Australian Knowledge

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 23:38
ThreadID: 43469 Views:4625 Replies:22 FollowUps:44
I find it hard to believe that some people know stuff all about our Country , OK so I and all the other Members on here travel our land and see it and learn it, but I was watching that quiz program last night called 1 vs 100 and was totally amazed why one would take so long to think about what the Train's name is that goes to Darwin , and another took ages to settle on rabbits over Toads and ?? as being what Myxomatosis is used to control. There was a few other Oz questions that took them a while to get wrong too.
They need to buy a good 4x4 with bullbar etc and get a life

Doug

Reply By: rustytruck - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 23:49

Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 23:49
Yep!!!
AnswerID: 228715

Reply By: Member - Gaz@Gove (NT) - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 23:50

Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 23:50
Saw it as well. Makes you wonder what they were taught at school, The girl who had trouble with the Ghan question seemed to be intellegent enough. Is it lack of interest in Oz ???
Mmmmmmmm, now where do we go next?

AnswerID: 228716

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 17:03

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 17:03
No, it's a general lack of thirst for knowledge!
FollowupID: 489590

Reply By: disco driver - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 00:18

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 00:18
Despite the fact that we on this forum know better, most city people think that Australia finishes at the outer edge of the metropolitan areas.

People in Canberra know bugger all about anywhere else and don't care either.

People in Qld, NSW and Vic cities know very little about the rest of their states and not much else about other states.

SA and NT know the middle bit of the country and a little bit about neighbours on either side.

Perth people think that WA stops and starts at Yanchep and Mandurah and does not go further east than the Darling Range (or Scarp if you want to be pedantic).

Fortunately there are some "unusual" city folk who have discovered that there is a wide brown land outside the city limits and they take every opportunity to escape from the city madness to the relative tranquility of rural/outback Australia.

Those of us who chose to live away from the Big Smoke have the best of both worlds, we can visit the city if we need to but much prefer to see it in the rear vision mirror as we go back home or we can "exploroz" as we see fit.

What a choice!!

Having written that I feel much better.

Disco
AnswerID: 228722

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 00:24

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 00:24
Disco
Well done my boy , now I feel better too, except you forgot a state....poor old disconnected Tassie, does that mean you would be a loser on the show ???? lol

FollowupID: 489451

Follow Up By: disco driver - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 00:46

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 00:46
Doug,
Taswegians don't count, some maps have been known to leave Tassie of the map entirely. (Said with tongue firmly planted in cheek)
The only time Tassie counts is in an election, unlike WA, where we know the result before the polls have closed so our votes don't matter.

Disco
FollowupID: 489458

Follow Up By: Member - Gaz@Gove (NT) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 01:39

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 01:39
Taswegians don't count, some maps have been known to leave Tassie of the map entirely. (Said with tongue firmly planted in cheek)

That's called a Brazilian isn't it????
Mmmmmmmm, now where do we go next?

FollowupID: 489463

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 02:20

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 02:20
Disco driver

I agree with some of what you have said - people in most cities don't know what goes on outside.

I on the other hand hate cities and the best view of a city is in the rear vision mirror. I would prefer the city dwellers to stay there and leave the rest of the country for the likes of me.

I don't agree with your bit about SA and NT.

Where do you reside?

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 489464

Follow Up By: Tony - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 07:53

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 07:53
Disco Driver, are you refering to the people that live in Canberra by choice or the people that blokes like you send here?
FollowupID: 489473

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 09:17

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 09:17
Well I'm not going to kick anyone, or any State.

I have been fortunate to be able to claim I've been to all States and love them all for their own specific reasons and attractions.

WA I can only claim familiarity with the south west corner of the State, but I'm working on rectifying that. Was planning a trek along the Tanami Track but when we were ready to leave the Alice, the track was closed.

In fact, I will expand the horizon somewhat and include New Zealand. A beautiful country with people that have a similar sense of humour to us Aussies.

Whether we are visiting the cities, or the great outdoors, we truly live in the best part of the world, in my opinion. Love it!, love it!, love it!

