Who's arriving when @ Warraweena

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 18:26
ThreadID: 47126 Views:3838 Replies:19 FollowUps:36
With just over a week to Warraweena & the national meet
I was wondering who is arriving when ???
Barbara ,Warren Jr & myself will be arriving on Tuesday @ this stage
Need as long as i can get away from work lol
Just wondering if we are going to be alone or other are going that early as well
I know of some that are arriving on Wednesday
See you all there
Warren aka aussichef

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 18:52

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 18:52
We will be arriving sometime around Midnight on the Friday after a long drive up from Adelaide. Presumably someone will have a nice campfire going because I reckon it is going to be ABSOLUTELY FREEZING!

We will be in the Centre Pole tent and will be bring planty of warm blankets and clothes!

Save us a good camp spot!

Muddy
AnswerID: 249293

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 20:04

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 20:04
Nah! Bring yer bathers. I hear that a warm spell is on its way.....:-))))))
FollowupID: 510256

Follow Up By: Member - Luke (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 22:21

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 22:21
Muddy,

The missus and myself are thinking about leaving on the Friday arvo aswell and I worked out we would roughly get there about midnight.

Let me know if you want to meet somewhere and travel together. I was going via Port Wakefield and Quorn.

Cheers Luke

Ps. We met at a YP4wd club meeting a couple of months back if you dont recognise me
FollowupID: 510302

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 22:32

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 22:32
That's OK - I remember.

We are likely travelling straight up the guts via Blyth, Clare, Jamestown, Orroroo, Craddock and then it Hawker and up from there. Shorter route and quieter roads that way, though I suppose more likelyhood of roos perhaps at night .... not sure.

Leaving Adelaide around 6.30pm

Muddy
FollowupID: 510313

Follow Up By: Member - Luke (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 23:06

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 23:06
Thought of going that way at first but decided to go via Port Wakfield ect, ect cause I live in Burton, 2 minutes from Port Wakefield Rd.

Leaving somewhere between 4:30-5:00pm. Depends what time the missus knocks off work. Bloody Woman lol

Cheers Luke
FollowupID: 510322

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 22:11

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 22:11
Luke,
Up Pt Wakey road to Two Wells, up to Mallala, Balaklava, Blyth, etc
Will be much quicker, travel it regularly.

Cya there Pesty
FollowupID: 510561

Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 23:13

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 23:13
Unfortunately I can't get there, but I would be looking out for roos after Orroroo.
Very appropriate with a name like that.
I haven't seen many roos south of there. but plenty after Orroroo.
Have a great time, wish I was there.
'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 510786

Reply By: Vince NSW - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 19:22

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 19:22
Warren,
We hope to get in on the Thursday afternoon, Depends on how much fun we can find on the way from Sydney. Leaving this friday afternoon.
See you there
Vince
AnswerID: 249300

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 19:44

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 19:44
Hi Warren,
We plan on leaving on Friday morning, so we will see you sometime later that day.
Nette
FollowupID: 510251

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:19

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:19
I think you had better leave this Friday if you want to be sure that you will get there by next Friday.
FollowupID: 510383

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 19:50

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 19:50
I will be there Wednesday after lunch.

Now don't you pinch the best camp spot...lol

AnswerID: 249312

Follow Up By: Gob & Denny - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 20:37

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 20:37
goodday willem
knowing how much time you spend up there i would imagine your spot has a big RESERVED sign on it lolololol
just jealous i cant be there but hopefully there will be a meeting somewhere next year when i should be free from that 4 letter word

FollowupID: 510262

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 20:58

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 20:58
Hahahaha....no, I usually stay at the homestead. :-)))))))

FollowupID: 510268

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 20:56

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 20:56
aussiechef - where have you been? Wish we were going to be with you - say hello to Barbara and Warren Jnr - hey someone's missing? You still in the same place - hoping to cth up next year. Ruth and Ian.
AnswerID: 249338

Follow Up By: Member - aussichef (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 00:37

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 00:37
Hi Ruth & Ian
still in the same place Ventnor Hotel Port Vincent working too bloody hard
can only have a week off looking for another second chef & changing the menu lol
George our youngest is an apprentice carpetlayer, so he has trade school that week in Adelaide
Sorry you can't join us
And look forward to seeing you next year either down here or preferably us up there hahahah
Barb says hi she's wants one of your cappuccino
I will take plenty of shots & video for everyone
warren aka aussichef
FollowupID: 510330

