Language on the Forum
Submitted: Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 21:19
ExplorOz Team - David
I am getting tired of seeing posts with numerious conversions on swear words using ! and # and * and other characters to change the spelling of a word. I do not want to have to waste hours putting every variation of every word in he language check processes so just stop doing it. If you want to swear and curse please do it at home and not of the
forum. There is NO reason that swearing needs to be used on the system.
If you see it in posts then please alert moderator for action.
If you do it expect your post will be deleted.
Keep it clean this is a family site about travelling in and around Australia.
Reply By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 21:23
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 21:23
There is a limit to how much you can control a public
forum - despite what you (and I) may prefer. You could always close the
forum to all but members?
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 21:35
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 21:35
Its a Private
Forum that is open to the Public under the terms and conditions of the owner.
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 21:37
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 21:37
So ban us Dodo.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 21:46
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 21:46
Yep!! just the typical reply thats come to be expected from you.
Goes with your attitude that its a Public
Forum and you can do as you please.
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 21:54
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 21:54
Thank Goodness you are more circumspect than the rest of us John.... Clearly we need guidance from people such as you...?
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:01
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:01
Thanks Mike, I just won a $100 bet with a mate based on your reply.
Your so predictable in your sanctimonious attitude thats its profitable these days.
I will use the money to pay my EO renewal for the next 3 years.
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:04
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:04
What is you friend's name John?
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:11
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:11
Give it a rest you two.
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:12
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:12
You started it :)
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:15
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:15
She's to
young for you Michael.
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:18
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:18
You have a goat!?
(
Well.. I know you do - but one you have been keeping to yourself!!?? - You're a bad boy John!).
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 03:00
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 03:00
Goat's???
I guess whatever turns you on Michael.
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 21:55
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 21:55
So as Member we can get our posts deleted by a none member by him swearing on it, boy I'm in trouble.. LOL..:)
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:04
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:04
No Richard I will simply remove the offending part.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:05
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:05
So whats new?? Your always in trouble :-))
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:46
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:46
Thank you David..
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:48
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:48
Yes
John,
I am always in trouble,, ;-)
Must be the side of the road I grew up on.. LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Jason S (SA) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 02:53
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 02:53
I though they put gutters on both sides of the road?!
Haha!!
Sorry Lad, I just couldn't read past that one !
Bank a free one at me.
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:03
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:03
Well, I'm of the opinion that some "colourful" words have a greater impact if used in the right place. Now, I don't mean "hard core" offensive swear words, but the everyday ones that almost all Aussies use in day to day communication.
In fact, I get quite a chuckle when I see some of the formatting used to slip through the swear word monitor. It is just plain old Aussie humour.
Let's face it, "bleep" just does not carry any IMPACT does it. Even if it is in red.
Actually, the most offensive word to me is the one used in place of the good old dunny, thunderbox, crapper, even
toilet.
Loo,......what the?......where'd that stupid word come from for Jesus's dad's sake.
(Can't use the common word for Jesus's dad because that would be bleeped out.)
OK, sorry David, we get your point. You are only trying to protect your business interests, but if you make it too squeaky clean, you risk losing all the characterisation that helps make the
Forum what it is.
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:10
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:10
Agreed - do not want it too squeaky but I am tired of the offensive words that seem to be cropping up all too often these days. There are two or three words that I am really targeting. As for the characterisation of the place I also agree however if there is too much offensive behaviour then we will also risk losing another group that may not want to read it. Hard line to walk, lets not get too emotional about it if you don't post the offensive swear words then there will be no problem. For most users this is not a problem and should not be seen as one.
PS: Christ is not a bleeper word.
Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:10
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:10
can't remember the thread but I got a chuckle out of a "bleepzu" a couple of weeks ago.
now what sort of manner of dorg is that, and are they worth breeding?
In other words I'm with you sandman 100%, weed out the really nasty, but lets keep the character.
Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 08:36
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 08:36
Sandman.... Jesus' dad was a bloke named Joseph...... but "What The Joseph" doesn't have a ring to it at all does it?????
LOL....
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:22
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:22
I wonder if "Jumping Jehosephat" could be regarded as safe.....LOL
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:30
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:30
STONE HIM!!!!!!!!
Reply By: Jimbo - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:13
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:13
Tough one this David,
Just what is considered swearing in 2007? I'm 45 and
well remember when"bloody" was bleeped out on the radio. It is now consisdered to be mainstream language.
