Submitted: Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 16:30
Member -Signman
Just had a mate call from
Birdsville after 'doing a Simpson'. He commented that even though the traffic was like Pitt Street (slight exageration)- he was amazed at the number of vehicles NOT using dune flags- let alone not using or having UHF radios. There were a number of close calls on the ridges, with one c/trailer flipping over when the driver veered to avoid an oncoming.
Now a dune flag hasn't got to be anything flash. Anything as high as about 3 metres off the ground. A tent pole/ broomstick/ even a tree branch. The 'flag' can be a
bright tea-towel/ any flag/ even seen a babys nappy. You're not travelling fast- so anything is heaps better than nothing, for your safety and other users.
This applys to ALL vehicles in a convoy- not just the lead vehicle.
And if you've got UHF- monitor it ( I think it is Ch10 in the Simpson area??)
Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:07
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:07
Yes it's ch10 UHF. Sand flags should also be flown when travelling in less populated remote areas if possible. They tend to catch the eye of the tired driver who thinks that he/she's the only one within 500K ! I also leave my lights on low beam, especially recommended if you have a darker coloured vehicle.
Follow Up By: Scoof - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:56
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:56
To travel the Simpson you have a parks permit.
I can't remember if it state's in the permit that sand flags should be used but it might be a good idea to make point so someone doesn't get killed.
It's not the place to be injured.
Cheers Scoof. :-(
Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 02:00
Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 02:00
Scoof, when I did a solo double crossing in the early 80's there was no such thing as a "pass" :)) In fact I vaguely remember a
sign saying it was a national
park, about halfway across. Apart from that, there were few signs (and GPS and moving maps weren't invented so navigation was one of the more ineteresting aspects of the trip).
These days they have stickers on the fuel pumps in
Birdsville "Have you conquered Big Red yet ?"
When I went over, many of the locals thought I was mad.
Reply By: Member -Dodger - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:10
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:10
Yes I agree that dune flags are a must and should be made compulsory.
They can be purchased at any pushbike
shop as a flag for the humble 2 wheeler.
Mine is attached to the roof rack giving approx 12ft or 3mtr height above ground level.
Simple n cheap.
Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:19
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:19
Dodger,
They are much better fitted to thre bullbar. Twelve feet on the roof rack might only equal 6ft on the bullbar depending on how steep the dune is.
Reply By: DIO - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:10
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:10
It's a great safety issue that you've raised but how can you expect people to comply with something as simple as a dune flag when a lot wouldn't even know what one is. Not everyone with a 4wd thinks much of safety when they get out into the bush. They wonder why elements of the community constantly raise issues of safety of 4 wheel drives. Perhaps that's why there's lots of accidents (inc. fatals) on bush/outback tracks. Put it down to indifference, stupidty, lack of knowledge, irresponsibility, recklesness etc. Regularly hear people whinging about speed limits,
seat belts, illegal vehicle modifications when they get picked up. Reall, what hope is there ! Not much me thinks.
Reply By: Blaze - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:52
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:52
We came up with an Idea aftera couple of near misses out there a few years back, make it that desert passes are only available at
Birdsville, Mt dare and Oodna and if you can't show you have a Flag you have to purchase one or not get the pass.
I know it is a bit of the Big brother thingy but if we don't get it enforced now they will end up closing it unless you are in a Tag-Along or some other organised (insured) event.
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:57
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:57
LOL and how many vehicles don't have a pass anyway? I'd suggest quite a few :)))
Follow Up By: Members - Chris/Lindsay (VIC) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:08
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:08
I agree as we used our flag last year and were also surprised at how many vehicles had none. However the info book with the pass is
well worth having a few weeks before you go so you can prepare properly. Mind you the dipstick types probably think they know everything and dont read it anyway. Maybe a flag comes with the pass. You pay enough for it. Chris.
Follow Up By: Love The Outback - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 22:42
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 22:42
Chris, are you out of your mind? We have 4spare flags and one flag on pole. Just in case.....
But if they would sell me always one with pass, I would be very soon able to open flag-store ......
Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 09:11
Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 09:11
I agree with all you guys,
1/ Firstly gramps it means policing I guess before it gets to the stage that some knee jerk reaction closes the place.
2/ Chris, we mentioned this situation when were discussing it and came up with this scenerio. Order your parks pack whenever you like, but you have to show your reciept at one of the towns I mentioned to get the window sticker and at this time is when you could be checked for flag, and possible make that someone in the group has to have a UHF and for this person to lead on CH10.
