Couldn’t wipe the smile off my face with a shovel

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 21:44
ThreadID: 41868 Views:3825 Replies:13 FollowUps:19

Just took Delivery of a new XR6 Turbo and Wow does this thing Pull. Haven’t taken it over 3000Rpm yet being a new engine and all, but it has plenty on tap.

Went up a steep hill on the way Home and slowed down to 30km/h half way up nocked it up to 3rd gear and it just pulled away as if it was in 1st, what a machine LOL

Turned a corner that is on a hill near my house and took off as I do in the explorer and the traction control Lights started flashing at me, I see I am going to need to take it easy on the loud peddle in this thing LOL.

It’s all tucked away in the garage now till I get home from work tomorrow arvo, man is going to work tomorrow ever going to suck, well I guess that’s the down side to getting a new car, paying for it LOL.

Reply By: twabbit - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 21:48

Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 21:48
hammer the engine and they shut down. sensors on cam....but you will see.......... anyhoo......... good luck....and enjoy :)
AnswerID: 219092

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 21:53

Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 21:53
What do you call hammer??
Mine has not done that yet and it also goes very very well :-))

FollowupID: 479562

Reply By: twabbit - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:00

Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:00
john
hammer - excessive pressure of right foot on a thing called an accelerator.
:0P
AnswerID: 219098

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:36

Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:36
Sorry I should have been a little clearer, I understand the term "hammer" the question I was asking was at what point does the "Electronics" shut the engine down?

I have hammered mine and have not found that point that engine management would shut it down as yet.

FollowupID: 479592

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 07:53

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 07:53
Guys, i suppose he means 14 pound hammer or 500 rpm past redline :)
Although ive never drove an xr6t, i can vividly remember my Safari turbo intercooled 4.5 landcruiser...or as a friend joked...3 tonne wrx....should i point you in the direction of www.aps.com.au ??? they are the old safari doods and are playing with 400kw xr6's at the moment :)
FollowupID: 479653

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 07:57

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 07:57
Sorry, too many abreviations...try this Site Link
FollowupID: 479654

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 11:22

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 11:22
Dozer my tacho has no red line on it, I'm sure your correct but at what point does that occur?
I will have to go and read the owners manual I guess?

I have to say though, its certainly the most exciting vehicle I have ever owned (Thats to say aside from my Troopy) ;-)

FollowupID: 479708

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 20:23

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 20:23
If you ever get to drive an GTP Falcon you'll find you don't even get the opportunity to watch the red line before she shuts down. They are that bloody quick and also better than the new SS I had a few weeks ago for evaluation. I prefer the 3 tonne subaru and it's a lot safer!! (for me)
FollowupID: 479860

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:14

Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:14
XR6 Turbo?

Now you being a Ford nut Exploder, should experience the sheer exilaration in driving the old Phase 3 Falcon. That was quite a machine in it's day.

Me, well I used to own and drive a 5 litre Monaro, but now I have the maturity to enjoy holding back a bit and "smelling the flowers" so to speak. I like going from point A to point E, but diverting along the way to points B, C & D if the feeling takes me.

Must be an AGE thing:-)

AnswerID: 219105

Follow Up By: Exploder - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:26

Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 22:26
LOL The old man had a XYGT, but Sold it in the erly 80's when I was just a Kid so have bugger all memories of it.

Age thing, well Partly, but I just enjoy cars and 4WD’s, always wanted to own a Pro-Formance car before it was too late and everything Luckily just fell into place for this so I got it.

The old man picked it up for me he's 56 and a cop and he loves it. LOL

Wanted a V8 but the bang for Buck out of this car is too hard to turn down, the Off idle response is very nice and full boost of a low 5-6Psi is a 2000RPM I believe.

FollowupID: 479586

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:13

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:13
Tempted, like the look of the XR6t, but better not.
About the same age as your Dad, so hopefully have learned a few leasons.
Can't trust myself not to drive too quick, and do something silly.
Too many mistakes in the past, I shouldn't still be alive.
Those ford GTs of old were quick, but then I only had a worked cooper S.
Good fun passing them on the inside on corners, but then they had the legs on the straights. Next door had a 327 monaro, almost full race, it was fast.
Ohter mate had a 327 V8 in a GTR torana.
Running a MK1 VW golf GTi at the moment, with a warmed MKII GTi motor.
Keeps up with any commode or falcon with 230kw or so, gives some of the unexpecting young blokes a bit of a surprise when they try and take you from the lights.
Bit of a sleeper, and the cops ignore old blokes with grey hair driving old cars these days. Has to be an advantage to getting older. :o) Too many memories of being pulled over for a road worthy and drug search.
I just plod along in the sub 15 sec bracket.

