Stolen Landcruiser followup

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 19:00
ThreadID: 43632 Views:5475 Replies:14 FollowUps:21
On the 4th of Feb, I asked for help in finding my stolen fourby and due to what I thought were "issues" in the way it was stolen, I couldnt let anyone know what actually happened. The reason I write now is that it is all over and I have just come back from QLD with a replacement 06 turbo GXL.
For those that had asked how it was stolen I hasten to tell you, (now) that I left my keys in the ignition and I was deeply concerned about admitting liability...and thanks to some good advice from this forum I did not do that...sorta, anyway the story goes that I was at a turf farm in Wattleup in wa on a 5 acre paddock fixing a pump for a mate. my car was locked the whole time I was there and when I was about to leave, I unlocked the car, put the keys in the ignition to drop the windows as it was a stinker. as I was getting in to go, my mate calls me to have a look at some stupid thing in his shed (about 10 mtres from the car) I get out out of the car, leaving the car door open and the keys in it. remember this is a 5 acre property, turf farm and no one in sight on a Sunday avo. I walk out of the shed 1 minute later and the car is gone! I didnt hear a thing as the shed door was banging in the wind. Apparently this piece of "White Trash" about 28 was watching us from the bush accross the road and saw when we went into the shed. I couldnt believe what had happened. luckiliy the coppers found the car within 12 hours but not before they had driven it through some concrete bus stops causing over $36500 worth of damage.
The bottom line is that because it was on private property they paid out on the insurance..they didnt write it off but we did come to an agreement where I added about $9k and gota newby.
By the way the copper told me that it made no difference that the keys were in it and said that this guy would have had it anyway, with or without the keys!! he said the mongrel had 81 yes 81 prior convictions and was a self professed "Landcruiser" Specialist. The copper also said that he just kept locking him up and they (the do gooders) kept letting him out. The best part..if there is one is that they caught 5 all up and they are all in jail now...for how long is another story. I could go on but wil finish with this. The creep smashed my $75k pride and joy, spat on the inside of the widows, dropped his butts on the floor and in the map holders in the door and then took the $20 floor mats to sell! can you believe the thought process that goes with that...I cant.
Thanks again for the thoughts and advice that followed my first thread.
Jeff

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 19:16

Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 19:16
I'm not jokin' when I say bring back public floggings , I'll vollunteer for the floggers job , would give me great pleasure, Yeh I'll be a Redneck

AnswerID: 229653

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 19:38

Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 19:38
flog'em with a scourge, that'll learn'em...

In case you're wondering, a scourge is like a cat-o-nine tails but with little bits of metal knotted into the leather straps... Very efficient at removing flesh.
FollowupID: 490453

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 13:58

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 13:58
I'd say get them a wife. nothing more cruel than that.
FollowupID: 490558

Follow Up By: kookaburra - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:46

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:46
year crule, bloke i know well has to pay ex wife $250000 thats crule.
FollowupID: 490655

Reply By: FZJ 80 - Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 19:21

Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 19:21
Jeff.

He sounds like the ideal candidate for "The Green Dream".

Lets hope Karma comes his way soon. Good to hear your outcome was reasonably positive.

AnswerID: 229656

Reply By: Member - Russell H (WA) - Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 19:26

Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 19:26
Doug,

do you want to give that a bit more thought? It's not too often that anyone volunteers to be known as a "flogger".

cheers,

Russ.
AnswerID: 229658

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 19:40

Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 19:40
Doug got pwned (or however the hell the youth of today spell it...)
FollowupID: 490454

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 19:51

Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 19:51
He will get it in the end if he picks up dropped soap

AnswerID: 229663

Follow Up By: Woobla (WA) - Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 21:59

Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 21:59
Hi Muzbry,
A bit of humour came when the copper was getting me to identify some of my bits and pieces and he asked me if the "Viagra" that was found in the car was mine. The missus wanted me to say yes but I said no, however I suggested that it be posted to the guy who was sharing the cell with the car thief. hahaha
Jeff
FollowupID: 490490

Reply By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 20:09

Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 20:09
Evening all ,, do gooders are as bad as the crims as far as i am concerned ,, you don't go to jail for doing a good turn , it seems to be a holiday camp these days ,, as Doug says , its time too bring back something real so these moungrels learn ,, this is not what is expected in society , never has been , so why do we allow them too be pandered too ,, JAIL ,, a place where you learn not to act this way ,,,,, here sonny ,, 14 pound slege hammer , very hot sunny day ,, today we want 20 mm agg ,, tomorrow is 10 mm agg ,, START SWINGING !!!

Just my thoughts !!

Neil ,,

ps ,, good too see you got a good result at the end ,, can imagine the heartach but !!

