Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:17
Stu050
G'day All,
Thinking about roofracks for my '02 Cruiser. We are planning to do quite a bit of touring over the next few years, and planning to go down the CSR in June '08.
Tossing up about a Rhino rack. What do people think? will it survive the CSR? Carrying 2nd spare, some
camping gear (light) High-lift and shovel.
TIA
Stu050
Reply By: Member- Rox (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:20
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:20
If your in WA check out the trader as some one makes them.
Follow Up By: Stu050 - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:25
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:25
Nope, not in WA...Just across the paddock in FNQ.
What is the "trader"?
Follow Up By: Member- Rox (WA) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 19:07
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 19:07
www.exploroz.com/Trader/Accessories.aspx
Try this link.
Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:24
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:24
Mate,
I have a Tradesman Oval Roof rack with an open rear. The open rear is excellent as it makes it so much easier to get stuff on and off the roof rack. There are some pictures of it under my Rig Profile. Let me know if you want there contact details?
Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:25
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:25
Sorry, I forgot that they also do them in the gutter less mounts for the 100series in the full length....
Follow Up By: cackles - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 20:54
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 20:54
Hi Teabag,
your roof rack looks good, would you mind sending me the contact details? I may be in the market.
Cackles
Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 21:32
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 21:32
cackles,
Just sent you a PM.....
Follow Up By: cackles - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 22:51
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 22:51
Thanks will get the minister for transport to have a look at it.
cackles
Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 23:15
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 23:15
I have a Jaram and cannot fault it - aluminium alloy - fits into 100s gutterless - they are made in WA, but possibly available interstate.
Mine has been through Simpson, CSR,
Cape York - you name it and never a problem
Reply By: Junior - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 02:11
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 02:11
Same as Teabag, I've got a Tradesman Engineering rack, alloy version.
This rack is increadibly light, but strong. Has four mounts/ legs, not three.
I previously had an open ended Tradesman rack on my old GQ for ladders as
well as
camping- can't fault them.
I run a Rhino system on my work van with ladder pegs, conduit carrier etc, but this is a task specific setup. I prefer to stick with full roof racks on 4wd as I believe they are more versatile.
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 02:41
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 02:41
Touring for many years.....CSR..... then buy one that won't break,pay the extra dollars and be happy with an ARB rack,
Buy a cheaper one and be prepared to be leaving some of your goodies on the side of the track including the cheap rack. Now it's your choice , your dollars,
Doug
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 22:12
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 22:12
Doug ,
I agree that the ARB steel ones are unbreakable , but the full length one weighs so much that you can hardly get them on and off the car without four people and the short one is not much better . That's a lot of weight before you even start loading it .
I bought the short ARB model and never used it on a trip . I went out and bought a full length alloy rack made by Formula Offroad in Western
Sydney . It has done the CSR twice plus plenty worse than that - all without any problems .
Willie .
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 02:43
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 02:43
The beauty of the Rhino Rack system is the multitude of accessories you can get for them.
You may only want a pair of racks for normal use, then attach a tray, or basket, when travelling. Available in either steel, or aluminium.
Rhino have specific accessories for attaching high lift jacks and shovels along the side of the racks, or trays/baskets. You can buy special brackets to hold a "bazooka" (poly pipe) for carrying fishing rods, awning poles, etc.
Now, some or all of these may be available from other sources, but will they fit the rack system you choose?
At least with the Rhino product, you have a practical, workable and flexible system on which to build and choose from a multitude of accessories.
www.rhinorack.com.au/
Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 07:07
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 07:07
I have a Rhino commercial 3 bar with a basket bolted on with double nutted U bolts. Transplanted from the previous vehicle with new legs. Now about 5 years old with plenty of outback touring including two Simpson crossings and the OTL.
Reply By: mfewster - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 07:23
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 07:23
Ifd you need to carry serious weight and and travel serious corrugations, the strongest racks I have seen are made by Spears in Alice. Full length bases. Full steel construction. But they are heavy. The locals swear by them. Probably overkill unless you spend a lot of time off road - but unbreakable. They have templates for lots of models and just do them to suit - but I'm not sure how they do gutterless models.
Reply By: Big Woody - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 07:25
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 07:25
Hi Stu,
I have both the 3 bar Rhino rack system on my 80 series for general use and close weekends away, and I also have a full length ARB steel rack for the big trips when I need to load it up.
For a trek like the CSR I would go with the ARB rack but if you feel you are leaning towards the Rhino then I woul fit it with a minumum of 4 bars and maybe even 5 to spread the load right out as the tray is fairly light aluminium which tends not to be too compatible with corrugations.
If you add up some of the items you have mentioned - Spare wheel, hi-lift jack, shovel,
camping gear you can easily have 100kg or more. For heavy stuff I'll stick with steel any day.
I probably weigh about 120kg and I know that I have no hesitaion standing on the ARB steel rack but it feels a bit dodgy standing on the Rhino. That is enough of a test for me.
Good luck with your decision,
Brett
Reply By: Grizzle - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 12:28
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 12:28
Got a 1220 X 2000 Rhino Rack on my Patrol. Very Sturdy. we just did a 6400K trip up to red centre and back. also just got back on Sunday from very rugged
Vic high country treck. Spare on Rack, High lift on side and Shovel on side. All Rhino fittings.
We carried 2 swags in a rooftop back.
No worries.
Also the Rhino rack is light so does not add too much weight to your vehicle.
Reply By: cowpat - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 14:31
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 14:31
Have a look at the Opposite Lock low profile rack for the 100 series too. Quite pricey but full-length (2.1m), nice light alloy and looks inconspicuous. Room for a spare wheel (33 inch), rubbish box, 1.2x1.2 canvas sack, rollup awning.
On our last trip over a couple of corrugated roads we cracked two tubes and some welds on our steel bullbar (Formula Offroad), broke a clutch plate, destroyed the gearbox input bearing and both rear wheel bearings, a corner light rattled off, one driving light rattled loose (already with extra bolts to stay them), and some other stuff, but the roof rack was fine and all the bolts stayed tight.
I wouldn't say that I'm all that hard on our vehicle but it would seem that the roof rack is one of the more robust items. Casper
Follow Up By: Member - malcolm T (SA) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 19:14
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 19:14
hi
we have the opposite lock low profile roof rack and travelled for 3 months including
gibb river with spare tyres, petrol etc and no problems
karen and
malcolm