18:15

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 18:15
I guess that's what gives me the willies more than anything. Sure we like to cruise at a reasonable speed but going slow (60kph is a bit too slow for my liking, I honestly reckon that is getting dangerous in a 110kph highway, buy you do see it a fair bit and not only by caravaners either!). It's not the going slower than peeves me off so much as it's the slowing down for corners on well cambered wide highways. Or grinding to an almost stop up the hills!

When the surf get's up and cruising with a big load on her she is quite economical if I can keep her there. Constantly slowing down for hills and corners really does make a very noticable impact on my fuel economy, it also means that using my cruise control is virtually impossible. I have a bit a of a back problem and not being able to use the cruise on long trips gives me an almight headache from my back problems. Mind you I also use a lot of fuel passing them when it seems more often now days they SPEEED UP as you try to pass them! GRRRR.

I listened to the local talk back radio the other day and people were complaining about the more common speeding fines people are getting overtaking people on WA highways. What are you supposed to do when people do 60kph around corners then 110 on the straights. You try and pass them and you have to speed to get by. This police officer on the radio actually told people that they should not exceed the speed limit while overtaking!! Man, people are going to die with that kind of advice. My old man taught us to get out and back on your side of the road as quick as possible, don't doodle around over there or you'll become a hood ornimate for a kenworth.
Just another great example of police saving lives and not revenue raising I guess...

On the last few south of Perth trips I've done I have been held up by younger drivers (I want mention the gender) who were doing as slow as 60kph in a 110kph zone in new sedans and hatches.

Bugger banning 4wd's from the city, ban usless, dangerous inexperienced drivers from the country I say! :-P
FollowupID: 464223

Follow Up By: Alan H - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 12:38

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 12:38
That's exactly the way I was taught Jeff. Get past as quickly as possible and return to the left hand side of the road when safe to do so.
But I'm afraid the pollies populist thinking is that "speed kills" and the cops are instructed to follow that line even if in their own experience what we were taught makes more sense.
I'll keep driving that way because it is safer and the almost complete lack of cops on country roads makes it unlikely you'll get a ticket.
But the biggest hold up of traffic following a van or other slower moving vehicle is the cars just sitting behind doing nothing because they are incompetent drivers and they make the obstacle even longer for others to pass.
A bit more patience is required from many drivers.

Alan H.
FollowupID: 464442

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 13:02

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 13:02
Yeah that's true, if only these wallies that have no inclination to pass the slower vehicle would at the very least leave a gap so others could pass thorugh rather than tailgating like morons!

Unfortunatally over here the state government (in all it's wisdom) have moved quite a few of the city multanovas (speed cameras) out to the country as that is where more deaths occur. I have already heard one report of a multanova on the Southwest Highway (a terrible road for passing) being placed in AN OVERTAKING LANE! It's so simple for a government official with their own driver and town car to work things out isn't it.... "Hmm more deaths means people must be going faster" Perhaps they should be looking at the disgusting state of the roads, the complete lack of driver skill and the poor quality of vehicles driving on these roads instead of just plopping a speed camera in an overtaking lane....

People are going to die.... I just hope it's not me or my family. I have actually been working a route out to bypass that stretch of highway because it is SO bad with lots of commuters going to and fro from perth to bunbury with NO idea how to drive.
FollowupID: 464447

Reply By: SunWizard - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 10:13

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 10:13
RESPECT RESPECT RESPECT to all road users.

Who cares if they are old farts, they have worked and served this country and deserve some peace enjoyment and respect on the roads

Brother hopefully you may be honoured with a sufficiently long life to enjoy to become an old fart meandering along to enjoy a holiday in your caravan.
Brother do you have some elixir of life that is going to stop you becoming old and becoming an old fart.
AnswerID: 204369

Follow Up By: SunWizard - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 10:18

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 10:18
Quote "reporter suggested caravans and campervans should only be allowed on our roads between 11 p.m. and 6 a.m" That comment alone demonstrates what a ignoramus goof head fool the reporter is.
FollowupID: 464145