The slang for faeces is often spoken on evening TV news broadcasts, and morning radio when used as a quote from a prominent person.
The slang for copulation seems to be allowed on any old TV show or movie after about 9 at night.
The term "Swearing" is a broad and widely encompassing one. One man's foul language may be anoter's oratory.
Very hard to define.
Good luck,
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:19
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:19
A magistrate recently tossed out a case of Offensive Language directed towards a Police Officer based on the commonality of the words used in todays society.
I would guess that shows how "normal" our language has become.
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:20
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:20
Nah not that hard if I or others do not like it I will delete it. You are also right that it is hard to define but I am only interested in the really offensive words, what are these
well what would you like your 6 - 16 year old daughter to read on a public
forum. If you do not have one then how would you like to be spoken to - not by your mates but say in business. It is not that hard to work out the language that is and is not acceptable.
Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:43
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:43
Fair call David,
I'm not one to use foul/offensive language on this
forum, never have.
ATB,
Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:56
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:56
David,
Thanx for caring and keeping up some of the morals we as fair minded Aussies would wish for our families.
It's about time that SOME PEOPLE started to consider other people and swearing or suggestive words does not help anyone.
People complain everyday about the way our
young ones carry on - no wonder - some of the gherkinheads on here perpetuate it...
Grrr!!!
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:18
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:18
You are right Jimbo. Very good of you. Congratulations on not swearing,
Trouble is that some of your inane posts has led to others swearing at you, in pure frustration.
Hahahahahahahahaha!!!.................
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 11:24
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 11:24
>> Nah not that hard if I or others do not like it I will delete it.
I dont like the word Toyota, Im deeply offended by it. Can you add it to the filter pls.
thanks
Yours in ****
Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:33
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:33
Don't suppose you could add 'Landrover' to that filter to eh ???
Pezza
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 17:35
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 17:35
or problems with my 3.0 GU.....
Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:38
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:38
I am afraid that many of the words you are referring to make up the content of the Australian Venacular. Most of them are found in the Australian Dictionaries. It is way of self expression to accentuate an event or happening. People walk on the streets with many of these words emblazoned on their T shirts. This is 2007.
I sympathise with you and you have made the 'bleep' word a byword on this
forum.
I am not a regular swearer but am guilty of altering the words to make them fit(Soundex; Meaning it sounds like) into the context of the sentence. Other contributors swear openly and get bleeped. One of your words that gets bleeped regularly is Peninsula. Why I don't know.
The short answer is to take time (or
delegate) to make up a list of all the words or Soundex words. Other than that I have no answers. Maybe Regular Visitors can be banned for a week and Members can be fined by excluding them from the
Forum for a period of time. For example: If you type CHIT(a written note in its real form) to replace **** then you are banned for a day.( I picked this word up from Roachie...lol)
The more one does, the busier it gets....lol
Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:46
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:46
One gains wisdom with age.
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:50
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:50
By age then, I should have a fair amount of it....LOL
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:57
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:57
( I picked this word up from Roachie...lol)
Now that got a laugh.. lol ;)
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:59
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:59
Hoy, YOU!!!!! Don't bring ME into this!!!!;-))
I'm as pure as the driven snow!!! If I've typed "chit" in a post, it would had to have been in the context of a "small note"; after all, what else does it mean???
I think I said once that I'd been to the Nissan dealer and he gave me a chit so that I could get something or other from somewhere else; or something like that......;-))
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:17
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:17
So Roachie, after you have received numerous numbers of these chits, and they don't come to fruition, does that mean your "chitted off"
Apology to David, should I ban my self or leave it up to you. :)))))))))))))
Reply By: The Explorer - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:49
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:49
Hello Dave - a read of the posts so far suggests some sort of arrogance and/or over inflated ego filter would solve at least half the problem.
Good luck.
| I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874 Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message Moderator |
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:06
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:06
I hope you have some software advice to automate that one Greg. Had a laugh at the thought. I too wish David good luck! Have some sympathy for his plight though.
Reply By: lifeisgood - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:09
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:09
I'm backing you on this one David.
I am sick of hearing bad language in public
places including trains, radio stations (some) and TV . I think it got a heck of a lot worse thanks to the Yanks - with movies like Police academy. Kids have watched so many movies with foul mouthed actors / scripts that they have adopted it into there own language. (every 3rd meaningless word )
We had a swear money jar at
home for visiting teenagers and older who forgot Mrs X was in the room. It helped them remember next time they visited-- and they were more considerate!
