Submitted: Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 07:43
Member - Jason R (VIC)
Good Morning All,
Well it's now official. I have just broken the news to my boss that I have sold the house and we are going around OZ. We decided a couple of months ago that we wanted to see more of this great country of ours. Fotunately the people who have bought our house were happy to rent it back to us until we leave at the end of April. We have 2 boys, 1 x 4 years and 1 x 14 months, so it will be interesting to see how they handle it. We already do lots of
camping and Dylan (4) prefers to sleep in his swag than his bed. We have ordered a
Tambo Cooper camper which we pick up at the end of January and then it will be all out to pack everything into storage before we go. We intend heading north from
Geelong along the east coast before heading west from
Cairns. We have friends in
Darwin so we will be there for a while and I will probably look for work there. I have an MC licence so will be looking for truck driving work. I am very keen to see the area around
Kununurra and the
Gibb River Road. Anyway I am not trying to make people jealous but just very excited and wanted to share my good news.
Rusty
Reply By: Ozrover - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 08:45
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 08:45
Rusty & Co,
Good onya, we'll be off on ours in early April & heading west to the centre, then back up to
Cape York before heading west again!
Seeya on the road!
Follow Up By: Member - Jason R (VIC) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:01
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:01
Thanks Ozrover,
All the best to you too! I am looking forward to waking up and not having to go to work for a while. I don't know who's more excited at the moment, Leesa the kids or me.
Rusty
Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 08:53
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 08:53
Well i'm jealous :-(
After spending 4 months travelling recently with a 2 year old and a 3 week old, we just loved every bit of it. Would love to extend this to a year or two in the future.....
Enjoy yourselves, keep in touch with the
forum from time to time, and did i say Enjoy yourselves.
Follow Up By: Member - Jason R (VIC) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:08
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:08
Sorry Andrew, as I said I'm not trying to rub it in or anything but by the responses from our family and friends it's inevitable that people will be envious. At this stage we don't know how long we will be away for but we bought a block of land in Warrnambool which is where Leesa is from and Dylan is due to start primary school in 2007, so we have something to come back to. It would not worry me if he missed the first half of the school year as I am sure he will learn plenty on the road. It will good to meet other families doing the same thing to get their experiences. I'm hoping to take a laptop to be able to keep up with this
forum. I have only been a member for a short time but it has provided invaluable information for our preperations for this adventure.
Rusty
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:58
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:58
don't be sorry.....envy can be a good thing, sort of like a motivational kickstart for us.
I found that you will meet heaps of people either in the same situation or "been there, done that". Our kids loved the routine (
well one didn't help much :-)) of setting up the camper trailer every day or two. Enjoy the family experience, and the "extra" bonding obtained by spending more time together travelling to
places that are quite simply stunning.
Follow Up By: Member - Jason R (VIC) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 10:09
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 10:09
We rec'd our kickstart when one of the husbands in Leesa's mothers group died from cancer at 40. I think it was after his funeral we decided that life was too short and we didn't want to look back with any regrets.
Rusty
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 16:32
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 16:32
I'm with Andrew, jealous. Although I would not want my kids to be that
young again.
12mnths on the road............aaaahhhhhh..............and all I have to look forward to is moving back to
Sydney.
Have fun. Have some for me. You'll probably have enough to share with all of us you lucky dog.
Reply By: Member - Banjo (WA) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:12
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:12
Jason
Have a great time, you won't regret it. The kids will get a terrific education, as will you and the missus.
Banjo (WA)
Follow Up By: Member - Jason R (VIC) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:16
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:16
Thanks Banjo,
It will just be good to be able to spend some quality time with the wife and kids. At the moment it is fun just working out where we are going to go and what we are going to see!
Rusty
Reply By: AndrewX - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:17
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:17
Good on you Rusty - you've taken a major step in your life. I would have done it differently and you might like to consider the following. I would have tried to hold onto the asset you had - your house - and get tenants into it to at least cover liabilities (loan payments, rates etc) and with a bit of luck earn some money for you. You have now lost the capital gains that real estate owners enjoy as property values increase. Of course the people who bought your house were happy - they've bought a property and have an instant income, but you've gone from being a home owner to a tenant. Now, think about your financial arrangements for your trip because what you've done so far suggests to me that getting some financial advice would be a good idea for you. The money you have made from your sale will disappear very quickly as you travel and I guess you already know that truckies are squeezed to the last cent and therefore don't make any plans about being a rich truckie. Good luck with your trip but work on those financial plans because there's no quicker way to ruin a good trip than to have money worries.
It's a good place to travel isn't it - no passports, no language barriers, and never more than a 4 day drive from home!