FollowupID: 489487

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 09:55

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 09:55
Disco Driver
disco driver posted this followup

Doug,

FollowupID: 489496

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 00:23

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 00:23
comes as no surprise to me. i often talk of my (as far as I am concerned extremely limited travel) of oz to workates etc and get a blank stare. I get asked why not spend your time doing worthwhile stuff like travelling europe like I have -you can travel 150km and see 3 different cultures. I smile and say yea but what do you tell them when you get asked whats Australia like - coz you dont have a clue!!!
AnswerID: 228723

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 00:36

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 00:36
sssshhhhhhhhhh lets keep it to ourselves huh......... and only share to the ones who ask the questions...........
Am I being selfish here
AnswerID: 228724

Reply By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 00:38

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 00:38
As most of you would know, I spend more time on the 'net than watching "The Idiot Tube", but last night I was visiting friends helpin' 'em set up some prospecting maps on a laptop. I was half looking that show whilst downloading stuff.

It was that embarassing that I had to assume it was staged. It was a put up job. Musta been. It must be what's called comedy these days or an excuse for it. No group of people today can be that ill-informed or stupid. It was a con.

Wasn't it? Well it musta been eh? eh? Surely?

Bilbo - "The anti-TV hobbit"
AnswerID: 228725

Reply By: ozdragon - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 02:57

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 02:57
I love the aussies that travel the world and when people from over there ask them what Australia is like the stock answer is "Its the best country in the world". I would like to ask them this....Why the hell are you over seas then??????
I have no desire to go overseas..well maybe rotto.
Most kids today wouldnt know jack about Australia but ask them about the US, UK,Bali etc and they can tell you heaps.
Gives me the S%^TS
AnswerID: 228731

Follow Up By: seven - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 04:35

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 04:35
Hey
ozdragon, some people work overseas and live in Australia, dont you know this happens, get with it mate, any kid will tell you that, alot of kids travel the outback too

seven.
FollowupID: 489466

Follow Up By: Member - Robert A (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 07:20

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 07:20
ozdragon.

Its a big world out there. I travelled and worked in most states of Australia and also travelled a lot of the world for work as well.
I still travel Australia when I'm home as well. I can say from experience Australia is the best place on earth, even if we do have some narrow minded people.

Robert
FollowupID: 489470

Follow Up By: gav99x - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 08:52

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 08:52
It's called expanding your horizon's ozdragon, the world doesn't end at our coastline.

I have travelled heaps throughout the world over the past 10 years (31 now) as I was curious to see what else is out there and how other people do things etc. and I reckon I'm a much more complete/open-eyed individual for it.
In comparison I have seen very little of Australia, therefore I would probably fall into the category of they people you describe.

My reasoning for doing it this way is that I can always see Australia, in any time frame I want and whenever I want. Conversely, the average person I think (from my perspective) only has a relatively small window of time to travel 'string free' when you're young as once your working career/family/various other commitments come into place it's very hard to make the time to go and travel at your will. The other option of course is to travel (if that's what you want of course) when career/family etc. aren't so big in your life (retirement). If you're loaded of course you can go whenever you like ;)

I think you will find this is how many of the young people that give you the sh%^'s think.

FollowupID: 489483

Follow Up By: Member - Robert A (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 09:03

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 09:03
Well said Gav99x.

You got that right we can all see Australia anytime, but its a lot hard to get to the rest of the world. especially once you have kids and a career.
That attitude reminds me of people in some of the American southern states who are lucky if they travel to the next county.
But he will never know that cause he will never go. I really feel sorry for people like that.

Rob
FollowupID: 489485

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 12:34

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 12:34
Peter,

Sometimes it's good therapy to travel overseas and broaden ones outlook on life.

If nothing else, it helps remove the lethargy we sometimes have and helps us recognise more easily how bloody good we have it in Australia, even with the cost of fuel and Government taxes and bloody Telstra. (oops, that's another story)

FollowupID: 489513

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 12:54

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 12:54
Ozdragon

I too fit into the category of giving you the bleep s. Like has been said above, the world is a big and diverse place. People want to see it while they can.

Once people get older and have a responsibility to the family they're not going to travel for 36 hours on a dirty Indian train only to find out that the train will no longer go to it's destination, or board a bus run by by smugglers, or sleep at a train station because there is no available accommodation, or buy water that might give them diorhea (sp?), or visit places where they can't communicate and effectively put their safety in the hands of some stranger.