Its mostly just a bad habit --- yes thats just IMHO
Good on you David and thanks for trying
Reply By: markeaust - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:27
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:27
Hmmmmmmmmm.......
not even a 'bleep' from Truckie on this one!?!?!?!?!!! 8-)
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 12:26
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 12:26
I cant stop laughing.. maybe some of these people are still living in 1200BC.. LMAO
Reply By: John R (SA) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:46
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:46
Good to hear David.
Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 00:08
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 00:08
G'day David,
Come!, Come!, this is Australia we are proud of our stairght forward, straight at it attitude. We don't beat about the bush, not backwards in coming forward when speaking!
Please, Please! do not become so scrutinised that we are gagged by a public
forum such as this.
Family site, what the? I have never heared from anyone under 18 as far as I know and as far as wifes, SWMBO or the 'missus' are concerned, I never heard a complaint. My wife can not see anything wrong with any lanuage that I've shown her on this site.
Lets just hope the 'religious right' is not involved or there are any hidden agendas with religious overtones.
Follow Up By: Junior - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 00:42
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 00:42
Fairnough Andy, but what ever happened to using a bit of Strine? What ever happened to the clever Aussie slang that was our signature? Religious right???... what the...??? Reckon you're off on a bit of a tangent there mate. Straight forward- fair call- but lets not get lazy and boring by simply requrgitating whatever the Yanks throw at us! (Which isn't much!)
PS:
John- while we're talking language- for crying out loud mate- it's "you're" OR "you are" NOT "your" in the context you used- it's bad enough that the kids these days can't get it right... aaaaaargh!!! :-)))
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 03:56
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 03:56
My humble apologies Junior for the misuse of the word "Your" when it should have been as you say"You're" or "You Are"
But might I point out that "People in glass houses" etc etc and draw your attention to your misspelling and misapplication of the word "Regurgitating"
My current thought is that the word regurgitating is a ba$tardisation of the word regurgitate??? and the correct application in your sentence is actually and simply "Regurgitation" or "Regurgitate". (Happy to stand corrected if I am wrong)
IE
lets not get lazy and boring by the simple "regurgitation" of whatever the Yanks throw at us! (Which isn't much!)
or
lets not get lazy and boring by allowing ourselves to "regurgitate" whatever the Yanks throw at us! (Which isn't much!)
I have never professed to be an expert of the English language and would never be so bold as to lecture or criticise others on this
forum the various aspects of the language, least of all without trying to get the spelling let alone the pronunciation right if I was to do so.
Follow Up By: Mark R - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 06:14
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 06:14
John,
Should be "let's" or "let us" and not "lets". LOL. Couldn't resist (note correct use of apostrophe in "couldn't")!
Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 08:11
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 08:11
Oh please, frustrated english teachers are we .
Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:39
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:39
How dare you refer to the bible bashing wowser minority in such a frivolous manner...
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 11:15
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 11:15
Thanks Mark to many of those pesky little apostrophes in life to cope with.
Especially in the early hours of the morning.
Thats the point Baz, not to many of us profess to be English teachers, least of all me!!!
This pious attitude that we see every so often directed towards the ability of people to spell or their grammar etc is becoming rather tiresome.
I don't think there is a poster on here who at sometime has not stuffed up their spelling etc and in the end Who really cares?
Follow Up By: Junior - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 19:18
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 19:18
Pious attitude??? Certainly the first time I've ever been accused of that!
Did you not see the :-))) at the end of my comments?
Mate, you've gotta relax a little. Yep, I did 'misspell' (actually mis-typed) a word and even mogrelisededededededed it a little too!!!
I too have "never professed to be an expert of the English language", and was just poking some fun... but you have my pious permission to stay angry at me if you prefer.
Guess I'll just stick to answering tech questions if I think I can help and leave it at that!
Reply By: Junior - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 01:32
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 01:32
David- I agree with your post, but can't help myself... I have certainly been guilty of doing the whole %@$?* thing on occassion, so NOT having a go, but
check this one out.............. Post- 39715. "ExplorOz Team - Michelle posted this followup
yes, and then there is.... "them..." instead of "those" !@#$%&*" Heh heh
:-)))
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 11:37
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 11:37
Junior,
The type of replacement is fine and not one that I mind at all. the ones I dislike and will moderate are (
well I annot post them) but say 4 letters people put and F and a K say and have two litle * in between or similar. a string of #!@*&^%$ really means nothing and is left to the readers imagination and as such is an OK way to use replacements.
