Normanton to Roper Bar via Gulf track

Submitted: Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 14:50
ThreadID: 44051 Views:6884 Replies:13 FollowUps:21
I am leaving mid may to go to Darwin via Lawn Hill NP, Booraloola, Roper Bar and Materanka.
Would appreciate any feedback on road conditions, locations and good spots. Also any bad reports or things to look out for.
Don't have a tinny so fishing from the bank. Done the usual look at Treck Notes but dosn't give any detail. Any helpful hints would be great. Troop Carrier towing camper trailer..

Jenko

Reply By: blue one - Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 15:30

Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 15:30
Make sure you stop at Kingfisher Camp.

Great spot and you can go via there to Lawn Hill.

AnswerID: 232004

Follow Up By: CLC50 - Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 08:55

Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 08:55
Have a great trip

Link to Kingfisher
,a href="http://www.christec.com.au/kfc/index.htm/path".link text</a.

Link to members Link on Travel to Gulf

<a href="http://ivan.wys.com.au/photos/CapeYork/default.htm/path"link text</a.
FollowupID: 493014

Follow Up By: CLC50 - Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 08:58

Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 08:58
Sorry made a mistake Please Copy & Paste

a Members Home Page

Site Link

Link to Kingfisher

www.christec.com.au/kfc/index.htm
FollowupID: 493017

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 15:42

Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 15:42
When you get to Mataranka call in and see Mike at the health centre. He will be able to put you on to some good fishing spots that are accessible for fishing from the bank.
Just tell him Kev, his nephew said to call in

AnswerID: 232006

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 11:37

Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 11:37
Kev
Hey the Whale season is on again, if pop into the thermal pool at Mataranka your sure to see a few big white ones floundering about there having a break on the annual journey North to warmer waters.

FollowupID: 493038

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 12:10

Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 12:10
Last time I was there the whales were the fastest moving ones on the planet as the floundering changed to pure panic when a large python decided to join them in the thermal springs. The Japanese were the worst :)

It was a great way to have the springs all to ourselves though, SWMBO was a bit anxious though.

Kev

FollowupID: 493040

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 08, 2007 at 18:14

Sunday, Apr 08, 2007 at 18:14
!MPG:8!

FollowupID: 493176

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 08, 2007 at 18:15

Sunday, Apr 08, 2007 at 18:15

FollowupID: 493177

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Apr 08, 2007 at 19:37

Sunday, Apr 08, 2007 at 19:37
Kev
Gawd ...I didn't know they had a fish shop at Elsie Station

FollowupID: 493191

Reply By: handy - Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 16:21

Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 16:21
you might have a bit of fun going from borroloola to the roper, expect to go the bitumen way. cheers
AnswerID: 232009

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 20:18

Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 20:18
Don't know why, depends on the season, but iv'e been thru there is april and had no probs.
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

FollowupID: 492966

Follow Up By: handy - Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 07:20

Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 07:20
so your up to date with what the wet has been like hey ???
FollowupID: 493007

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 20:11

Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 20:11
Gjenko
fishing from the bank. Uh Oh we'll read about him in the paper after the big Lizard gets him, Mate I don't know about the track from Lawn Hill to Doomadgee, been all around that country but not that one, It might be better to go back via Gregory,The road to Lawn Hill is very good , the section Gregory to Century Mine T/O can be Dusty due to the Roadtrains.Be prepared to pull over and stop on the narrow sections North of Cloncurry, If your looking for a Fab place to camp near Gregory Hotel [not under the bridge] head off down the Camooweal Road for about 20 klm , there will be a turn off to on the left to a station, turn right and go down to the river , it is a beatiful spot .off road camper would be ok see a photo in my members link here on the left ,
From Doomadgee onward you will enjoy , fantastic country.

Doug

AnswerID: 232051

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 20:41

Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 20:41
Doug,

From the 8th of May an Army Const Sqn is heading to Doomadgee to build the locals some new housing. It should be interesting seeing them get in there ATM, from all accounts it's still a bit wet up there.

Kev

FollowupID: 492969

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 21:32

Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 21:32
Kev
It really annoys me when I hear about the houses , for near 40,000 years The true Australians live out around Kiwirrkurra in WA without houses, all of a sudden some bluddy do-gooder bleedin' heart in the city says they got to have a house ....at our expense, I know , i escorted them out there from Alice Springs.and if they end up like the ones in Papunya ....better stop before i drop a swear word

FollowupID: 492979

Follow Up By: Member - Richo (FNQ) - Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 09:12

Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 09:12
Hi Doug
We camp at that spot twice a year (gregory) not to many places better.
FollowupID: 493019

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 10:13

Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 10:13
Doug,

They have been doing it since 1997, the first one was at Bulla near Timber Creek.