Oh. did I mention that to some overseas places it's a lot cheaper to travel then within Australia. On one 4 week trip we spent $25 per person per day. Try travelling on that type of budget in Aus.

So while you may have no urge to see other places, don't rubbish people's decision to see a little more of the world then what you think is necessary.

Australia is a fantastic place, I know, I've been elsewhere.
FollowupID: 489521

Follow Up By: equinox - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 14:45

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 14:45
Well for my 2 cents I'd rather spend $8000 on an outback trip than spend $1000 sipping cocktails in Bali - Anyday!!

Also, I can sip cocktails by one of the best beaches in Australia, only 1200 metres from my front door - for free!!!

FollowupID: 489555

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 14:52

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 14:52
And that is your choice and you shouldn't be crucified for it.

Unfortunately most young people today don't have that choice. Loving Australia and seeing the world are not mutually exclusive actions.

Never been to Bali so can't comment.
FollowupID: 489556

Follow Up By: gav99x - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 14:54

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 14:54
Quite possibly Equinox, but maybe you should compare apples with apples.

What about spending $1000 travelling around Egypt by yourself for a month for instance? To me this would be a more comparable type of trip.

I've done this a couple of times, and can't recommend it enough.

Can't vouch for the $8k outback trip, but I will be doing it in the future I can assure you - then I'll be able to genuinely compare both experiences.
FollowupID: 489557

Reply By: DIO - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 07:46

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 07:46
Don't be fooled by what you see. It's all part of the 'theatre' as required by the producers. They like to create SUSPENSE!! EXCITEMENT!! ANTICIPATION!!
They obviously figure that the viewing public are nothing but a bunch of mugs and that's the type of 'drivel' that they thrive on.

But your opening statement is probably spot on. General knowledge, grammar etc is sadly lacking by many these days. Surely a testamony to our schooling system.
AnswerID: 228737

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 08:06

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 08:06
What a sanctimonious lot we are!

Must be tough to be perfect.
AnswerID: 228739

Reply By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 08:12

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 08:12
Anything my son knows about Australia and it's history and about different places is though our travels, and talks about where we still want to go!

From school he could tell you all about the ancient egyptians and the mythical greek gods, and all the other cultures that live here!

We had a teacher at school 'Mr Nutt" (his wifes name was Hazel) and we used to groan when he'd pull out the Australian History tapes that he loved so much. But now I wish there were more teachers like him!

Good to learn about our whole world, but there doesn't seem to be a lot on our own country or history!

Sandy
AnswerID: 228741

Follow Up By: Steve - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 19:47

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 19:47
probably cos there isn't a lot........:-)

tic
FollowupID: 489626

Reply By: hopscotch - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 08:15

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 08:15
Who holds their hand as they walk down the street? Maybe they need GPS to find their way home - TIC.
Kevin
AnswerID: 228742

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 09:04

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 09:04
Hi Doug

When I went to school in the 50,s era we had a subject called SOCIAL STUDIES
it helped educate kids re AUSTRALIAN EXPLORERS, RIVERS, MOUNTAINS,
FARMING AREAS, MINING, and they also taught us about the first people who
welcomed a couple of our relatives, when they arrived in SHACKLES.

Daza
AnswerID: 228750

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 09:47

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 09:47
Thanks for refreshing the old memory, yeh I had Social Studies too.

Doug

FollowupID: 489494

Follow Up By: Nick R - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 11:43

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 11:43
We still had social studies in the '80s too.

personally I blame the telly, american garbage in particular. Did you know some people think what they see on an american show is representative of what happens in similar situations in australia? that's why some people call 911 in an emergency.

NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 489509

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 15:28

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 15:28
My young fella in grade 4 [Qld] are learning about the 1st Fleet , thing is that nowadays due to TV / internet ect ect the world is a much "smaller" place .ergo our Australia with its comparativly small population becomes less significant in the world scheme ,, our history if we discount our aboriginal cousins only equals a pimple on the worlds bum.
FollowupID: 489568

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 16:03

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 16:03
Alloy
So you reackon the world is small or gotten smaller , hey listen I know what you mean but when it comes to being small you check this out....lol

members.westnet.com.au/dtilley/planets.htm

Was sent these last night for me to check out , he knows my interests

Doug

FollowupID: 489577

Reply By: Robin - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 09:07

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 09:07
Hi Doug

The lack of knowledge is so sad , and I do what I can to correct this at each opportunity.