That is all I am trying to clean up nit every use of *&^%$#@.
Follow Up By: Junior - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 18:51
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 18:51
Just a bit of tongue-in-cheek mate (hence the 'heh heh and :-))) )- I understand and agree with your approach.
Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 02:00
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 02:00
Fair enough David. If you can get people to stop saying (verbally not typed) 'like' and 'you know' 3 times every sentence then that will be an achievement.
Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:41
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:41
Check out todays post re exactly this in the Humour post...
Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:43
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:43
You know what I'm sayin'
Like, yeah!
Cool !, Let's go to Calders Parks for some draggin'.....
in the fully sick Commodore
I'd rather have a bit of Aussie language rather than the above bulldroppings.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 11:12
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 11:12
like its oh my god like you know
Reply By: Member No 1- Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 07:54
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 07:54
if we minimise it guys the boss wont wave his big stick......
Reply By: Redback - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 08:36
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 08:36
I think this is very amusing.
Some of you blokes will be hard up for something to say.
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:15
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:15
Hahahahahahaha...........................
Reply By: Keith_A (Qld) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 08:58
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 08:58
I also support David on this issue. In families and schools, all the way up to nations, the rules and example of leadership sets the tone and behaviour.
You can see many examples around today, where people (families/nations) don't have a standard to strive for.
So lets lift the standard of our
forum a bit................Keith.
(...climbing down off the soap box....)
Follow Up By: Gronk - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:06
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:06
I think if everyone replied to the question asked instead of using a reply as an excuse for a chat line ( or abuse line ) then things may not degenerate into having to swear at each other !!!!!!!!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Traveller (QLD) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:27
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:27
Good for you Keith, agree completely. There are some pretty poor examples set these days. A gradual decline in standards. My wife is a supply teacher for both primary and secondary and she is shocked, even these days, at some of the tripe that can only have come from the "homes" of some of these kids.
David, you have my support also.
Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 19:13
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 19:13
Sorry traveller, but what is a supply teacher?
Many years since my kids went to school and we just had teachers?
Cheers Pesty
Follow Up By: Member - Traveller (QLD) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 19:39
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 19:39
Hi Pesty. Here in Qld a supply teacher is a registered teacher who fills in for teachers taking a day or week off sick, at a seminar or unexpected transfers. Usually within a radius of 100 k's, sometimes an hours notice but usually a day or two. My missus enjoys it, keeps her in touch with the trade and is financially rewarding. Strangely, she is in demand toward the end of terms when some of her colleagues use up their spare
sickies!
Reply By: RovingOz (QLD) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:36
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:36
Agree there's no need for the hard stuff. I wasn't allowed to say bloody growing up.
My wife & I were watching the Sapranos from the video store one night and were totally appalled when a certain word was used. We could not believe it. It has sneaked into other series also from the US.
3 strikes and you're out should be the rule. Humans don't respond to warnings much, only dire consequences.
Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:47
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:47
That's a fair call David,
I do not have a problem with it, and I guess 90% of the regular users will not either.
Does that mean that the 'Friday Funny' will be subject to a lot more scrutiny than it has in the past??
Even if the words are not there, the inuendo is...
Michael
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 11:41
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 11:41
Yeah Friday Funnies
well I will just see how I feel on the day I guess. But I will try to be as liberal and fair in appling the DEL option as I can but there are just some posts that are totally un-called for and these are what I am targetting.
Reply By: V8Diesel - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 10:06
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 10:06
I think it's an important part of the Aussie vernacular and on occasion nothing else will do for getting a point across, but it's your show mate so I'll respect the homeowner's rules.
Reply By: Camoco - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 10:10
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 10:10
I agree with David's ideas.
The world is degenerating for the sake of being lazy. Smarter people swear less. Smart isn't just brains, it includes common sense as
well.
Let's think about what we say before our verbal diarrhoea pours out. Most posts inflect the tone without the additional words. The use of STRONG caps would be a better solution if you need to emphasise.
We can still be Aussies without needing to swear. True Blue Aussies never swore in front of anyone other than friends (or unless they were really drunk). And as we are Public, we cannot all be friends even if we think we may be.
Keep up the good work David.
Cheers Cam
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 10:53
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 10:53
Geez Cam,
I hope your not Truckie's son (Cam) :)))))))))
Follow Up By: Camoco - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 11:01
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 11:01
I hope he's not that old that I could be!!!
