Submitted: Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 10:28
Member - Christine (VIC)
Can anyone enlighten me as to which caravan park in
Port Augusta is the quietest for a good nights sleep. We stayed there in 1983 and I remember we were kept awake by shunting trains. I can't remember where we stayed. Also
Roxby downs caravan park info would be useful.
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 10:48
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 10:48
Port Augusta Caravan Park at
Stirling North is not too bad , I spent a couple nights there last year , near the railway but didn;t bother me, entry off Brook St,
Stirling North.
Port Aususta Big 4 Caravan Park will be a better park, entry could be off Stokes Tce
check it out
Follow Up By: Members - Chris/Lindsay (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 11:16
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 11:16
Thanks Doug.
Reply By: slush - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 10:58
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 10:58
mate, from my experience of the caravan parks in pt
Augusta i would drive through. the parks are OK but the night time activity of so locals will be a problem. anything left out side will disappear including the paint on the van. went there with our club and about 30 other people and in the morning most stuff was gone. they must of had a truck the amount of gear that disappeared, even though there was a cyclone wire fence around. it stuffed up a good club run and most opted to turn back and go
home.
Follow Up By: Members - Chris/Lindsay (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 11:14
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 11:14
Thanks slush. Where did you stay? Chris
Follow Up By: slush - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 13:00
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 13:00
the one just over the
bridge on the right going north, i go through regularly and now either stay at the rodeo
camp just out of pt Germain on the north side. hot showers and
toilet ($5.00 per head per night) or take a shower at the road house in
Augusta ($2.00 per head) and
camp about 20 ks out on the north side. some good bush camps there.
Follow Up By: disco1942 - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 13:31
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 13:31
This is another case of two different experiences. Nick and slush stayed at the same park –
Port Augusta Big4 Holiday Park.
Christine stayed at the other one in town (Shoreline CP - T/T,) which has the railway shunting yard across the water. From talking to the locals this is the safer park – there is an old folks
home close by and some how they seem to be able to keep our brudders away from the area. I have not found the noise from the train shunting bothersome, particularly if not parked by the fence overlooking the water but apparently Christine did. I think the shunting noise is quieter than traffic noise when
bush camping close to a main road. Shows that different people have different experiences.
Follow Up By: Members - Chris/Lindsay (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 13:49
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 13:49
I'm actually unsure which one in 1983. I hate traffic noise too so maybe just a
bush camp.
Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 11:45
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 11:45
We stayed in the big 4 park last year and never had a drama.Even the nights were quiet.Must have been the time of the week or year because the whole town was quiet.
Follow Up By: Members - Chris/Lindsay (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 11:54
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 11:54
Thanks Nick. I think we'll stay there and keep an eye on our stuff.
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 12:02
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 12:02
It had about a 12ft fence with barb wire around the top and only way in was past the main office.It is right beside the main road and just off the
intersection to head nth so traffic is a bit noisy, not as bad as trains though at the other park.
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 12:13
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 12:13
Whatever you do, I recommend you avoid Spear Creek Caravan Park, 25km South East of Pt
Augusta on the western flank of the
Flinders Ranges.
The most unfriendly Hosts of any Caravan Park I've had the misfortune to come across anywhere. The station has some 4WD tracks we were going to "discover" but after our experience with the Caravan Park Hosts, couldn't wait to go elsewhere.
Follow Up By: Members - Chris/Lindsay (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 12:20
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 12:20
Thanks for that. We had a similiar experience at Mcdonnell Ranges Caravan Park in
Alice Springs last year and would not stay there again.
Reply By: disco1942 - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 12:14
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 12:14
The quietest park around
Port Augusta would have to be Spears Creek. See Site Link . It is impossible to hear any passing traffic.
The park is family run by one branch of the family and the sheep station by the other. The park is in a great bushland setting. You can choose powered sites on an irrigated grassed area or in a natural setting. In season they supply firewood for the communal fire pits. Generally there is a very sociable atmosphere.
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 12:25
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 12:25
Peter,
Read my reply above.
Follow Up By: disco1942 - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 13:10
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 13:10
Sand Man – If I had not been typing my reply when you posted yours I would have seen yours and referred to it. Please note our posting times.
My experiences in the few times I have stayed there have been completely different. I did not go there expecting to do any 4 wheel driving, it is sheep country and I would not expect any thing there of interest for that type of activity. We did however have some nice walks following the old
Port Augusta water supply pipe lines up the gullies.
I have seen several comments in other newsgroups, all favourable. Yours is the first one to the contrary that I have seen. What are the experiences of others in this group?
Follow Up By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 13:18
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 13:18
Peter,
No personal experience, just the comments made by a family we met in
Alice Springs. They enjoyed their stay at Spear Creek and were full of praise.
I guess it just comes down to personal experience and expectations. We're all different. We have stayed at McDonnell Range CP many times and always found it very good.
These things can change so many times with new owners, improvement or deterioration of facilities etc.
I've probably stayed somewhere and hated it where others found it just great. We put our experiences in the
forum and it's then up to the person asking to make the final choice.
Viv
Reply By: Mal and Di - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 12:31
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 12:31
Interesting comments about Spear Creek.
Both conflicting.
