I'm over it all.

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 13:08
ThreadID: 44193 Views:3639 Replies:12 FollowUps:9
A pointless post but it's really getting to me lately.

All I want to do these days is go somewhere else. I did a big trip a few weeks ago up the WA coast. Went bush over Easter. Heading down into the the jarrah forests this weekend. The Cruiser is heading into monthly 10K service territory. My wanderlust is becoming obsessive but not really making me feel content any more. On my bedside table are maps, not one or two, a stack as thick as a dictionary. No novels, just maps and a lone 4x4 mag.

I'm also fed up to the back teeth with everyone's obsession about telling me what to eat, drink, wear, drive, say, think etc etc etc. I no longer read the newspapers, I avoid the TV news bulletins but it all keeps creeping back in through the cracks. This nanny state, big brotheresque, litigious, health obsessed, PC society (regime?) we all live in and seen to accept is simply wearing me down. Little old WA is simply filling up with too many people. Travellers everywhere you look. All the old spots now have coppers logs, bitumen roads, interpretive eco discovery centres and rangers.

Dunno. I'm seriously considering throwing in the towel and cashing in my chips, load up a backpack and taking off to explore another continent. Problem is I have nothing to complain about either. My life is very good which makes it worse.

As I said, a rambling post but I just can't seem to shake this feeling of late.

Reply By: warfer69 - Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 13:26

Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 13:26
I get what your saying

Just remember V8 your a long time dead !

If you go overseas it'll make you realise the above does'nt matter because you live in the BEST country in the world !

Catch ya
AnswerID: 232720

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 13:36

Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 13:36
Its called a midlife crisis. Just honour the time houred tradition of middle aged males and buy a sports car as well as hooking up with a blond thing thats young enough to be your granddaughter....... Ive only got a few more years---- Cant wait!
seriosly though i probably will be single by next break so i will catch up for a few beers
AnswerID: 232721

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 18:09

Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 18:09
Agreed Blonde's are good :-)

XR6 Turbo also helps these days and of course the 4wd is a bonus!!

FollowupID: 493664

Follow Up By: bloosted - Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 18:22

Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 18:22
mmmmmm xr6 turbo i just sold my 400kilowat one for a pajero so does that mean my mid life crisis is over?
FollowupID: 493670

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 18:35

Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 18:35
400 kw Oh!!! man that must have scared you right out of your mid life crisis.
How did you get 400 kw out of your XR6? I have heard some stories about people chipping them and increasing the boost but did not think they got 400 kw.

I would think the Pajero is now more in keeping with your old timers life :-)

I try and change my women and my cars every three years so I will stay with my current blonde's and vehicles for at least the next two and a bit years before its time to change again. (Damn that mid life crisis it just kills me)

FollowupID: 493672

Follow Up By: bloosted - Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 18:48

Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 18:48
yep it was fun good for a 11.5 1/4 mile run, you don,t chip them you edit them so it reprograms the factory computer just edit alone can get you 300kw add bigger injectors,valve springs,hiflow cat,bigger intercooler and your knocking on the door of 400 flywheel kilowatts just for good measure i had the trans beefed up and a 3000 stall convertor,have a look here www.fordxr6turbo.com/forum/
and here is a little vid of my car when i only had the edit Site Link
FollowupID: 493679

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 18:57

Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 18:57
It begs the question????

How long before you dump the Pajero and get something with a bit more grunt, say a new V8 TD Troopy and add a few bits like you did with the XR6 see how it goes at Calder :-))

FollowupID: 493683

Reply By: Member - Russell H (WA) - Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 14:02

Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 14:02
V8, I know where you're coming from although it's from a slightly different perspective. One year ago we decided to snatch it on our regular jobs, pack up and travel Oz. We've got just over six weeks until we leave and the last ten and a half months have gone soooooo slowly. We just want to get going!

Don't care much for doing any other country - been there, done that - and I still think there are plenty of unspoiled places left in Oz. I was at Carawine Gorge last year. No-one in sight. No ranger, no marked tracks, no parking bays, no rubbish bins, no dunnies. My kind of place.

Cheer up - it will pass.
AnswerID: 232725

Reply By: tricatic - Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 14:21

Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 14:21
If you're finding Australia too crowded then your only alternative continent is Antarctica... But it might be a bit cool for backpacking and the place is crawling with Penguins...

AnswerID: 232728

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 15:18

Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 15:18
Wait for me!!!!!!! I want to see the Okavango and then the Amazon and maybe cross Russia in the summer

Although I arrived here with a backpack, not sure if I can handle one now....lol

As Davoe says. Mid-Life crisis. Been there, done that. Sports cars, blondes, more blondes. The more 4x4's.

Eventually you pass that stage. Then its all sweet till Old-Life crisis comes along...LOL

I'm sitting here saingy to myself that I am back to where I got away from in the first place.

Sigh....such is life

Chin up!!!!