Picking up your point
"They need to buy a good 4x4 with bullbar etc and get a life "

You may not believe this but this but once apon a time someone was asked which is the 4wd to buy , and yes , shame on them , they didn't answer "Patrol"

AnswerID: 228751

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 09:33

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 09:33
Hi Robin
We have to keep these pleasures to our selves and close family, otherwise
we might have a traffic jam, we have been 4x4 ing since 1981 and still havent
seen it all.

Daza
FollowupID: 489491

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 09:35

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 09:35
Maybe they know things that you don't!
AnswerID: 228756

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 09:47

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 09:47
IMPOSSIBLE

FollowupID: 489495

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 11:12

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 11:12
"IMPOSSIBLE" ????

That's amazing, I thought that I was the only one that knew everything!
FollowupID: 489503

Reply By: Love The Outback - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 10:06

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 10:06
Dear Doug
Yes, it use to be a shame not to know well your own country before visiting other countries.
And than again little knowledge can be dangers to fatal!
But, can you imagine those city people taking their shiny 4x4 to the Outback?… It is better if they drive their 4x4 to school and back. I don’t actually want to meet those id…ts out there, do you?
So, at least we have this beautiful country of ours for our self’s. There are enough of unprepared Europeans and Americans out there…

AnswerID: 228761

Reply By: Steve63 - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 10:36

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 10:36
Sad but essentially true. General knowledge on Oz subjects is usually fairly bad. If you ask the same people about the Simpsons they will know all about it and could probably tell you the name of the episode and how many seconds into it a particular thing happened.

At a recent gathering we said we were had 4 weeks leave coming up. First thing we were asked is where are we going overseas? When we said central Oz the silence was deafening. We rattled off some of the places we had been and only one other couple knew about them. They could tell you the location of a good resturaunt in Chinatown in San Francisco though.

I suppose I don't understand their preoccupation with flying for hours in cattle class to spend a day or two in a city it would take years to learn anything about. I don't mind flying and enjoy 20 minutes of aerobatics but 16 hours in a 747. I don't think so. They don't understand why we drive for days either just so we can drive down the CSR or similar. If they want to go overseas I say "on ya mate, have a good time" One less person in the bush.

Interesting observations about this group. One other couple regularly went bush. About 2/3 had been overseas. A few had been to other cities in Oz but flew. About half had never driven more than 100km out of the city.

AnswerID: 228764

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 11:16

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 11:16
I know where your comiing from, but I too am guilty of going overseas, twice to USA but then it wasn't exactly as a tourist in the sense of the word,but did see some interesting things along the way, This of course was back ib 98 and 00 and I have seem most of our country but still need to see more yet, CSR and the Cape, I only just went out of my way to visit a piddling little meteor crater of 27 meters but I enjoyed that as much as one would enjoy goint to Custers Last Stand or the Empire State , but I would like to go back again because I did miss this [ re link ] and it to me would be better than the Grand Canyon, if your on Dial up it might take a while , set it to full size if windows fits it to screen size.

http://members.westnet.com.au/dtilley/Meteor_Crater_Panorama.jpg

As for the CSR i have been thinking about it, planning for it , for the last 6 years and this year I want to do it , and need to get a job that pays the way to the North then just amble home via the CSR, Have to hurry up before the old Troopy is worn out.

Doug

FollowupID: 489504

Reply By: Ray Bates - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 10:54

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 10:54
Yes that program is a bit of a farse. I believe that the contestants are told not to answer the questions too quickly. This allows the hosts to gibber more sh-- and wast time before the next commercial and just think if they didn't have those quizz shows they would have more money to but better programs or less commercials but then it might be just a tax dodge
AnswerID: 228768

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 12:49

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 12:49
Doug,

Everyone in Qld knows that the Rabbit Board Fence controls these pests, not Myxomatosis :-)

AnswerID: 228790

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:11

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:11
Oh so we don't have a great wall .......

FollowupID: 489528

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:21

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:21
LOL...unfortunately not for some.
FollowupID: 489530

Reply By: Redback - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:05

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:05
OK you fellas, lets see how much you know.

The first Australian born solders to give their lives in battle did so where and in what war ?

