Submitted: Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 11:55
jase40
g'day, could someone with good knowledge of
Melrose in SA please point me in the right direction of Bridal Path/Track. Heading up there in June and heard its a great drive. cheers.
Reply By: navaraman - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 11:59
Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 11:59
I did the
Bridle track a couple of years back on a club navigation run but my laptop died that weekend and I have no trek notes. I might be able to get hold of some if no one else can help. It was a nice drive from memeory. We camped in the
Melrose showgrounds, costs about $3 per nigh and showers and powered sites available.
Patrolman Pat
Follow Up By: jase40 - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 12:20
Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 12:20
Thanx mate, spoke to a guy about a year ago and he said it was a good drive but couldnt remember how he got there. Will kep an eye out for any info.
Reply By: navaraman - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 12:45
Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 12:45
Just looking at my maps and f you travel south from
Melrose on Survey Rd through Peach Tree Cutting you will come to a cemetary turn right and the
Bridle track can be accessd from there. 32 56' 26"s 138 08' 00"e. looks like the propert name is Mungeree. Looking at the map, and from memeory the track heads around Baroota reservoir. I believe it heads back towards
Melrose but we only did a section near Baroota.
Patrolman Pat
Follow Up By: jase40 - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 16:29
Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 16:29
Thanks heaps mate. That'll get me there no worries. Looking forward to it more now. Cheers
Reply By: KiwiAngler - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 12:58
Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 12:58
Go to this website ig and Cathy waypoints </a
Scroll down and you will find the waypoints for the Bridal Track if you have OziEx just punch them in and voila :-)
Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 13:00
Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 13:00
ooops
k text</a
Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 13:01
Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 13:01
grrrrrrrrrr - where are my glasses !!!!!!!
k text</a
Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 13:02
Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 13:02
What the..........!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
www.gpsoz.com.au/Boiling_Billy.htm
do it the 'old way'
Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 13:05
Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 13:05
Good grief!!! after aLL THAT IT WAS THE WRONG urL anyway
try here for the actual waypoints
http://www.exploreaustraliaby4wd.com/waypoint.html
Its the ones 'close to
Sydney' that you want. The d/l will include all those that are on the other url I tried to post about a zillion times
Whilst you dont need to refer to Cathy and Craigs book to make sense of the waypoints it really is worth spending the few $$$$ to get their book too
Follow Up By: navaraman - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 13:26
Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 13:26
All that work Kiwi and it's the SA track he wants, not the NSW one, ;)
Follow Up By: Smudger - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 13:34
Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 13:34
It's warmer up here in NSW.
Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 14:58
Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 14:58
really!!!
what a complete muck up THAT was !!!
Oh
well - I tried and hey it gets my posting count up :-)
I will just have to get back and concentrate on installing my new Panansonic HD DVD recorder - "I am excited" :-) :-)
Follow Up By: jase40 - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 16:33
Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 16:33
Cheers for the effort mate. You must of had some fun during all that!!!!
Reply By: NissanGU - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 13:03
Monday, May 21, 2007 at 13:03
jase40,
It's not a bad little trip, but, depending on the time of day, depends on the direction you should come from, otherwise you will be driving into the sun. If it is in the morning come from
Melrose, you will want Survey road then right onto the Bangor road, then just short of a
farm house at the end of the road is a rusty tin sighn pointing to a shut
gate. This is the beginning of the track from the east. There are several gates on this track,leave them as you find them of course. This is a working sheep property so keep your eyes out for sheep on the road. The higher you get you will see Euro's on the flanks of the hills and Wedgies ridding the up drafts.
If you are looking to do this trip in the afternoon and you are based on the eastern side of the Flinders then go through the
Port Germein Gorge, then turn North.
Go over the railway overpass and then on the right is a sign posted track called "GRIBBLES ROAD", follow this to the Electrical Sub Station. There is a double set of gates here, this is the start of the track from the west. A bit further on there is a spur to the right, avoid that, it leads off into the tress and becomes very narrow and low. The spur actually heads to overlook the top of the
Port Germein Pass.
The morning trip is best for a clearer view over the Gulf.
While in the area
check out Remarkable View winery just north of Murray Town, they do a REALLY GOOD bulk port. Also Blesing Winery off of the
Port Germein Gorge do nice reds.
Hope you enjoy it, this is (if you could not guess) a favourite trip of
mine.
NISSANGU
Follow Up By: jase40 - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 16:57
Monday, May 21, 2007 at 16:57
NISSANGU,
Thanks heaps for that info, that'll help us out so much. Sounds like a great drive. Really looking forward to it. Dont mind a port or glass of red either.
Thanks again,
Jase40