Other communities include Docker River, Oak Valley, Ammanbidgi, Yarralin, Lingarra, Yackanarra, Melville Island, Bickerton Island, Elco Island, Palm Island plus a few more.

It is all part of the reconcilliation.

Kev

FollowupID: 493028

Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 20:56

Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 20:56
It's a grate trip, done it a few times. Do yourself a favour, if at all possible take a tinny, anything will do!.Lawn hill is fantastic,hire a canoe and go up the gorge, no croc's or fishing. Take the canoe up the gorge, the portage way to the second section of the gorge is worthing using(they say you can't, just drag it up). B'loola is a s'hole, really bad on pension day. Macarthur river there, good fishing(need a tinny)Further up the track, go to butterfly springs, nice to swim and camp. Little further north go to the Lost City, ask at the ranger station at Nathan River. Roper Bar is our favorate place, Barra, lots of prawns(if you have a boat). Can fish from the Bar if conditions are right. REMEMBER!!!! THE CROC'S ARE WATCHING YOU EVEN IF YOU CAN'T SEE THEM. People in tinnys don't have problems.Believe it or not, good take away food at Roper Bar store.)(lots of Prawns if you have opra house pots and velvet soap). Along the road you will come to Elsey NP, well worth a stop and good facilities, you can fish here but doubt you will catch much. They say you can swim here but i WOULDN'T!!.
Go to the Thermal Springs, bit over rated but worth seeing, yes safe to swim here :).
Opps, great to swim at Lawn Hill.
Re the road conditions, will really depend on the weather, have been thru in April and it was ok,but if there is late rain??.
Wollogarang is no longer open to the public, just incase you have a old map.
Good luck and hope you have a great trip
Anything else we can help you with, feel free to ask.
Regards Lyndon & Bernadette

AnswerID: 232062

Follow Up By: Member - Banjo (WA) - Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 21:32

Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 21:32
I think I read a while back that Hell's Gate has closed also.

Banjo (WA)
FollowupID: 492978

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 21:25

Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 21:25
Gjenko,

We drove from Lawn Hill to Kingfisher a few years ago. Apart from some bulldust it was pretty good. Kingfisher was an enjoyable spot. Lawn Hill is great. It's one of the nicest places we've ever been. A real gem. One thing though, if you're going to camp there you should ring ahead and book a site. Other than that you can camp at Adel's Grove. We've camped a couple of times at Borroloola town caravan park. It can get a bit noisy at night but we had no trouble. King Ash Bay gets really busy during the tourist season. Between Borroloola and Cape Crawford you can stop at Caranbarina Conservation Park which is right beside the road and is a mini Lost City. Cape Crawford is the base for the Savannah guides and you can do a helicopter tour of one of the bigger Lost Cities in the area. There is another one that is in the Limmen NP.

Further North....after Roper Bar...we found that the 12 Mile Yards CP at Mataranka to be really good and quieter than the one right at the thermal springs.

Edith Falls north of Katherine has a good but small camping ground and the bottom and top pools are beautiful..you can swim here too. Or at least you could last time I was there.

Douglas Hot Springs is another top place. The cold water from the river and the hot from the thermal pool flow together and you can swim here. The camp ground is basic but good.

There is a good camp ground at Douglas Daly Nature Park and more pools for swimming.

Adelaide River cemetery is worth stopping at. It really makes you realise how many people died in the bombing of Darwin.

So much to see up there...have a great time.

Viv
AnswerID: 232064

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 09:33

Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 09:33
Morning Viv
Looks like a nice Saturday here in Perth ......hate cities but .
OK about Lawn Hill it is a nice place , but you wouldn't want to have been around the area 509–506 mill' years ago ,go to my special webpage , look for Lawn Hill 6th under the 2 center photo's down the middle orange list , and while there check the "Wildfires" and the "Last Wave Goodbye" in red down the yellow list , It will give you idea that we are [ humans] here on borrowed time.

members.westnet.com.au/dtilley/impacts.htm

Doug

FollowupID: 493023

Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 10:31

Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 10:31
Don't forget Katherine Gorge and the world heritage listed Kakadu.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 493031

Follow Up By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 13:02

Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 13:02
Doug,

I've got a quiet arvo coming up so will spend it checking out the webpage. It's a lovely day here in the Southern Mallee....hopefully some rain soon though!

Steve,

Totally agree about Katherine Gorge and Kakadu...so much to see and do up there. In Kakadu I really enjoyed Gunlom, Yellow Waters evening or morning cruise, going out to Jim Jim and Twin Falls. That was before the barges. We swam up to Twin Falls!! Nourlangie Rock, Ubirr and Cahill's Crossing, Maguk....

We camped at Mardugal, Sandy Billabong, Merl, & Shady Lagoon.