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 14:53

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 14:53
Oh Sun Wizard that is so nice....being a cynical old fart myself it's pleasant for someone to express a complimentary view....
FollowupID: 464188

Reply By: F4Phantom - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 10:15

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 10:15
Why would you want to travel around when there are so many expensive cafe's in the city to be seen at?
AnswerID: 204370

Reply By: cackles - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 10:19

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 10:19
I'm a reasonble person and if vanners feel more comfortable driving slower thats fine, BUT when they get a convoy behind jostling to get past, why can't they pull over and let them pass safely? The slow vanners are obviously not in a hurry and it's much safer for all involved.

cackles
AnswerID: 204371

Follow Up By: Member - jeff M (SA) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:52

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:52
Well said......
FollowupID: 464329

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 01:36

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 01:36
That is a good point cackles, when we are out there with our van, (we usually travel about 90 - 100 anyway) when a vehicle comes up behind and can't or won't pass we pull off at the next P bay and let them go, when semis etc come up behind we use the radio to let them know what we intend doing and we find that they appreciate it. There is nothing more annoying on the road than someone who is tottering (and not only old people) along at slow speeds and are in their own little world and probably don't even know you are there, these people can cause an accident as quickly as the person who is low level flying. Thats my opinion anyway.

D&B

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 464366

Follow Up By: greydemon - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 13:13

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 13:13
Dunworkin, you must be the only caravan owner in WA, or to ever visit WA, who uses the radio. (Or do you just turn it on when you want to talk to the truck behind you) I am soooo fed up with caravans with their AM and UHF stations plastered all over the back of their vans who NEVER turn the Bl***dy radio on. I would have no problem with caravans, at whatever speed, if I could just contact them to let them know that I'm coming through. With trucks I usually have a chat and they call me through when it is safe, so they never cause grief. I have sat behind caravans and called on every channel in turn (starting with their advertised channels) but I have never yet managed to talk to one.

FollowupID: 464451

Reply By: bob&loz - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 10:21

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 10:21
The only people who have a problem with vans or trucks or anything else on the road are the people who can't drive. Most times when they come up to slow vehicle they have no idea how to pass. they sit right up behind where they cant see, they don't anticipate a passing opportunity and start a run-up, they just sit there and wait for a 3km straight and take most of that dithering before they pull out.
AnswerID: 204372

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 11:57

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 11:57
Smack on the money!

God !! How many times have I seen that scenario?

I tow a Camper Trailer, (at or slightly above the posted speed limit I might add), but the long dragging hills can knock me back down to 80kph in third gear so I'm always looking for the section with the overtaking lane so that I can get over to the left. Most of the time I might as well not bother. Invariably the stupid prat behind sits just behind me but in the overtaking lane thus preventing anyone else from getting past, then as the slow lane peters out and I signal my intention to merge back to the right prathead accelerates so as run side by side so that I'm obliged to brake and give way, often coming to a complete stop to allow the bank up of traffic (created by prathead by the way), to pass.

Long straight stretches of single lane high speed road and then prathead sits right up your arse at 110/120kph, I use my blinker to signal not so much that that the road is clear of oncoming so that he may pass as he can see that for himself but more to advise that I'm anticipating his overtaking maneuver, but no, he sits behind until the next lot of yellow lines come up then makes his death defying stunt act of getting around you by cutting in and hammering his brakes as he pulls in.

Yes! Tthere are tow vehicles on the road that should not be there, but for each one of those tow vehicles there are a dozen pratheads laying in wait.

I recall running along a section of the Oxley Highway, camper in tow at 120kph and prathead was right up my arse flashing his headlights to signal that he wanted to pass. What did he expect me to do on a section of single lane road? I certainly have no idea unless it was to drive over the roadside embankment to allow him to pass without crossing the centre line.

It's the same when I tow my box trailer, I can flang it down the highway at the posted speed limit but every driver behind says to himself " bleep ! A bloody trailer/camper/caravan, gotta get round the bastard", whereupon they promptly let their speed fall back to 10kph below the posted limit. and then hold me up.

