Stone Deflector
Submitted: Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 18:10
Kev M (NSW)
What is the best material to use on a stone deflector on a trailer. Do I use double layered shadecloth or canvas??
I've been told to use double layered shadecloth.
Which or what is the better material to use??
I need to have it on before next weekend before we go away.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 18:20
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 18:20
Most I have seen are double layered shadecloth
Reply By: lewjack1 - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 18:25
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 18:25
KEV
USE THE SHADE CLOTH, DOESN'T ROT FROM EITHER SUN OR RAIN.
JUST HAVE A METAL FRAME , PUT THE CLOTH(DOUBLED) OVER THE FRAME
AND TIE IT TO IT, MAKING SURE THE FRAME LEANS A LITTLE OF PERPENDICULAR
TOWARDS THE TOW VEHICLE (APPROX 10%).ALSO WHEN FASTENING CLOTH DON'T MAKE IT TIGHT ,FLAPPY IS BEST TO ABSORB IMPACT FROM STONES ETC
LEWJACK
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 18:30
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 18:30
The frame is already made and I just need to fit the material, how do you stop the stones damaging the bottom edge of the material. should I use some aluminium angle to help protect it along the bottom edge???
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 18:29
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 18:29
Shade cloth ,double layered ,cheaper the better , there are however 2 schools of thought as to the "tension" of the said cloth ,some say tight ,some say slack ,tight means angle of deflection becomes of importance ,slack may not look so pretty but
the rock is caught and falls rather than bounces back ,,,,, tis a conundrum to be sure.
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 18:36
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 18:36
I'm going to use slack as the best to attack the wayward stone assault.
The stone deflector frame is made and removable from the trailer to allow access to the 6 jerries on the front of the trailer.
Kev
| Russell Coight:
Reply By: lewjack1 - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 18:34
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 18:34
KEV
YOU CAN'T STOP THE STONES FROM CHIPPING/DAMAGING YOUR FRAME IT'S PART OF TRAVELLING
LEWJACK
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 18:39
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 18:39
I know that but you don't have to yell at me all the time.
I mean the stones hitting the material / shadecloth on the frame causing it the become damaged and needing early replacement.
Kev
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: Chucky - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 19:22
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 19:22
It's not there to protect the paint work, it's there to stop rocks boucing off the trailer and into your back window.
And the shade cloth is the best. My camper has done about 10,00km on dirt roads and it's still on it's first one. When it needs replacing I am happy to pay the ten bucks at bunnings to replace it.
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:19
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:19
Chucky,
How do you fix the shade cloth to the frame???
Zip ties ???
Kev
| Russell Coight:
Reply By: lewjack1 - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 19:26
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 19:26
kev
my apoligy didn't twig that the caps were on
havs a nice weekend
lewjack
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:18
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:18
No worries
| Russell Coight:
Reply By: Sarcophilus harrisii - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:37
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:37
Hi Kev
I see your frame is upright so a slack cloth would the best as you said. Proll'y not a bad idea to cover bottom edge as it will get the most damage.
Hows your harry stack? All going
well? I'll pop round this week for the box?
Andy
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:45
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:45
Hopefully I'll have it tomorrow, so I'll give you a call when I get it.
The backs worse now than it was a week or so ago as I had a discogram done on Thursday and low and behold they finally found out that my L5 disc is ruptured. It only took them 2 years 3 months to work it out. I see another surgeon on Wednesday for yet another opinion then hopefully have a date for surgery.
Big Jim said to say hi, Kerry couldn't remember you LOL.
| Russell Coight:
Reply By: Sarcophilus harrisii - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:05
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:05
I really hope you get some comfort soon, 2.3yrs, you must have some good seating.
Take care. talk soon
Andy
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:09
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:09
The ute could do with some new ones but ATM a back brace works for trips over an hour long. Will hopefully have new seats in the very near future.
Kev
| Russell Coight:
Reply By: Member - Matt L (NSW) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 07:23
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 07:23
Hi Kev,
Fitting your shade cloth to the frame is quote simple, just punch in a series of eyelets around the perimeter.
You can now fit it to the frame by a long piece of bungee cord and hose clamps, or if you want to keep it simple buy a packet of large cable ties and fit it using them. Just cut them of to length after you are finished getting the required tension.
Matt
Reply By: ooze - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 13:54
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 13:54
You can also get shadecloth clips that fold over and grip a fair area of cloth. Just thought they might be worth a look for securing the cloth. Also, what about a bit of hose to protect the cloth at the bottom? Oh the decisions!! Lol.
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 18:51
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 18:51
Kev,
Allow me to offer a word of caution.
Regardless of the stone guard, I suggest you protect your rear window as
well.
The stone guard will offer more protection to the object you are towing, than the rear of your car. Stones can and will bounce off any hard surface, including the framework of the guard.
Apart from that, cable ties, or zip ties as you call them, will be suitable for attaching the shade cloth to the frame.
As far as the bottom of the frame, perhaps you could consider pop riveting a strip or two of rubber to the frame to act like "mud flaps".
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 19:46
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 19:46
Sandman,
Good points, I may actually get a full width removable mud flap for the rear bar on the Triton to put there as an extra safety measure.
I conned the TJM distributor for a new rear canopy window when I got the canopy as they had scratched it when in transit from getting colour coded. I still have the new rear window in the shed and the scratched one on the canopy as they were to lazy to change it for me LOL.
One day it may come in handy if it ever breaks.
| Russell Coight:
Reply By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 20:30
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 20:30
As above said, also protect your rear window.We have an angled down stone guard on our
Tambo Cooper, useing shade cloth.It is held on by "Spider Wire" fishing line (colour matched and had some spare).We also have rubber mud flaps across the botttom of the stone guard which protects the stitching and lower edge of shade cloth(and the trailer).Even with all this we were travelling along the Duncan rd a few months ago and a big boondie,a bit bigger than a golf ball hit the trailer(somewhere) bounced across the roof of the cruiser and down the windscreen to stop on the windscreen wiper.That would have been a rear window if it had hit it.We now also have extended mud flaps and a full width flap on the cruiser .
The shade cloth has been on a year now and needs replacing,some rocks have nearly gone right through the cloth(only got a single layer on) and have had to re tie the stitching a couple of times where rocks have hit it up the sides.We also only have a small amount of tension,more so loose than tight.
Reply By: Member - BBB - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 22:50
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 22:50
Kev
You cant have to much protecion you are better off with a full length mad flap (5mm convair ruber) 75mm off the road the full width of the vehical with a over lap of 75mm past the outside of the tyres on each side.
I also have a shade cloth screen on the draw bar but after our last trip of over 5500km with around 1000km of dirt the draw bar and shade cloth screen where not damaged in any way not even a stone chip.
In actual fact there was hardly any dust on the front of the van you could see the dust did not start untill half way down the side of the van.
It is worth the efort to protect your camper.
BBB
!MPG:20!
Follow Up By: Member - BBB - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 22:52
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 22:52
Sorry I thought the photo would show the Mud flap and stone gard in better detail.