Just thinking of all these places makes me want to head back up there!!

Viv

FollowupID: 493046

Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 22:02

Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 22:02
Re Lawn Hill, bookings should not be a problem in May, june onwards is a issue.

AnswerID: 232067

Reply By: samsgoneagain - Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 22:25

Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 22:25
take atleast two spares and have good tyres all round. that country between roper bar and heartbreak hotel is all 'slate' country. and being the start of the dry the grader would have been through there and it puts all new pieces of sharp rock on the road. been there, many tyre changes, long story ...............
AnswerID: 232071

Reply By: Voxson - Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 22:55

Friday, Apr 06, 2007 at 22:55
Between Borroloola and Roper Bar on the right is a place called Lorella Springs... Wicked place.. Loose three days in there...
AnswerID: 232081

Follow Up By: Smudger - Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 11:28

Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 11:28
Lorella springs certainly is a nice spot after a few hot days on the road. Not sure how inviting it would be if there's still some wet about. From memory it's at least 30 minutes off the track, on a private road which the owner's don't grade.
We'll always remember the night we spent there. The Manager, a friendly bloke with a pretty casual approach to life, assured us that there were no crocs to worry about. Next day I asked why the crocs don't come up here, thinking the hot water had something to do with it.. "Well, (he drawls) when the owners bought the place about (however many) years ago there was a 14 footer living in the pool, but they shot him and we haven't seen another one since. Besides, we always send the dogs in first, and we've still got both of them."
I've since done a fair bit of investigation coz it scared the croc outa me. Top End residents stay alive with a simple rule.. "DON'T go in the water! There ARE crocs!" That applies right across the top above the 38th, coast-to-coast, including all inland waters. The ONLY exceptions are pools above waterfalls, crocs can't climb cliffs. But they do move across country if their hole starts to dry up. And after rain they will often swim upstream to places that haven't seen lizards for years.
Heading west from the turn-off to Lorella Springs watch out for the Burke & Wills tree. Their last main campsite before they met their demise. It was a great experience actually touching the blaze that those guys made so long go. Make sure you have a quality map, it'll have a lot of interest points along the track. You'll get heaps of good input if you talk to people at your campsites.
Stay safe on the track, Smudger.
FollowupID: 493036

Reply By: Smudger - Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 11:31

Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 11:31
..actually meant to say the "18th" parrallel. (Dislexic keyboard)
AnswerID: 232125

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 13:14

Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 13:14
Just in case you're interested in what might be on up there at that time:

Mataranka Back to the Never Never Festival with rodeo, gymkhana, polocrosse etc as well as Art Exhibitions and Music is on about the 18th to the 20th May or in Darwin Freds Pass Rural Show is on the 19th to 20th May... Katherine Cup is on early June (horse races)...

We went to the Mataranka Bushman's Carnival once (August) and it was enjoyable. Imagine the Never Never Festival would be too.

I like to go to local events as you meet the locals and get some idea of what it's like to live up there. Borroloola Rodeo was a classic!!

Viv
AnswerID: 232134

Reply By: Gjenko - Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 14:51

Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 14:51
Well I asked for info and got it, Thanks to all. I can now sit down and be a bit better informed as I am planning this trip.
Its the first of this kind I have done. I am normally a Caravanner but have decided that "Adventure before Dementure" is our new motto. We are leaving the van at home and heading off with a camp trailer.

Thanks again ,Ill buy y'all a beer when we run into each other.

Jenko
AnswerID: 232138

Follow Up By: Gjenko - Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 14:52

Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 14:52
OOOps, maybe that should be in a follow up

Jenko
FollowupID: 493055

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 14:52

Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 14:52
That's a lot of beer :)

Kev

FollowupID: 493056

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Apr 09, 2007 at 20:39

Monday, Apr 09, 2007 at 20:39
Jenko,

I better add some advice so as to be eligable for a beer too. LOL!!

Many years ago the park ranger drew me a mud map from Lawn Hill out to Doomadgee, it seem to take me through plenty of private property which was nice but a bit unnerving cause her distances were a fair bit out and confused me untill I hit the "Big Sign" she was talking about. Was a car door with painted sign on it, leaning up against a 44gal drum. This is now a fairly well documented "short cut" on most maps and is worth the drive in my opinion.

Enjoy your trip and see you at Gilhooley's Chermside for my beer ;-)))
Trevor.
FollowupID: 493325

Reply By: Member - Min (NSW) - Monday, Apr 09, 2007 at 10:59

Monday, Apr 09, 2007 at 10:59
Lawn Hill - Paradise. However, I believe that there is no camping at the NP site now, only at Adel's Grove so you need to book ahead (which is a pain in the neck). Enjoy.

AnswerID: 232350