A Timely Reminder

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:44
ThreadID: 39924 Views:2198 Replies:8 FollowUps:5
I have been a CFS ( Country Fire Service ) volunteer in SA for near on 30 years and have spent 100’s of hours driving in dangerous places, sometimes under much pressure, like when you are amongst a wall of fire, remembering that you are responsible for the truck, equipment, and the lives of all your passengers hanging off the back doing there job too.
Yesterday we were on monitoring and mopup duties, (5.30 am to 8.30 pm) before today’s strong winds, after a lightning strike fire in hilly terrain in the states mid north. About lunch time the quiet radio burst into life with one of those calls you never wont to hear, “ truck has rolled over need urgent assistance”.
These days most of our trucks are 4WD Hino’s, around 8 tonner’s.
We were the first CFS truck to get to the scene, and the women next to me in our truck was also an ambulance officer so she sprang straight into action followed up by the rest of the crew and some others arriving.
The truck had traversed a steep rocky hillside, and for whatever reason had ended up sideways and away it went, rolled 4 times according to a witness and partway into its 5th roll, slammed into a large tree just behind the cab, throwing the driver out through where the windscreen used to be and landing amongst the large football sized rocks.
That is where he stayed, but we were all glad to hear him speak to us.
The tree saved his life I am sure, as it was another 8 – 10 rolls to the bottom of the hill over more large rocks and the outcome may have been not so good.
Ironically one of the 2 crew on the back of the truck who jumped to safety without injury, was also an ambulance officer, who also spent much time with the patient and his ultimate rescue.
The patient was attended to by experts who took great care in determining his state of injury and in the end was removed from the scene by rescue helicopter.
A report last night on his state of health was good.
The truck on the other hand will never see another fire again, the back section, mostly made of fiberglass was absolutely destroyed, and the rest of the truck didn’t know what the word straight meant!
When we arrived on the scene the truck was near to being on its left side held by the tree, but was running quite sweetly at about 1500 rpm and although they tried to turn it off via the key it wasn’t giving up that easy.
Several things were tried but access wasn’t easy from the bottom and then there is the danger thing. Eventually it was stopped via a steel bar working the exhaust break from underneath. It must have run for at least 30 minutes. It was good to hear it shut down as it was only a metre from where the medics were working on the patient
Fire fighting is a very dangerous job, and I guess incidents like this are a good wakeup call for all of us that are involved.
4 W Driving is in a similar category and it all happens so quickly, so please use this as a reminder for when your out and about, it can and does happen.

Cheers Pesty

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 17:01

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 17:01
Pesty,

You are dead right. I spent a lot of time with the CFS on obne of the group boards and never ceased to amaze me at the courage and bravery showed on numerous occasions without thought of the danger they were putting themselves in each time they boarded the truck.

Three cheers for the CFS and all volunteers and your families, and hope your mate recovers well.
AnswerID: 207792

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 17:06

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 17:06
hip hip hooray!
a great job always done well by all you firefighters
FollowupID: 467707

Reply By: Vince NSW - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 17:44

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 17:44
Glad it worked out well Pesty.
I am a member of the Rural Fire Service in NSW and up until last weekend we had a large fire in our area of the Blue Mountains where I had 5 shifts on the fire line in 10 days.
We have been lucky over the years in that we have never lost a member form our brigade. Than the Lord. But know what you wenr\t through when you heard the call over the radio.
Keep up the good work Pesty
Vince
AnswerID: 207800

Reply By: cackles - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 20:46

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 20:46
Hi Pesty,

I got an e-mail from my father in law the other day, he had been out fighting fires up at Renmark I think. I understand this is a dangerous job but it makes me feel better to know that when Geoff goes out he will be doing it with folks like yourselves. Thanks.

Cackles
AnswerID: 207829

Follow Up By: Blaze - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 22:26

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 22:26
All these guys do a great job, your fatherinlaw is probably still out fighting a bad one at the back of Renmark, The town of Monash (Sturt Hwy bypass road SA) was evacuated today. Not sure of the status now but a change has come through with a 180deg wind shift so the main front should be burning back on itself (least I hope so)
FollowupID: 467774

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 22:49

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 22:49
Yes got a page this arvo looking for releif crews to go to gluepot near renmark, but done my shift away from home this week, need to earn a quid sometime.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 467776

Follow Up By: cackles - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 22:49

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 22:49
yep just been reading the news, worst fires at overland corner and they are at morgan so I imagine he's going to be a busy boy.

cackles
FollowupID: 467777

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 22:08

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 22:08
We had a few things happen to our crews over years, early 80's with deaths of other crews, that were our first backups (read- brothers)... thru to mid 90's with the death of another young bloke in our backup crew...

thru to other crews caught in trails with fire blocking them in..

terrifying when you see others in that situation in another truck maybe it is somene you know.

AnswerID: 207849

Reply By: Steve - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 22:11

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 22:11
Rural Fire Service called today for a donation ...which as always SWMBO..dug deep and gave as much as the kitty could afford this week...we city dwellers are all too well aware of the tragedies out there in the bush ..anything we can do to help we will be there ...
AnswerID: 207851

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 05:34

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 05:34
Pesty,

Now I know why you like such BIG camp fires:-)))

Quite a sobering reminder though Steve.
MY bro is a member of the CFS down south and some of the stories he has mentioned to me of him having to attend road accident scenes in his area certainly makes one reflect on what could be. The truck he is on carries all the emergency gear and "extraction" equipment.

And it's not necessarily one's own driving skills that needs to be taken into account either.

Bill.

AnswerID: 207884

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 07:57

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 07:57
a good result in the end Pesty, thanks for sharing that mate.

let's not forget the ambos here too. ambos in fire ranks and don't we love them. we can get our own senior and advanced first aid training but these people are priceless.

in the nsw rfs we have Cat 1 Isuzus, about 13/14 tonne and yes, the driver has a huge responsibility, and a 4wd situation can complicate that quickly.

best wishes for all involved Pesty, as you probably know, the impact of an event such as this can be delayed and people have to watch out for each other as well as the CIS unit carrying out it's role.

kind regards,

Jeremy.
AnswerID: 207887

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 08:08

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 08:08
Yes, thanks Bushfix, I think the ambo's are a very special group, three cheers for them too.
Hope that they are REALLY quiet over xmas!

Cheers pesty
FollowupID: 467802

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 17:29

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 17:29
hi Pesty, not good news mate, here in vic we've lost too many cfa members over the last few years, always a huge loss to the community involved.

we've got a lot of isuzu 4wd jobs, with 2000 lt tanks recessed between the chassis rails, but they are still top heavy buggers !!

Hey i read an article the other day that SA has purchased 20 of the "Bushmaster" fire trucks made by ADI in bendigo, front half is the same as army bushmaster, but wicked fire service rear body and personell survival area. Its an awesome looking machine, which should be very capable, a ground based "elvis" id say :-)

take care mate.

(i'm without helmet while the leg recovers, but then i'll be back on the rakehoe :-) )
AnswerID: 209480