3/ LTO I believe my answer to Chris covers what you have raised, we also thought about what Chris said and make it part of the Kit but agree with you. We see a scenerio of spare flags falling off vehicles because they weren't attached properly. So as I said just get the window sticker at one end or the other and produce your Flag.
Follow Up By: Members - Chris/Lindsay (VIC) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 22:55
Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 22:55
LOVE THE OUTBACK
Just think how pretty your vehicle could look if you attached all your flags at once. Sort of a priscilla queen of
the desert moment as you too launch yourself over the crest of a dune!!! Only kidding. This is a great discussion. Chris.
Follow Up By: Love The Outback - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 10:00
Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 10:00
Yahhhh Chris, and we could be come RICH and famous without any shame.
Or alternatively everybody else would think we just stupid isn't it so.........
Just kidding
Follow Up By: Members - Chris/Lindsay (VIC) - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 20:23
Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 20:23
Well I think this little chat has run it's course We're heading out there again in early July and can't wait, [with our flag of course] only one!! Hey we Love The Outback too. I'd rather be under those 5 billion stars than be rich in a 5 star eh. Chris.
Follow Up By: Love The Outback - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 22:15
Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 22:15
Well, Chris
$5 billions would help to stay permanently with 5 billions or more stars..........
You wouldn't say NO! Would you? Hmmm
Talk to you in other thread
Reply By: kimprado - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:56
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 17:56
Signman
Slightly off the point, but the mechanic across the road from the pub had a good supply of flags (Outback Ideas). Last time I spoke to him, he was complaining that he wasn't selling any of them.
I pointed out to him that it would probably help if they were put on display, or a
sign placed on the window.
Agree with what your saying about sand flags. I've noticed a few Government Departments are starting to put flags on their vehicles over the last couple of years.
Kim
Reply By: haysie222 (SA) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:12
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:12
having travelled through the
simpson desert on three occasions before i have found that the darker the the flag,such as black,and off good size are far better than those irridesent red or
orange flags.why? i'm glad you asked.what colour is the sand,red ,
orange,the black or darker flags seem to break the contrast.just my two bobs worth, have a good night to all....haysie222
Follow Up By: Love The Outback - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 22:51
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 22:51
Hi haysie222
Yes, you right!
Our 5flags (1+4including spare) are of fluorescent yellowish-green and that makes great contrast.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 09:14
Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 09:14
Good point, cray fisherman also use black flags, they say that they are more visible than
bright colours too.
Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:28
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:28
While we are on the topic, I have a 6 metre wog pole as my flag pole, how durable are they out there?, they are very light, just trying to figure out if I'll need a backup.
NickR
Follow Up By: Member - Patrol Geoff (QLD) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:45
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:45
Nick, where did you get your wog pole?
I thought that a wog pole was also a "squid jigging pole"(?) and I phoned three or four fishing
places to try get one. None of them had any idea what I was talking about.
-geoff
Follow Up By: Dodgin & Weavin - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:49
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:49
Hi Nick
We headed off with 7 metre wog poles minus the top section leaving 7 sections, so I guess about 6m. One vehicle snapped the bottom section of their pole playing on Big Red. I broke
mine in the same section when I drove under a tree. Yeah I know. All this on day one. Nothing a few cable ties and some tape didn't fix though. Next time I'll reduce it to 4 sections and I reckon it I'll be fine. Our third vehicle just used his fishing rod. It worked fine.
Have fun.
Dodgin
Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 22:17
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 22:17
Mine went
well for a little jaunt through the dunes at
Robe, might pay to take a spare then, 5 days on the simpson might dish out some more punishment.......
I got my pole at a little fishing
shop near Werribee or Hoppers Crossing. I bought a 7 metre one for JohnR (vic) & moses at a place in shannon avenue in
Geelong. a 7 metre one shouldn't cost more than $35.
They can be for squid jigging I suppose but the only time I have seen them used was for river fishing in
Aire river in the
otways. Are squid not caught in Qld? Not all shops have these poles, It took a bit for me to find my first one......
I'd bring one up in July if I thought baggage handlers whouldn't break it!!!