AnswerID: 232743

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 16:03

Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 16:03
Bloody hell , I been through mid-life so where were my blonds then ?
FollowupID: 493638

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 08:41

Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 08:41
LOL must have missed my midlife crisis because I married a blonde, bugger !!!!!
FollowupID: 493734

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 09:07

Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 09:07
Interesting that not one woman has written in this Post anywhere. Willem, when you are leaving for the Okavango and Russia give me time to pack a backpack please and I'll only take one pair of shoes. Not only men who feel that V8 - I'm definitely feeling like it but will have to travel with someone other than 'old fella' he's too obsessed with his new Toyota Ute (which hasn't arrived yet), building this house and going fishing (that bits alright). Not sure that I would want the young blonde bit tho - sure would like a sportscar. Had an XU1 wwhich I flogged about everywhere - that wasn't bad after I fixed up the suspension. Maybe it's really youth we are looking for - or, all the good things about youth - health, vitality, fitness, able to surf on the malibu all day, stay out all night partying, sleep-in after 6:00 a.m.- I know that I had a crisis when I saw myself holding my first grandchild 10 hours after she was born six weeks ago. Rushed straight out and dyed my hair again - I looked like my own mother and that REALLY scared me.
FollowupID: 493746

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 15:41

Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 15:41
Get like that sometimes and realise what I really want is my youth back, as a brickie I was always fit as, after the accident my back was stuffed permanently, now I spend most of the time managing pain, but hey it can always be worse, count your blessings mate your still mobile many aren't
regards,
AnswerID: 232751

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 16:50

Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 16:50
Bullseye.

FollowupID: 493641

Reply By: PhilZD30Patrol - Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 16:59

Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 16:59

Are you still breathing and is that lump in your chest still going thump thump ......... thump? Well I've got some good news, there's still hope.

The only people who don't have any hope, no pain, no worries and no one to talk to are buried in the grave yard.

I joined a group called GROW a few years ago. It’s an International Organisation that was started by ordinary people who were depressed and anxious in Sydney 50 years ago (1957). Now ordinary people meet at least once a week for 2 hours to listen, have a winge, a laugh and to encourage each other. They can be rich, poor, educated and not so smart. It is simply a non-judgmental and non-critical sharing, support and friendship group. it is not run by super-smart professional people and there is no-one trying to relieve us of our money.

GROW is in most towns and cities. It is a 12 step recovery focused program for mental health.

It is not linked with any church or other organisation. It does not require a commitment to any religion or any strange philosophy of life. It is free and doesn't require people sign up for any long term weird ideas. Most State Governments provide some limited funding to GROW because they realise the good that GROW does.

Their web site is www.GROWint.org.au

Perth Tel (08) 9328 3344

AnswerID: 232768

Reply By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 17:04

Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 17:04
Australia is a great country - from many perspectives but it has become something of a nanny state over the past few years and that can be pretty frustrating to us free thinkers.

If you haven't travelled much overseas then I would certainly suggest, if you can afford to, take a year or two and do so. Experience other cultures; many are _very_ different to ours. Take a look at the SE Asia, India, the Middle East, Africa, Italy, France and where-ever else takes your fancy.

After that I suspect you'll yearn to return to Oz and accept that, despite it's faults, and with your newfound knowledge, it probably is about the best country in which to live. We just have to keep fighting the PC brigade who would wrap us all in, ecologically sensitive, cotton wool :)

AnswerID: 232771

Reply By: kimprado - Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 17:39

Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 17:39
Did'nt realize I had a twin brother.

Kim
AnswerID: 232786

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 17:59

Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007 at 17:59
Mate - I understand. Go roaming while you can. But I suggest that you spend a couple of years wandering the continent with the most open spaces and fewest people first. After that try Antarctica.

Meantime, if you drive far enough and go remote enough you will be further away from people than in USA (same size, 400 million people, China twice the size and 1200 million people etc etc). Oz is your best chance.

Go and see if the maps are accurate or something. But do it while you can. Out there you can ignore a lot of the do gooders and rule makers most of the time.

Good luck to yer.
Max

AnswerID: 232793

Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 07:47

Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 07:47
I had to look at the owner of this thread as it reads like something I would write!
I know just where you are coming from as we left Sydney just over 2 years ago after being there for 15. We left for Outback South Australia and love it.
Packed in our jobs, a change in career for me. At the moment I am in Adelaide catching up on hospital visits, car service and shopping!
We went to Marion Westfields yesterday and what an eye opener, its like watching Lemmings or sheep, The living dead. Can't wait to get outta here, strange as I actually thing that Adelaide is one of the better Australian cities.

I see that someone suggested in this thread about councelling for depression?
I thought am I depressed? No I just think differently and have a different aspect on life. I just happen to agree with what you mention with regards to TV, News, PC etc its all crap.

AnswerID: 232860

Reply By: Member - Arkay (SA) - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 08:39

Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 08:39
My wife Heather is a brunette & she is not at all happy with all these blonde references. Says it might give me ideas. Mate, I 've always had ideas........
AnswerID: 232877