AnswerID: 229670

Reply By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 20:17

Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 20:17
Glad to hear the positive outcome Jeff. I had mine stolen from Mullaloo nearly 3 years ago and never saw or heard anything about it since. The worst thing was that it was a ute and was fully set up for touring with evry single bit of camping gear and tools I owned in it. Insurance just covered the cost of the vehicle....then I had to start again buying all the accessories and tools etc. Yeah I'd love to catch one of these low lifes in the act.....
AnswerID: 229673

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:02

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:02
Same with my Toyota 100 series - ex ARB show car with EVERYTHING in and on it - ncluding all my camping gear, brand new HF, rear view camera, tyre pressure sensors etc etc etc - those of you that had seen my rig will know how much sadness it caused me to loose it - It had a GPS tracker in it but unfortunately the only person in Australia that I told was the person who stole it - oh this was AFTER he had also broken into my house and cleaned that out too.
He was arrested and got bail but as since fled the country - I have found out that he did the same thing about 5 years ago - gotta love the system eh???
FollowupID: 490634

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 21:31

Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 21:31
Glad to hear the insurance came through with what you paid for in advance....sometimes they add injury to insult and make up their minds you staged it yourself...just from your last names spelling....
The bloke they caught needs more than just pain to turn him....he needs tying down over a bull ants nest...
AnswerID: 229695

Reply By: Bilbo - Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 22:45

Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 22:45
,,,,,,,,,and guess what - Woobla (Jeff) and I have compared notes on this theft as I 'lost" my new 100 series TD about 2 years ago. Jeff lives about 10 kms from me.

,,,,,,,,,and guess what, this 'creature from the abyss", this piece if human excrement. I know him! I've seen him!! I've damn near met him!!

,,,,,,,,,and guess what, he lived just about 150 metres from my place.

,,,,,,,,,,and guess what - the police found Jeff's Landcruiser in this guys undercroft garage about 150 mtrs from my place!!

,,,,,,,,,,,,,and guess what, this piece of dog bleep moved into that row of units, just around the corner from me,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

ABOUT TWO YEARS AGO!~~~!!!

Now, I wonder who it was that stole MY Landcruiser eh!!

Bilbo
AnswerID: 229708

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 11:24

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 11:24
Bilbo,

Your turning into a private eye hobit now LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 490535

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 13:59

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 13:59
so your going to thank him I guess eh Bilbo?
FollowupID: 490559

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 14:53

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 14:53
Whilst I'd 'do it', I can't 'cos he doesn't live there anymore. The police took him away when they investigated Jeff's car.

He's prolly on remand in Canning Vale now.

Ya know, ya can do a lot of damage with a brake fluid/swimmimg pool chlorine bomb!! ,,,,,,,,lotsa BANG and lotsa flame 'n smoke,,,,,,,need to know what yer doing though or you can lose yer hand,,,,,,,,,,

Then there's the old "gas leak" trick. That's easy and quite spectacular - as long as it doesn't take the whole block of units with it as well!!

Bilbo - "The vindictive hobbit"
FollowupID: 490565

Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 15:44

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 15:44
I thought you'd be a Diesel and Fertilizer type of hobbit.
Cheers Steve
FollowupID: 490584

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 16:24

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 16:24
Nah Steve, ya cant get the Ammonium Nitrate any more since "Little Johhny" declared that he knew all about bombs and terrorists.

But diesel and AN (aka - ANFO) made a great bang and to date, that combination has blown up about 98% of Western Australia.

Bilbo - "The chemical engineering hobbit"
FollowupID: 490593

Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 16:36

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 16:36
What about Power Gel ?

That way you could drown him and then blow him up.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 490594

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 22:50

Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 22:50
Hi Jeff, would this person (if you could call him that) be the same one who stole Bilbo's LC from in his carport one night ?

That turf farm down there isn't on a main road either is it? or am I thinking of the wrong turf farm?

Good to see you got a good outcome under the circumstances.

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 229709

Follow Up By: Woobla (WA) - Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 23:12

Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 23:12
Hi Dunworkin,
If I was a gambling man I would say there was a strong possibility that this turkey had a little more than knowledge of Bilbos loss. (Iam being really careful here)
The coppers said he had convictions for Armed robbery, robbery, assault, car rebirthing, car theft, etc etc etc. This guy is a real fruit cake from what I was told. apparently he stole a Honda prelude prior to stealing mine. He got one of his mates to drive him to where the honda was, his mate parked behind the honda and this jerk got out, broke into the honda, started it then slammed it into reverse and began ramming his mates own car because he didnt get out of his way quick enough. There was a large machette among the items found in my car and the copper said it was lucky that I didnt catch him taking the car.
This nuts mate, who was also in the area when my car was taken, walked into the neighbours house, went straight to the fridge, grabbed a beer and when challenged by the owner, said that his car had broken down and he was thirsty.
I dont know where this garbage comes from but it prooves that drugs and the human brain dont mix..
Jeff
FollowupID: 490494

Reply By: Bilbo - Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 23:26

Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 23:26
Jeff,

You may not have seen this creature. I have!! It was not pretty sight. About 5 foot 9, long grey hair in a pony tail, body covered in tattoos, hasn't had a shave or a shower for about 2 weeks, permanent beer bottle, skin grafted into one hand, dirty, grimy look about him.

