There was a post not long ago re QLD and Daylight Saving

I found this on the net and thought some of you might find it interesting

www.petitionsqld.com.au/campaigns/10/

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:42

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:42
Hey there Cruiser.

Unfortunately, what the public think has little to do with getting the change through.

It's the Government of the day that's needs to grab and run with it and the QLD government don't seem to be too interested. This "topic" revives itself each year when daylight savings is introduced. The States that have it even have a faction of negative minorities that complain about everything from the curtains fading more to chooks going off their egg laying.

Now, us sane and upright citizens who have enjoyed the benefits of what daylight savings actually achieves, cannot understand what all the fuss is about.
We all know the daylight "wasted" in the early morning is simply available later at night, so the majority of people's recreation time after the day's work, is extended into the evening where they can still see easily.

Yes, the kiddies in the country may have it darker in the mornings while waiting for their school bus and the more farmer may be milking his cows "in the dark". But blimey, this is no different than what they experience during the winter months so that argument is just plain ridiculous. We are talking about a one hour shift for goodness sake.

I love "Mickey Mouse" time!

AnswerID: 204861

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:53

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:53
It doesnt worry me at all if QLD take it on or leave it as it is. I live where we have DST and am just used to it.

I was simply posting for informational purposes only.

At least someone is doing something constructive about trying to get it is SE QLD and who knows, maybe, just maybe, the government of QLD might take some notice of the 10000 odd people who have signed the petition. Then again..............
FollowupID: 464732

Reply By: RosscoH - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:47

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:47
When are you dumb people going to realise you can actually get out of bed and go to work 1 hour earlier without changing the clocks.
AnswerID: 204872

Follow Up By: Darren C - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:59

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:59
..........at the same time our dumb government make our dumb employers let us out of work an our earlier? Nice theory but just doesnt work in practice....

FollowupID: 464748

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:04

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:04
I did that this morning and guess what - i still reckon daylight savings is the way to go I mean sheesh it is only November and already dawn is at 4.00am and the sun is setting just after6
great if you are a vampire and hate the sun,.
By December the sun will be coming up in the middle of the night. Even with daylight savings you would have to get up pretty darn early to beat the sun
FollowupID: 464749

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:06

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:06
Garbage Darren.....loads of Council field staff start earlier in the morning and finish earlier to avoid the heat. 7am seems to be a common start time, though out Western Qld i remember starting at 5am when working for the Electricity Supply corporation.

So it does work in practice.....

FollowupID: 464752

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:18

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:18
Thats fine as long as everyone does the same.

If you live in a state that practices DST, then at least everyone is sort of on the same timeframe.

I prefer it the way it is personally, but thats just me.

Maybe it is because I am used to it. I dont know.

Maybe its just because I am one of the sheep.

Baa baa.
FollowupID: 464759

Follow Up By: Darren C - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:25

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:25
Suppose it depends what field you are working in - certainly wouldnt work for the majority of people working in private companies.......

The WA govt is voting on this matter today with a potential start date of 3rd December. I for one am fully in favour of it but acknowledge the arguments against.

What I cant understand is those parties who trot out the old "we have voted aginst it 3 times" The last time was 14 years ago and the demographic of the state has changed markedly since then so lets have another say in the matter....better still lets let the elected government make this decision on our behalf as happens inthe rest of the Western world. I am also of the opinion that the majority of people aginst actually do have the flexibility to alter their working hours so they could be the ones who simply dont alter their clocks. Yes, we could get up earlier but dont think you would appreciate me mowing my lawn at 5 in the morning?

Even MPs who were against it over here have been swayed by the number of telephone call and e-mails in support of daylight savings.......

Embrace the change!!
FollowupID: 464767

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:51

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:51
Private enterprises should be no different to government business units when it comes to flexible work hours.....in the end it comes down to what the business/client interactions are affected eg business relying heavily on customer interaction (retail sector) may see some changes in the first and last hours......otherwise sales should not be adversely affected.

What WA does cannot be linked to any decision that Qld will see, as WA currently experiences a major time zone difference with reference to the Eastern states so the DST benefit will see a change back to the 2 hour difference. Qld currently has a one hour difference, therefore we still are not behind your State ;-)

Mowing the lawn is generally governed by Local Council by-laws etc and as such this will not change under either proposal.....Still 7am Mon-Sat here :-)

FollowupID: 464775

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 20:21

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 20:21
Darren,

Your quote:-
"Suppose it depends what field you are working in - certainly wouldnt work for the majority of people working in private companies....... "

Mate, it has been working quite successfully in SA, Vic, NSW and Tassie for many years. The private Companies have no problem with it.

There will always be detractors who see the "dark side" (no pun intended) but the vast majority of people living in the States that have DST, embrace the concept wholeheartedly.