(not that I am old but I have an old mind. I borrowed it from someone but forgot who so I've still got it)
Cheers Cam
Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 11:36
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 11:36
Stone the flamin crows, strewth, crikey and pluck a duck ! Don't Youse blokes go telling any pork pies. You wouldn't be having a lend of me ?
The English language is always evolving. Today's repugnance might
well be tomorrow's commonplace.
Sadly, our own variations are being lost, and foreign expressions abound.
Like Mc Donalds. KFC. Pizza Hut.
Baggy gang clothes, hats worn sideways. 9yo Paris Hiltons.
And who's fault is it ? Yours and
mine.
David's stand is admirable, but won't mean much in the long run.
When a society's children are perfectly at
home telling their teachers to bleep off, and the school accepts this as a valid form of *self expression* (don't make waves), you know we're in trouble.
A culture of *me* first, and the removal of the word *respect* from the dictionary, have not helped.
Crass commercialism and moral bankrupcy appear to go hand in hand.
All the way with whoever they have.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 11:41
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 11:41
Spot on Footy.
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 11:47
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 11:47
Blood oath mate totally agree and isn't it a sad thing. We can only do our little but and as you say it will make no real difference but I am not the type not to have a go.
I swear like a trooper with my mates but swearing in the written word is a totally different thing. The use of some carefully placed )*&^%@ is not the issue see my reply above to Junior about the things I am looking at.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 12:02
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 12:02
I'm also not a wowser in any way, much the opposite. My language is appropriate to the setting.
If I'm at the Town Hall, my language might be quite different to my language at the Pub. "How now brown cow" doesn't go down too
well with some.
I've even been told to take the plum out of my mouth on occasions:))
I applaud freedom of speech. But in my book that doesn't mean that you ignore the sensibilities of your audience.
My son is a boilermaker, and at work every sentence uses some *interesting* words. When he comes
home on leave his language also changes.
It can be done :))
Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 12:43
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 12:43
Well said Footie, there is a time and place for everything. I grew up minding my language in mixed company - my kids however seem to think differently about this. I often think that a good kick in the pants might have fixed that but that is another issue.
Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:35
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:35
"My language is appropriate to the setting."
So very true Footy, language used at a blokes only night out just wouldn't fit sitting down to dinner with mum and the kids.
Come to think of it I was about 17yo before I heard my father swear, quite taken aback I was to think that he even knew such words........LOL
A public
forum it may be but if thems is the rules, thems is the rules..
Michael
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 19:14
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 19:14
>I swear like a trooper with my mates but swearing in
>the written word is a totally different thing.
Why?
Reply By: PhilZD30Patrol - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:45
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:45
Hi David
Guilty as charged........sorry!
I happen to agree with you. There is no reason why I or anyone else has to use swear words or even conversions to imply an obscenity to get our point across, and as it may be offensive to other users I will in the future refrain from doing so.
Reply By: Member No 1- Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:07
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:07
why cant we have wing dings for font type...then no one can understand it till its decoded in word
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:22
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:22
dont try this! I lost a letter that way - after it has been saved it will NOT neccessarily decode back!
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:22
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:22
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:31
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:31
i agree andrew...I think ?????
Reply By: D-Jack - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 16:46
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 16:46
I agree with Cam, swearing is just the idiot's way of being able to communicate. As for swearing becoming acceptable, you wouldn't say these words in front of a 2 year old learning to talk (
well most of you with some sort of moral values wouldn't anyway), that should be the judge of acceptable.
And you know that swearing isn't allowed on this
forum, so why try to get around it by adding &%$^&(*^&???
When we joined up we all agreed to the terms and conditions of the site -
well this thread is saying abide by them, or have your post or response deleted, or get booted off the
forum. Pretty fair request if you ask me.
D-Jack
Reply By: Wombat - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 16:53
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 16:53
And I just thought it was people who couldn't spell swear words.
Reply By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 10:16
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 10:16
Good for you David - one of the things that make this site so enjoyable is the lack of idiotic banter between posters - some is okay but sometimes it just degenerates into the ridiculous - like the couple a few posts down from yours - I posted recently on this specifically regarding a couple of other sites where there is always some "insite" banter t othe point of name calling, insulting etc(with language included) - and got an earful from one of the below posters - by the way - I can cuss with the best of them - but there is a time and place for everything - and a public
forum is not that place in my opinion, it shows a total disregard for other people.
This site has a wealth of information, and it would be a shame if it were restricted because of some peoples rudeness, I think.
David and the site have a right to enforce posting rules if they consider them to be inappropriate or offensive.
jules