Kimberleys

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 18:10
ThreadID: 42454 Views:3597 Replies:9 FollowUps:5
We are going to the Kimberleys in June 2007 for 8 weeks travelling from Newcastle NSW,via Lawn Hill NP,driving a 3lt TD patrol & towing a Jayco outback Eagle off roader,my question is do I need to get a generator(honda eiu 2000)a second battery in my vehicle as well as a chescold 3 way fridge are all these things neccasary for the trip,considering that we intend to spend about a week or 2 travelling the GRR,and the rest of our time pulling into caravan parks and hooking up to powered sites.
I have read that some members have left there campers at various stations so that they can go into the Bungle Bungles and other locations is this the way to go,do you just take another small tent with you when doing this?are there camp kitchen available. My tyres are BFG AT I will be carry 2 spares and will be driving to suit road conditions and lowering tyre psi as suggested.
Any advice will be appreciated
Thankyou Rod

Reply By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 18:29

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 18:29
G'day - do a search on here with Kimberley or Gibb River Road - you will find a wealth of info - from there you can ask anything that is not covered - but you will probably find most things are -
As for Bungle Bungles - you can leave your camper at the front of the park, well secured, (as tleast you could last year)take valuables with you goes without saying - from memory there are bbqs, water taps and pit toilets - very clean.
The road in is about 53ks - (allow an hour and a half) up and down, rough, ridgy, corrugated, sharp corners and tour operators travelling at incredible speeds to watch out for as well as cattle, as some of the trip is through a working station. You need to take everything in with you - nowhere in there to buy anything except for the rangers shop, they don't carry very much at all. We took our off road tent trailer in last year with no trouble - but it is just like an ordinary trailer - bit rougher than your rig, with not as much to break - the only thing we had was the lid of my coffee jar vibrated off, and we had coffee all through the drawer - very messy, but nothing broke. The campgrounds are quite a distance apart - we went in early one morning found a spot, then went to do a walk and the near spots - set up camp when we got back late in the day, then next morning up early, packed trailer - went off to the other side - which in our case was the beehive formations etc - came back later picked up camper and left - found a roadside stop on the way to stay that night.
Well worth the trip - enjoy
jules
AnswerID: 222501

Reply By: PeteS - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 18:45

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 18:45
Rod.

We live nearby you on the Western side of the lake. Might see you at some stage as we are leaving late July for 5 weeks. Travelling up via Moree, St George, Blackall, Longreach etc. Heading for Litchfield, Darwin, Kakadu, Kununurra, Gibb River Rd to Derby then Broome, back via Tanami to Alice, Coober Pedy and home via Broken Hill.

Went onto Gibb River Rd 2 years ago on a tour from Broome and are really looking forward to doing it at our own pace. We will have a Kimberley Karavan with us and intend to take it into the Bungles with us.

This website (ExploreOz) has a wealth of info. Check out (if u haven't already) the trek on Gibb River Rd from the front page it will help heaps. I have a lot of info and maps if you are interested.

PeteS
AnswerID: 222506

Follow Up By: meandet - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 16:08

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 16:08
Hi PeteS
I would chech with the Bungles authorities to see if you are allowed to take your Kimberley Karavan into the Bungles. I have heard that they will turn any caravans around and send them out. There are some other places that do this too. At Cape Leveque they are not allowed to allow caravans.
FollowupID: 483529

Follow Up By: PeteS - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 16:28

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 16:28

Wow, that could be a real problem with no Karavan. Thanks for that. Will ensure I check it out fully and if allowed in will ensure I have an email to confirm it.
I know Cape Leveque has restrictions but did not know about the Bungles.

PeteS
FollowupID: 483532

Reply By: yendor - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 19:24

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 19:24
Thanks for all that,can you tell me about what type of power supply and refrigeration that you will be taking.
Regards Rod
AnswerID: 222513

Follow Up By: PeteS - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 19:37

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 19:37
Rod
We can access the Kimbereley Karavan fridge (73 litre) without raising the top so we intend only to use that at this point in time. The Karavan will be with us except for day trips.

We have purchased a Honda EU20i generator for topping up batteries and in case we need the air-cond but hope not to use it much (I like things to be a quiet as possible while camping).

The Karavan has 350Ah worth of deep cycle batteries for the 240v inverter so should last us up to 5 days without any external 12v or 240v power. As we travel the batteries will be charged as well and we also have solar panels to top them up if needed.

PeteS
FollowupID: 483349

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 20:47

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 20:47
First, based on my experience (did all that you propose and more last year), if you are taking your Jayco on the GRR you can take it into the Bungle Bungles. Just take your time. Bungle Bungle road was not as bad as the worst of the GRR when we were there. If you go to Mitchell Plateau, you might leave the Jayco at Drysdale River. The road up from there is not as well maintained as GRR and South of Drysdale.

