caravaning in tasmania
Submitted: Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 20:57
gertie
Am thinking of going to Tasmania early next year--does anyone know whether there are many
places to off
road camp as we are trying to decide wether take our van. We prefer not to go to parks--can u do this there.
Reply By: Jimbo - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 21:18
Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 21:18
Before you go check out the Ferry prices.
They will send your car over for about $50 each way.
They then rip the guts out of you and charge you $250 to $400 each way for your van or camper depending on its length.
And these dills are trying to promote tourism in Tassie??????
It also has something to do with the Fed Govt subsidy on travel. Cars are subsidided and vans are not.
Too complex for me, we're off to Thailand next April, it's way cheaper than Tassie.
Follow Up By: gertie - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 06:26
Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 06:26
Thanku Jimbo for your help--guess its another gov stuff up--we cert cant blame the poor tassies
Follow Up By: ZukScooterX90 (QLD)Member - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 09:51
Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 09:51
Jim,are you taking your camper or van with you to Thialand or is toooo expensive?Which ever enjoy your trip & keep an eye out for Amorrosi & the Bombs that Tassie has not got to offer.:o))
Gertie enjoy your trip to Tassie as
well.we are heading over there next weekend,
& will be trying to do what you are thinking as
well.We bought the 'camps Australia 3' to help with the Freebie part.:o))
Reply By: honestjohn - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 21:39
Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 21:39
hey jimbo do yoy expect to go for nothing mate spend your money in our country not theirs
Follow Up By: Jimbo - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 22:39
Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 22:39
I'm not sure I understand your message. It is somewhat disjointed.
I think I got the bit about where I spend my money.
I'm a simple man, I like to help all human beings with my judiciary spend. I actually like to help all people, where they live is of no concern to me. Being born in Australia is a matter of luck, not a matter of some sort of superiority.
I'm not sure you will understand, but I hope so.
Reply By: png62 - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 23:34
Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 23:34
Despite the aforementioned cynicism, there are some sensational
places you can set up any caravan away from the "madding crowd" and you will thoroughly enjoy Tassie.
If you are into even mild off-roading with the 'van, buy yourself a copy of the "4wd Tracks in Tasmania" book - www.roving.com.au/ - (no association) and have a great time.
Cheers and I vote for keeping your hard earned in Oz.
Follow Up By: gertie - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 06:23
Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 06:23
Thanku for your help--it is not so bad payimg for the trip over if u can save on other expenses--so nice being away from the "maddening crowd" too--that is why we go off road. the great outdoors is such a gr8 place aye.
Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:16
Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:16
Yep Tres expensive to get a van accross the straight...BUT
well worth it! I think Bob Brown actually would prefer you to spend spend spend & stay at 10*
places, I tried hiring a van in Tassie & was told that there were none for hire I also found Van parks in short supply though there are some fantastic plces to go & if you can sneak a Gennie across you will have little trouble in finding "accomodation" for your Van...Not many people live in Tassie, comparitvly speaking and most mind there own busness unless you are doing something illegal, they don't consider stopping overnight at the side of the road illegal but the wildlife will drive you nuts. We were asleep one night near Nabowla and the van gave a lurch, scared the nightlights out of us and suspecting we were under attack from pimply faced tossers I stepped gingerly out to confront only to discover it was a wombat trying to dig a hole under one of the stabilisers.
Camping is catered for in many
places, so ideallic & picturesque & to numerous to mention....Just one word of warning though, it can still snow in midsummer in the higher parts and do not under any circumstances do what some pranksters did a few years back and paint a sutably sized dog up to look like a thylacine and release it so that people see a thylacine begging for food at popular picnic spots.... I heard they got the "Marcus Clark" treatment for that....
Follow Up By: disco1942 - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:40
Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:40
I don't think there is much problem getting a generator across, just drain all the fuel out of it and don't take petrol or diesel in cans. All cans have to be emptied of fuel and filled with
water. You will have the date on gas bottles checked, can not take them if over the 10 years filling date limit - saw one bloke loose both bottles off the front of his van.
Follow Up By: Ole Grizzly - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 12:13
Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 12:13
Curious !!! Does that mean full jerry cans are prohibited?
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 12:19
Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 12:19
Yep, full jerry cans have to be emptied and filled with
water if they had diesel or petrol in them.One of our party had two jerries full of diesel and was told to tip em out or loose the lot.Luckily I had an empty
tank and we put them in it , he then had to fill them with
water.