Yep! Prathead is everywhere.

Now my next camper will have the usual boat rack in addition to a revolving turret armed with twin 50's etc: etc:

FollowupID: 464159

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 14:01

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 14:01
Ian,
Haha, good reply, as someone who spends a lot of time on the road I can relate to those "pratheads" you mention. Though it's the last comment that made my ears prick,

" in addition to a revolving turret armed with twin 50's etc: etc:"

You wouldn't happen to be an ex 'Bucket' would you ?

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 464182

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 16:41

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 16:41
I agree totally with that one. if I drove like that I'd never get past anyone.I sit back weight, then when you see all is going to be clear then put the boot into it and buy the time the oncoming car has past out I go and get past. Maybe most of these clowns that sit on another persons backside till they can overtake need to be given a 2.8 diesel hilux with camper behind then they might work out how to drive properly. Christ I need the length of road about the same as sydney airport to wind my old girl up and get it moving to get past, and thats if the person is only doing 80 klms if any more than that forget i sit behind. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 464204

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 17:49

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 17:49
"Christ I need the length of road about the same as sydney airport to wind my old girl up and get it moving to get past, and thats if the person is only doing 80 klms if any more than that forget i sit behind."

You are making me feel a lot better. My trusty old non-turbo 80 series diesel needs a lot of coaxing too. I have just done a trip around Oz (6 months and 37,500km) and on a few (very few) occasions, my wife actually commented .. "Oh look, we're going past somebody". Does nothing for the male ego ....

I find overtaking easier if the other vehicle is stationary.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 464220

Follow Up By: Tim M - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:16

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:16
Yes Jack, I will second that.
My trusty 80 series non-turbo does the same with a tonne or so of CT with watercraft etc on board. Ussually with the "Latte Set" and their BMW X5 or the like right up my hammer doing the same as what Member Ian W was talking about above.
My thinking is that it is not a race around this beautiful country...go the 1HZ !!!
Tim
FollowupID: 464246

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:36

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:36
I no when things are really bad when I get overtaken on the putty here in sydney by a fully loaded bdouble, thats really embarrassing, has happened to me so we just have a laugh wife puts the head down and I keep the foot flat against the firewall I normally wont catch em.LOL. I dont think an 80series diesel would be any thing like that.LOL Looks like the wife has talked me into selling the commodore and geting a 90 series prado, wanted a cruiser but she reckons too big so prado it is, but still keeping the old girl as well. Wont be able to sell the commodore and update to a prado in the next 3 weeks so will taking the hilux to high country but does alright round the tracks thats the main thing.Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 464283

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 12:27

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 12:27
Pezza,
No, sorry mate, I'm not. Just a sad 60 year old fart who's hanging an to life by his teeth and fingernails (lol).

FollowupID: 464439

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 13:08

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 13:08
I agree, but as mentioned higher up in this post with cops now pulling people over for passing above the speed limit and placing speed cameras in overtaking lanes this is only making the situation worse. I have already noticed it on my last trip to Boyup Brook. You have an overtaking lane a train of 10-15 cars behind a van/truck or just plane knob end and everyone sees the overtaking lane ahead! WOOHOO everony thinks. The first car out of the 10-15 cars decides that they are not going to "speed" so they pass this car that is doing 80kph and only just get past before the lane ends, leaving 9-14 cars still behind!!! Bloody hell, it's just rediculous.
FollowupID: 464449

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 10:24

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 10:24
Hi JD
I am with you. The people that write such CRAP, never leave capital cities, only fly when on holidays and go overseas.

At least those that are travelling in their caravans are doing what they love, and that is to see the BEST and GREATEST COUNTRY in the WORLD, yes, our back yard, AUSTRALIA!!

People that travel this way spend money all over Australia, and with times the way they are, every dollar spent in towns around Australia, stays in that town, employing local people.

