Late Merry Xmas and Kimberley Karavan Shakedown Report

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 18:57
ThreadID: 40650 Views:4428 Replies:3 FollowUps:11
All readers,

Merry Xmas to you and yours and a now on the fast approach to the New Year.

I've just spent the last five nights and some days on my first shakedown trip in my Kimberley Karavan.

Just went 18k's north of Wollongong to Coledale beach camping area and met a league of nations each night so to speak.

No such thing as an old joke! Only new people to tell it to.

Once at Hungerford on the NSW/Qld border spoke to the publican and asked when he might think about moving on..........When I start to see the same faces coming back in a second time says he!! boom boom.

Generally very happy with the Karavan and the functinality of everything.
A couple of small things not what they should be but they are small and can be easily fixed.

Vacuum toilet is great. Especially early in the morning! Two steps and your there!

Diesel cooker in the kitchen fantastic. Just think about that cuppa a tad earlier. Some warmup required. Might have been the crappy kettle actually.

Outside wok burner very good and the amount of heat produced is what melted the soldered joint on the kettle bottom and made some fumes and small water leaks. LESSON Cheap is dear!

Search for good kettle will be on in ernest.

Large queen bed great but some adaptability after 23 years in a water bed. Pillow adjustment required. Or maybe adjustment of alcohol consumed!

Battery power supply lasted four days without a topup so that was good and the 12volt fridge delivered the goods as required.

LED lighting very suttle and good energy saver.

Storage wise still need to figure out the best places for everything and easiest access. This will happen in time me thinks.

Needed to use the generator for two hours in the day to give the batteries a belt when they dropped to 11.7 volts and this got me through another 30 hours till last night. Not the preferred option when others are around. The noise even gave me the sh?ts. Apologised to all within 30 metres.

Towed well and I came home the long way. Up Bulli Pass and back down Mount Ousley! Gave the Prado 4.0 litre something to think about. Maybe a diesel in the distant future. See how I go on the longer trips.

Disk brakes worked well. Need to make some adjustments to the controller I think.
This is all new to me so the learning curve has started.

All in all I'm a very happy camper! (pun intended).

THe various questions and info I gained on this site helped me greatly and will continue to I'm sure. It started 12 months ago and has finally come to fruition and I've started to crawl.

Can't wait to walk and go a bit further.

So in summary I'm very happy and will tell anyone who asks the virtues of this vehicle as I see and experience it. Some small things to be fixed yes but I think it can all only get better.

And no I don't have any affiliation etc....

Cheers & Beers
Garth

Reply By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 19:19

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 19:19
Must have driven staight past when checking the surf on Xmas eve !
AnswerID: 212095

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 19:25

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 19:25
Yes, Garth, sent a MM to the wrong Garth a couple of weeks ago asking when it was coming. Bit the same as you wanting to get going. Storage is something to work through as you say and having the same comments as you. Surprised the ease of pulling up through the tracks round Mt Stirling and Mt Buller back before that fire caught.

Reckon the towing will be a lot easier with flatter roads rather than the hills and stop start conditions. Heather finds the mattress a bit hard with her arthritis conditions, so will modify that as Mr Lexic's friend in Renmark has. Thinner one with egg carton over the top.

We know what you mean abou the learning curve though mate, it is pretty steep. The control panel is nicely placed by the toilet so you have a seat to read the switches. I put one of those Touch Lights from Bunnings in the pump box and have suggested they should be there standard.

Kimberley are very good taking suggestions and talk of retrofitting changes.
AnswerID: 212097

Follow Up By: Gob & Denny - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 19:46

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 19:46
goodday john

sounds like you are taking the "" library"" with you very convenient

FollowupID: 472308

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:32

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:32
I know of one issue that our Renmark aquaintence has. The lack of ease of turning the taps on and off. Would be quite an issue if you had arthur's disease. He is generally very pleased with it.
FollowupID: 472337

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:49

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:49
Steve, it comes with its own library of required reading. Learn about the diesel heater, about the diesel cooktop, learn about the switches, learn about the charger, learn about the modes of the inverter, about the charge rate, the level of charge in percentage and also the amp hours. The voltage remaining, where is it going.... ........? WOW As Garth says a bit to learn. The big thing was what goes where with the annex too. It takes longer to erect it with help than by yourself but perhaps that was the confusion caused by a certain gentleman mentioned below

Mr Lexic, I think I know the difference between Arthur and Martha, but which disease did each have and will I catch it in the shower?
FollowupID: 472342

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:57

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:57
Sorry John, I've always referred Arthritis as Arthurs disease.
Not aware of any of Martha's complaints LOL
FollowupID: 472348

Reply By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:51

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:51
I this the $55K job I saw at the camping show, or am I mistaking it for something else.

The one I saw was a neat, compact, well built little unit but I nearly died when they told me the price. It just didn't seem like a lot of van for a bloody lot of money.
AnswerID: 212115

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 14:11

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 14:11
Yep thats the one, thought the same thing about the price but then found this www.highrise.com.au/trailer.html which I `m led to believe is even more!!!

I need a better job or cheaper tastes

Cya
FollowupID: 472458

Follow Up By: Gronk - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 15:32

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 15:32
KK bought the rights off Highrise, then completly re-engineered it to what it is now.

Most of the KK is patented, so even though they are very similar in looks the KK is no doubt very different in nearly every aspect .
FollowupID: 472467

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 15:36

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 15:36
Ya learn somethin new every day
FollowupID: 472468

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 20:09

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 20:09
Hey Jim, I thought you knew a little of the differences in the market working for a company you do. It is interesting that the people I come into contact with are attracted to the innovation. Interested in the concept. I guess that has driven me to look at the Kompact Kimberley Karavan. I know if I can drive past a post the Karavan will miss it. In so many places if I can drive there, the Karavan will follow, including narrow High Country tracks. It isn't a Road Block like a caravan.

Yep, is the item you were most likely looking at, a very busy stand at the shows.

Have a good New Year mate

Gronk, I had a look at the Highrise at last years show and it left me cold both times. Obviously the Karavan I saw differently.
FollowupID: 472498

Follow Up By: Member - Garth J (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 21:46

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 21:46
Jimbo,

Yes it is the same unit.
When you have a closer look and see the engineering and innovative engineering features you will see where your money goes.

Look above the floor and also under it!

There's a lot to see.

Geez I think I'm sounding like a salesman!

But I was impressed from the first drawings and details I found out about and then wrapped when I saw it at the Sydney show earlier in the year. My order was in two weeks later.

At this point I will admit I had been kicking tyres for two and a half years looking as they say.

As with everything we buy the whole package fitted in with what I was looking for.
Except maybe the dollars but in the end you only live once.

Garth.
FollowupID: 472509

Follow Up By: Gronk - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 08:00

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 08:00
I have a KK Escape, and as for the Karavan, well, the missus loves it, but for one I can't afford it and the extra weight is off putting for me as well. But, if I had some dollars and a bigger 4x4 ( landcruiser ? ) I think it would be no.1 on the shopping list.

After sales service from KK is very good, and its good to see them standing by their product and fixing any small problems that might arise !!

Yeh, I'm biased, but you can only be biased if you are happy with a product !!
FollowupID: 472539

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 00:04

Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 00:04
Hey Gronk, a KK is an escape, you could go Bushtracker, Trackmaster or close and take a weight penalty........... LOL as I said KK is an escape. At least a tonne.
FollowupID: 472640