Reply By: disco1942 - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:32
Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:32
Camps Australia wide has heaps listed. Tassie is like the rest of the country - free camps thin on the ground near large centers but plenty around the rest. There are plenty in the NE, NW, down the west coast and across the middle.
As for costs on the ferry, there was a report in Caravan World of a couple who kept tabs on prices. They compared their site fees with the cost of cabins in each
park they stayed in. On a six week trip they saved $600 by taking their van. They did not stay off power so you should do better - possibly break even in 4 or possibly 3 weeks.
If you wish to see Tasmania it will cost you more than touring the mainland (within your own state.) It would cost me around $1,300 for fuel to go to and return from WA. Then with the 2 weeks traveling time taken out, if I was a worker with limited time Tasmania would be a better prospect than WA.
Reply By: Member - Min (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 14:32
Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 14:32
Hi Gertie,
We have booked to go to Tassie mid Feb to mid March the total return cost of the ferry is $798. We are seniors, are travelling on a daytime sailing (avail. peak times on weekends -- saves cabin and you can see what's going on). We have a Prado and a ct with long draw bar -- 9m all up. Call Spirit of Tas on 13 20 10 and talk to them about the best way of making the booking. We found them very helpful.
Buy Camps 3 Australia Wide but also check their website for updates since publication.
We also invest in Lonely Planet where ever we are going. It's a small cost compared to the overall cost of the trip and gives bags of info including opening times, prices,
places to see, stay and eat.
Enjoy, we certainly intend too. Wish we were staying longer, but then it all doesn't have to be done at once Maybe we'll catch you somewhere. Put your sticker on.
I will watch this site for any other info people can offer.
Follow Up By: gertie - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 11:45
Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 11:45
Hi guys & thanks--if we go could be around march so if so will definitely watch out--we have white toyota landcruiser TLC 993 & a off road roadstar caravan--have a great trip
Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 17:46
Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 17:46
Tasmania is different to the mainland in that you can't just get of the road to
camp easily. However they have discovered the benefits of providing plenty of free
camp sites (usually with a long drop or two). You do need Camps 3 to find them. The west side is a bit sparse, but there are wonderful beach side campsites along the north east coastline. You can
camp at the car parks at the many hydro electricity lakes and lagoons (usually no facilities at all).
I have reviewed most of the free
camp sites we used at
Site Link
We did spent some time staying with people so some areas are not covered, and we did occasionally find our own little spot off the beaten track.
Reply By: live4theweekends - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 20:49
Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 20:49
On the north west coast there is a nice little spot by the cam river at
somerset.
Toilets there. Nice little over night stop.
East Coast there a quite a few
places.
Lagoon Beach is quite good. Lots of space, good fishing, long drop loos, can base yourself there and travel around a bit. Cosy Corner good too.
Myrtle
Park is about 20 mins out of
Launceston on the way to Scottsdale and is a great spot. Cost $3 per site per night (huuuge sites, we usually have 4 families on 1!) no showers but flushing
toilets. Also ok to base yourself and travel about the area.
Plenty of
places to stop. These are just a few I have been to.
Reply By: HGMonaro - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 22:25
Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 22:25
We were thinking of doing this sometime... but geez!
Std Rates
2 Adults @ $114 each one way = $456
2 kids @ $103 each way = $412
11m Car and Camper = $93 + $67/m over 7.1m = $361 one way = $722 return
Total = $1590
Special Summer Deals
$85 each way * 4 * 2 = $680
11m Car and camper = $722
Total = $1402
That is too much.
Follow Up By: disco1942 - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 23:45
Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 23:45
Leave the kids @ home - that will save $412
It is much cheaper if you go on the step season.
Reply By: Member - John R (NSW) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 08:48
Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 08:48
We're heading down in March. I'm going to put the family on a flight, either Sh*tstar (Jetstar) to Launy from
Sydney, or QantasLink
Melbourne to
Devonport, and I'll go with the vehicle.
That way we'll save several hundred $$$. I just can't see the value in the passenger fares on the ferry. :-((
Can't wait!
Reply By: gertie - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 11:56
Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 11:56
Thanku to all u guys out there for your help--this is one great site aye. Hope everyone has a safe & happy xmas.