FollowupID: 464876

Reply By: Camoco - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:50

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:50
Why do we all need to be trying to do the same thing??

If I wanted DS I would move to a state that had it. If you like it and really want it, move, else put up with what we have.

I agree with other statements saying change your own operating times but generally leave the clocks as they are. I work according to temperature mainly and I get up early in summer to get some work done at home. And potter about in the peace and quiet that cannot be achieved at night.

I do business with not only other states but internationally and you adjust to those time zones as required.
I can (just) understand why southern states enjoy DS but as you get closer to the equator, things change. our dusk is like a light switch. Also QLD gets a lot further west than NSW and VIC so just think about the western folk and how it would affect them.
Most SEQ pro DS are just a bit selfish. A better organised person would not be bothered by the clock. Besides, it gets cooler at night and it makes for better sleeping when it cools down. Why wait until after midnight to go to bed (as I would need to to be comfortable).

I had a stint with DS in VIC last year and for me it was tough to get used to. I like to have tea at 6pm then have a cold ale outside in the fresher air before doing a bit in the shed. In VIC we had tea at 9pm while the sun was shining (western VIC) and didn't get to bed until 2am. The sun isn't gone for long down there so I cannot understand why they really like DS.

Anyway everyone has different tastes and likes. I just wish those that have been used to DS would n't try to force it on those that aren't.

Stuff the curtains etc, it's about lifestyle CHOICE. And I choose to be in QLD with no DS. Where would I go if we end up with it?

Just my rant. I am not really negative just sick of the continual debate.

PS it's great to be at work during the heat of the day (2-4pm) and not have to use A/C when at home. I would need to stay at work longer if we changed.
AnswerID: 204882

Reply By: Member - Pixie - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 14:11

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 14:11
Having grown up with it in Melbourne I must say that it is great for kids and families. I still have fond memories of getting out in the street after dinner and playing cricket or other games with the kids in the street. After dinner was the coolest time of the day for playing sports and socialising.

Brisbane suffers the double whammy. The twilight is not very long due to it's latitude and the mountain range is west of the city. Both mean that we lose our daylight very quickly at night.

During summer, when dawn is about 4.45am but it gets light even earlier, my kids are up at sparrows-fart wondering how to fill their day in.

Then when I get to work, I need to remember that businesses in Tasmania, Victoria, Canberra and NSW are closing while it's only 4pm here and even businesses in South Australia are closing before us.

Peter Beattie makes some flippant comment about extra daylight causing more skin cancers and then claims it was said in jest. Now he's talking about a referendum on this next year. Surely governments are elected to make these decisions on our behalf and then wear the consequences of their elected responsibilities.

Anyway, I'm pro-DSL because I have experienced the benefits that it can bring to family life and places like Brisbane, which offers a fantastic family environment, could only get stronger by aligning with the other states.

Pix
AnswerID: 204888

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 17:56

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 17:56
Thanks, voted NO.
AnswerID: 204926

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:32

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:32
It has me baffled as to why people keep trying to stuff their ideas down our necks, seems they are worse than the religion groups,
I keep trying to explain to people how the day/night border is not due North and South , very few people understand it and how it works and I sent that woman an email about it and she still can't work it out,
Looking at it right now the line is about Byron Bay to Cape York tip, in the mornings it can be from Cape York tip to Ceduna , later on today it will be from Derby to Eucla, now get your maps out and have a look at the angles
here is a part of her reply

Quote :
I find this site most suitable as a *defence* for daylight saving in the
South East corner of Queensland (SEQ), rather than an argument against it.
As the map demonstrates, light reaches - and departs - SEQ earlier than in
the north and west of the state

part of my REPLY
Lady I doubt if you can see past the end of your nose ,
1 you can't read maps,
2 you don't even know which way the Earth turns,
thus you don't know which way the shadow goes across the country on that
angle i tried to get through your feeble brain , So yes be my guest and use
it as stated and make a bigger fool of your self, I explained to you how it
works but your so dumb you can't understand the physics of the planet you
live on.You must really be blonde or your acting like one,

They make me ill they really do and to make things worse we have to put up with brain deads like that on our roads

Doug

AnswerID: 204953

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:36

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:36
thats ok doug your in WA now here we are all for dawn breaking before 3.00am in the morning (apparantly)
FollowupID: 464857

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 20:14

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 20:14
Davoe
yes I am in WA but was in Mt Isa for 3 years.Now P.I.As are trying the same stunt over here, actually spoke to a Nat party polly and yes he admitted he didn't know about the acute angle line. which right now is from about Dandenong to Croker Island just East of Darwin.
Just went and checked the times for Brisbane and Mt Isa and found it to be over an hour
Brisbane rise 4:49 am set 6:15 pm
Mt Isa rise 5:54 am set 6:58 pm
Camooweal rise 6:00 am set 7:02 pm
GPS 14/11/06

So there is that hour in the rise times, so people in Mt Isa would be going to work in the dark and knocking off and coming out of the Aircons when it's the hottest of the day , then there is the trucks and the job i do, we can't move until the sun rises and must stop at sunset no matter what time the clock reads.