This guy is the "full schmozzola",,,,,,,,,,,,,,,A real freak!

BTW - the pony tail description fits in with the description given by a very helpful forum member who saw my 'Cruiser being driven in Jandakot about 6 hours after it was stolen. He didn't know at the time that it was stolen - unfortunately.

Never mind all this "do-gooder" crap. Take 'em out of the gene pool before they contaminate it beyond repair. Or have they done that already!!

Bilbo
AnswerID: 229715

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 23:51

Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 23:51
Hi Bilbo, thought that this 'thing' was one and the same.

If your LC was seen driving aroung Jandakot it is probably somewhere in the bush out that way. (or maybe you don't want to think about that!!!!!) I know that if it was my 'special car' I wouldn't want to even think of that scenario.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 490495

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 09:33

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 09:33
With 81 prior convictions, this lowlife is well past the rehabilitation stage and should be permanently removed from society. Now I'm not advocating capital punishment, but this person does not deserve the freedom of society. Lock "it" up for good.

Good to hear everything worked out OK for you anyway Jeff.

AnswerID: 229762

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 14:00

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 14:00
sorta makes a joke of the USA system - 3 strikes.. this bloke had a whole game to himself! let alone 1 bat
FollowupID: 490560

Reply By: ev700 - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 11:19

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 11:19
What security mod can I make to the 100 series to make it that much harder for creeps? Cost?

Accepting of course that nothing is 100% effective.

EV700
AnswerID: 229785

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 15:03

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 15:03
Disguise it as an exploding Patrol 3.0 :))))))
FollowupID: 490570

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 15:40

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 15:40
Good comeback there Al !!

FollowupID: 490581

Follow Up By: Alan H (Narangba QLD) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 19:51

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 19:51
One mod I have heard of is to install a fuel line solenoid with a hidden switch.
But you would have to switch it off every time you stopped but this would cause a fuel run out very quickly and I dare say they would dump the vehicle and run rather than try to fix the fuel problem.
FollowupID: 490627

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 19:56

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 19:56

Hahahaha could'nt help myself :))

Alan H,

Had one of those on a previous vehicle. Allowed you to start vehicle and travel about 200 metres then pfffft ..... no more go go juice. Worked very well.
FollowupID: 490632

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:27

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:27
My brother set up a solenoid in the fuel line on his Holden ute many years ago.
He had a push button hidden under the dash that needed to be pressed or the vehicle would cut out once the bowl on the carby was empty. I think it'd go 4 or 5 k's at best.
He also had a light on the dash that was on when the fuel was off and after you pushed the button the light would go out.

FollowupID: 490642

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 15:44

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 15:44
Hi Jeff,
You know it wasn't that long ago people got hung for stealing a man's horse.

We lost the horses but somewhere along the line we lost the whole justice system too!!

AnswerID: 229831

Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:16

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:16
Years ago, some piece of brilliance walked in our back door and borrowed our wallets while we were out in the front yard. Jan's keys were in her purse, and the locksmith who re keyed the house reckoned that a complete change of car locks (=then new Landcruiser) was never satisfactory and very expensive. Instead he sold us a big, solid steering wheel lock. It clamps over the rim either side of the spokes, and has a complicated lock - cost about $150. He reckoned it would keep the lowlife out of the car.

Who knows if anyone would have tried to pinch the car if we did not have it? But we still use it - just keep it under the driver's seat and only takes 15 seconds to put on. And the car is still intact.

One way to go
Max
FollowupID: 490638

Reply By: Ally & Gazza - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 10:30

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 10:30
Few years back made a trip from Mildura to Adelaide to visit the kids who were at Uni at the time.
At that stage hade a beautiful ford LTD with everying on it you could want.
Woke up in the morning went to get in the car and hey guess what, was not where I had left it the night before.
police found it 10 days later completly stripped. All electric seats gone alloy wheels, all that was left was a shell. I was heartbroken as with kids to educate it had taken years to get such a nice car.
police never found who had taken it but the upside is we bought our first 4WD then the van and have heaps of great trips.

this was our intro to travelling :)
AnswerID: 229987