Tourer 9 canvas tent, not happy so far

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 17:20
ThreadID: 47035 Views:19721 Replies:12 FollowUps:9
I bought a tourer 9 oztrail from anaconda and early yesterday morning I set the tent up in the back yard and gave it a hose down as recommended, when I checked inside the canvas was soaked if you touch it mmmm?

Anyways I got back to late to take it down so I left it up for the night, unlucky for me it started raining so I was not able to pack it up. I just got back home now and checked the inside and the canvas is still soaked to touch and the floor is all wet I am assuming condensation (not Happy)

Is this normal I would have thought condensation would only happen if you were in it?

If this is normal its crap I wont even be able to leave my bag with clothes in it on the floor or sleeping bag etc

This is something I have not experienced with my dome tent, I was told the canvas was meant to be so much better than the domes for waterproofing but I beg to differ.

Does anyone have any suggestions, tips or tricks etc.

Babs.

Reply By: Member - 120scruiser (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 17:29

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 17:29
You will find now that it has rained on the canvas it most probably won't leak anymore. Canvas has to be weathered. You can weather it by hosing but for some reason it is never as good as rain. The idea is for the water to soak the threads in the canvas and then when it drys it shrinks up and pulls everything in tight and seals at the same time. Alot of people will have it leak for the first time and then it should be fine. The best thing you can do is leave it up so it totally dries and then you should be right.
I am surprised it doesn't tell you this in the instructions.
Hope this instills some confidence.
120scruiser
AnswerID: 248768

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 17:31

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 17:31
As recommended you have soaked the canvas, this has to occur a few times for the canvas to season. In the future it shouldn't happen that water pools on the floor, you just have to wait until it is correctly seasoned for it to be water resistant.

They are in fact a very good tent so don't dispair to much

AnswerID: 248769

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 17:34

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 17:34
A mate of mine put his CT up to give it a soaking and every time it was about dry it rained. He had the thing erected on his lawn for about three weeks and it was wet inside for most of that time. Once it dried out properly it hasn't let a drop of water in since. Like you Babs he was concerned at first
AnswerID: 248772

Reply By: babs - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 17:45

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 17:45
Thanks guys that's very re-assuring, I was very concerned, it does tell you to season it in the instructions and that the canvas will pull tight to water proof, but it does not say it might be wet inside.

I'm happy again,

Thanks heaps,

Babs
AnswerID: 248775

Follow Up By: Jim7 - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 18:14

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 18:14
I have a mate that has that tent and we were away in the Simpson during rail and it was as wet inside as it was outside, mainly with condensation, he has since sold it ..... The material is not cotton canvas but a type on synthetic canvas which condensates more dur it's non breathable properties ..
Jim
FollowupID: 509684

Reply By: Paps - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 19:09

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 19:09
I,m starting to feel a bit used by Anaconda. There seems to be a lot of marketing involved. They recently had a two week sale on were if you spent over a certain amount of money you wou;ld get a free gift. I spent the required amount on the first afternoon of the sale only to be told they had run out of the free gift. (let alone two weeks worth) On top of that, they advertised a 59 litre back pack for a certain price and didn't have any available, only a smaller one for the same price. I wonder if thier products are really as good as the impression you get. There seems to be nothing made anywhere else but China and yet it is still quite expensive. Someone is getting rich. Then the next thing you know, something you have bought is half the price. Buyer beware I guess.
AnswerID: 248798

Follow Up By: babs - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 21:09

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 21:09
Well all my shopping was done at Camping world I would go in there for even the littlest things to support them, until I asked to use there toilet it was ok by a member of staff, but after using it and I came back out the owner I am assuming had a hissy fit. I explained I asked permission before I made my way through the restricted to staff area though that was not good enough for him. He probably thought I was going to rip something which was quite insulting considering the amount of times I had been there.

I have spent around a grand so far with them. I always dealt with an old bloke there who was present for the Hissy fit, which I was under the impression he was the owner (maybe just a partner) I would have thought he would speak up in my defense. Their loss, he he he

Anyways I was there for an oztrail tourer 9 tent but could not concentrate because of my whizz emergency, so when I came back into the store I showed my interest in the tourer 9 and left.

Two days later Anaconda got my business and guess what they have a customer toilet. Oh and better prices oh and more range to choose from oh and better service oh and better deals, funny that.