Long live freedom and our Australian dream of getting out there and seeing what is over the other side of the hill.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 204373

Follow Up By: jdpatrol - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 10:51

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 10:51
Steven

It's interesting you mention about the fact that caravans contribute to the economy in a very meaningful way, because the article also stated:

“There are only two real solutions to eradicate this threat to society and perhaps only one of these is viable.

Number one is that roads are built solely for caravans and campervans to travel. This will be entirely a user pays system.

Taxes on caravans and camper they will increase by somewhere between 500 and 1,000% across the country. Let them pay the market rate for what they use and abuse.”

I mean where there is this guy coming from. I don't think the reporter ever heard of road freight, and less than 5% of all vehicles on highways tow caravans and this reporter, apparently, has caravanners paying for the roads.

JD
FollowupID: 464148

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 11:01

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 11:01
Hi JD
It would be very interesting to see figures say from Marla and Erldunda on the Sturt Highway. Go through these places in peak Holiday times and they are wall to wall with caravans, all paying for fuel, food and overnight Caravan Park fees.

Take the vans off the road and places like this would fold up very quickly.

It is fair enough for the reporters to write such CRAP, but the final say comes down to Editors.

They should both have their heads on Silver Platters!!!!!

Who has been here

FollowupID: 464151

Follow Up By: jdpatrol - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 12:47

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 12:47
Could not agree more Stephen. PS Crossing the Simpson the hard way looks interesting - have to give that a go one of these days...... JD
FollowupID: 464172

Follow Up By: honestjohn - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 13:44

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 13:44
i totally agree with u stephen see your own country mate because it wont be long before youll b asking your chinese boss if u can get time off please to see whats left of the place
FollowupID: 464180

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 10:33

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 10:33
Unfortunately, young Michael (whom I know by the way) has given a one sided view with a very narrow focus on his own perception of "life on the road".

He doesn't bother with broader and more accurate perceptions about how the investment in passing lanes and dual carriage highways has made driving on Australian roads, much safer than it once was.

And why, because he is too young to have experienced the slow vehicle convoys of yesteryear, when only a single lane road snaked its way through the Adelaide Hills, or north to the holiday destinations on the peninsulas, etc. Where even greater delays were caused by vehicles overheating in the almost stalled conditions and further blocking the thoroughfares.

Nothing is perfect and there is always room for improvement, but with a little patience, there is generally sections on most highways now where one can pass a slower vehicle safely.

Alas poor Michael, you have much to learn about life.
Maybe you should stick to your "expertise" as a Sports Editor.

AnswerID: 204374

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 13:07

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 13:07
Sports editor they said?...wonder if he makes just as stupid remarks in those articles
FollowupID: 464176

Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 10:26

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 10:26
Totally agree with your statements about our Michael, he has gone over the top. Seems he has got everyones attention here though LOL.

The one thing I do believe he should have put in his article. Every other form of transport, (motor bike, truck, bus etc) needs specail driving instructions and tests, yet anyone can hook a 2000kg van behind a large 4X4 and drive off into the sunset. Not sure I agree with the fact that John Smith has to get a specail licence to drive a small flatbed truck (over 3 ton) yet he can drive out with no experience witha van with more problems, overweight tow hitch etc.
FollowupID: 464414

Reply By: Ray Bates - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 10:42

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 10:42
As a regular Caravaner I must agree about caravans travelling in convoy but alot of the trouble is single cars, utes and hoons. Unless you have a rear view camara, that I have, rear view vision with a caravan is very limited and in quite a number of accations these people drive right of your arse where you can't see them. Regarding trucks, I have a CB and talk to truckies and vis versa. This works very well
AnswerID: 204376

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 13:00

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 13:00
YEE HA!! Leaving Mareeba on the way back from Cape York, towing an off road trailer, travelling at posted speed limit in a line of traffic 5-6 cars & trucks in front & the same behind.
Young hoon in a one tonne Holden, with household goods in the tray, (probably helping someone move house) tries to overtake the lot. Passed me at warp factor + 5, bits start flying out of the tray, what does he do?? cuts in front of me & stands on the brakes, then slides onto the side of the road.
& people call caravanners a menace!!!