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 17:26

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 17:26
Poor George - bet he'd like to be going to Warraweene. Think of the mischief he can get up to at trade school in Adelaide without the rest of you holding him up!! Yahoo.
When you come back to Birdsville Barb can have her cappuccino because we bought a smaller version of the one in the shop for the house and it's coming with us next winter! We are still hoping to come south for the whiting fishing at Smokey Bay in March - but will cruise to Port V as well, of course.
Make sure you get plenty of evidence at Warraweena. Wanted to drink white lightning with Willem too - and drink anything with Mrs. Al. Doesn't matter what you plan some family member wants to disrupt it by wanting to get married. Oh well, hopefully see everyone next year. Have a good time.
FollowupID: 510456

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 21:08

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 21:08
Well at this stage Trevor, Ross and I should be rolling in sometime Friday afternoon.

AnswerID: 249341

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 22:27

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 22:27
Haven't you left yet?

I do agree on the time frame.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 510310

Follow Up By: Member - Ross H (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 22:50

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 22:50
You still awake trevor.
Run out of paint with about 300mm square to go.
Oh well finish next nigt
ross
FollowupID: 510320

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 23:35

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 23:35
Lets just say I've JUST finished packing and I'm stuffed lol. Last two days i've been screwed over time wise, although with the rain I sooked out and decided to go as I had planned in the morning leave around 4 - 5 am. The idea of putting a tent up in the rain did not excite me.

cya later
FollowupID: 510325

Reply By: Mal and Di - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 21:36

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 21:36
How long does anyone envisage staying there?
Di and I are going to the Gulf via Birdsville Mt Isa and Lawn Hill but will be a bit later than the week beginning the 7th.
Will be going past the gate but probably too late.
M.
AnswerID: 249353

Follow Up By: Member - Luke (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 22:24

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 22:24
We're leaving for home on Tuesday 10th at about lunch time :(

Cheers Luke
FollowupID: 510306

Follow Up By: Member - aussichef (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 00:46

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 00:46
where leaving Tuesday too Luke
maybe travel back together mate
warren aka aussichef
FollowupID: 510331

Follow Up By: Member - Luke (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 16:24

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 16:24
Sounds like a good idea Warren......... Leaving on Tuesday doesnt tho, Knowing its all over lol

See you there

Cheers Luke
FollowupID: 510444

Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 22:04

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 22:04
We plan on leaving here early friday morning, hopefully we will get there lunchtime or shortly after on saturday
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 249361

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 22:17

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 22:17
We'll be there thursday afternoon!
AnswerID: 249366

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 16:05

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 16:05
Phil, Ian is asking where you got your canopy made - local guy here interested in one the same please?
FollowupID: 510673

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 17:52

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 17:52
Hi Ruth,
Sad you won't make it to Warraweena :-((
Unfortunately we won't make it to Birdsville this year - off to the Pilbara next month.

The canopy was built by a small body builder in Adelaide called GSV. http://gsv.com.au/
They were happy to build my canopy almost 3 years ago, but when I've referred people to them lately, they seem reluctant to do small jobs, and they tend to refer people on to Gitshams, who are a big Adelaide Company that do quality aluminium work but at a price. I think GSV have got overwhelmed with work, and only take the big jobs. But if your friend calls Albert on (08) 8244-9800, tell him what he wants, and see what happens. We couldn't be happier with the quality of our canopy. Other options are MetalForm industries in Melbourne (no website), and Roscos from WA http://www.roscos.com/ who make the Telstra canopies.

FollowupID: 510693

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 07:46

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 07:46
Thanks Phil for that. I'll pass on the information to Ian's mate. I forgot you were going to the Pilbara. We'll be in Bdv for most of next winter with an early foray to Smoky for whiting fishing (March?). Got to get this house built after we get back from our next trip to BDV and SD this year. Enjoy Warraweena for us.
FollowupID: 510809

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 22:48

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 22:48
We should get there by mid afternoon on Friday.

Viv
AnswerID: 249367

Reply By: Redback - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 07:25

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 07:25
We'll be there when we get there

AnswerID: 249388

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 13:15

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 13:15
You just saying you are unreliable? LOL
FollowupID: 510393

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 14:18

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 14:18
Maybe, that's us not the car your talking about ;-))

After all you chose it for us :-))

FollowupID: 510412

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 17:24

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 17:24
Mate, didn't know if you had the same one. Thought you may have bought a good Nissan 3.0TD
FollowupID: 510454

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 07:39

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 07:39
gDAY
I will try to be there late Friday afternoon.

