Raising boys - perhaps the tide is just beginning to turn...?

Submitted: Friday, May 18, 2007 at 19:05
ThreadID: 45630 Views:3872 Replies:16 FollowUps:18
For far too long there has been an attempt by the "Politically Correct" to reduce the "boy" factor in male children, to remove or reduce the risks boys naturally take (all in the interest of "safety" of course), an attempt to change males from the basic primates we are to some sort of softie who gets upset if he can't find his aftershave and is fully in touch with his feminine side....

It has long been my supposition that neither men or women really want to emasculate males to this degree but I have felt something of a lone voice... however the publication of this book, by a major publisher, provides cause for hope and a possibility that the Western world is turning to recognise that boys actually _need_ to be boys!

www.dangerousbookforboys.com/

Take a look at the trailer -YouTube video

Reply By: Shaker - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 19:10

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 19:10
Sadly ..... Too little, too late!
AnswerID: 240853

Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 19:25

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 19:25
never to late.........

Reiner
FollowupID: 501754

Follow Up By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:01

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:01
Thats right - its never too late

and as that great aussie rock band the Choir Boys (rather ironic name given the topic) sang "Boys will be boys"

I gotta get me that book!
FollowupID: 501784

Reply By: mike w (WA) - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 20:13

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 20:13
Ha ha, fantastic book, I was given a copy at xmas to pass on to my boy when he is old enough. The sort of book I wish I had when I was young. I sure will be passing it ondoing.

Ill also teach him about all the finer things in life that a boy needs to know- how to shoot, drink export, rum, and cook a BBQ. Wont be no 'emo' kids in our clan, no sir, not here.
AnswerID: 240870

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 11:44

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 11:44
What's "emo"?
FollowupID: 501862

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 12:07

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 12:07
Have a gander at this:

Site Link

Its a teen sub culture that is becoming more and more prevalent in today's youth. It is often associated within the media and as 'slang' as teens who are hpersensitive emotionally, listen to 'emo' music associated with death etc, they wear black and often said to be depressed. As far as a sub culture goes, its not necessaryly a bad thing if ones teen associates as an 'emo', however more and more the media are using it as hyperbol to explain the prevalence and increase of teen suicide, murders and being generally unhappy. What you think of it is your opinion, me. its not bad, but some people take the whole sub culture thing a little too far.

have a gooden

mike
FollowupID: 501868

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 12:17

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 12:17
Thanks Mike, got to say I'm not surprised they get depressed. I would too.

Makes you wonder if the huge increase in diagnosed depression isn't rooted in some of this stuff. BTW I'd put Rap in the same basket.

Come to think of it a basket is not a bad place for it.

Just my dollars worth.
FollowupID: 501873

Reply By: Dusty Miller - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 20:33

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 20:33
Great book, as a father of three boys ( and one girl), it's a constant struggle to pry them from the PS2, PS3 or Xbox. Combine that with dwindling places to explore and rising costs, sometimes I wonder where we're heading. But sitting in the tinnie, on a river that took 2-3 days 4 wheeling to get to, with those three boys is always worth the struggle and bs.
Dusty.
AnswerID: 240877

Reply By: Hairy - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 20:38

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 20:38
My 11 year old daughter drives my 80 series on her own and my 8 year old would but cant reach the pedals but steers like a mad man ( controlled slides no drama)
They both can hit a beer can on a stick at 20m with a slug gun (standing) and wouldnt know what a Latte was.
We got bogged to the arse in a creek bed the other day with the camper trailer on and they were out of the car taking the valve caps off and getting the shovel out before I could finish my beer. The Daughter suggested that she drove and I pushed but was a bit worried about how far she had to go before she could turn around with the trailer on and Me and the young fella didnt like the idea of her driving off with the esky.
Kids are a reflection of their parents and always will be ( maybee a few added ripples).
Any way teas finished so we' re going out to the shed to polish my bikes and make slingshots.
( no latte sipping fags around here!) no offence to those who have had a latte!
AnswerID: 240880

Follow Up By: Nick R - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 22:17

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 22:17
I started mine on a 60 series at 8, what stage do you reckon I should teach her to use the 12 guage, she is 10 soon!!! what do you think a girl would like best? ear piercings, bratz doll or shooting lessons?

It was just beautiful when she negotiated a boggy patch one of my 23 year old workers had just got bogged in. What made it even better was that his mum and sister were with him. It gave me great delight to tell him when she got through.

