Liberty Camper Trailer

Submitted: Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 20:38
ThreadID: 45068 Views:13579 Replies:10 FollowUps:18
I had a look at a Liberty Camper Trailer at Camper Agent in Adelaide, they have basic bare bones off road camper trailers with 9 foot canvas for $5490.00. The canvas is 14oz and is made in China and the trailer is made in Adelaide. I am looking for some feed back regarding these camper trailers. Can anyone help.

Thanks in advance.

Alex

Reply By: Hairy - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 20:52

Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 20:52
Gday pafc,
I dont personally own one but a mate nearly did!
To keep it short we was in Adelaide, had a look at one, ordered one with a few extras and come home....(1500km) He drove down a couple of weeks later to pick it up and ended up haveing a big blue with the agent.
The canvas that was agreed on was not right ( he took a sample with him) the wheels werent right. The draw bar was too short. He could see daylight through the seams and their attitude was... well you drove this far to get it, you have to buy it know! He didnt, he drove back home!
What Im saying is be careful! Make sure its what you want.

AnswerID: 237753

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 21:13

Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 21:13
Alex,

Had a look at their Web site and the Camper looks to be OK.

One thing I couldn't pick up from the photo's or see reference to in the features list is an off road coupling for the off road camper. Just make sure you can option up to one.

Another thing you may like to check is whether the base board can open up sideways to gain access to the trailer interior before the tent is erected. This makes it easier to load/unload your camping gear without having to do so from the more restricted tailgate access.

The price sounds OK but check a couple of other brands just to compare features and prices.

Assume you live in the southern area?

If you want a good comparison, have a look at the Spirit Camper Trailer.
The one downside is that they are based on the York Peninsula at Pt. Clinton.

A couple of us on ExplorOz own one and they are also very good value.

AnswerID: 237763

Follow Up By: Member - Straps (SA) - Friday, May 04, 2007 at 00:05

Friday, May 04, 2007 at 00:05
I tried looking up Spirit Camper Trailers tonight as I had found a brochure from last years caravan and camping show and their website said that they 'were no longer operating here' and offered a re-direction to the Caravan & camping SA site an there is no mention of them on the Trader / supplier list of the C&CSA site..???

Shane
FollowupID: 498895

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, May 04, 2007 at 06:31

Friday, May 04, 2007 at 06:31
Their website is not up and running. If you live in the Northern Suburbs give me a Member message and you can have a look at ours. (Just on 12mnths old) Base offroad model was about 5.5k but we added a few extras. Fantastic Value for money.
FollowupID: 498908

Follow Up By: Member - Straps (SA) - Friday, May 04, 2007 at 08:32

Friday, May 04, 2007 at 08:32
Thanks Brew69,
Am down South and not quite cashed up for purchasing a camper trailer, however am keen to look and see what bang I can get for my buck. Will keep them on my list and might even get over that way for some fishing and check them out..??

Straps
FollowupID: 498920

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, May 04, 2007 at 08:36

Friday, May 04, 2007 at 08:36
I have heard that the Spirit campers were going to move to Two Wells,could be wrong though.A few members in the Yorke Peninsula 4wd Club have them.
Regards Annette
FollowupID: 498921

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, May 04, 2007 at 14:16

Friday, May 04, 2007 at 14:16
Hi there Annette,

Good to see you surfing ExplorOz. (Bill will have to watch what he says aha!)

There has been "rumours" about the move for quite a while.
The young fella that runs the family business lives at Two Wells.
However, I believe the production staff are Pt. Clinton locals and therein lies the problem. Do you relocate the business and risk losing your valued workers.

In spite of the lack of a current Web site, I understand Spirit are still "flat out" keeping up with orders. They definitely have a good product.

FollowupID: 498986

Reply By: obee - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 21:19

Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 21:19
It's partly get what you pay for and partly how much stuff do you want to pay for. I got a cavalier which is solid enough trailer except where they didnt weld all along the seams on the guards and I had to do it again. The paint falls off. The tent is of good heavy quality real canvas and cant fault it and thats about it. You can pay for all sorts of extra stuff but all I want is a good bed (I picked up a good inner spring mattress along the way) and shelter. I firmly believe in having a large tarp that will go right over the lot to keep the canvas dry and cool. One that will serve also as verandha.

