Cost of wireless internet going around Australia

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 09:55
ThreadID: 42813 Views:3753 Replies:8 FollowUps:10
Will be heading off around Australia in May and need to know the costs and coverage of wireless internet connected to my lap top through Telstra , 3 or Optus and if it is efficient. Anyone knowing about free laptop access at McDonalds stores using wireless connection. Thanks for your input fellow travellers,
Lance

Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 10:15

Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 10:15
Cant answer your question re Telstra/3 or Optus. Guess you will have to look at their respective websites for that info, however, I can tell you that the McDonalds I have used have not been free. You actually have to pay for access.

As an example, look at this URL to a McDonalds in Sydney Site Link

You can actually do a search at www.freewifi.com.au/hotspot_listings.php for hotspots in any state.

A lot of the caravan parks are now offering "free" access when you are a customer. We recently stayed in a few parks that offered access and you just get a login code from the front desk.

Cruiser
AnswerID: 224729

Reply By: CLC50 - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 10:50

Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 10:50
Hi Lance

Well I have a Sierra Wireless Card ,connects through Telstra by CDMA fits a slot on my Lap Top also external Aerial , works great but as CDMA is to be closed down,I don't know what the new system is . I have a data only connection only $2.50 per Quarter Hour, But it is very dear to send large File on Email.
AnswerID: 224733

Reply By: tricatic - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 12:02

Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 12:02
I had a Telstra CDMA PCPack wireless account for a while last year. It cost me $50.00 per month for 20 hours. It worked well in most places where I could get CDMA telephone coverage.

The big problem was not with the network, but with the billing system. Serious overcharging by Telstra happened every month without exception. For example:

Every connection has a minimum connection time of 5 minutes—connect for 10 seconds and you get charged for 5 minutes. Wouldn't normally be a problem except regularly I would get some sort network connection glitch where my MiniMax modem would make multiple connections for 1 to 5 seconds duration. Typically it would involve 6 to 10 connection attempts over a 10 or 20 second period resulting in a 30 to 50 minute charge for a 10 second session. It was not unusual for that to happen 4,5, or 6 times a month and there goes a BIG portion of your expensive 20-hour allowance.

The other problem was in breaking the network connection. You hang up your modem after a session and the clock should stop ticking on your 20-hour allowance. Except that regularly—many times a month—the network still keeps your session open for up to 15 minutes after you hang up. Get that happen 8 times a month, which was not unusual and there goes another 2 hours of your expensive 20-hour allowance.

Typically I would lose ¼ of my 20-hour allowance every month to these sorts of network errors. After discussing the issue with other people on the Whirlpool forums I discovered that PCPack users usually keep a spreadsheet log of their network sessions so that they could dispute the charges with Telstra. Doing that requires you to do a monthly reconciliation between your log and Telstra’s online log and then disputing Telstra’s log with Telstra’s customer service representatives every month.

Telstra have the worst customer support of any company that I’ve ever dealt with, and I spent literally hours at the end of every month on the telephone battling through the labyrinth of Telstra’s customer support service and dealing with totally unhelpful customer service representatives to get my monthly bill corrected.

Getting that Telstra CDMA PCPack wireless account was one of the worst decisions I’ve ever made—it became a monthly nightmare. In the end I gave up and paid Telstra $550.00 for an early termination of contract just to escape their clutches.

A safer, easier, cheaper and far less stressful solution is to use all the Internet access points available to you as you travel. You will be pleasantly surprised at where you will find wireless broadband and dial-up access in the bush. The smallest towns now seem to have an Internet café, rural transaction centre, library, caravan park, general store or some other place where you can connect your laptop to the net, and it all works out a lot cheaper and easier than using Telstra’s wireless network. I’ve found excellent broadband access in the most unlikely places.

And then there’s leeching… You will be amazed at how many open wireless networks you will stumble across that you can use for a bit of free surfing often from the comfort of your own caravan. The opportunities for leeching are best if your caravan park or campsite is in close proximity to commercial premises, many of which use open wireless networks. You can download free software that will scan for wireless networks.

My ISP account includes a dial-up service anywhere in Australia for the cost of a local call so if all else fails I just plug in to telephone somewhere and use that.