Jeff
FollowupID: 464174

Reply By: Gmouse - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 10:51

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 10:51
Well if I can find a way of overcoming the overheating probs with the 4.2 td
When towing the c/van I will drive a little quicker

I don’t always have the off road trailer on the back (sometimes wish I did tho)
Besides I’m never in a hurry at the best of times

AnswerID: 204380

Reply By: PhilZD30Patrol - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 11:16

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 11:16
Hey whatever has happened to the easy going Australian idea of fair go.

No I don't tow a caravan or anything else for that matter, and I have been annoyed when slow caravans hold me up.

It is easy to blame everyone but ourselves when we haven't got organised to allow for sufficient time to get to where we need to are go.

We all pay taxes and the open road is one of our great Oz experiences. Relax and you' find shell be right mate take it easy.ll

Reminds me of a truck driver who was complaining about being held up by a Torana full of ladies dressed for Lawn Bowls travelling between 80 and 90 kph in a 100 km p/h speed limit .

He quietened down very quickly when I told him it was probably my aged mother's car. I was paying for what he was delivering.

AnswerID: 204388

Reply By: Member No 1- Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 11:45

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 11:45
he is obviously an impatient driver which may lead to him becoming deceased when on the road
AnswerID: 204390

Follow Up By: Nick R - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 17:00

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 17:00
sounds about right
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 464207

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 11:53

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 11:53
You know what erks me with the car drivers is that they come up behind you (cause I 've slowed down for a bad piece of road etc) and they see the camper trailer behind the 4WD and think I can only do 80 to 90 ks and fly pass and then to sit on 95 bloody ks and then Iam right up there ass doing 100ks up hill and down, now that s""ts me.
Cheers Bruce
AnswerID: 204391

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 11:56

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 11:56
I tow a 2 t van I and am definitely not an olds fart, I've been 48 for years!

I listen to radio, television and read papers, and I'm of the humble opinion that it is journo's that should be eradicated, or at the very least desexed at birth (lol).

Regards Bob
AnswerID: 204392

Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 12:35

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 12:35
so you are one of those people who think 48 is not old.....hahahahehehe
but you are funny for your age :-)

Reiner
FollowupID: 464169

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 09:38

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 09:38
Reiner

You are as bad as my kids. the oldest is 23 its taken him 3 days to fix my email that he stuffed up otherwise I would have replied sooner.

My wife and kids have no sense of humour. If we go some where and I'm asked my age I reply with a straight face, 48. Then one of the family give them my date of birth. 1950.

The first one that mentions a seniors card wil be knee capped with my chainsaw.(LOL)

See you in qld soon........I hope.

Regards Bob
FollowupID: 465416

Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 07:53

Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 07:53
Hey Bob, I'm born in 53 so I know what you mean :-)
My kids thought I was old 20 years ago.....and the others told me to grow up........how do we know what to do?

Happy travels mate

Reiner
FollowupID: 465548

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 08:53

Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 08:53
Reiner

The wife and I just decided to go shopping in newcastle this am (actually she decided) Two hrs from scone. Two of our kids live in a house we bought down there a couple of years ago. We'll pay them a surprise visit. Who says I haven't n got a sense of humour. hehehehehehehehe.

Regards Bob
FollowupID: 465557

Reply By: dingbat - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 12:11

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 12:11
Just stirring up sales for a flagging medium I guess--papers unlikely to exist in futire years--and who reads Sunday papers from Adelaide anyway?--and thats not picking on people from Adelaide.

Ding(old fart with van)
AnswerID: 204399

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:17

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:17
Yea, you may be right there Ding.

The best thing that used to be in the Adelaide Sunday Mail was the cartoon section.
Now it is a coloured piece of crap with second rate cartoon strips.
Progress Huh!

FollowupID: 464397

Reply By: Barnesy - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 12:13

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 12:13
Now tell me jdpatrol why are you reading the Sunday Mail? It's worse than Woman's Day.

My other half used to be a journalist for the Advertiser (not the most reputable job she says) and even they used to laugh at how much of a rag the Sunday Mail was!