Darwin is a great place to visit - almost like a different world for us southerners. I'm thinking of hitching up next week and heading up that way through
Adelaide.
Follow Up By: Member - Jason R (VIC) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:29
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:29
Andrew,
Yeah, the money side of it was something we thought long and hard about. We also have a block of land in Warrnambool and a family business on my wifes side that she would like to get more involved in. We intended moving to Warrnambool and building anyway as Dylan starts school in Jan 2008 (not 2007 as I mentioned in an earlier follow-up) so we were going to sell up when we left. The reason I have sold and rented back is to avoid having to find somewhere else to rent and trying to sell at the last minute and packing up and moving etc etc. You are right, truckies are pushed to the limits but I am hoping that it might be a way for me to earn some pocket money on the way around. I don't want to drive road trains across the country or anything like that. Maybe just some local work if there is anything like that around. Thanks for the advice anyway, I will keep it in mind.
Rusty
Reply By: MickO13 - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 13:46
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 13:46
Great stuff Rusty. I've been back in
Melbourne for a week after doing the full circuit of Oz. I picked up my
Tambo (Cooper) in January this year and headed west in the February, Spectacular country in the far north and don't I wish I was still there (Except for the heat and humidity of course). Dragged the
Tambo into some incredible locations and it performed without a hitch.
Kununurra is agreat spot and you should have no trouble in picking up work along the way. They are screaming for people from
Kununurra west, especially around Hedland,
Karratha and the
Pilbara. Enjoy it.
Mick.
Follow Up By: Member - Jason R (VIC) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 13:56
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 13:56
Sounds good Mick,
Anything I should know about the
Tambo before I go? I have ordered it with the extra bedroom, all the awning walls and the 12 volt system to run the Waeco 50ltr and a couple of lights. I'm really looking forward to seeing Northern WA as I have been to
Darwin before but no further west. I've seen pictures of
Lake Argyle and it looks awesome! Do you know what the fishing is like there?
Rusty
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 20:55
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 20:55
We've got a
Tambo Cooper and extras we got and Id go for were- side lift(very handy), Treg hitch, tool box (fit heaps in here) and full awning walls.So far its been a great camper and even better with some extra mods Ive done.
As for fishen in
Lake Argyle, you'll catch heaps of cat fish(silver cobbler), a few bream,long toms and there are apparently Barra but seldom caught.
You'll have no problems with work here and it really is a magic spot.Boss at work is still trying to get me to come back each dry season.We'll see.
Follow Up By: Member - Jason R (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 05:51
Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 05:51
Nick,
Sounds like you don't want to leave! If you don't mind me asking, what were the mods you made to the camper? Mum and Dad were in
Kununurra earlier this year and loved it. The only reason they moved on fairly quickly was because they were booked in at
Broome. As for the fishing, they used the
services of a guide on the river and caught a few Barra. I think I might be doing the same.
Rusty
Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 18:37
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 18:37
Best wishes to you and your family,
I'm sure it's going to be an experience you'll never forget. I don't blame you for being excited...it's a great adventure you're going on. Keep us posted as you travel around.
Happy Travels
Viv
Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 18:46
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 18:46
Bugger !!!! You've got a clear road in front of you and I'm still stuck in the mud (for now) :))) Have a great time and remember to keep us updated on your adventures.
p.s. I'm VERY jealous LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Jason R (VIC) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:32
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:32
Thanks Viv, Thanks Al,
I will be sure to keep up with the posts while we are away. I know from my own experiences, when you can't be there yourself it's always good to live it through someone elses words and pictures. I just have to get the knack of posting photos now.
Rusty
Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 20:48
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 20:48
Well done
young fella..
Give us a call when you get here in
Cairns.
Safe travels.
Grrr!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Jason R (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 05:55
Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 05:55
Thanks Crazy Dog,
I have been as far north as
Townsville with the folks but I want to see a bit of
Cairns. I guess reading all about the fishing there in the mags has wet the appetite a bit. Any caravan parks you could recommend for a 3 or 4 week stay?
Rusty
Reply By: longJohn - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:25
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:25
congrats and good luck! Im going myself for my round oz adventure, dont know for how long ill just keep going untill I dont do it anymore! Im heading north from brissie in mid feb. Being a sparky i should be able to get work up north and basically almost anywhere. Might pictch in the rebuild effort in
innisfail too if they still need work done then.
You'll enjoy every minute of it!
Follow Up By: Member - Jason R (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 06:01
Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 06:01
All the best for your trip longJohn. We will be staying in Brissie for a couple of weeks on our way up. My sister in law lives in Caboolture so we will use their house as a base to see some of the surrounding sights. You never know we might meet somewhere in the Great Outdoors!
Rusty