Finally, remember to turn on your firewall while surfing on the road, and if you use Windows make sure all your AV software is up-to-date.

AnswerID: 224743

Follow Up By: tricatic - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 12:18

Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 12:18
More on leeching...

For months one of my next door neighbours here in suburban Adelaide has run an open wireless network that I can join at will and surf at broadband speeds for free. I don't because I have a ADSL2+ broadband connection of my own and I like my neighbours. But there are lots of open networks out there and because wireless networks are easy to set up and very popular they are easy to find.
FollowupID: 485702

Follow Up By: garrycol - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 14:09

Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 14:09
In most populated areas you will find enough private unsecured networks to steal internet time. I have never actually done it but I do check from time to time - I have one available at home, at my local garage there are five, at my favourite chinese takeaway there is one but none at my mum's place because the pensioners are all too tight to have the internet as they use the local library for free.

I drove through Sydney last weekend with my laptop being used as a GPS and the laptop was in range of an unsecured network nearly all the time.

Garry
FollowupID: 485714

Reply By: kingswoodwagon - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 13:00

Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 13:00
Lance,

I've been using CDMA wireless broadband for a few years now. I'm awaiting my new Next G card - the coverage maps look even better than with the CDMA.
Telstra/Bigpond is going to be your best bet.

My requirement is to be online for many hours each day - this has been great for that. I have a usage plan not an hourly plan.

The Hotspots in Australia are an absolute rip off. I've used Hotspots overseas and don't understand why there so expensive here. They are few and far between. Check out www.jwire.com for locations of free and not so free wireless connections. This is a good way to find Cafe's with free internet. Most towns and cities have a free one. You just might feel obligated to buy a cappuccino - but that's not so bad.

The amount of Free internet locations is on the rise. Probably due to businesses using laptops and unlimited broadband plans becoming the norm.

HOWEVER - THERE IS AN ALTERNATIVE TO JOINING A WIRELESS BROADBAND NETWORK

In addition to using Free wireless in Café's and paying $5 per hour in regional Telecentres. There are many more unsecured wireless networks in towns and cities that can be used.
Simply install a program called Netstumbler (which is free) on you Wireless capable laptop - give it to the person in the passenger seat - and drive around town at about 40km/h. The program will detect and remember any unsecured wireless networks it finds. Simply find a cosy place nearby to parkup and connect to the unsecured wireless connection. There are plenty of inconspicouous places to park. Some of nicest beach lookout/carparks have unsecured wireless in neighboring homes. Many household wireless networks range over 80m.

There are some other issues relating to the use of someone's unsecured wireless connection. It is stealing, or is it comparable to reading a magazine somebody else bought and left in a public place. Thats for another forum to debate.

In the regional towns I have visited this year - I would estimate 1 in 5 households have unsecured wifi. and prob 1 in 20 businesses/shops.

Give it a go - try it at home before you leave.

AnswerID: 224752

Follow Up By: tricatic - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 13:22

Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 13:22
Another great source of information for Internet access is the local tourist information centre. I've found cafes that way where I've been charged $2 per hour and the price of a coffee for fast wireless broadband access.

Another good source of information is the local caravan park office.

Typical charges range between $2 - $12 per hour, average price seems to be about $5 or $6 per hour.

I've been told by the librarian in a small country town that the South Australian Libraries are rolling out free wireless access in all their libraries, but I haven't had the opportunity to confirm that.

I've had free access in a caravan park and been asked to pay $12 per hour in others.

I've also discovered you can do an awful lot in 1/2 an hour if you're well organised and well prepared :-)
FollowupID: 485708

Follow Up By: Member - Arkay (SA) - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 14:15

Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 14:15
I suspect that I may have an unsecured wirless network (wifi??) operating from my new laptop, as it says something about wireless network when it boots up. So far as I know nothing in my existing system uses a wireless network. So I guess someone could be leaching ON ME, or loooking at what I am typing on my 'puter.
Is there a simple way for me to find out, or turn off the wireless thingo I don't want? Please.
FollowupID: 485717

Follow Up By: kingswoodwagon - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 14:36

Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 14:36
Wireless networks generally come from wireless modem/routers - not from the wireless adapters/cards in the laptops.

