What really peeves me off

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 19:22
ThreadID: 39715 Views:3306 Replies:21 FollowUps:25
Gidday,

Recently the word "Awesome" has invaded the 4WD scene (particularly magazines). For no logical reason, I have a distinct aversion to this juvenile expression.

How can we be taken seriously, if we can't use big meaningful words politicians understand.

My favourite is "Splendiferous" (as in, your a splendiferous bird). Surprisingly the more grog you consume the easier it is to pronounce.

We need change!

Be a man and give me expressive suggestions to combat this attack on true Aussie tradition and dialog.

Kim

Reply By: Member - John L G - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 19:29

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 19:29
Hmm I wonder..

A friend of mine has just been to see Barry Humphties or Edna is it , then perhaps Les at the Regal.

Apart from being in stitches all evening she thought his use of the english language without any expletives or rough talk was a pure joy, even with characters like Les in full cry.
AnswerID: 206563

Reply By: Zukscooterx90 (QLD)Member - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 19:33

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 19:33
Now that was just 'Superfragalistic'.
AnswerID: 206565

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:22

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:22
I heard that as a kid.

Used to be a real challenge to remember it though we had a longer version.

"Supercallafragalisticexpeallidocious!"

Takes me back....

Muddy
FollowupID: 466559

Follow Up By: Zukscooterx90 (QLD)Member - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:44

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:44
Ah the sound of music Muddy yes,you have the full word that i shortened to use instead of that orrrrrrrrrrrrrsome word.:)))
FollowupID: 466562

Reply By: Junior - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 19:36

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 19:36
rippa
bonza
montezooma
the dogs' balls
the ducks' guts
bloody beauty
corker
sweet
AnswerID: 206566

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:11

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:11
Don't forget "pup's pizzle", Junior.

FollowupID: 466556

Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 19:48

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 19:48
For all the Kiwis, "That's Choice Bro"
AnswerID: 206567

Reply By: D-Jack - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 19:58

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 19:58
Ace thread. What a wicked topic!
AnswerID: 206569

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 20:00

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 20:00
Some real kewl stuff on here today.
FollowupID: 466546

Reply By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 20:10

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 20:10
If we can't use big meaniingful words politicians understand.

W. T.. F.
AnswerID: 206571

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 20:26

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 20:26
Like this is like awesome like it's a totally awesome like thread like i think it's awesome like well he said it didn't he like say awesome....Ok well I think I get your drift...
I tell it as it is, I don't think politicians understand much they read irrespective of the language unless it is to to with their re-election or salary increases...
Yeah Awesome is totally over rated, just try it out, tell a strange (as in unknown to you) woman she has Awesome breasts & see what happens...
Yes I miss some of our true dialect, words like "cobber" & "tucker" have virtually dissapeared in todays youthful types who are more concerned with who stole their crumpets....
AnswerID: 206575

Reply By: Member - Jack - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 20:41

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 20:41
"Absolutely" has the same effect on me as awesome. I go absolutely ballistic when I hear it, especially on television interviews.

And our sporting heroes who tell us how they "stuck to their guns" ... grrrr!!

News journos today can't seem to get past cliches .. how many times I have almost thrown up when I have heard "Australia's richest man, Kerry Packer" .... or "the world's richest man, Bill Gates" (which he isn't .. ), or "colourful Sydney racing identity" .... or ... "it's going to be a looong, hot, summer".

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 206576

Follow Up By: RosscoH - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 20:50

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 20:50
If this thread gets any bigger it will be GINORMOUS
FollowupID: 466551

Follow Up By: Member - Roger T (SA) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:15

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:15
awesome thread dude (sarky mongrel) interpritation (good one bloke).
FollowupID: 466557

Follow Up By: Zukscooterx90 (QLD)Member - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:19

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:19
Rosscoh,Ya can't use Gin in normouse.Politicaly correct is Gnormouse.Sorry, but who am i to correct you RosscoH.:)))
FollowupID: 466558

Reply By: Zukscooterx90 (QLD)Member - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:20

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:20
And i can't stand the word (Bud) it gets the hair up on my back!!!!!
AnswerID: 206588

Reply By: goingplatinumcomau - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:25

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:25
Gidday Kim

I could not agree more like why did we go to School if everything is Awsome.
Where it come from is America.

Actually i was at Bunnings checking out paint brushes and had one described to be as Awsome so I went and got the manager and as a shareholder demanded an explenation i don't think any Bunnings employees will be useing Awsome again.

