Submitted: Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 13:43
the_jem
We are sick of life in suburbia and have longed to do the big trip with our family. It seems to be coming now sooner rather than later. I am doing heaps of research. But have a couple of specific questions:
Is there a particular website dedicated to travelling around Oz with kids ?
(any advice here appreciated)
We have never been campers/caravaners - we are thinking about spendind a few nights here and there in a caravan
park to check it out, is this a good idea - is staying in one of those little cabins similar ?
How do you keep the money coming in on the road ? (admittedly we will have no debts, just living expenses)
Any advice on types/brands of caravans for a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 girls who are 6 and 13) ?
the_jem
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 14:40
Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 14:40
A little more info required.
What type of vehicle have you got?
Where do you want to go?
How long can you go for?
What are you going to do about the children's education?
How much
camping has the family done?
Caravan parks can be expensive to stay in, alright once in a while, but unless you have won lotto, the funds will soon run out.
Picking up work as you go is possible, but you would have to stay in one place for a few weeks to make it pay.
There are a lot of different types of vans on the market, what you can get will depend on the budget plus where you want to go.
Follow Up By: the_jem - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 14:59
Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 14:59
What type of vehicle have you got? AT the moment, a jeep cherokee, but can get other suitable .
Where do you want to go? Everywhere, maybe end up in WA
How long can you go for? As long as the horizon
What are you going to do about the children's education? Home School, I have a been a teacher aide, and done 3/4 Bach Ed. so am competent at this.
How much
camping has the family done? Nil, nada, none, must have shower/
toilet facilities!!
Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 15:13
Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 15:13
As was mentioned, if you stay every night in a caravan
park you will end up spending a lot of money. $20-30 a night = more than $150 a week. Add that to food, fuel and other expences, and if your income is reduced then you will likely run out of cash (unless you are wealthy).
You could get a portable shower, portapotti, and stay in cheaper
camp sites. The savings will add up.
If you haven't done much
camping in the past then i would advise not to sell up. Imagine being on the road for a few weeks and the teenage girls miss their friends and hair drier and want to go home? If you do rent the house out then that may provide you with extra income also.
Do a lot of research before you leave but really go for it. I have always loved travelling and it's only 3 weeks away before we leave for our round oz trip, haven't been this excited since i was 10!
Reply By: jdpatrol - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 15:53
Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 15:53
Hi the_jem
We have 2 setups. Caravan for std holiday trips and also do dinkum 4wd off road trips for up to 2 weeks where we live out of 4wd with touring tent (quick erecting pyramid style tent). We have 3 kids (5-16y.o.).
Have had 17' caravan for about 7 yrs (averaging 23 nights per yr in it) - claimed to be 6 berth but effectively 4 berth now with size/age of kids - bought a speedy tent (brilliant) for the 16 y.o. on our recent xmas trip. Still, find van too small now that we basically live outside - for us that usually means erecting annex and therefore try to spend at least 4 nights in any one place because of hassle erecting annex.
Whatever you do get a setup that's convenient. I would get sick of both our setups for 'the big trip' - and would want a bigger van and maintain dedicated off road 4wd setup for occasional adventure trips. Personally I think a camper trailer would become a hassle for a longer trip with kids. Not only setting up at each new place but also when stopping for lunch (a highlight of caravan trips I reckon). Just think about stopping for lunch / night when its pouring – caravan also great in those circumstances.
Agree with Wayne about cost of parks with kids nowadays - we were paying $4-10 (abt) xtra a night per child at xmas. So we have improved our caravan trip setup for staying away from c/parks (get Camps Aust 4 book!!). Have a gravity shower arrangement from roof rack + 12v shower, and porta potty, shower/
toilet tent. Good dual battery setup critical also when doing this, which also helps 4wd trips. 3 way fridge in van also helps but so do solar panels.
Absolutely recommend starting slowly – we travel with several family groups and everyone has different preferences. Suggest hiring / borrowing tent, camper trailers etc to get a feel for what you like / dislike. Lot of money involved so its worth suck it and see before committing totally. Bus / campervan would also be good for family touring but personally I need my 4wd adventures.
Raving on a bit here – all just so great family wise – worth it. Good luck. JD
Follow Up By: Mudguard - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 16:50
Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 16:50
Definitely agree, we've been travelling /
camping with our 2 boys since they were in nappies ( they now have their own 4wds) so they have been conditioned to 1000s kms between anything civilized. Test the idea first with extended holidays before the big outlay!Then if it gells go for it!
Reply By: the_jem - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 16:12
Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 16:12
Oh no, thats what I wanted a rave on !! I totally am interested in others views/opinions/experiences!!
Definitely would be doing a caravan with ensuite set-up, couldn't go for less.