All the extra stuff you can decide on along the way. It dont come any cheaper by getting it on day one.

Oh yeah our floor is plain waterproof heavy duty and I never felt the need for a solid floor. Nylex boxes for all the stuff and a couple of tables is KISS but a roll out frame to carry them would be nice. Another project!

Ours came second hand from someone who thought it all too hard so I saved some money too.

We got about fifty megameters of travel so far.

Owen
AnswerID: 237767

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 22:40

Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 22:40
We also use a large tarp ( 16' x 16' ) that goes over the whole camper when we're not using the awning. One of the best things about it is that it saves the tent getting wet with dew at this time of the year. Works well as an awning too and a piece of cake to put up.
FollowupID: 498873

Reply By: T-Ribby - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 22:32

Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 22:32
At that price, a Camel is worth a comparison. They are a strong and well made camper, 10" tent and all the canvas work is done onsite.
On-road and off-road models, and I can vouch that there are no gaps in the seams. Here's their web site fwiw.
www.camelgroup.com.au/

T.R.
AnswerID: 237786

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 23:37

Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 23:37
Hi there Alex, Yes we have one and so does Patnav (another user on here). Well I can agree with Hairy the bloke is an a##whole and I did have some major issues with the first one I bought, sent it back got a new series and so far so good. Improved it 95% over the first one I got. Tows very well, the paint on the trailer is a bit thin but have seen dearer ones with the same and is not a major issue. The canvas yes claims to be 14oz is it or not ?? I wouldnt have a clue but feels fairly thick. Very basic in terms of any extras, kitchen etc etc but like anything you want that you pay more. How is it off road well time will tell. Would I take it to the cape well I wouldnt take my car up there I would hire one and screw that up before I stuffed either my car or camper. Cant complain about the camper in general. Takes about 10 mins to set up maybe a tad more. The awning if using it will take about another 10. We also got the annexe with it as well. Would I buy another one yes, from him no he's a pric#. he's lucky I didnt run my hilux and camper through he's plate glass window. Would I have done it if he didnt come good ,you betch I would have had two mates lined up to come with me.Regards Steve
AnswerID: 237795

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy- Friday, May 04, 2007 at 07:03

Friday, May 04, 2007 at 07:03
Hi all there is a bloke near Glenmore Park that builds the liberty campers. We had a good look around at all sorts of campers. HIS WERE CRAP!! they weren't even worth the cheap prices that he was asking. Build quality (if you call it that) was awful and he had his young bloke (about 15) and 4 of his mates building the trailers.
I couldn't get back in the car quick enough.
Ended up going for a Central Coast Canvas camper and had the trailer built by central coast trailers to my specs.
It pays to shop around.
Tour Boy
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 237812

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, May 04, 2007 at 08:43

Friday, May 04, 2007 at 08:43
Hi there Tourboy, were thay on the right hand side on mulgoa rd heading out to silverdale not far past the glenmore park entrance ?? How long ago did you look at one. Myn went there and then to St Marys to be returned back to SA, bet it never made it back probably got sold, was a piece of sh#t the new one I got same brand was 95% better then the old one. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 498922

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy- Friday, May 04, 2007 at 10:35

Friday, May 04, 2007 at 10:35
Hi Steve, He was there I think but is now on the eastern side of the Northern Rd first st past the M4 heading south.(home state Rd??) We were there about a month ago.
TB
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 498948

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, May 04, 2007 at 17:02

Friday, May 04, 2007 at 17:02
Now I'm confused the Liberty Camper trailers being asked about are built in SA. (well the trailer is anyway)
FollowupID: 499004