NickR
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:02
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:02
Signman
I seen some great flag sticks the other day at
Capricorn Roadhouse near
Newman WA , one had Red LEDs on top just above the flag , now I had seen them at K&N 4x4 at Canningvale just after they come on the market, I thought even then that they would be good for the dunes, and the LED would be handy at nights when sleeping in
Parking bays , the Roo shooters in NW - Qld would be able to see it............yeh ok I know what your all gonna say....lol
Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:21
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:21
Saw those last year when I passed through there as
well. Excellent ... but ... soooo expensive. I *think* they were about $175. Ouch!!!
Jack
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:25
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:25
Jack
$175 eh thats not bad, better than a bullet through the window at 2am , I hate being woken too early, The newer one i seen last week had about 8 LEDs in it and it was
bright, would be ideal for late runners in
the desert just after Sunset and before headlights are of any use,
Follow Up By: Pete and Lez S.A. - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:19
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:19
Jack, I'll bet you and others don't even flinch at spending $175 on a tyre, but when it comes to an essential safety item people don't want to spend the money. Tyre lasts 2 or 3 years at the most, probably never need to relace proper flag and pole.
Cheers Peter and Lez
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:26
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:26
I just finnaly found them on the internet
www.smsafety.com.au/flag_poles.htm
Follow Up By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 22:00
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 22:00
Well I forgot
mine last year till I got 100km from
home. Out comes one tent pole and my favorite Superman Undies with some zip ties and gaffa tape. Certainly wouldn't pay more than $20 for a real one.....
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 22:03
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 22:03
Hughesy
Thats called flying the SKID MARKS
Follow Up By: Member - Patrol Geoff (QLD) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 22:23
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 22:23
Pete and Lez, I agree they are essential safety gear (
well, from what I've read since I've not been there yet). But my problem is what they charge for them. There is no way you can justify $150-$200 for a piece of fibreglass with coloured cloth on it.
I'm currently experimenting with a "blank" fishing rod. I've got a friend who can get me some conduit. I should be able to use one of those two options for my flag and it will be a good sight cheaper. Ok, it mightn't be perfect or as strong, but I'm only planning on using it for a few days across
the desert. At least a tyre will get used every day. And having just put new rubber on, if I could get them at $175 each I'd be stoked! (actually, I could put the money I saved into buying a _real_ flag :-).
-geoff
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 22:29
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 22:29
Some family would spend more than that on Fags and booze every week
Follow Up By: Pete and Lez S.A. - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 10:11
Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 10:11
Well Goeff, you have obviously not seen a fishing rod or a piece of conduit in action as a dune flag. Good luck and best wishes, just read earlier post about using wog poles on Big Red. Cheers
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 10:17
Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 10:17
Way off this thread's topic, but I'll try to answer your question Doug.
Is it
the entrance to RAAF Amberley in QLD?
Follow Up By: Member - Patrol Geoff (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 10:30
Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 10:30
Thanks Pete & Lez. The fun thing about researching this sort of stuff online is that I've found a bunch of people that said homemade flags are fine (backed up with valid experiences) and another bunch that say homemade flags break way too easily (also backed up with valid experiences).
I guess I'll "try it and see" and emerge somewhat wiser at the end of it all. Hopefully with my flag flying high!
-geoff
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 15:49
Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 15:49
Gone Bush
No mate it's at an entrance to Acherfield Airfield down the side street behind the BP
Truck stop off Boundary Rd .But I think most RAAF bases have some type on display , and as for being off topic .......umm yeh
well it is a photo of something people will see touring this great country in the 4x4 , like the 2 Vampires at Beverly WA,i Vampire at
Forbes NSW, Mosquito's at
Forest Hill NSW, DC3 at West Wyalong. etc
Doug
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 15:59
Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 15:59
To all
Jast time I was in the Simpson
Easter 06 I had some red material I got from a material and sewing
Shop in Mt Isa , cost was about $4 for a meter , cut off required amount and zip tied it to the HF antenna , it was fine ,........................ Charters Towers Base kept getting RED radio Signals....
Reply By: Member - 120scruiser (NSW) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:22
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:22
We just returned from the simpson and yes there is alot without sandflags. We had a close call on the QAA with some older folks, also carrying dogs which I thought weren't allowed into the NP. I spoke my mind to them but they just ignored it and continued on.
It makes all the difference when you have one and should be compulsory.
All the quarries around Penrith use them now.
Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:46
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:46
Did the simpson 3 years ago. After reading the NP book at Dalhousie I did not have a flag so I thought I should do something. Grabbed a red Tshirt I had in the ute and erected a tent pole and used duct tape to hold the Tshirt.