Doug

FollowupID: 464872

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 20:20

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 20:20
opposite problem here in WA Perth and S/W enjoys a sort of mini dayligth savings but the rest of the state endures the sun coming up in the middle of the night and going down in the early evening
FollowupID: 464875

Follow Up By: Member - TonyG (Qld) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 22:22

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 22:22
Hi Doug T,

I have never heard of this day/night border before. I always assumed it was a North / South issue.

It shows my ignorance.

Is there a web site that explains this so I could read up on it?

TonyG
FollowupID: 464903

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 22:38

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 22:38
TonyG
Yes there is a few sites on the web but this one i feel is much better than all the others
And as you said you have not heard of it , well thats understandable as it is something that happens in our lives from the day we are born, just that I'm a silly cranky old B that reads and scrutinises things like that and sort of thrive on how,whens and why's.After you have looked at that you might like to do some scrutinising yourself in my web page at the bottom link , check out the 4x4 page and the Impact and climate change sections, if your on dial up only give it time to load. While your doing that I am going to add this Day/Night web site to the list

www.iris.edu/seismon/html/sunshadow.html

members.westnet.com.au/dtilley/

Doug

FollowupID: 464913

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 23:15

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 23:15
Doug, this particular petition (and thread) is about DST in SE QLD. Your info on the different times of sun rise and sun set across QLD supports DST in SE QLD, without it being introduced in Nth QLD.

You seem to be strongly against the proposal, but your info supports it.

You used to live in Mt Isa, but now in WA. Neither would be affected by a change in SE QLD.

I understand that you are against DST. That's fine. But what's it got to do with this proposal??

And finally. You hate people stuffing their ideas down your neck. Isn't that exactly what you are doing. Most people are just debating the issue and presenting an opinion. I can't help but feel that you are trying to stuff your ideas down my neck. Unsuccessfully I might add.
FollowupID: 464921

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 23:57

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 23:57
TonyG
I have finished working on my webpage section for D/S
Site Link

NormC
No I don't think I'm stuffing anything down anyones neck Norm , It;s not me trying to campaign for D/S ,all i want is for things be left as is,so really I have have nothing at the moment because nothings changed in my state or your's but even here there is a group trying to bring in D/S to WA, The so called proposal to have 2 time zones in one state is downright stupidity , where do you draw the line,where ever the line is the trouble starts again, your just shifting the border thats all ,and my info in no way supports it not when Western Qld already has 1 hour of daylight after it has set in Brisbane, but the thing you people seem not to understand you don't get any extra daylight ,that is totally impossible, and please dont tell me the sun rises earlier and sets later .

Doug

FollowupID: 464928

Reply By: Member - TonyG (Qld) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:37

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:37

Having moved from Sydney to Brisbane, I have been through both.

My preference is for QLD not to have day light saving.

Whilst I liked it in Sydney, the problem with Brisbane is it is so dam hot in summer, and the earlier to sun goes down, the earlier to cooler breeze arrives.

So because brizzy is so dam hot, I would prefer not to have day light saving.

Others may shoot me down, but just my preference

TonyG
AnswerID: 204954

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 20:17

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 20:17
Tony
good one mate, just checked the line again and it is from Geelong to Darwin

FollowupID: 464873

Reply By: Richard D - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 09:02

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 09:02
The petitions (and there have been a number of them) which propose to introduce DST into SE Qld, are of grave concern to me. All attempt to deny a vote on the matter to the rest of the people who live in this state.

Why is that so?

The proponents of these petitions claim that there will be benefits with the introduction of DST into the limited area of SE Qld . That may or may not be so.

However, I consider that the real reason behind limiting the proposal to SE Qld residents is to stack the voter base with expatriate Vic's and New South Welshmen, and so, hopefully, gain a greater chance of success.

Remember, SE Qld is one of the, if not the, fastest growing regions of Australia and the majority of that growth in population comes from expatriate Vic's and New South Welshmen.

Premier Beattie, irrespecive of whether you love him or hate him, is correct in ignoring these petitions.

Any vote to introduce DST into Qld, or not, MUST be on a state wide basis since ALL residents will be affected in some way, either immediately or at a later time.

Denying other residents of the state (who live outside SE Qld and who may have their lifestyle choices affected by the outcome) a vote on the matter, is just downright un-Australian.

And, I was under the impression that 'branch stacking' was illegal.
AnswerID: 205051