Another year till my son learns to drive the cruiser although he did help me pull down the hub of our commercial front end loader which was useful!!!!!
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 501800

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:02

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:02
The "system", hasn't been male friendly for a long time. Be it schools or just pc companies, you are more likely to find token males in far too many places. These places then become alien places for boys. Then we wonder why they don't achieve their full potential. The same could be said for girls...30 years ago.
But the spread of mediocraty in our schools and universities has been constant and relentless. This hasn't been helped by pressure groups of "other" sexes muddying the waters.
As a society we have stood by idely with a "she'll be right" or "why doesn't the Govt do something" attitude.
And now I'm afraid we're reaping what we've sown. Whether its a desireable outcome or not is up to us.
The Berlin Wall came down a long time ago. Affirmative Action in the wrong places for the wrong reasons, doesn't do anyone any good, male or female; but unlike the Wall, it's not cast in stone.
AnswerID: 240884

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:25

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:25
Looks like an interesting book. I will add it to my reading list.

The next on my reading list is called "He'll Be OK Growing Gorgeous Boys Into Good Men" by Celia Lashlie. The author is a former prison guard. The info on the back says in part... In this funny, honest, no-nonsense book Ceilia Lashlie reveals what goes on inside the world of boys, and that it is an entirely different world from that of girls. .....she offers parents especially mothers practical and reassuring advice on raising their boys to become good, loving, articulate men.

Like I say it's next on my list, I'll let you know if its as good as it appears on the surface. From the intervue I heard on the radio she talks a lot of sense.

AnswerID: 240888

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:46

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:46
I think the biggest problem today is, fathers don't play a big enough roll in the boys up bringing.

My old man would take me to football or base ball during the wet season, in the dry I can't remember a week end that my sister and I couldn't take a friend camping with us.

We took our 4 1/2 year old camping in Kakadu at 6 weeks, to the Kimberly's at 13 months and we just did 14,000 km doing 1/2 a lap of Oz camping.

Today he even helped me do the wheel bearings on one of my trucks, Tomorrow he will help pump the oil, when I do the diffs , gearbox and transfer, he loves helping me do this, as he said today," Hey dad I'm your best helper hey".

98% of his toys are out door toys, the indoor toys are for a rainy days.

I'm lucky I guess that I can work 8 months of the year, then be able to spend a lot of time with the little man generaly camping or travelling.

So Dads get out there and teach your Boys to be Boys, Because if you let the Wife do it they will end up being Girls.LOL

Cheers Steve.

AnswerID: 240895

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:51

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:51
The kids out rotating the tyre of his motocross bike right now so that it has a sharper leading edge for to'morrows race.

It will take a good hour but its worth nearly 1/4 second per lap.

We will be in the mud and drizzle before sunrise to-morrow giving it a final tune before the start gate drops.

Anyone who wants to help us with our femine side can come and read to us at
7am tomorrow during scrutineering.

AnswerID: 240900

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 10:05

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 10:05
"It will take a good hour"

Geeeez Mate, I hope it wasn't you who taught him how to change tyres !! lol.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 501850

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 14:45

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 14:45
Hi there Pezza

Its not brissy temps any more down here.

Results count - after good 1st round win - crashing out in thick mud in second , it was down to 3rd heat.

Staggered across the line a bit beat up , just in front and tiring fast.

It may have taken an hour due to cold, rain and biting wind - but with less than a second in hand crossing the finnish line , its forgotten now standing on the podium.

FollowupID: 501898

Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 22:02

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 22:02
Gooday,
Just remember that ALL Children will grow into The Adults that their Parents teach them to be!!!!!.
Boroma604.
AnswerID: 240904

Reply By: V8Diesel - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 22:04

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 22:04
It's been in my bookcase for a few months now.........should be compulsory reading.
AnswerID: 240905

Reply By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 22:57

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 22:57
This is a general whinge, not flaiming any contributor to this thread.

Given I'm a social worker specialising in workplace mediation, relationship and stress counselling, harassment, coaching managers and rehabilitating bullies I frankly get a bit peeved by criticism from people who are happy to chuck stones but not get themselves involved in actually working with people. Whether we get called do gooders or politically correct, I'd much rather do what I do than be a do badder....

If you care to look at the explosion of services for men around the country in the last decade, the huge raising in awareness of men's issues - it's frankly the biggest revolution in human service provision in my career of 20+ years. I can almost guarantee that all the workers trying their a..se off to help men and boys would fully support this book.