Up to you on the fridge, but I reckon you need one. I've never had a 3 way, but I thought you couldn't run them on gas while in your vehicle (perhaps you will put it in the Jayco?). I wouldn't want to be unloading the fridge at every camp anyway. We use a compressor fridge (12/240). Either way I reckon you will need a dual battery system with Deep Cycle if you carry a fridge and expect to run it on 12V for more than a couple of hours with engine off (walking gorges, going for a swim, walking Bungle Bungles etc).

As suggested do a search on GRR and Kimberley. You will take days to get through it, there is so much info on this site.
AnswerID: 222544

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 21:16

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 21:16
> do I need to get a generator(honda eiu 2000)
No
>a second battery in my vehicle
No, assuming the car moves daily.
>as well as a chescold 3 way fridge
Defininitely no, particularly if you have a gas fridge in the Jayco. You need an Engel 40L in the Patrol, constant 12V wired to the rear and a Projecta ($20) low voltage cut out in between it and the battery.
>I have read that some members have left there campers at various stations so >that they can go into the Bungle Bungles and other locations is this the way to >go,do you just take another small tent with you when doing this?
Definitely an option.
>are there camp kitchen available.
Kimberley is not welll endowed in this regard, outside major C/Parks. Best to be self contained.
>My tyres are BFG AT I will be carry 2 spares and will be driving to suit road >conditions and lowering tyre psi as suggested.
Good move...

OT
AnswerID: 222551

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 22:18

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 22:18
OT, not looking to challenge your advice, but for balance I though I'd follow up on the issue of a dual battery system.
First, this bit is copied from the Rainbow Power Company web site (an excellent site):
7.1.8. What Are the Differences Between Car, Marine Starting and Deep Cycle Batteries?

'Car batteries are specially designed with thinner (.04 inch or 1.02 mm) and more porous plates for a greater surface area to produce the high amps required to start an engine. They are engineered for up to 5,000 shallow (to 3%) discharges, which works out to over four engine starts per day. Car batteries should NOT be discharged below 90% State-of-Charge. They use sponge lead and expanded metal grids rather than solid lead. Marine Starting batteries are a comprise between a car and deep cycle battery and are designed for starting and prolonged discharges at lower amperage that typically consumes between 20% and 50% of the battery's capacity. Motive and Stationary deep cycle batteries have much thicker (up to .25 inch or 6.35 mm) plates, more lead, and weight more than car batteries the same size. They are normally discharged between 20% and 80% at lower amperage. deep cycle batteries will typically outlast two to ten car batteries in a deep cycle application'

A more practical approach. Say you arrive at Manning Gorge at 3.00 PM. Set up camp and spend the night. In the morning after breakfast (say 7.30 AM) you walk to the falls, have a swim and morning tea, then walk back (about 4 hours total). You have lunch and pack up. It is now at least 1 PM. You have been stopped for 22 hours.

A 40 litre Engle _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx 2.5 amps form a fully charged battery. In the 22 hour period, with likely ambient temps it's not unreasonable to expect that the fridge compressor will run for 11 hours. Thats a minimum of 27.5 AH, not counting any additional power consumption like lights etc. Now I don't have enough information (or knowledge) to say for certain that there will be enough power to start the vehicle after this, but there is a serious risk that there won't be.

One basis for this is the many posts on this site from people with 3 way fridges that draw 10 amps. There have been many post suggesting that an hour without engine running (10 AH) is OK, but 2 hours (20 AH) is too much and the vehicle won't start. I have no personal experience with this (I've always had a dual battery system). Just repeating the experience of others.

Now you could improve things a bit by running the vehicle at fast idle for at least 30 mins before going to bed and as soon as you rise. But that's a pain, very inefficient and a real PITA to other campers around you. Might even get you some abuse. But will this be enough? Well I don't know and I don't think I'd want to test it.

Just thought I'd post this info so that Outback tourer has both sides of the 'do I need a second battery' story so he can seek out enough info to make an informed decision. Up to him then.

FollowupID: 483388

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 08:58

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 08:58
G'Day Norm,

Good info...

I guess the key word is NEED.

I can assure him, having run this set-up personally for many years you do not NEED a dual battery system to run an Engel from a standard Patrol battery with a low voltage cutout. In warm conditions the cutout will come into play sometime in the afternoon or overnight on the second night if the vehicle is not started. The vehicle will still start.

If you are touring and using the vehicle daily this setup works quite well and saves quite a few dollars.

If I were inclined to spend more than the $20 required for the low voltage cut out, I would either upgrade the standard battery and/or carry a jump starter pack and getting some experience with this setup before lashing out on an expensive dual battery system for this type of use.

Regds

OT
FollowupID: 483440

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 02:21

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 02:21
Good input from Norm.