No googling now

AnswerID: 228791

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:10

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:10
Boer

FollowupID: 489527

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:29

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:29
Wrong
FollowupID: 489533

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:34

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:34
bugger wrong button.

AUSTRALIAN MILITARY HISTORY

Maori Wars

China

Sudan

Boer War

Gallipoli

World War I

World War II

Korean War

Vietnam

Peacekeepers

Timor

Gulf-Afghanistan-Iraq

The Royal Australian Regiment

FollowupID: 489535

Follow Up By: Member - Rotord - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:59

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:59
Hold on Redback

You said Australian born soldier [bit hard on Australian born sailors ] , you didn't say serving in an Australian contingent . Starting with First Fleeters , and adding about 12 years for boy soldiers , it is almost certain that Australian born soldiers were active in English service long before the Moari war [ 1860 ] .
FollowupID: 489540

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 14:05

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 14:05
A soldier is a soldier doesn't matter what service he's in, and besides only proving a point, not everyone knows everything about our history or locations or whatever.

As a group we may know alot, but as indivduals we know little.

My apologies to those in the Navy.

Stay safe wherever you may be!!!!!

FollowupID: 489541

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 18:30

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 18:30
Good question redback.

Wasn't Flinders on his return to England the promoter of the term Australia?
Before then, it would have been NSW?

Australia as a term wasn't common usage until the mid to late 19th century?
And was promoted as a concept for the 30 years before federation by the federation movement.

And Australia as a country didn't exist until 1901, so most soldiers would have considered themselves Victorian, or from NSW.

But could 'Australians' have fought in Crimea as part of British units?
Or the the Sudan conflict with Kitchener?
Or the pirate wars of South east Asia and the boxer rebellion?
Or the north west frontier during the Russian expansion into Afghanistan in the mid 19th century?

So what do you class as a war or a conflict? :o)))).
FollowupID: 489611

Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 08:09

Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 08:09
Well maybe i should have worded it differantly, say first soldiers born in Australia as we know it now to lose the lives in battle.

I think around the times of the Moari wars there would have been not many australian born men serving in the british forces here as most were considered bad and corupt, the NSW Corp would have been the most prevelent at that time.

This was a time when the colony of NSW Victoria and New Zealand was governed by the NSW governer, and at the time i think it was Bligh, but i could be wrong.

I think we were colonials right up to and after the first world war.
FollowupID: 489717

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 09:42

Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 09:42
Redback,

Good point.

I found your original question interesting, since in some ways it starts the point at which we define what is Australian. Something I hadn't thought about before.

At the time, no one would have considered themselves Australian, but colonial as you say. However, from my poor knowledge of Australian history, there was a group of people who were Australian born who found they were better adapted to living and settling this land. Better put European in there. The aboriginal population were already living well of the land, and were ignored by the Europeans at their own cost.

Considering the first free settlers didn't arrive until 1793, and the colony at Sydney opened for free settlement in 1823, it would not have been until the 1850s or 1860s that there would have a number of ozzie born people. The first freed convicts started settling land in the 1820s.

Population in Oz in the early 1820s was about 30,000. By the mid 1860s, with Perth starting in 1827, and Adelaide not long after, the population was about 1 million.

Big worry for me is our children.
My wife is a primary school teacher, and loves Aussie history and geography. She had to fill in for a teacher in grade 5, so did her usual trick and had a quiz. A lot of students didn't even know the names of the state capitals. Let alone the name of the rivers (like Darling and Murray), big concern.

As aa great man once said, we ignore history at our own peril, since we will repeat the mistakes made by earlier generations.
FollowupID: 489730

Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 10:10

Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 10:10
Last night on Temptation the 3 contestant didn't know Lawrence Hargraves was on the old $20 note, and that was only one of the many clues they got.

Too many overseas influences and computer games with american accents and spelling bombarding kids here i would say, but hopefully they will come around as they get older as we did.

I remember learning more about Europe and America when i was at school.