My boys are not into the shooting and car tinkering that I used to do when younger - I grew out of shooting stuff at around 22 but I still tinker to the extent of running vege oil in my cruiser so don't point the finger about not wanting to take risks. But what they do get into, with my daughter, is the art of taking acceptable risks and they've been helped with this by doing Scouts.

What helps boys, and men, is to build resilience and to learn how to take acceptable risks. There are probably many ways of achieving that, but Scouts has worked for my kids. Not shooting, motorcross or 4WD'ing. It's their life not mine, I give them the freedom to choose even though I'd really like some help with servicing the cruiser now and again!

One poster above talks about the lack of decent male role models in boys lives - the book itself shows a Dad giving up his work to routine to connect with his boy. You gotta get it that we're all on the same side here, trying to keep our boys alive and grow them into decent men.

Ranting over

Tim
AnswerID: 240912

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 23:06

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 23:06
"If you care to look at the explosion of services for men around the country in the last decade, the huge raising in awareness of men's issues - "

Who knows that more men die from prostate cancer, than women do from breast cancer?

Sorry, but I find your statement very hard to believe.
FollowupID: 501808

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 23:55

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 23:55
>Given I'm a social worker specialising in workplace mediation,
>relationship and stress counselling,

As someone who worked at the sharp end of the relationship counselling area for a few years, albeit 15 years ago:

>If you care to look at the explosion of services for men
>around the country in the last decade

You're putting me on! I looked at _exactly_ this area about 5 years ago - it's a joke and given the lack of male peer support networks, especially for single male parents, such services are sadly lacking.

Have you _any_ idea of the rate of male suicide? The issues of male isolation following family breakdown? The disenfranchise of males in _so_ many areas....
I could go on....

>I grew out of shooting stuff at around 22

Freud would have a field day with that.

>but I still tinker to the extent of running vege oil in my cruiser
>so don't point the finger about not wanting to take risks.

Interesting that you feel the need to reassure us of this.

>You gotta get it that we're all on the same side here, trying to
>keep our boys alive and grow them into decent men.

Are we? So often, over the past 10 to 20 years, it's seemed to me there is an agenda to try and make boys into surrogate girls - I think we're seeing the results of this reflected in family breakdown and other social issues. I could go on... and probably will.... :)

FollowupID: 501819

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 00:32

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 00:32
G'day Mike,

you've responded in quote above, I was prompted to do the same wrt yourself

"it's seemed to me there is an agenda to try and make boys into surrogate girls - I think we're seeing the results of this reflected in family breakdown and other social issues."

heaven forbid people draw inferences here but when i moved to the east coast, (yeah ok Leichardt, but I left there long ago :) i found a lot of families raising their boys like 'gods' in the household. yep, these same boys were the ones that filled the papers in the crime theme, they were the ones climbing through my window while I was in bed etc...before you know it, they think they are ten foot tall with 12 inch appliances. No respect or concern for any crimes even against the elderly waiting in their car for Beryl to come out for a ride to the Thursday bowls gig.

when i lived in Perth i knew some nasty girls, Perth girls, so this may be incongruous with the above paragraph....but is it? i don't know, it's late....

my gut feeling at the moment Mike is that the world is getting smaller, fast, and we are having to adjust to many and varied cultures becoming part of our society. These cultures have their own 'way' of raising kids and that in itself can 'jibe' the way the western (or at least here in Australia) perceive or indeed see our children "appraised/guided" by media, politicians, community etc.

God help us, the MEDIA have such a reach into kids these days......

I just want my boy (I have three girls) to love his parents, respect others and be a worthwhile member of society.
FollowupID: 501822

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 01:15

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 01:15
Alright Mike - I was a bit cranky. But yes there has been a substantial increase in services for men. I didn't say, or mean, it was near enough, but over the last ten years there HAS been more services targetting men and trying to assist with relationship stuff, health and growing boys into men. A decade ago there were none, now at least it is recognised that men need some help along the way and there ARE many, and good services around. 24 hour call centres like Mensline for example, Child Support Agency's 'Staying Connected for Separated Fathers', all the decent relationship agencies have a special service targetting men - often using terms such as 'the shed' and run by old blokes, father figures, even the public health centres running the 'pitstop' health check for men at all the rural and trade shows. A real big problem is actually getting the men to participate, but this isn't the forum to go on about this.

I don't agree there is a general community agenda, or a political one, to turn boys into surrugate girls. If you are referring to attempts to get boys and men to be able to talk more openly, to look for a bit of help when they need it - if you like 'show their feminine side' - then I actually think this is a real good thing and might actually help do something about the horrendous male suicide rate and health issues men face. Got any better ideas??