AnswerID: 249389

Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 08:00

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 08:00
Just to let you know that at the moment the hospital in Leigh Creek has been relocated to Copley due to a structural problem.

The surgery next door to the hospital in Leigh Creek is still open during the week, but the actual hospital in Copley is open 24hours a day.

It is very cold up here at the moment, especially first thing and at night, so bring something warm to drink!

AnswerID: 249391

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 08:16

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 08:16
I got beer to keep me warm
FollowupID: 510338

Reply By: Member - Chris D (Newcastle) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 09:31

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 09:31
Ann and I will be leaving Newcastle this Saturday and making our way to Warraweena, just to make sure we are not late. ETA Friday.

Looking forward to catching up with internet mates and making new friends from EO.
AnswerID: 249409

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 14:16

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 14:16
Which way you going, might see you on the way!!

FollowupID: 510410

Follow Up By: Member - Chris D (Newcastle) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:09

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:09
Hi Baz,
Leaving west of Newcastle on Saturday,
Golden Hughway to about Dubbo,
staying at Goobang NP,
through Parkes and Forbes,
follow the Lachlan River as far as Lake Cargellico,
stay a night at Menindee Lake,
across the SA border to Danggali Cons Park,
replenish essential supplies at Hawker,
then a night in Flinder Range NP,
before arriving at Willem's little party on Friday.

How about you anything of interest going over?
How long are you allowing?

FollowupID: 510498

Follow Up By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 21:33

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 21:33
Chris or Redback,

We're leaving Broken Hill Thursday morning and turning off at Yunta and taking the back scenic route thru to Blinman. Any of you guys interested in going the same way?? Hoping to make Waraweena by Thursday night but might camp along the way depending on time and then roll in early Friday morning. Let us know if your keen.
FollowupID: 510549

Follow Up By: Member - Chris D (Newcastle) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 22:05

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 22:05
Thanks Hughesy,
I think we will need to go via Hawker to refill the tucker box. See you at W.
FollowupID: 510559

Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 08:47

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 08:47
Our first stop is Darlington point, then Lyrup, but we are going to Arkapeena first then Warraweena on thursday.

See you there !!

FollowupID: 510613

Reply By: Brew34.5(SA) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:57

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:57
I'm tagging along with Roachie friday morning so be there about then lol.
AnswerID: 249442

Follow Up By: Pete and Lez S.A. - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:59

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:59
Hope Pesty is following later, so you Nissan drivers make it there.
Cheers Peter and Lez
FollowupID: 510766

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 22:04

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 22:04
We're making sure we get away before Pesty, cos we're sick and tired of always having to tow his sorry-ass to our destination and back again. ;-))
FollowupID: 510769

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 22:20

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 22:20
Cough BU cough LL cough SH cough IT cough RO cough AC cough HY cough

Pesty in the Toyota (nissan backup unit!) Sorry I couldnt make it to the last oil slick!
FollowupID: 510775

Follow Up By: Member - Luke (SA) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 23:04

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 23:04
Pesty,

Would you like me to call into Blyth on the way up to see if the Toyota is ok, It might need a tow there by the sounds of things hey :)

Cheers Luke
FollowupID: 510785

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 01:14

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 01:14
Mate you can call into Blyth anytime you like, but dont overload the Nissan with toyota repair equipment, if you can find such stuff, cos it will be a total waste of time and money.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 510798

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 13:16

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 13:16
Hopefully before dark Friday
AnswerID: 249445

Reply By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 13:41

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 13:41
Blaze and I plan to leave home around 8ish fri am. Stopping to buy donuts on way so should get there fri mid pm
AnswerID: 249450

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 14:21

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 14:21
Take it easy on that long drive, remember driver fatigue ;-))
FollowupID: 510414

Reply By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:11

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:11
We are leaving after work on Thursday, so expect to arrive Saturday lunchtime. Coming down via Mt Dare and Oodnadatta.

John, Anita, and the girls
AnswerID: 249514

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:18

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:18
Leave Melbourne Friday morning to stay in PT Aug friday night - and should make it by around 10am saturday.

Hoping to do drive up to MT Gill - does anyone know of any planned drive schedule yet.

Robin Miller and a few camp followers
AnswerID: 249517

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 22:18

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 22:18
Leaving Blyth friday arvo about 6 so should be there by 10.30 ish
Save us a patch LOL

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 249575