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, May 04, 2007 at 22:43

Friday, May 04, 2007 at 22:43
Hi there Brew, the trailers are made in SA. The tent top is made in China then assembled to the trailer at there main branch in SA. They have agents elsewhere in other states selling them But they are all made in SA and sent across to whatever state when orders and deposits paid. I got myn direct from SA and was sent to a trucking wharehouse over at smithfied and I picked up from there. Should have seen the transit damage done by the trucking company, Was 1/4 of the reason I sent the first one back they still managed to dent the new one but was only minor. Hit the strap that holds the gas bottle in on the side and pushed it in an inch or two nothing major but was done by the forklift driver. I will never buy from interstate again unless I am picking up myself and they have other actual dealers in my state to many dramas if things need fixing or in my circumstance replacing. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 499110

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Saturday, May 05, 2007 at 07:03

Saturday, May 05, 2007 at 07:03
Ok its this quote from Tour Boy i don't get."Hi all there is a bloke near Glenmore Park that builds the liberty campers."
FollowupID: 499130

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, May 05, 2007 at 14:05

Saturday, May 05, 2007 at 14:05
Hi there Brew69, na cant comment on that I dont know of any actually been built here in NSW. Only agents that I know of who have one or two for display then order from SA when required. Wonder if some one else is building using the same name I doubt it. Tour boy where's the exact location obviously not far from me would like to check them out to see what the go is ?? Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 499171

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy- Monday, May 07, 2007 at 15:23

Monday, May 07, 2007 at 15:23
Hi Guys 211 Homestead Rd Orchard hills. (the liberty campers website has a typo)

2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 499486

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, May 07, 2007 at 22:52

Monday, May 07, 2007 at 22:52
Hi there Dave, thanks for that I'm going to have a squiz tomorra arvo and see what there selling and the quality, will be interesting to compare to what I have to what you saw. Will let you know if its anything like mine or totally different. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 499586

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy- Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 07:18

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 07:18
Steve, did you find them?
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 500034

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 17:02

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 17:02
Hi Dave, I've been away for a few days (still away home tomorra been up north just called in my mums so doing web mail from her house) so will chase up on monday. Regards steve M
FollowupID: 500326

Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Friday, May 04, 2007 at 08:25

Friday, May 04, 2007 at 08:25
For around that price range ( I think) there is a company in Adelaide called Sars Major, they make a similar camper trailer and if they are anything like their wags the quality is excellent

www.kenmajor.com/

AnswerID: 237827

Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Friday, May 04, 2007 at 08:25

Friday, May 04, 2007 at 08:25
For around that price range ( I think) there is a company in Adelaide called Sars Major, they make a similar camper trailer and if they are anything like their swags the quality is excellent

www.kenmajor.com/

AnswerID: 237828

Reply By: D-Jack - Friday, May 04, 2007 at 21:32

Friday, May 04, 2007 at 21:32
Why not try Sar Major at Edwardstown for a no frills great quality camper (trailer leaves a bit to be desired finish wise but is stil strong.) aussie made in the factory you visit.

D-Jack
AnswerID: 237959

Reply By: Member - Shane L (SA) - Saturday, May 05, 2007 at 10:27

Saturday, May 05, 2007 at 10:27
Hi Alex,
I bought a Liberty 12 months ago, $5500 for the 12 foot + walls for the annexe. Made my own kitchen (slide out) fitted tool box, Battery and water tank, and storage drawer beside kitchen full height and length of trailer. I got the on-road as at the time I didn't have a 4x4, The wife & I are very happy with it for the price, but changed the mattress for a normal Queen inner spring. Heaps better than "tenting it" Main difference between the on & off road is the wall height of the trailer (same Canvas on top) 2 eye springs instead of slipper on the on-road.

Shane
AnswerID: 238055

Follow Up By: Member - Shane L (SA) - Saturday, May 05, 2007 at 10:29

Saturday, May 05, 2007 at 10:29
PS
Got mine from Reynella (head office I beleive) dealt with the business owner.

Shane
FollowupID: 499159

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, May 07, 2007 at 22:48

Monday, May 07, 2007 at 22:48
Hi there Shane, thats where myn came from what was the blokes name ?? I dealt with two people from over there. One was Morrie the other Bill, I believe neither of these blokes are the owners as I could never get hold of the owner of the company but Ive got a feeling I know who the owner is !!. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 499584