Follow Up By: madfisher - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 16:31
Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 16:31
We like to do the opposite to you, remote as possible, with as few people as possible. But I do know you are going to need a bigger vehicle such as a cruiser or patrol to tow this size van, but their are a lot of people on this
forum vastly more experienced than me in this aspect. With this size van you are going to have to stay in caravan parks and do day trips.
Goodluck Pete
Follow Up By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 12:20
Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 12:20
Suggest for now you keep an open mind about what sort of travelling rig you might end up with. As others have suggested beg borrow or hire some different set ups - tents, camper trailer, caraven, motorhome, so you can try them out before finally deciding. Do short trips at first.
The other thing is to work out where you want to go and whether you will be staying put in one place for a while eg if you are working somewhere. All of these things will have a bearing on the sort of rig you choose - en-suits are just one small part of the whole picture.
Have a great time doing it anyway.
Val
| J and V
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 16:35
Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 16:35
I live in suburbia too and go through the usual weekday grind but the cure is called a weekend and life couldn't be much better. if you can't enjoy your two days off it's going to be a lot harder enjoying 7 days off, running away is not a cure, or am I on the wrong track, ignore me maybe, I've had a few beers :)
Reply By: the_jem - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 16:41
Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 16:41
ROFL
No, my weekend is my week!! I own my own company and do party plan!!
Just life is getting to a stage, where we want to slow down, show our kids the real Australia. How much longer are we going to have it this beautiful for?
Water restrictions, next it will be power.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 16:43
Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 16:43
lol, yeah ok I knew I didn't know your circumstances, but you party all weekend...sounds good to me, what do you do for the other 5 days ?
Reply By: the_jem - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 16:51
Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 16:51
Hubby works, storeman.
Me, mum, volunteer extrordinaire, anything I can put my hand to, keep the business afloat.
Maybe I should take the business on the road.
www.hush-hush.com.au
Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 17:05
Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 17:05
Jem, all good advice, especially the one about try before you get too far out in the boonies. If you HAVE to have all mod cons, it will be expensive. The less, the cheaper (but not in the Kimberly :)) Kids will cope
well if mum and dad cope
well. But beware, they will grow up to become the worst kind of person, a traveller :)
Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 17:19
Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 17:19
ok, guess I'm just lucky, good job, work 5 days, good pay, nice house, plently of food, 2 cars, 2 nice kids, lovely wife, live in Australia, 2 days off to kick back and enjoy life and the family, really what else is there.
Reply By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 17:15
Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 17:15
Hire a caravan before buying anything and try out caravan parks,
free camping etc -see how you like it. If you have never done any
camping before even caravanning may not suit.
Go to one of the big caravan,
camping 4wd shows and you will see a whole world of gear. The
Sydney one is in April at Rosehill racecourse. Don't know your area but all capital cities have them and also some good regional ones.
Go slow and try first, you could waste a huge amount of money.
alastair
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 19:21
Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 19:21
Top advice from Alastair - for people who haven't done much caravanning before, hire and try a few trips first - not just a weekend, but a month or so away from home. You'll not only find out whether everyone likes it, can cope with being crowded in with each other, but I'll bet you decide that the rig you want is not what you first thought. Look at every one else's rigs and talk to them as you go.
When we were teenagers, we toured UK and Europe in a motor van - not much room, but as a family, we got on fine, and all just love touring and
camping -
bush camping where possible - even in Europe, and with no bathroom in the small motor-van. Dad was a bit hen pecked though - travelling with 3 females and doing all the driving (Mum didn't drive and we were too
young to get international licences).
If you come to WA and are prepared to go into the mining areas, and do anything (canteen or what ever), you should get work, but i can't say if you'll find room to
park the caravan, or at what cost. Accommodation is at a premium. And you'll have to put up with the cyclones!
Reply By: Chris & Debbie - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 22:52
Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 22:52
Jem
May i suggest you get yourself a copy of the latest campertrailer australia mag Feb/Mar 07 issue it has a story in there of a family doing exactly what you are talking about doing, they have 4 kids age 10 to 15 and have been going a few years and with only a trailer and tent, it also has a contact number for them if you wish to talk to them about it.
Reply By: Hairy - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 15:15
Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 15:15
We are thinking about doing the same thing soon and persoally...an airconditioner is a must!
My kids are both born and bread in
Alice Springs, are used to heat, humidity, outdoors, insects, dirt, crapping in the bush etc. etc. etc. but...
If they are doing
home school and Im going to be their teacher I am going to need somewhere cool and quite to study with them. To teach your own kids will be great put I reckon there will be lots of trying times were heat, flies and other distractions would be best kept to a minimum.
Good Luck