Another saying "the grass is always greener on the otherside of the fence"

FollowupID: 489739

Reply By: ozdragon - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:55

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:55
To All

To those that took the time to jump down my throat Thank you. Maybe I didn't explain myself properly.
I have no problem with people traveling overseas, my point was to the people that have never even left their own state to see Australia but travel overseas extensively.
I have no doubt that travel can be therapeutic and I have no doubt that one day I may travel also, it just doesn't excite me. Give me the wide open spaces of oz and I'm happy. As for people working o'seas and living here, that is obviously a completely different kettle of fish.
I stand by what I said about todays youth. Most cant even tell you when Cook discovered oz. Most don't know what the first fleet is. Ask the average kid to name the capitol cities and a few major regional centers and they will look at you with a blank stare. Granted there are some kids that do know their oz history but I bet you a carton that the majority don't.

AnswerID: 228808

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 14:12

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 14:12
And this was different when you were young no doubt?

Younger folk may not be able to tell you when Cook 'discovered' Australia, but they will probably tell you he did it behind a long line of Dutch, French, Macassans and maybe even Chinese. They may even be able to tell you that Australia had a history before Cook's arrival and that of the first fleet.

Honestly, I don't know where sweeping generalisations about the youth of today come from. My children (year 2 and 5) are getting a far better grounding in grammar, spelling, sentence construction and the fundamentals of writing than I ever did.

Anyone who was educated in the 70s and 80s (at least in NSW), needs to take a long hard look before slinging off about declining standards. Talk about a stolen generation, does anybody remember how grammar fundamentals were completely dropped during that time by the Chardonnay sipping set who thought it more important to experiment with 'mamby pamby' educational theories than to teach the fundamentals of grammar?

My kids attend a public school and I have to say that there is more rigour in the way they are taught (maths and English particularly) than I ever had. Hey, they even study some way out stuff like Aboriginal history as well (pretty limited in my day).

And yes, they learn about events and countries other than ours. How can you understand Australia if you don't understand its place in the world? We travelled with them for 6 months last year around Australia, and we all learnt an enormous amount. But I hope that there interests and education will be heaps broader than mine as they grow.

FollowupID: 489543

Follow Up By: equinox - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 15:00

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 15:00
From Memory (no googling) I believe it was William Janz who discovered the western coast of Cape York Penninsular and therefore Australia. (First descipheral discovery anyway).

FollowupID: 489560

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 15:15

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 15:15
The Indonesions have been coming here and trading with the Aborigines for centries before any white explorers even thought of coming this far south, in fact i wouldn't rule out that the Maori hadn't been here in the time they have been in NZ.

Think about La Perouse, he sailed into Botany Bay 3 days before Cook, he just did't stay to claim it for France, we could of been a french speeking nation.

The fact is i think we are forgetting when we were kids, i'll bet you were thinking of other matters other than who discovered Australia, i know i was, i probably knew it at the time but didn't care, as i think that's how it is and will be for most kids.

FollowupID: 489565

Reply By: ozdragon - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 14:26

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 14:26
Matt

I agree that some schools do the right thing and there are some good standards out there. I am referring to the ave teenager 16-17. I was a student at high school in NSW in the 70's and the standard was abysmal. We we had social studies that consisted of about 10% oz history. I agree that our kids need to learn about other countries, I have no dispute with you on that. All I'm saying is that a majority of young people know very little about oz history. As for the Dutch etc.........isn't that part of our history?
As for the Chardonay set, I couldn't believe it when my son was in grade 2. He came home with a work sheet and the spelling was to say the least average. When I asked his teacher why he was allowed to spell like that I was told that it was the norm these days. We get them to spell the word as it sounds and down the track we teach them the correct spelling. Unbelievable.

AnswerID: 228815

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 17:02

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 17:02
The teachers only let them spell that way, because they don't know either!
FollowupID: 489589

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 19:57

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 19:57
That doesn't happen at my two daughters school, they are taught the correct spelling from the start so shaker may well be correct.
FollowupID: 489627

Reply By: ozdragon - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 20:07

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 20:07
I noticed on news.com that they are now saying the portugese discovered oz in the 1500's

AnswerID: 228861

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 20:19

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 20:19
? ? ? ? ? Here we are , I posted about something on TV in March 2007 and you guys are rattling on about something over 500 bloody years ago , geez time flies eh.

lmao. but as long as we're all learning I don't mind , .

Doug

FollowupID: 489630

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 20:33

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 20:33
Doug,

Too true. It is one of the reasons I don't think that posts on here should be categorised. They rarely follow the original topic, but there is often a gem buried in there somewhere.

Matt
FollowupID: 489636