Port Augusta has a problem with things walking in the night but the Big 4 should be Ok.
Roxby Downs is another matter.
From my understanding there is such a shortage of accomadation the parks are full all of the time.
The amount of rent they get from the workers I can't imagine they would keep a couple of sites for the occasional tourist.
Better make some phone calls first.
M.
Follow Up By: Members - Chris/Lindsay (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 12:39
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 12:39
Thanks Mal and Di. We only want unpowered and a shower so if there are no spots we'll just head up the track and
bush camp.
Follow Up By: Aknot - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 17:46
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 17:46
Chris/Lindsay
Showers at Roxby were very hot at a cost of $5.00 per head. Went there late last year after
bush camping.
Debbie
Follow Up By: Members - Chris/Lindsay (VIC) - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 10:06
Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 10:06
Will take note. Thanks. Chris
Reply By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 13:35
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 13:35
Christine,
Just moved from Roxby. The Myall Grove Caravan park (first on the right as you get to town) is the best and they do hold some spots spare for travellers but would definately pay to book ahead. But the best spot to
camp at the moment is Lake Mary which has filled up from the rain back in Jan. Its located on the right about 35km south of Roxby. There is a sign just inside a fence. Follow the track along about a k or 2 and
camp on the side of the lake where ever you like. Its free too.
As for
Port Augusta we've satyed at the Big4 park heaps of times and never had any issues. Just ask for a site down the back or away from the highway.
Are you heading up the Borefield Rd to the Ood or
Birdsville Track??
Follow Up By: Members - Chris/Lindsay (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 13:40
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 13:40
Thanks Hughesy, will take heed of your advice. Chris.
Follow Up By: Members - Chris/Lindsay (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 13:44
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 13:44
Forgot to say we are heading up theBorefield road and
Oodnadatta track to do our 2nd Simpson Crossing IF the flooding has abated. Any advice for the track? Chris
Follow Up By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 14:44
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 14:44
I went up to
William Creek in early Jan before the rain and the worst part was the Borefield road (although still pretty good). The road gang was working on the
Oodnadatta track (west of the borefield turnoff) and hence I reckon they would have fixed any trouble spots after the rain by now.
Definately stay or drop into the
William Creek pub. New owner and his wife are top people and a vast improvement over the previous bloke.
Hope you have a great time.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 17:30
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 17:30
Roxby seems to have a worker
population but last year when we called in late we got the last spot next to some travellers going from Tassie to the Territory. Sometimes you can strike it lucky. Was pretty good sort of park anyway.
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 17:36
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 17:36
Hughsey,
You must be missing your "local" after moving from Roxby.
Have been amazed when you have commented in the past, of your trip from Roxby to
William Creek for a "social" outing.
I think it was you who stooped once to ask if I needed any help on the Borefield Track when I had destroyed a tyre on the Jack?
I have a mission to
check out the new owners of the
William Creek Hotel.
Hope they are "maintaining the standard" of the place.
William Creek is one of the Icons of outback Hotels. One of my favourite
places.
Follow Up By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 21:26
Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 21:26
Yeah Sandman, might have to make the
Tilpa or Paddlesack pubs my "local" now. Those sort of pubs beat a city pubs any day.
Yeah and you were god damn unlucky to blew a tyre 5 or so Km's sort of the bitumen.
If your ever heading over this way drop me a line.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 15:22
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 15:22
Stayed multiple times at both the Big 4 and at Spear Creek - both have been very good.
Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 15:41
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 15:41
If you are crossing the Simpson, will you be going up the
Oodnadatta Track via Maree?
If you went that way you could always stay at the
campsite in
Quorn?
Stayed at Port August lots of times, never any dramas.
Follow Up By: Members - Chris/Lindsay (VIC) - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 10:05
Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 10:05
We are coming back that way.
Reply By: Mal and Di - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 21:50
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 21:50
I spoke earlier about Pt
Augusta and Roxby but neglected to mention Mambray Creek.
Stayed over back in Jan this year, Lovely spot with hot showers and clean
toilets.
Very nice walks and plenty of wildlife and birds.
National park so you it is an honour system and not very dear.
M.
Reply By: mechpete - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 22:02
Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 22:02
Hi Christine ,
I have stayed numerous times at the park on the RHS at the corner of the
Stuart High Way
intersection can,t think of the name but its a good park .
cheers mechpete.
Reply By: Patrol22 - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 09:52
Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 09:52
I had a forced stay in Pt
Augusta couple of years back after injuring myself while in the Flinders. Not only did I find the folk at the local hospital extremely professional and courteous, our stay of a week at the Big 4 was also a good experience. Quiet, friendly, clean etc - everything I needed to get fit enough to get back on the road. Oh and we found the local aboriginal people to be nothing other than courteous and very proud of their city.
Reply By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 17:17
Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 17:17
Hi, we stayed at the Big 4 in
Port Augusta for 2 nights in August last year and
Roxby Downs for 3 nights in 2004 and didn't have a problem in either park. We got told by the local coppers not to take our wives and kids to the pub, as the local boys don't see much action, and will try and get "friendly" with our wives. So we went to the pub (minus the wives and kids ) to
check it out, i think they would rather a fight then a feed. The park was empty when we were there. I know why.
cheers,
Lance