Seems like all you can do is hope that people do actually use their brains and see these type of articles for what they are, the editor telling their journalists to write something controversial. Not necessarily true, just controversial.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 204400

Follow Up By: jdpatrol - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 12:45

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 12:45
I think you're right Barnsey, have to stop reading rubbish publications. JD
FollowupID: 464171

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 13:45

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 13:45
Come on JD your reading a Sunday paper in SA. enough said... he.he..

AnswerID: 204408

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 15:06

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 15:06
Yeah...........well what can I say? You have covered all the viable options...
As to sniping at the "CafeSet" well fair suck of the sav, that really lets the side down...I travel with my espresso machine & bread maker, I have only since reading this realised what total fwits we must look, sitting @ a roadside rest area sipping Muggachinos & nibbling on home made raisin toast....I try not to travel in convoy but at times to reduce submarine attack is is necessary, then I take the option of swerving all over the road to ensure that I cannot be passed thus giving moronic cretins an excuse to publish garbage in the papers....

"Yet more ill-informed, irresponsible ‘pearls of wisdom’ from the boring, hollow, do-nothing, know-nothing Cafe set – the mob that consistently knock people who have an interest in this wonderful country of ours, its landscapes and other endless highlights and experiences. " Hey Gramps is this evidence of more pimply faced tossers?
AnswerID: 204417

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 07:28

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 07:28
"is this evidence of more pimply faced tossers? "

Definitely Basil, definitely. In fact, some plain older tossers as well. Some are even allowed to drive TRUCKS :))))))))))
FollowupID: 464379

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 15:31

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 15:31
We read it too, and had a good laugh.

They guy was trying to be funny. Nothing serious there that I could see...............
AnswerID: 204421

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:34

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:34
Trying to be funny is not permissible these days Phil, everything will be taking at face value.

not me I hope :)
FollowupID: 464313

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:22

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:22
Hi Ray,
Yeah, I know you'd see the humour in it. I'm a bit surprised that others haven't seen the funny side of a tongue-in-cheek rant in the Sunday Mail :-))
FollowupID: 464341

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 16:52

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 16:52
I have been more piss**ed off with drivers comeing towards me, not slowing down and throwing stones as they pass then I have ever had with people towing caravans !! And guess what? Those drivers are invariably still wet behind the ears!

Anyone saying that caravans should not be allowed on the road should remember that the everyone has a right to "pass and repass" on a public road, something to do with a document signed in 1215 at place called Runneymead. But you young fellas probably never stayed at school long enough to learn about that!

The artical refered to was probably written by a 'walk off' anyway.

And I don't own a caravan or camper trailer.
AnswerID: 204442

Reply By: awill4x4 - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:21

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:21
I'm a caravanner and proud of it, I don't care if you call me a mobile road block it's just water off a ducks back. I tow at 90-95 kph on the flat and slower in the hills of course as the GQ petrol simply won't hold speed up the hills unfortunately. I constantly watch the mirrors to gauge how many vehicles are behind me and for what length of time and will either pull over or simply wait for the next overtaking lane if it's not too far away.
I have the UHF CB and will talk to truckies if they are behind me to let them know I will either pull over or go to the next overtaking lane and invariably they are OK with that. In fact, last weekend when I offered to pull over for a B Double he simply replied "don't worry mate, I'll round you up at the next overtaking point".
Here's an excellent point of view from a truckie on the MSN caravanners forum regarding overtaking and it's applicable to all of us towing vans around the country.
Regards Andrew.

