How much

Submitted: Friday, May 18, 2007 at 20:38
ThreadID: 45632 Views:3094 Replies:14 FollowUps:7
For all those that have done or are about to do the big trip what type of budgets did you allocate. Now I know there are a lot of variants to what everyone wants/can do and what activities can be enjoyed on the big trip but just a rough idea will be most appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Kev

Reply By: Member- Rox (WA) - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:06

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:06
I traveled for 11.5 months. It cost me the same as living at home 50K. But I had a morgage and built a house whilst away, ( so factur that in). We just caught up with some retirees that we travelled with, 2.5 years 180k but they added a turbo & shockies. So it depends what you do. Food will be the same as home + a bit. Fuel is the biggie. Bush camped vrs Caravan Park, how many times a week?
Hopes this helps. Ps we traveled 2004-2005
AnswerID: 240885

Reply By: Willem - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:13

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:13
When on the move $150 a day, depending on the fuel price

Sitting still $50 a day
AnswerID: 240886

Follow Up By: Rosco - Qld - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:30

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:30
Hey Wills

After a carton ... $50 won't go far .. ;-))
Just kiddin.....

Cheers cob
FollowupID: 501788

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:36

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:36
If you're dropping a carton a day, does anything else matter ???
FollowupID: 501789

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:37

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:37
Ahhhhh.....temperance my good fellow...temperance

Regulation 2 beers a day. First one to get the taste and second one to wash it down. And it must be full strength beer or nothing !!!

FollowupID: 501790

Follow Up By: Rosco - Qld - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:42

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:42
Mind you ... with a wee tad of that cactus juice I've read about .... well .. what can I say?? Temperance old chap??

:-D
FollowupID: 501792

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 23:41

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 23:41
Fresh out of the White Lightning boyzo

But have a bottle waiting for me in the Alice. Pure Moonshine...LOL

FollowupID: 501818

Reply By: lunchbuckett - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:47

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:47
We did our trip last year, left east coast mid September, returned home mid February. Toyota Prado towing 24 foot caravan. We estimated expense for the trip between $10,000 and $12,000, including fuel, accommodation, food, and a few tours.
AnswerID: 240898

Reply By: Diver1 - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:51

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:51
I go off $800 per week...includes fuel, food etc .....

6 weeks last year we spent $5000...we were renting then so add $1200 for the weeks away....

trip in 2 yrs for 12 weeks Im looking $10,000 + ..... 2 adults 3 kids..but then there is $3000 of bills and $5000 mortgage while we're away.....

Laura....

p.s Ive also heard some go off $100 per couple per day....no kids.....
AnswerID: 240902

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 23:56

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 23:56
Hey Kevern

We did 14,000 km Kakadu, Three ways, mt Isa, Karumba, Cairns, Frazer, Bathurst, Mansfield, Great ocean road, Port Augusta, Coober Pedy, Kulgera, Finke track Alice, Devils Marbles, Darwin, Kakadu.

It took 6 weeks we planed 8 but did my knee in Mansfield, We camped sometimes free, sometimes C/van park, we stayed with family and the odd motel room, we did Fraser Island ( ferry $ 140 ) we also did a couple of tours.

All up it was about $12,000, when I say we It was myself, wife and 4 1/2 year old.

Steve.
AnswerID: 240919

Reply By: HGMonaro - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 00:29

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 00:29
don't know yet, but I did do a rough calculation the other day and what we save in kids creche fees, sporting costs, trains and petrol to and from work, will cover our petrol and accomodation! Food a bit dearer than home, add some for tours and what-not, shouldn't be that much different... hopefully! :)
AnswerID: 240923

Reply By: PeteS - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 06:10

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 06:10
Hi Kevern

For a five week trip from Newcastle to Litchfield, Darwin, Kakadu, Kununurra, Gibb River Rd, Broome, Bungle Bungles, Alice Springs, Coober Pedy, Broken Hill and home (12,700km) I have budgeted $9,000.

The above is based on 2 adults, a Diesel Prado towing about 2 tonne loaded Kimberley Karavan. Fuel I have calculated average $1.80/litre

About 50% of nights are non camp areas (hoping to do more than 50%) and the remainder parks etc.. Have calculated a vehicle service in this, park entry fees, an occasional meal out, our day to day food. This averages around $257/day.

PeteS
AnswerID: 240933

Reply By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 09:45

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 09:45
Our (2 adults) trips are mainly bush camping, with a bit of time spent with family and friends. We drive a thirsty vehicle and dont tow anything. We like to see and do the genuine sights and experiences, so pay for entry fees, permits occasional tour etc, but try to avoid the more obvious "tourist traps". We buy an occasional meal but mostly cook for ourselves. We seem to use about $600 per week, and more than half of that is fuel. So last year a 10,000km trip through the Simpson, Alice, up through the Gulf, across to the Atherton area and home down the coast came to about $5K.