I would also like to give a bit of balance to the discussion of dual battery systems.

First of all let me say that I have one and use it while travelling. The problem with most dual battery systems is you can only fit a smaller capacity battery in most vehicles. By this I mean 70 Ah for a wet cell deep cycle, or 55 Ah for an AGM which have a bigger footprint. For a typical "smart" dual battery system you will pay something in the order of $800+ including fitting.

Now for a similar price you can buy a portable battery system with a capacity around 75 Ah, AGM type, and the ability to recharge it on the go, whilst running your fridge at the same time. Being portable, you are not restricted to keeping the fridge in the vehicle as the power source can be moved as well.
Being an AGM type, it is safe to have in the rear cabin area of your vehicle, or anywhere else you can store it.

These portable systems can be obtained from Home of 12 volt (Thumper) in various sizes, with or without the High Cranking capability.
ABR, an advertiser on this site also has a portable battery solution.

I am also of the opinion that a 240 volt AC/12 volt DC compressor fridge is more practical than a 3 way fridge in most situations. The brand is flexible.

AnswerID: 222601

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 10:19

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 10:19
What a region - fabulous ! - BTW - the Bungles are in two main tourist sections - don't miss the Echidna chasm on the north side - around noon gives the best lighting effects on a sunny day - you will be impressed mightily. Re the gear to invest in - most things can be left out of the equation if you are doing a one-off trip - just compromise a lot - but if you are getting into outback travel, that's different - as others have said, generating power is not essential if you are on the move every two days minimum, but a spare battery to power a fridge is indicated IMO - saves the risk of flattening/damaging your main battery - either rigged as a wired-in auxiliary, or as a portable (thumper style - via the cig lighter for charging) - we changed from a 3 way fridge to a compressor unit, just because of the top end - the 3 way would struggle - the main problem is that as you travel in the middle of the day, you often want to stop and do a short walk (or bit longer walk even) or have lunch or just a rest, and its quite common for the all the shade to be taken in the parking grounds- you need a compressor fridge to keep tucker cold in a locked, sun-baked car up there.
Our two sets of BFG's have served us very well - as you say, careful driving with pressure adjustments as often as indicated sems "the go". Have a good 'un.
AnswerID: 222628

Reply By: greydemon - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 16:39

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 16:39
half your luck - I was there a couple of years ago and am working on getting back this year.

Do you need a generator? NO. Partly because, well, you shouldn't need one, but also because anyone who even thinks of taking a generator on a 'back to nature' trip should consider other alternatives. If you really feel that you must take one please only use it for a couple of hours to recharge batteries, don't inflict them on other campers more than necessary. The 'quiet' ones can still be intrusive from hundreds of metres away on a still night.

Do you need a dual battery system? If your Patrol is automatic I would say Yes, if it is manual you might not need it. On balance I would put it very high on the 'nice to have' list.

Tyres - pot luck. You might go all trip without a puncture, or you might get 5 in 20kms as I did on ther GRR. It's all down to chance. Good tyres to start with increase your chances, but then I had good tyres too!

A fridge of some sort would be very useful, though there are places every couple of days where you can buy ice ... Drysdale, Turkey Creek etc so you could manage without, but why bother if you don't have to.

I am not familiar with the Jayco Eagle Offroader, but having just googled up a photo I would have thought that the term 'offroader' would be more wishful thinking than anything, (though I am sure that there are people on this site who have taken them across every desert in Australia.) There are a couple of stream crossing on the Bungle Bungle and Mitchell Falls roads which, although not impossible, might be a little challenging. The main GRR shouldn't be a problem.

Have fun, it's a great area.

Nick
AnswerID: 222709

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 23:57

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 23:57
Do you need someone to carry your bags?
We did the trip through that area last June. Only time we came close to flattening our 2nd battery was at the Mitchell Falls. Forgot to run the car every 2nd day or so to recharge things. Was running the fridge, laptop, and fluro lights at night so some power was sucked. If you can't afford the aux battery set-up look at say a 1200amp Jump pack from Super Cheap. It has run my Weico for up to 4 days (usually over night) and no problems and for less than $150 a cheap option and you can recharge it of the cig lighter plug.

Heaps of CT's went into the Mitchell when we were there in fact there was 28 vehicles in the no gennie camp, equally as busy in the gennie area. If your trailer can handle corrugations and up to 900mm of water you should be able to get in with it. Your call.

BTW at Cape Laveque 2 Jayco off-road type campers came in and both had suspension damage.

The road into the Bungles in late June was just a rough track no real issues at all. We weren't towing though. Just drive carefully and be careful of the blind corners and blind ridges and you'll be ok. Get to the campsites early PM as they are all snapped up come mid afternoon.

Enjoy it all.

AnswerID: 222827