And your comment re the lack of male peer support services - isn't that just exactly it - males don't DO peer support very well. Why should an agency or government have to setup a peer support service? Aren't we supposed to have mates? Oh, that's right, you don't tell your mates you are struggling, you don't share personal thoughts with mates - that'd just be like a girl wouldn't it......

Tim
FollowupID: 501823

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 11:21

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 11:21
Hi Tim

I don't want to go too far down this road as it's fairly oblique to the original topic.

I have no doubt there has been some increase in support services for men over the past few years but given the starting point was about zero that would not be difficult. I would, however, argue very strongly that we are still only paying lip service to this area. I don't totally agree with your comment about men keeping a "stiff upper lip" - sure some do but it's been my experience many are more than willing to talk about issues to a good listener.

Back to support services: Mensline.
About four years ago I applied and was accepted to be trained as a voluntary counsellor for Mensline - no pay, no expenses etc (given my previous relationship counselling experience I didn't foresee any major issues). However I withdrew from the process in the very early stages after I mulled over two points of the Mensline "conditions". 1) I was expected to pay some hundreds of dollars to cover the cost of my training, 2) Mensline offered no support structure (formal or informal) to their counsellors. Imagine spending 3 hours on the phone to a guy who's in a desperate emotional state and then having him say "Thanks for the help mate but I'm going to kill myself now - bye".!!??

During my relationship counselling days I had a tutor assigned to me who I met with once a month (or whenever I wanted if I had issues), a formal multi peer support system for one evening per fortnight and excellent informal peer support, additionally I could call on external psychiatric help if necessary.

Perhaps (hopefully) things have changed at Mensline now? But that is an excellent example of the "lip service" I mentioned.

FollowupID: 501859

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 08:37

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 08:37
Hi Mike

I saw this book the other day, and thought I might get it, I'm keen to read it for myself, but also because I have a boy, Callum, who seems to relish in things that boys do. I also have a daughter, Tegan, so can compare the two. Both have the same influences, same chances and choice, and both choose differently, while one - Tegan is into not dolls [takes after her mum there] but animals etc, and wants to be a vet, Callum is a bit like Sid from Toy Story and likes to either take things apart, including toys, or make things, hence he has a lot of construction stuff. There are exceptions, Tegan enjoys tearing around on a quad bike, Callum, [as a result of a minor prang on one] does not at the moment.

I"m all for kids being kids, Callum just had a birthday - 6 - his favorite gift, was a
toilet shaped pot of whooppee putty definitely not very socially correct, but very bloody funny, especially when he lets one rip just as Nana is about to sit down...I hope not to "protect" them, but to encourage them to learn and if that means a few slip ups, so be it, didnt emotionally scar myself or my brother, won't hurt my kids either. They play in the mud, get grotty and you know what...it washes off...let them imagine, my kids just made dinosaur footprints in the garden out of the mud....I thought that was fantastic..the best we can do is give them as much information about things as we can, encourage them to find answers we don't have and enjoy every minute of them.

Lyn

PS..As tegan has just broken her wrist result of accident at school, Callum has been jealous as hell, and I'm waiting for him to take a dive off something so he can have one too.
AnswerID: 240946

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 11:06

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 11:06
Hi Lyn

You post reminds me of Richard Brown! Gawd help me! :)

We met Pip and Stan (Richards parents) when our elder child and Richard were at playschool together, they were both about 4 years of age. Richard was a terror! A boy who wanted to be into and do everything active he could no matter the risk. I refused to take him on a cliff top walk on one occasion. His parents did a good job of parenting but Richard was just a wild child.

Anyway; Pip is at home one afternoon when there is a knock at the door, turns out to be a social worker, calling unannounced (we assumed in response to Richard turning up at playschool a few times with various cuts and bruises), who wants to talk about Richard. Pip invites her in and the social worker asks if Richard is at home, Pip replies that he is playing in the garden. Social worker and Pip walk over to the window to observe Richard just in time to see him standing upright on the top of his climbing frame, spread his Superman cape wide across his arms and leap into space - falling flat on his face on the grass and breaking an arm!

The social worker turned to Pip and said; "Mrs Brown - I'll leave now and take no further action, you clearly have more than enough on your hands already" :)

FollowupID: 501858

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 09:48

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 09:48
hahhah...sounds a bit like Callum, though I wouldn't describe Callum as a terror, he did "surf" down the slide when he was 18mnths, and decided it was much better to stand on top of his rocking "tigger" than sit on it...Callum had a friend at Kinda that sounds a bit like your Richard, he was a kid who had to be where the action is, unfortunately he usually arrived at a bad time, or at such great speed that if there was a building being constructed he'd knock it over, I enjoyed watching him alot.