Enjor your car. Got me a little jealous. I always found it took about 6 months to find the limits of a new car. At 12 months, it gets dangerous.
FollowupID: 479671

Reply By: Dieseljuice - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:25

Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:25
Well,

LOL for getting an XR6...LOL

It makes me LOL that you mention it in a 4x4 and camping forum LOL

I cant say too much more LOL as all this LOLing is hurting my ribs from too much LOL.

So ill leave it there for now, but suggest that if you put the XR6 motor in ya explorer then you can LOL on the beach, mud and gravel LOL

Ps did I say LOL?

DJ
AnswerID: 219121

Follow Up By: ImEasy - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 10:12

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 10:12
DJ,

du dummer stummer Stichel!!!!!
FollowupID: 479693

Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 15:40

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 15:40
Mate I have seen all types of car’s discussed at one time or another on this forum, The Forum Management don’t have a issue with it (They told me so in E-mail) and David has been clamping down lately on forum Topics so what’s your problem then.

I come on hear for more than Just talking about a 4WD, I am hear for the atmosphere, the Knowledge that others bring to this site and Enjoyment.

I mate a new purchase and thought I would share it with other on the forum who may like my-self have a interest in all things automotive, If you don’t like it don’t Reply and if Forum management has a problem with the content they would delate it.

There I even complied with David’s new policy and controlled the language.
FollowupID: 479790

Reply By: awill4x4 - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:27

Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:27
When you feel you've got used to all the power here's a video from Nizpro here in Melbourne of their 1000 + bhp engine on their engine dyno.
1000 bhp on dyno
Those XR6 turbo engines are just soooooo easy to get some serious horsepower out of.
Regards Andrew.

AnswerID: 219123

Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:44

Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:44
You type LOL a lot Exploder. Are you pleased with your recent purchase?
AnswerID: 219128

Follow Up By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 12:24

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 12:24
Barnsey....I guess he is..... Laughing Out Loud!!

Bet I would be too with his purchase!!!
FollowupID: 479724

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 02:18

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 02:18
nice :-)) one of the torqiest machines on the road....

now to get down to one of many workshops that can discreetly mod her up to pull 300kw plus at the wheels while looking factory stock ;-)

Very nice machine...
AnswerID: 219143

Reply By: Member - Jason S (SA) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 02:47

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 02:47
forget the workshop. Call Motech and ask for a computer upgrade. Pull the OEM out , get the memcal out and plug in your new one. Keep the OEM unit for Ford warranty services and the like.

Hit a dyno and get them to map a few graphs for you.

All that's left to do is have the ride of your life.

AnswerID: 219144

Reply By: Shane (QLD) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 07:12

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 07:12
Yes I know what your talking about ! I previously had a BA XR8 and now own a BF XR6T 6 speed auto. On a recent trip to Sydney when overtaking I thought that I was on full boost only to find on pushing the loud pedal down further it dropped back a gear & took off like there was no tomorrow. I then had to go for the stoppers to hall off the massive increase in speed when pulling back in. These cars have it over the XR8 as their maximum torque comes in at 2000rpm as against 4000rpm, so yes they are a very potent machine down low & up top. Mine has now done 6000k's & my overall fuel consumption on the trip was 9.8lts/100 & I was not sparing the horses. As others have said get a CAPA Edit & you will be getting about 240 rwkw which will be close to or better than a standard Typhoon, but watch your Warranty. The main problem with these cars, is that you get sick of seeing other cars disappearing in the rearview mirror! Enjoy the ride !
AnswerID: 219147

Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 15:43

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 15:43
Thanks mate, yeah it is staying stock at the moment, I would like to make full use of the warranty.

Coming out of a 154Kw 4WD into a 245Kw Sports sedan is something else, The old X is going to feel like a slug now.
FollowupID: 479791

Reply By: Redback - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 08:38

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 08:38
I had an XR600 once, that used to pull well in third too.