"First of all a comment on speed . If you are comfortable towing your van at 80k 90 k 95k do it , it is a lot safer for all road users to do so than to try and keep up with the rest of the traffic but stay at that speed as best you can dont sit on 80k on single lane then speed up as soon as you hit a 3 laner or divided section . I have had this happen to me many times and later have spoken to the driver and tjhe answer was to get out of my way .
OK A truck comes up behind you on the road your sitting on eg 90k
If you have a UHF give him a call on 40 that way he nos you no he is there and have a radio
When he pulls out dont hit the brakes stay constant speed
when the truck is well on the way lift you foot count to 3 then put it back down you will drop maybe 5ks it is amusing how much easier it is to overtake with a small drop in speed like that.
When the back of the trailer or trailers is past you give the high beam a couple of flashs that lets the driver no its clear to come back in .
If there is a stuff up and the truck has just pulled out and something comes the other way DON'T hit the brakes stick the boot in otherwise you will end up in a braking duel .Watch what the truck is up to if he is reight beside you and something comes you can hear if he powers off and hits the brakes stick the foot into it and if there is room move over but keep the power on
Mick themungrel"
AnswerID: 204516

Follow Up By: Alan H - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 13:03

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 13:03
Good stuff there Awill.
I always keep an eye on the rear vision mirror and talk to trucks as to when I'll pull over for them.
At the same time I tell them if anything comes the other way when he's started his manouver, then I'll be the one to brake as it's much easier for me as my vehicle and camper will stop quicker giving him more room to pass and pull over to the left.
I also flash the headlights as is usual in Britain and Europe but not many truckies here are looking for this from car drivers and are a bit wary of pulling over straight away.
They always appreciate any assistance they've been given and it definitely makes for safer roads with less build up of frustrations.
As I said in a comment above the worst offender is the incompetent driver who is incapable of passing, just sits behind weaving around for a look and increases the length of the "mobile road block.
Alan H.
FollowupID: 464448

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:02

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:02
What nonsense. I've come across more stupid, dangerous inconsiderate drivers NOT towing caravans than I have who are towing.

If this sort of rot gets up, what's next? Banning 4WDs?

Swore I wouldn't even responnd to this cr@p, but couldn't help myself.

And no, I've never owned a caravan.
AnswerID: 204532

Reply By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:19

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:19
Makes a change from the 4WD bashing!! Or is that next week's instalment in Adelaide's premier BBQ cleaner and oil soaker-upper?

AnswerID: 204537

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:25

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:25
I reckon its a fantastic idea! but maybe not as early as 11pm. still good drivign hours to be had there
AnswerID: 204554

Follow Up By: awill4x4 - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:34

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:34
Shut up Bruce and get back to South Aussie ;-).
Quite an sms conversation you were having with Clare over the long weekend Bruce. Is the anything I should know about you and my wife? lol.
I thought I told you I didn't have a mobile anymore and that Clare had stolen it?
When she got the 1st sms I warned her the language may be a little risque, glad you didn't disappoint me Bruce. lol.
Regards Andrew.
ps: I was driving my mobile road block at the time and it wasn't 11 pm either.
FollowupID: 464347

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 14:18

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 14:18
well she said she was going to slap u.. and I would be forgiven or not..

how the @#*$ would I know your weak and allowed your missus to TAKE your phone from u?

risque?? me?? bleep in never.

Flammin roadblock.

PS. Have an idea for a small roofrack wanna discuss wif u
FollowupID: 464464

Reply By: Member - Gaz@Gove (NT) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:36

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:36
People people people, he really got you going didn't he. It was only a "Journalist".
Mmmmmmmm, now where do we go next?

AnswerID: 204559

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 14:18

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 14:18
probably the same ones that popped the story about speedlimits in NT coming soon?
FollowupID: 464465

Follow Up By: Member - Gaz@Gove (NT) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 00:04

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 00:04
Yeah most likely,but we aren't allowed caravans here in Gove.
Mmmmmmmm, now where do we go next?

FollowupID: 464660

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 10:58

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 10:58
Gove sounds like heaven then...
FollowupID: 464719

Reply By: Steve - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 20:40

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 20:40
Well I'm a not so old fart who tows a van and the only time you see me doing 60kph is: if that is the speed limit or some dozy bugger in a Volvo or Honda is holding me up. ;)
AnswerID: 204971

Reply By: Steve - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 20:43

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 20:43
anyway, make allowances for the idiot - he/she is a journalist, afterall.
AnswerID: 204974