tourism cost to high country
Submitted: Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 12:48
nowimnumberone
after having to work in the office at work(small 4wd service centre)and talking to customers about hollidays over christmas im amazed at the amount of people who were going to the high country over theese hollidays myself included but have changed plans because of the fires.
also the amount of posts i see on here about cancelled hollidays to the high country.
i think its going to hurt the tourism buisness for a long time
well after the fires have gone out.
lets hope we get some snow up there next year to give them a tourism boost.
merry chrissy everyone.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 13:18
Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 13:18
Lots of areas are still dangeous is the main reason..
Also going to
camp in ash, and have no firewood at night would suck arse.
The rivers/streams would be undrinkable due to ash, and crap in the
water, it would be black (are you allowed to call things black anymore?)
Dont blame people for goign elsewhere, but yes, snow season cant come fast enough for them, since last yrs was non existant.
Reading the people from
Walhalla in the paper that were interviewed, the Star Hotel has got rid of all staff, and the future is not
bright, since fires stopped the last 2 "tourist" seasons for them. they would have nobody but sticky beaks comin in for the next few months..
Hope they survive, we need these small towns, inc
Woods Point and all points surrounding.
YWVOYCGF...
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 13:26
Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 13:26
==and have no firewood at night would suck arse==
Is that a standard saying of yours? :-)
Follow Up By: Nick R - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 13:49
Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 13:49
He is quoting eric cartman.....
not balck, non-reflective!!!!!!
Nick
Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 14:09
Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 14:09
Firewood??? surely you werent planning to light a fire???? :)....oldbaz.
Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 15:04
Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 15:04
i dont blame people either for not going just a shame for all the small towns that rely on people to make a living.
they probly just get by if at all during the off season then clean up a little over summer.
i know of one pub now that wont be getting $100000s of my money.shame.
awdygfym.lol
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 13:30
Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 13:30
Sir James,
The weather forecast is for snow up there NEXT WEEK! I kid you not
Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 15:01
Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 15:01
now sir-bonz-kidzalot
im not sure if your pulling my legs.
someone is
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 15:12
Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 15:12
nope Sir James of the limited-digit, snow forecast for Christmas day
Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 22:51
Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 22:51
He's right. Snow for the higher peaks but it won't settle.
Still weird though but not uncommon.
I can remember several white christmas's at
Falls Creek in the past 25 years.
Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 15:48
Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 15:48
Hi Nudie ,
I was going to go there in Feb and I thought possibly the South , south western side of the high country was perhaps not as badly affected . Is there anywhere you know of that shows the areas that have been burnt out so I can check it out ?
Thanks ,
Willie .
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 17:51
Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 17:51
G'day Willie,
Just a point of clarification, nowimmembernumberone is previously Member Diamond plus a few other handles including the infamous Jemima Puddleduck.
Nudie is the real Member No.1. It's just a bit of mirth between them.
Have a good one.
Follow Up By: Robin - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 17:56
Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 17:56
Willee
Only reason we won't be there is that roads may be closed - but still expecting to get to
Dargo this holiday (Jan).
In meantime theres still 2/3 of the driving area acessible, and we will spend time south west of
Mansfield from the strathbogies.
Some of the best driving is in the less
well known and still unaffected areas.
Keep eye on the CFA site which shows burnt areas
http://www.cfa.vic.gov.au/incidents/incident_updates.htm#1408347295849
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 19:03
Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 19:03
OK , thanks mate - Willie .
Reply By: Member - Bradley- Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 23:49
Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 23:49
yep, snow for christmas day, dont forget the huge hailstorm and freezing weather we had 2 years back on boxing day.
Article in todays paper talking about the tourist dollar impact, owner of the
licola general store was mentioned, he's still gotta pay full rent etc, but is expecting all the tracks around the area to remain closed until winter, when most are closed off anyhow. So to put it lightly, he's not looking forward to much income in the new year..
We need to all make the effort to get up around the area in the aftermath, even to just visit the towns and spend a few bucks where we can. After all if an area dies off, it rarely comes back.
merry christmas Jim, cheers Brad