I can see Anaconda hurting the likes of these smaller camping shops who don't offer a good service.
FollowupID: 509741

Follow Up By: Crackles - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 22:40

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 22:40
"There seems to be a lot of marketing involved." Too true Paps, as a member I seem to get something in the mail or email every 2 weeks! Never seen a company put out so many special offers so often to the point where I'd rarely buy anything there that wasn't on sale as almost everything will be a special eventually within 12 months.
As far as the quality of Anaconda's product with most items they carry 2 or 3 levels from cheap to expensive. Buy the cheap generic brand & of couse it will be of an "average quality".
Cheers Craig.................
FollowupID: 509778

Follow Up By: Miff - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 12:20

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 12:20
It sounds like they are doing what is called baiting - ie - advertising a product at a bargain to get people into their store and when they are there saying "sorry, sold out of that but why not look at this other product". Normally the other product isnt anywhere near as good value but they know most people will just buy it anyway because they are there. This practice is very illegal and is policed by the ACCC. If someone is advertising a sale they are legally obliged to have a reasonable amount of the goods available otherwise it can be deemed as baiting. If I were you id start by contacting consumer affairs and see what they think.
FollowupID: 509846

Reply By: Member - Peter D M - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 19:45

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 19:45
g'day babs,
i've got one and used it a lot with no problems in wet weather. after following the instructions and seasoned it before use, since then tight as a drum. some knock these tents but at the price top value. if you want to compare it to a southern cross. i found mine a little wobbly in strong wind but with the centre pole - side pole replacement kit very stable.
glad to see you are happier than your first post.
regards peter
AnswerID: 248805

Reply By: pauls - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 19:57

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 19:57
I bought one last week and we had rain all week so it was standing all week in the garden. There was a couple of cup fulls of rain came in.

Anyway after it dried today I waxed the seams so hopefully it will be OK.

The only issue I have is that it is enormous when packed up, although I did leave the square roof frame assembled. Maybe its better to pack it fully dissembled.

AnswerID: 248807

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 20:23

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 20:23
If you have the space leave the top assembled makes it much quicker to set up. And yes all canvas tents need to be soaked prior to use.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 509712

Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 23:05

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 23:05
Babs there are a couple of differences between your old dome & the new canvas. The material in dome tents is normally 100% waterproof with the stitching seam sealed. Excellent when raining but condensation can be terrible if enough ventalation isn't left. The new single walled canvas tent on the other hand will always be slightly damp to touch each time it rains so you will need to avoid bumping the sides when it does. The up side is when it doesn't rain much of the condensation will breath through the canvas. You have bought one of the cheaper quality tents & as such the canvas isn't as waterproof as say a Freedom or a Southern Cross tent. Now that it is seasoned it should however perform OK as the stitching will have swelled up although the canvas Oztrail tent my brother bought only lasted 2 years with regular use. (The light weight canvas stretched to the point where rain would come straight in & fill the tent like a pool)
Cheers Craig.............
AnswerID: 248854

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 01:30

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 01:30
I disagree that all canvas tents need to be soaked before use.

We used ours many times before it was "christened" by rain. Never had any problem with it leaking. We experienced torrential rain at times in the Top End but were dry as toast inside the tent, or under the front awning.

Have since upgraded to a Camper Trailer and again have had no problems with the canvas leaking.

Maybe it has something to do with the quality of the canvas.

AnswerID: 248866

Follow Up By: Brew34.5(SA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:59

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:59
Ours leaked like a sieve the first time :)
FollowupID: 509972

Reply By: Member - cuffs (SA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 08:48

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 08:48
Need some info on tents?

http://www.hr4wdclubsa.org.au/Images_etc/Tent.pdf
AnswerID: 248878

Reply By: fujimiester - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 10:08

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 10:08
I researched the Oztrail which is overseas junk, likewise with the other brands. I couldnt afford a new southern cross or freedom (made in oz & n.z.) so I bot a second hand one. Hosed and it was dry and cozy. Oz canvas is just about the best in the world. I know as my wife used to work for bradmill.......
fj
AnswerID: 248893

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 10:26

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 10:26
I would agree with the Oz canvas. My CT's first time out hit a rainstorm that lasted all night and it didn't leak at all. I didn't have the awning set up right and a pool of about 20 litres formed, and that didn't leak thru the canvas either. I had given the CT two good hosings prior as advised.

T.R.
FollowupID: 509825

Follow Up By: fozzy - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:47

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:47
fj
research is one thing....actually being able to comment after using is another......
i have a oztrail T9 plus and a southern cross 3mX3m both with the side pole kits.
southern cross is quicker to put up as i can use 4 pegs and internal side pole kit. T9 plus needs extra pegs and the back poles.
T9 plus when wet down properly had a fair bit of water inside most likely from the front door area.
southern cross had very little.
T9 plus a little lighter so easier to put on roof rack.
southern cross has longer poles for the internal frame so need to store across back seat or on roof rack as wont fit in cargo area of 100 series.
southern cross has holes in floor after use and zip is buggered
t9 plus has holes in floor and zip is fine.

value for money-oztrail t9 plus by far

t9 plus 3 yrs old $280
southern cross 5yrs old $1100

fozzy
FollowupID: 509967

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:26

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:26
Typical I was buying a new one tomorrow as my tent for my trip ....... that will now be an issue BUGGER if i have to season it first.

AnswerID: 248965

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:19

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:19
Touch wood and it wont rain :)

Have a good trip

Kev

FollowupID: 509911