As mentioned above - make sure your using a firewall. XP has a firewall make sure not disabled this or alternatively - you can download Zonealarm (free firewall) its OK.

If your not using the wireless capability - you can disable it - right click on the wireless symbol in the bottom right of the screen - select disable. Thats no drama (might save on laptop power consumption also). Enabling it is quick and easy. Same as disabling it.

FollowupID: 485726

Follow Up By: tricatic - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 14:42

Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 14:42
Arkay

A wireless network is usually created by a wireless router or wireless access point (WAP) not a computer.

I use Mac's not PC's. A Mac can create a wireless network but it's something you have to very deliberately set up. Presumably you can do the same thing with a PC, but it's unlikely that your laptop is set up that way.

If your laptop has a wireless card then it's probably scanning for a wireless network to connect to. The message you are receiving probably relates to that, if so it's nothing to worry about.

If you have a wireless network at home (from a router or WAP) then get someone to set up network security on it.

FollowupID: 485727

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 17:28

Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 17:28
Lance - thanks for starting a very interesting discussion. Looks like unsecured networks are so common that we probably don't need to do much more than plug a wireless gadget into a USB port and select a strong signal. The ethics may be questionable but the technology seems well proven.

Arkay - Others have suggested that a wireless network usually involves a wireless router or switch to manage the network. True - BUT it is possible to use a simple wireless connection between 2 computers (known as ad hoc mode) without involving any extra hardware. This is very convenient if you only need occasional linking to move a few files, but could allow unintended access to your laptop. As suggested above, I'd suggest disable your wireless port, and always ensure that your firewall is active.

FollowupID: 485747

Follow Up By: Member - Arkay (SA) - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 09:51

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 09:51
Thanks for the helps. What was turned on is now turned off, and everything still seems to work O.K. I am feeling a lot more secure now.
FollowupID: 485861

Reply By: disco1942 - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 17:05

Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 17:05
If you want to go the Next-G route you have two slightly different routes you can go. Telstra and BigPond. The telstra deals are dearer but you have the advantage of being able to start them when you start traveling and stop them when you come home. The BigPond ones have to be for a fixed contract period.

There have been some discussion by people actually using the BigPond 1Gb plan on tinyurl.com/yr8v9s - The plans can be seen on tinyurl.com/yexm6p

I an presently what I am using at home and If I can keep my usage down to near 1Gb/month I think I might transfer over to the G-Fast 1GB plan for $50/month and not renew my current ISP plan as I spend about half the year on the road.

AnswerID: 224777

Reply By: John Cook - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 17:13

Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 17:13
Leeching is STEALING -the leecher increases the hours and usage levels for the rightful user, thus depriving them of something they have paid for, and the leecher hasn't.

It's like the thief filling his water tanks at his neighbour's house at night when she can't see him.

It's like taking the new plants from the local school's garden on the weekend when no-one is there to challenge a thief.

It's like shop-stealing at Coles because .....................

I could go on by I should stop.

Please don't encourage anyone to STEAL.

John Cook
AnswerID: 224779

Follow Up By: theratt - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 17:25

Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 17:25
you dont leave your car in woolies carpark unlocked do you!
knowing it would get stolen, if you leave your internet unlocked same deal!!
FollowupID: 485746

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 17:33

Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 17:33
Take a look at postID 42550

This should answer it all for you... The McD stuff is not free - quite the opposite really.

There are some places that have free wireless (mostly in the cities - cafes, public service providers, councils), but most charge.

The NextG works really well pretty much every significant town, and is not too expensive if you pay the data packs.

Andrew.
AnswerID: 224782

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 00:38

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 00:38
With NextG I don't even need the data card ... just connect it up with the supplied cable to my phone. I'm paying $49 data pack which gives me heaps at present. Most users could probably get away with less.
FollowupID: 485812

Reply By: ozdragon - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 20:07

Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 20:07
Hi Lance

Maccas def not free. Cant help on optus.

Bigpond next g network from what I have heard is very good. 1 gig using mobile card modem $79 pm. 1 gig using relocatable(needs a powerpoint) modem(still mobile) is $49 pm.

I will be switching to the relocatable modem when we head off. Coverage is very good and speed is awesome. Most of my info has come from various caravan forums. Seams they like the new network.

AnswerID: 224802