However on the Upside if you are talking to someone and they use the Awsome word it is a great indication you are talking to an Idiot which saves alot of time.

And kiwies no one talks to them anyway.

Shane
AnswerID: 206591

Follow Up By: silkwood - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:48

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:48
If you really did do that, and it was in the retail establishment I work in, I would apologies profusely and explain how I would discipline the said employee.Then, when you had left I would explain to the employee he/she could use the word as they like and ignore any such tossers in the future.

People whinging about language, as if they didn't pick up and use the "latest" phrase when they were kids. Get a LIFE!

FollowupID: 466565

Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 23:29

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 23:29
You have got to be kidding me. You would pool someone over using the word awesome.

Get over yourself. If that is the worst that is ever said to you I reckon you are doing pretty well. I hope you don't think for a minute that your actions have stopped the staff using the word.

There must be bigger topics than this to talk about surely.
FollowupID: 466591

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:31

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:31
I agree with you but it is more the way it is pronounced and delivered that annoys me and the other words link with it. I would cringe if someone said AAAAAwwwwwwwwwsome Dude.

Another is when people reply with .. TOO Easy when you do something for them.

Are what a wonderfull language we have . The cood thing is that most of these words/sayings are just fads and will go away in time.
AnswerID: 206594

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 22:04

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 22:04
David,

What I do to combat the "too easy" is I then hit them with a "no worries " and if they have a sense of humour they will come back with a "sweet mate " to which I will reply "not a problem " and so on .

If they say " have a nice day ", I come back with "and you enjoy the rest of your weekend " etc - I think it is important to show these people how stupid those moronic statements are .

FollowupID: 466569

Reply By: Jayk At - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 22:27

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 22:27
I'm bemused by the fact that we hardly blink when we hear or see the magic word in all its variations used in films, on TV, in books and magazines as well as everyday conversation, yet it now seems that those under ~30, are too embarrassed to say 'toilet' or 'dunny', but rather they use that ridiculous euphemism, bathroom.

The larrikin is dead.
Why? ... Why not?

AnswerID: 206606

Follow Up By: goingplatinumcomau - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 22:37

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 22:37
It is all part of Goverment mind controll

Drink reclycled sewage this is how it is done.

A subliminal message is a signal or message embedded in another object, designed to pass below the normal limits of perception. These messages are indiscernible to the conscious mind, but are alleged to be perceptible to the subconscious or deeper mind: for example, an image transmitted so briefly that it is only perceived subconsciously, but not otherwise noticed. Subliminal techniques have occasionally been used in advertising and propaganda; the purpose, effectiveness and frequency of such techniques is debated.

The trouble is we are geting hit with so many subliminal messages the weak and insecure don't know if the comeing or going in my opinion.

Shane
FollowupID: 466575

Follow Up By: Sarg - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 23:42

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 23:42
Nearly as bad as these WANKERS that call a 4x4 a "truck".It's only a Cruiser,Tojo,Pootrol,car,wagon,ute etc;not a "truck". Kenworth,Mack,Western Star,Freightliner,Volvo etc are "TRUCKS". Get real.
FollowupID: 466593

Reply By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 22:33

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 22:33
Thank you Silkwood........I was starting to get worried.
Get a live was what I was thinking too........The planet is getting sad enough as it is without People like him speeding it up.

Reiner
AnswerID: 206610

Reply By: Bilbo - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 23:45

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 23:45
Like you, I find it difficult to have to listen to certain words used as nauseum - 'awesome' is just one example.

But the phrase that really gets me wound up is," it was leaking enough to fill seven Olympic swimming pools' or " it holds 5 times more water than Sydney Harbour".

Now, I know what 100 kilolitres of water looks like, I've seen 100,000 kilolitres of oil - but I wouldn't have a bloody clue how much water is in an Olympic swimming pool and I've never seen Sydney Harbour.

Just use the correct terminology, PLEEAASE!

Are we simply dumbing down this nation or is there a reason for all this?

BTW - Sydney Harbour must be awesome if it hold THAT much water!!

Bilbo
AnswerID: 206633

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 23:52

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 23:52
oh it's big alright!
FollowupID: 466597

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 00:32

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 00:32
I think I'd be a lot happier if the news readers said",,,,,,,,,the sewage pipe burst and left a ,,,,,,,,,king great puddle of smelly stuff all over the road". It forms a more descriptive picture.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 466605

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 12:32

Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 12:32
sure is Muddy, its as big as ten bears

FollowupID: 466804

Follow Up By: Luke SA - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 15:21

Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 15:21
But............... how big are the bears lol
FollowupID: 466828

Reply By: Jimbo - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 23:53

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 23:53
We must absolutely ensure that at the end of the day the bottom line is absolutley proactive to ensure absolute growth in a forward thinking business.