I love the vibration, aspecially when he screws it on in second!!!
AnswerID: 219155

Reply By: amcjavelinsst - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:21

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:21
Hmmmm - old V8's. Well my tag speaks for itself, have a 1970 Javelin SST - with the 390 in it. In process of importing a 401 crank and torqueflit 727 to suit the AMC motor (American Motor Corporation) - which was badged under Rambler in Oz made my AMI (Australian Motor Industries).

Even imported a very rare - like try 4 years of searching for a decent one - original steel ram air bonnett with all the functioning vacuum controls in it that has been garaged since the mid 80's.

Spending a small fortune doing the old girl up, but trying to do that and have a 4wd at the same time, especially the Jeep WG Grand Limited, and wanting all the camping gear to boot - means that a slow build is a good build.

As only 70 of these were made in Oz, people really dont know what the heck it is so the looks are really good from people. Cant wait to paint it red, white & blue - just like it was raced in the Trans America racing teams.

AMC also were the original Jeep manufacturers, and the Jeep part of the business was the only reason why Chrysler bought out AMC under the Great American Buyback in the 80's where tax incentives were given out to reinvest back into American companies - Chrysler only really kept the Jeep part.

Go AMC and Go Jeep :-P

Thought I would share

Cheers all

Graeme
AnswerID: 219164

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:58

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 09:58
Very cool muscle car you've got there. Our local hood drove a matte black one with a 390 in it. New a couple of dudes with the 343ci (?) Aussie delivery Ramblers and my grandma knew a doctor who drove a one of them fugly Matador's.

I went duck shooting as a kid in dad's mate's Rambler. An American I think. Very cool old car. They used galvanising for rust protection ton I think.

The Alabama Highway Patrol had Javelin's as chase cars. They look well cool in cop car livery.
FollowupID: 479688

Follow Up By: amcjavelinsst - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 10:26

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 10:26
Yeah Cheers for that V8Diesel - I reckon they are cool. Tempted now and then to seel for the dollars, but know I would regret it immediately - know many a person who has done just that and I have a few numbers from those same people to be in line to snap mine up if I were to sell. Many people come in off the street enquiring about it - is sitting at the folks place with the yellow sticker from a few years back. Styicker items were - clean the motor, connect the heater hose and transfert into my name - copo then asked what type of car it was and I said you tell me, your the mechanic! haha made me feel better.

Yeah, they used galvanised body parts and chassis, which is good, I have very minor rust in mine, easily fixed in the small areas that it is in. The 343 motor (you were right) in my year of car would make it the Donohue Javelin - I have all the guff to make mine look like that - I bought a mint Donohue Grille, Rear roof spoiler and rear boot spoiler - all original and cost a tad. Luckily I have the good fortune of a the great help extended to me from a bloke in Perth who imports Chev parts a lot and I can use his containers for sea and also jump on his air freight runs as well - without that help it would cost a lot more.

The help from AMC enthusiasts in the States is unreal - they really do help a lot when they know what you are trying to do and appreciate the AMC brand and really go out of their way to assist - have only had good dealings to date and expect it to continue as such.

Will be getting Ben Ludlow in Perth to do the motor - I so can't wait until I get the crank and TF727 over, then the fun really starts. Will cool it a bit after the motor is done - recover from that then get into the body work.

Funny thing about doing the motor up is I want it to be as mean as cat bleep , but really just want it to sound the part - have the go along with the look - these days am just happy to cruise along - maturing has a way of tempering the reckless days of old, not to mention outright dangerous ways of past.

Sure it wont have aircon - but it will look and sound better then anything that does have it :-P

Graeme
FollowupID: 479699

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 11:10

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 11:10
Is the Torque Flite an A or B model and is the bolt pattern the same as a Dodge? The one's I've used were a one piece design so you couldn't just use a different bellhousing. Either way they are a mighty strong unit and can handle practically anything. Cool factor is good too.

I agree with the donk. Go for a cam that gives you plenty of neddies from idle. The full race setup sounds good on paper but instant grunt off the line will be much more fun and driveable. Better on fuel too. Don't over carb it either. Been there and done that. Nice to have all the grunt from idle to 4,000RPM - not 4,000 to 8,000. Are you getting valve seats hardened for ULP and LPG while it's apart? Always a good option.