Lyn :))
FollowupID: 502028

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 10:55

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 10:55
Sounds like a great book. My kids have been camping and fishing since they were 2 years old. They still do it now but they have all have left home doing there own thing now.

We were always involved in thier sport and did majority of things as a family and I feel this will follow on in the future for my lot.

Spend as much time as you can you only get one shot at it. :)

AnswerID: 240966

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 11:27

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 11:27
Many boys will not be taught by a male teacher until they hit secondary school. For them, school is a female thing which they sometimes have great difficulty adjusting to.
In an age where "family" breakdowns are rife, with the result that many kids dont have dads around very often, boys don't have a role model until its too late.
Any male who actually enjoys the comapany of kids, either his own or in a professional capacity is automatically "sus". How can we expect males to go into these teaching areas when it's akin to painting a target on their back ?
It's a bloody sick society out there !
AnswerID: 240973

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 11:36

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 11:36
I have much sympathy with that viewpoint.

I'm looking at the possibility of doing some short term foster care for "difficult" teenagers and I wonder how much I may be exposing myself to such possibilities?

FollowupID: 501861

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 12:17

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 12:17
After dealing with children, teens and young adults for 35 years, I'd advise you to do a graet deal of research and soul searching before taking it on.
FollowupID: 501874

Follow Up By: ev700 - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 13:43

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 13:43
Footloose said: "Any male who actually enjoys the comapany of kids, either his own or in a professional capacity is automatically "sus". How can we expect males to go into these teaching areas when it's akin to painting a target on their back ?
It's a bloody sick society out there ! "

Totally agree with that and all of us should bump off a complaint to the newpaper or to the TV station every time they paint men that way. For example, the newspapers seem to comb the world to find some news about a man being violent.

My pet hate is White Ribbon Day which commemorates the murder of 14 students by a lunatic in Montreal in 1989 . This slaughter is celebrated as a day when men and boys are castigated for violence against women, notwithstanding the fact that the Canadian madman was no more representative of men and boys than (say) Bryant or any other male or female nutter who goes off the rails from time to time.

WRD is an obscenity that does more harm than good through demonising half of the population.

My 2c worth and I'll now leave it alone.

EV700

FollowupID: 501893

Reply By: ev700 - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 11:54

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 11:54
Any change has a long way to go, our students went all of the way through pre-kindy, kindy, pre-school and primary school without encountering a male teacher. This primary school was 'blessed' with a full representation of women in all of its higher positions.

Yes, I know that the women's movement believes that women are better placed to guide boys and young men on what masculinity should be and the gender of the teacher doesn;'t matter as long as she is a woman.l But hey, the subject State primary school in SEQld banned chasing games on the oval 'because Boy Scouts play those games' and the principal has done her level best to introduce small court sports in the place of football, cricket and so on. The principal and her deputy heads were not convinced by a delegation of girls who, like the boys, did not really want to spend breaks walking sedately around gossiping among themselves or sitting with a straight back in the library.

We very much regret not moving all of our children to private schools earlier - at year 5 preferably. They now blooming in a Lutheran secondary college and are much more comfortable because they are treated as people. There are probably good State schools around too, but not locally in our neck of the woods.

EV700
AnswerID: 240978

Reply By: mfewster - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 13:45

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 13:45
I think political correctness is not the real problem. About 10 years ago I ran a program in Victoria called "Click Off-Click On." The aim of the program was to get kids and families to turn off their tv sets and monitors and do real things. The project put me in touch with all kinds of people and organizations revolving around this topic. Three things emerged as the biggest causes of sedentary lifestyles for kids
1. Absolute paranoia of schools/governments/individuals/organizations etc about being sued. Just about every aspect of activities that might be done with kids is so tied up with red tape that it just isn't worth all the drama to do things. Playground design, excursions, activities etc etc. Mind you the paranoia was justified. The Australian public has followed the American example and now sues at the drop of the proverbial.
2. Changes to working arrangements with parents having to work more and more shift hours.
3. Cramming school curriculum with lots of new subjects so that organized sport has been almost squeezed out of existence.

Given this background and the availability computers and tv's to fill in the time, the results aren't surprising.

It's a great book, but tongue in cheek.
AnswerID: 240999