Our absolute adherence to a synergy that is state of the art will produce an outcome that is absolutlely progressive in a forward thinking world.

The whole absolute thing is so absolutely amazing, that I may vomit absolutlely.
AnswerID: 206635

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 00:36

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 00:36
Jimbo, all I can say is that I hope you finally find absolution!
FollowupID: 466606

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 02:11

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 02:11
I have no such aversion to the word awesome, certainly not like I do to hearing "... sweet" overused by teenagers. I just get annoyed when people don't correctly use your/you're; to/too; there/their and so on.

Sorry, couldn't help myself ("as in, your a splendiferous bird"), should be "you're a splendiferous bird".

tee hee, forgive me :-)
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 206645

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 08:02

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 08:02
Michell.... spot on!!!!!

My pet hate is when people say "Me" in place of "My"
As in...............

I left ME hat on the floor.......

Geeze I hate that!

End of soap box bit.
FollowupID: 466625

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 12:07

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 12:07
yes, and then there is.... "them..." instead of "those" !@#$%&*
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

FollowupID: 466647

Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 15:58

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 15:58
Michelle - I see you're a bit of a stickler for the correct use of spelling - agree with you. Pity more people don't use the spell check function you went to the trouble of adding (although it wouldn't pick up many of the examples you mention).
And what about the use of "youse", as in the post following this one? Horrible!
Awesome doesn't overly concern me. I get that "sweet" thing from my teenage son all the time.
Cheers from the Moose
FollowupID: 466685

Follow Up By: kimprado - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 16:39

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 16:39
Sorry Michelle,

Some times I have a lapse of concentration which for some unexplained reason coincides with the need to refill an empty drinking vessel.

What I meant to say was "you're a splendiferous shirla person".

I'm sure everyone on this site will agree with me.

I deserved to be castigated. It won't happen again.

Kim
FollowupID: 466693

Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 17:25

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 17:25
Hey Kim
What's a "shirla"? I think you should fill that vessel and try again!
Cheers from the Moose
PS Is cheers acceptable or is that a Yankee thing as well?
FollowupID: 466700

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 17:47

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 17:47
Or "I seen that" instead of "I saw that" or the others that get up my nose are the ones who use big words but don't know what they mean but, hey, they look good. Eg "It is a quantum leap for mankind" when the word quantum actually means small.
TV interviewers that, for whatever reason, have to nod constantly, next time someone is interviewing someone I'll betcha the interviewer is nodding...
SCREW the nodders....
FollowupID: 466702

Follow Up By: kimprado - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 18:42

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 18:42
Moose,

Damned if I know mate, don't get out much. It may refer to the dominant demographic who walk funny.

The word "cheers" is unacceptable. It comes from some little Island in the Northern hemisphere that's populated by people who have no understanding of a decent language.

Gotta go now, the drinking vessel in empty!

Kim

FollowupID: 466707

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 07:57

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 07:57
Fair suck of the sav, are youse lot 'dinki di' ????

Entertaining post though;)))

Michael
AnswerID: 206654

Reply By: Zukscooterx90 (QLD)Member - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 08:11

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 08:11
And when some uses an" EXPLETIVE" in their post & "BLEEP" is used instead of an "EXPLETIVE"it is a swearing word not a "SHEEP"or "GOAT".:))))
AnswerID: 206657

Reply By: Oz Travellers - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 08:43

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 08:43
How about threads that start"

" I know this question has been asked before, but ........................."

or

"Last night I had a toothache ....."

Sparky
AnswerID: 206661

Follow Up By: RosscoH - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 14:26

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 14:26
I've got a toothache now
FollowupID: 466676

Reply By: nowimnumberone - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 21:35

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 21:35
fanfkntastic thread
AnswerID: 206755

Reply By: ross - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 22:11

Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 22:11
Awesome : defintion:"inspiring awe or admiration or wonder"

Who cares? Why get your knickers in knot over the latest buzz word.
Every generation has had theirs and this one is know different.

Going to the manager at a Bunnings store to complain about word usage on an advertised product is pathetic.LOL
If I was the manager I would have given you 3 sheets of F3 paper and asked for it in writing.
When you had finished I would have binned it.
AnswerID: 206894