With the exhaust, if you go a twin system (what else?) make sure it doesn't have a balance pipe. You loose the rumble. It should be LOUD hahahahhah.

Half your luck Graeme, sounds like goooooood fun.
FollowupID: 479705

Follow Up By: amcjavelinsst - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 11:51

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 11:51
Gday again V8Diesel,

Dunno whether it is an A or B TF727, actually. I know I needed one off a 11972 up AMC, as you said, a one piece design, I think the one I have got may be off of a 1974 AMC, but will have to look through emails of past to find out exactly what one. Either way, it will be heaps better then Borg Warner which would fall apart at the 550+ HP (and in the Old Scale too).

These motors love to Rev and may be hard to beleive, but they will keep up with the accelerator pedal, ie no delay time in revs, it will be suck in and spit out everything thrown at it.

Yep - will be getting to be ULP friendly, it does not take much with these anyway to do, use 98 Octane and all is good.

Yeah, the cam is the hardest part to pick really for me - will rely a lot on the engine builder for that one, driveability is not too big a factor being mainly the SUnday show off car, however, will become a factor in reality I know, so will gerr on the side of cautiion of that one.

Over carbing wont be an issue with it - I hate the cost of motec or indy EFI, but do far prefer it - just means longer time to build up, which I dont mind really adding another 4 months to build to cater for EFI - just as heap of dollars at once it hurts, so helps to spread over a period of time.

Nah, no balance pipe at all - had one on my 69 V6 Capri, suited that well, but wont suit the Jav.

Cheers for the interest V8Diesel and yep - fun it is. Will definitely have big butterflies in a few years when all is said and done & I can drive out of the pits with it licensed. :-P :-P :-P

Graeme
FollowupID: 479718

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:15

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:15
Best of luck to you mate. Remember the Jeep association with AMC so don't forget to post up the pics!

Re: the TF trans - The small block version ('A') was a 904 and the bigger one ('B' motors) was a 702 I think. Ask about the 'Clutch-Flite' Torque flite. It had a sizeable flywheel and clutch in front of the auto. Nice.

FollowupID: 479737

Reply By: Member - Ivan H (NSW) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 17:15

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 17:15
Congrat's on the car, but do yourself a favour and drive it like you stole it straight away.
It's a proven fact over our groups (fordxr6turbo.com) dyno days that granny run in cars only get around 180rwkw in auto, and 190rwkw in manual form.
The proper run in's get around 195rwkw in auto and 210rwkw in manual form.
These are all the 240kw versions, haven't had a dyno day since the 245's were released.
I'd suggest a track day before you hit 500km's, and an oil change to full synthetic at 3000kms.

They are very easy cars to do up with plenty of inexpensive options out there.
Want bettery handling - Get better tyres
Find there is too much body roll - upgrade the sway bars
Brakes not good enough,or shudder - upgrade the brakes
Want more power - Get an edit (up to 270rwkw safely)
Want even more - Upgrade the injectors and your over 300rwkw.
Want even more - Check out the site link above.

Enjoy it, I know I had lots of fun in the two I had :)

AnswerID: 219294

Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 21:02

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 21:02
Cheers mate; yeah I have been loading it up and all that stuff, but not revving the hell out of it, if you nkow what i mean.

FollowupID: 479869

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 19:16

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 19:16
Hi there Exploder, good on ya, nothing like buying new and no that its never been driven by anybody but you. My uncle has one in ute form and boy what a fun machine to drive, jump on it to quick and the rear end steps out real quick and flicks from side to side gotta love the old lime diff, even deadlier in the wet. Enjoy your new machine. I can even get the old lux to whip out the rear end when I'm going round the roundabout and its wet 42psi in the tyres and no load in the back LOL. Take it easy and watch those blue and red lights. Enjoy. Steve M
AnswerID: 219317

Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 20:59

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 20:59
Thanks Stephen, I have a feeling this is going to be my first and last new car for quite a wile, with buying a house and all the other fun stuff those life throes at ya in the coming future, so you got to take what you can when you can.

cheers.
FollowupID: 479867