Tassie Travellers
Submitted: Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 08:28
Member - Nick (TAS)
Gday all, just a quick post to let anyone comen down to tassie that my wife and I are now operating a workshop/servo(Moto Mechanical) in Chudleigh and can give out heaps of good local attraction info to see and do in the area.So call in and say Gday, so we can put some more faces to names on here.
Happy Travelling.
Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 08:51
Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 08:51
Gday Nick
God to see its all up and running, best of luck with the new venture.....don't know when we will be down that way, but it is on the list....the heat up here is really opressive at the moment - the official temps are around 40, but it feels much worse than that. we haven't had much rain for a while, hope it starts again soon.
Cheers Andrew
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 11:59
Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 11:59
Its a balmy 23 deg here atm, even got shorts on.No rain here either, very dry.
I must admit that I do miss the temp up there(am I mad) and we will be back but only holidaying so Im told.Have you bagged any Barra yet this season??, pls no pictures though lol.
Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 12:26
Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 12:26
Went for a fish yesterday morning at Buttons....1 small catfish. maybe going out of
wyndham on Monday to Parry's, hopefully we will have better luck there.
Will post a picture if we have any luck
Cheers Andrew
Reply By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 08:53
Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 08:53
Hi Nick,
Thanks for the invite. We'll give it a go - as soon as we find Chudleigh on the map...
Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 09:00
Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 09:00
Ian - try Google maps. They are stunningly fast. And they can give you the best route from your front door to Nick's garage! Beat the socks off NRMA, Sensis etc
Max
ps and all the best Nick - it'll be a while before we get to Tas again but its a great place to settle. Did you come from
Kununurra?
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 12:04
Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 12:04
No worries Ian-PM sent.
Max, we spent all last year up in
Kununurra but originally from here.
Reply By: Strahan - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 11:22
Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 11:22
Hi Nick, I'm born and bred in Tassie (Not from
Strahan), but
Hobart. I have never heard of Chudliegh! Where abouts is it???
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 11:41
Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 11:41
I'm an
Adelaide boy, but google Maps showed me the way.
Head west from
Launceston along the Bass highway (1) and drive though
Deloraine and along the
Mole Creek Road (B12) to Chudleigh.
Great place Tassie.
Follow Up By: mq swb - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 11:46
Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 11:46
Sand Man beat me to it, Chudleigh is basically further inland from
Deloraine near
Mole Creek and
Cave Side, my father's family are from caveside and my dad grew up in chudleigh. HTH
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 12:14
Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 12:14
Whats your fathers family name, Im a born and bred Caveside man,
well 20 years while the rest(apart from one in
Kununurra) have been in Chudleigh.
Follow Up By: Strahan - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 17:18
Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 17:18
Ah with you now! Got friend who has just bought a place on
Emu Bay Road near
Deloraine. Not near any lakes or the ocean though....
Follow Up By: mq swb - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 21:00
Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 21:00
Nick his name is Peter Lee, dad hasn't lived there for a long time but they use to live opposite the old school, we also had relo's who use to care take the
deloraine race track this is going back 30 years and we still have a cousin living in chudleigh by the name of ronnie
wilson (i think)
Reply By: madfisher - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 12:54
Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 12:54
Goodluck with the new venture Nick,
Hoping to get down feb 2008 For some flyfishing and sightfishing. Have though of moving down but at my age it would be hard to get a job, and I dont have the get up and go anymore to take on a business. Love tassie and the people are great
Reply By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 15:27
Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 15:27
Keep an eye out fot the Penthouse , should be there in about 5 weeks or so . Errol
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 18:26
Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 18:26
No worries, see you here.
Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 20:43
Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 20:43
Thanks for the invite Nick
We will be there in November for a month or so of touring.
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 07:46
Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 07:46
No worries Willem, be good to finally meet you.
Reply By: goldiedingdangdo - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 20:44
Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 20:44
Chudleigh,
That's the place with the magical honey place and the salmon
farm up the road. Fueled up there nearly 12 months ago, with honey as
well. Good luck, lovely atmosphere and a great part of the world.
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 07:47
Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 07:47
Yep got the honey
farm but salmon
farm??
Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 00:27
Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 00:27
Just back from Tas after sailing down from
Sydney to
Hobart and doing a 12 day tour in a campervan. Saw Chudleigh on the map but didn't call in. Maybe next time.
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 07:48
Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 07:48
Yeah mate better book it in for next time, plenty to do and see around here.