Val.

AnswerID: 240956

Reply By: downtools - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 09:54

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 09:54
This was too long ago to have much relevence but could be interesting to some.
We left Sydney in Dec 1989 with landcruiser, 22 foot van and 2 billy lids.
Travelled all over, left the van whenever we could for places like the Cape. Bungles, Gibb R Rd, fishing along the gulf ( Towns river Roper Bar etc etc).
Two years later arrived back is Sydney! Must be mad for coming back!!
I worked for 5months in Cairns and 3 months in Alice ( plumber/gas fitter).
The rest of the time was swimming, fishing, sailing, diving, camping - get the idea?
Anyway, we sold our house before we left Sydney and bought another one when we got back.
We arrived back in Sydney with $20k less than we left with two years before.
We have just bought a nissan Gu 4.2 2004 and are setting up to do it again. Sooner the better.
Bottom line, save doh where you can but don't worry about it too much, go and enjoy!
Nifty
AnswerID: 240958

Reply By: Ford Rodeo - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 10:00

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 10:00
Last trip to Cape York from Melb for 9 weeks cost me $18,000. That includes paying mortgage ($3000 all up) while away. Thats just me and the missus and my 2 hairy children. If we want to do something, we do it and worry about the cost later. Its only money.

Phill

P.S I dont mind a sarsparella so the booze bill was rather large.
AnswerID: 240960

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 12:13

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 12:13
Costs me $560 to fill up with fuel at $1.30 per litre and can drive 3500 kms without a filling up so I wait till I get to big cities before filling up.
Am doing a trip from Sydney to Exmouth in a figure 8 and am expecting to do 3 and a half tanks. So $2000 in fuel.
Food: estimate $100 per week = $800
Camp fees and Permits: $300
grog: $300
2 full services for the Ute: $120
Film and developing: $600
Total $4120 for 8 weeks
Extras: $880
Total for trip $5000
AnswerID: 240981

Follow Up By: markeaust - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 16:23

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 16:23
Wow........

What sort of fuel tanks do you have???

My calculations suggest that at $1.30/l and $560 to fill would equate to 430 litres of fuel. That's a hellava lot of fuel to be carrying around....nearly half a ton!

The increase in fuel consumption would just about offset any saving in fuel prices at the more remote places, surely? Plus the added weight, wear and tear on vehicle etc.....

I've looked into fitting additional fuel tanks to my Toyota 105 series, which has 145l as standard, but for the times that I would need it, can't justify the expense at the moment....

Just interested.....

FollowupID: 501912

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 16:48

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 16:48
Mark,
The standard fuel tank is 70l.
I own 3 diggers so I need a way of filling them up. Hence a 200l external tank on the back of the ute. Can generally squeeze an extra 20l into it.
Prior to having the external tank I used to use plastic jerry cans so I will be taking them also. I usually take at least 2 just in case I get a leak in the main one but for this trip will be taking 7 of them.
Will also be taking 120l of water, 6 cases of Jim Beam and coke, 3 cases beer so just the weight of fluids will be 630kg.
That still leaves me with around 300kgs of clothes, camping, recovery and food. Will be very heavy but With it loaded I am getting about 580kms per tank
FollowupID: 501917

Reply By: SCUBADOO - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 21:07

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 21:07
Kevern

FWIW
Everyone IS different! A very brief summary of our trip.

Sold home here in NZ.
June 2003 Purchased 1996 Winnie 4L Misti Canter motorhome $52000
Travelled 85000km over the next 3 years. Fuel cost $13604

Spent almost exactly $60K = $20k/year. It can be done.
Food $130/week, Fuel $100/week. Accomodation perhaps $5/week. Clothing $0 (we carried far too much). Vehicle repairs $0, only the necessary lubes etc. and a set of tyres. Rego and insurance (1 broken windscreen).
Bush camped and saw the inside of a caravan park perhaps once a month.
We spent a lot of money initially but after you have seen 50 museums and paid for a few tourist rip offs you quickly discover there is more than enough to see and do for little or no cost. Wife and I have made many life long friends.

Sold motorhome April 2006 for $50000
Bought another house May 2006 and do we have itchy feet!

Enjoy your travels.

Neville
AnswerID: 241080

Reply By: Bri - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 22:49

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 22:49
Hi Kev
First of all let me say how I wish we could do the same ...not to be at present .
My wife and I have where able to do 2 trips about 10 years ago. one to central OZ and one North West. We basicaly spit our cost into 3, FOOD, FUEL and ALL OTHER by limiting our average travel to about 1000KLM per week which give us time to smell the roses, camping bush when possible it all worked out quite well. I would still use this formular today given halve the chance.......happy travels

Bri
AnswerID: 241100

Reply By: Kevern - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 01:01

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 01:01
To all whom replied a big thank you.
AnswerID: 241120