From Dalhousie to Poepell I came accross 1 vehicle only.
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 04:57
Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 04:57
Some good comments put forward but:-
Firstly, there is no mandatory regulation that sand flags must be used.
Sure, it's a good idea and we all know the benefits but you can't police something that there is no law for.
The Desert Pass booklet does not mention the use of sand flags at all.
Making a requirement that Desert Passes are only available at
Birdsville, Mt dare and
Oodnadatta is not logical.
The Desert Parks Pass is for use throughout South Australia for all National Parks so the Pass needs to be readily available from multiple sources throughout the State, like it is now.
Also, part of the
Simpson Desert lies within Queensland's jurisdiction and for which the Pass does not apply.
So, it gets down to common sense and just plain logic, which sadly is lacking all too often.
Some wankers will use the fact that they are "flying the flag" to attempt cresting a dune as fast as possible, with all four wheels off the deck.
Introducing rules such as mandatory use of sand flags will not achieve much at all.
What happens if you genuinely break, or lose your flag. Does that mean you are stuck there. You can't progress forward and similarly cannot go back because you won't have the mandatory flag. And who polices it out in the middle of the Simpson?
Education of safe driving practises is the only logical answer, but it would need to be broadcast "Ad nauseam" until it sinks into everyone's brain, no matter how many (or few) cells they have. Even then, you will always have those who "forgot to pack it".
Unfortunately it seems, there is no final solution.
Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 10:01
Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 10:01
Hi Sandman,
Couldn't agree more with most of what you written. You are never going to stock the DICK head factor from coming to the surface, but I do believe we can't just bury our heads in the sand and ignore it either. It would be the same as saying, bleep za people still drink and drive, lets not worry about policing it anymore...
I don't believe anyone here has said there is a law for the use of flags but do we wait until there is a few fatalities before putting one in place or see there is a problem and try to solve it now?
Mate i am the first to admit i believe we are over governed and have way to many rules and regs in most situations, but believe if we can have 6kph speed limits in some car parks in cities, I think we could all live with this Flag situation being made Law.
I think anyone who has travelled the SD a few times over an extended period (10 to 15yrs) the danger used to be the isolation and the possibility of break downs etc, it is now the worry of being wiped out on a dune. No matter how slow you approach a crest if DICK head approaches "4 wheels in the air" (which he will do with or without a flag) from the opposite direction the earlier you can see him the better.
I think I answered your point about just having permits for sale at the 3 towns mentioned. They could be for sale as they are now from numerous outlets but if crossing the SD you could have enforced to have temp window sticker the same as most other parks around OZ do that is to be collected from one of these
places.
Follow Up By: Member - Patrol Geoff (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 23:06
Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 23:06
>
The Desert Pass booklet does not mention the use of sand flags at all.
I've got the 2007 edition and they now mention in on p7 in the section "Driving in sand". It recommends that the lead vehicle carry a "tall flag". I guess they're trying to walk the line between telling people what is advisable and dictating a bunch of rules.
-geoff
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 23:32
Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 23:32
Good to see the S.A. Dept. of the Environment and
Heritage have updated the Handbook to include this recommendation. That should help a fair bit.
I confess I was looking at an earlier edition of the Handbook. (the smaller spiral bound one)
SHMBO has put the latest Handbook (A4 size) we have, in "a safe place".
Reply By: redfive - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 15:49
Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 15:49
Gentleman
You all need to take a deep breath so what if in the info theres nothing to say with using a flag
"ITS COMMON SENCE " to use one
i just came back from crossing it for the 3rd time and we only saw one troopy at poeppel corners but i still had a flag on and was scanning channel 10 last thing you want all the way out there is another 4wd planted in your radiator
Glenn...
Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 21:40
Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 21:40
Brad Newnham sells some nice ones for $69 ...
Site Link
Andrew who notes he's a great bloke too.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 21:58
Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 21:58
We were at Poeppels Corner a couple of years ago and were roundly berated by a
young lady for having a bunch of vehicles without sand flags. She really went off at us. When she settled a little, we told her we'd come down the
Hay River and were heading south along the K1 Line. None of that sunk in - she'd never heard of the
Hay River, and had no idea where the K1 Line went. For her education, we showed her a map, pointed out where we'd come from and where we were heading and that were were crossing very little in the way of dunes, and in any case, the lead vehicle did have a sand flag. Not sure whether she understood.